Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Handlery Hotel

3.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

We loved the swimming pool, which we made great use of, loved the workout room, and the dining room, which we experienced by eating there. We plan to come back and stay at this particular hotel the Handlery Hotel. Thank you so much for all your help when we called and requested something you came through immediately.

I showing up early to check-in, and was helped right away. My room requests were all met and having no additional charge for early check in was nice. They have quick room service, thought the food was not great it sufficed. The service is quick and kind and their parking is easy and convenient. Also located cebtrally so that its close to sea world, beaches, and downtown.

The staff was very helpful, pleasant and everyone was so very friendly.

The hotel is ok, but not worth the price. I actually stayed there with my family in 1996 and remembered it being quite a nice hotel and so I was very excited to see the price that the room was offered. I do not believe anything has been up dated, or remodeled in that time. The hotel seems dingy, dull, there were areas that needed to be painted, etc. It just seems that they are squeezing every last drop out of the hotel and its quality was extremely below the price point. The room rates should be more on par with a Motel 6 price, because that is about the quality that I found the facilities to be.

the price I got for the rooms it was great. The beds were super comfortable I thought anyways.

over priced nothing to look forward to. Paid for everything nothing to make me want to stay there again. hotel restaurant was limited choice and food was bland and over priced room service was great. Free parking was a plus bed was uncomfortable guest noise was unacceptable I was waken up at 2am by guest laughing and talking and making noise in the parking lot and again in the hallway

We knew we weren't getting a five star hotel for the price, but didn't expect it to be dirty. My son who is three, threw a ball under the bed and immediately our comfort level changed. It was so dirty and clearly hadn't been cleaned that my husband wanted to leave. We decided to place blankets over the dusty area and checked out the next morning. The shower doesn't have any real water pressure and the freeway is very loud at night. Plus you can hear people in the rooms next to you like they're in your room with you. The staff is very pleasant and it's in a prime location. We did receive free parking which was a great offer from Orbitz, but even with great staff, we won't be back.

My wife and I enjoyed our stay easy access to all areas we were going to and it helped that the rail trolley was near by.

The hotel sufficed for how close it was to good shopping and Qualcomm stadium

The photos of the hotel look SO nice compared to what you walk into when you get there. The smell reminded me of traveling in motels when I was younger, a mix between smoke, pets, and a damp cloth. The room was freezing when we walked in, which itself wasnt terrible, except that the bed felt WET when I went to climb in. The comforters were super old and grungy, I ended up taking it off the bed and not even using it at all. The carpet felt wet also. Probably from the humidity of just being in San Diego, but it still felt gross without shoes on. Overall, it was a bed to sleep in. We won't stay there again because it was still super expensive. I'd rather stay downtown or closer to the beach for the price we paid.

Nice place no real complaints. It is in the heart of fashion valley and just blocks away from the Fashion Valley mall and Mission Valley.

It sucks to leave a bad review however I feel in this case it is needed. We chose this hotel because it looked very very nice in the pictures specially the pool area however once we got there we were very disappointed with the room. The shower had no pressure, the toilet leaked the whole time and the worse part was that the air conditioner vent on the ceiling leaked like a cup of water out of nowhere every few minutes. On another occasion we got back to the hotel and were locked out. The keys did not work at all. We go to the front desk and they told us the keys were deactivated for some reason. Front desk and security were actually very nice which I greatly appreciated however I believe for the price we paid we should have received much more. No complimentary breakfast, $14 per person for breakfast buffet. Also can't leave out that we were not aware we had to pay for parking $15 a night. Overall very upset with this stay.

Great hotel. Check-in & check-out was easy! My package with Orbitz included 2 free drinks and free parking for 4 days. FREE hotel shuttle will take you to SeaWorld, Balboa Park, Fashion Valley Mall and areas within 2 miles (Erick, the shuttle driver, was fantastic and even got a car seat for my 5 year old daughter for our ride back from Balboa). Uber ride to Pacific Beach was only $7.50 so it should be less to go to Mission Beach. Pool was great with towels provided at the Fitness Center. There's also a restaurant/bar by the pool that brings out drinks. Breakfast at Postcards was delicious - I had the omelet and my daughter had the kids pancakes. Room with 2 double beds were cleaned daily. Fridge and in room coffee were convenient.

The representative was friendly. However, the hotel is older. The beds are not comfortable. The doors have a notice stating the doors lock thus one must have his/her keycard to enter which was not the case. The bathrooms are very small with low press water. Mostly, the most hardest part was that the A/C did not cool the room. Also, the gym room was very tiny and "HOT".

Love the pool... Shopping center within walking distance ..request a room overlooking the pool .

The staff is amazing especially Jason at the front desk, he was incredibly kind to accommodate us while traveling with our toddler, getting to check in early was fantastic and the baby was able to sleep, it really made such a huge difference in our day. The pool was great too!

Close to where we needed to be and food. Nice size room and could not hear neighbors. No prostitution or drugs being sold in parking lot! Big Plus!

Nice grounds, could use a refresh on paint and finishes.

very nice mid range hotel. staff was great - very accomodating. clean and plenty of towels in the room, which can be lacking even in more luxury hotels pool area was nice.

950 Hotel Cir N San Diego CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center

Located in Mission Valley, Handlery Hotel is within a few miles (5 km) of popular sights such as University of San Diego and Old Town San Diego State Park. This 217-room, 3.5-star hotel has 2 restaurants along with conveniences like an outdoor pool and free in-room WiFi. Near the airport, it's also near San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park.


Dining

This hotel is home to 2 onsite restaurants, perfect for a quick bite to eat. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service. Start your day off with breakfast, available for a fee.


Rooms

All of Handlery Hotel's 217 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including MP3 docks, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can expect free WiFi and 37-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Free local calls, safes, and ironing boards are also available.


Property features

At Handlery Hotel, guests enjoy an outdoor pool, a fitness center, and a spa tub. If you drive, self parking is USD 14 per night, and there's also a free area shuttle. Multilingual staff at the front desk are standing by 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this golf hotel include free WiFi in public areas, 15 meeting rooms, and conference space.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds

Twin 2 | Sleeps 4

Premier Room, 2 Double Beds

Twin 2 | Sleeps 4

Premier Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Handlery Hotel

Everyone (21) Couples (59) Business (31) Family (48) Other (13) Friends (16)
5

we were totally satisfied with everything,

Everyone

We loved the swimming pool, which we made great use of, loved the workout room, and the dining room, which we experienced by eating there. We plan to come back and stay at this particular hotel the Handlery Hotel. Thank you so much for all your help when we called and requested something you came through immediately.

By on Jun 25, 2017

4

wonderful time

Everyone

I showing up early to check-in, and was helped right away. My room requests were all met and having no additional charge for early check in was nice. They have quick room service, thought the food was not great it sufficed. The service is quick and kind and their parking is easy and convenient. Also located cebtrally so that its close to sea world, beaches, and downtown.

By on Jun 23, 2017

4
Everyone

The staff was very helpful, pleasant and everyone was so very friendly.

By on May 23, 2017

Review comment responded on May 25, 2017

Greetings Valued Guest, Thank you so much for providing us a 4-star review. We hope to see you back again! Best Regards, Waneda

2

hasn't changed since 1996

Everyone

The hotel is ok, but not worth the price. I actually stayed there with my family in 1996 and remembered it being quite a nice hotel and so I was very excited to see the price that the room was offered. I do not believe anything has been up dated, or remodeled in that time. The hotel seems dingy, dull, there were areas that needed to be painted, etc. It just seems that they are squeezing every last drop out of the hotel and its quality was extremely below the price point. The room rates should be more on par with a Motel 6 price, because that is about the quality that I found the facilities to be.

By , from Washginton, D.C. on May 12, 2017

Review comment responded on May 25, 2017

Greetings Jason, Thank you so much for providing feedback on your recent stay. We are truly saddened to hear you did not enjoy your stay as much as we had hoped. Please know we strive to provide the best in hospitality and are continuously working to improve our services. We are planning a complete room renovation later this year and hope you'll be back to experience it. Thank you again for staying with us. Best Regards, Waneda

4

nice hotel close to the beach

Everyone

the price I got for the rooms it was great. The beds were super comfortable I thought anyways.

By on May 4, 2017

Review comment responded on May 25, 2017

Greetings Valued Guest, Thank you so much for providing feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back again! Best Regards, Waneda

3

good location close to freeway shopping dinning

Everyone

over priced nothing to look forward to. Paid for everything nothing to make me want to stay there again. hotel restaurant was limited choice and food was bland and over priced room service was great. Free parking was a plus bed was uncomfortable guest noise was unacceptable I was waken up at 2am by guest laughing and talking and making noise in the parking lot and again in the hallway

By , from San Diego Ca. on Apr 26, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 28, 2017

Greetings Stephanie, Thank you so much for providing feedback on your recent stay. We are truly saddened to hear you did not enjoy your stay as much as we had hoped. Please know we strive to provide the best in hospitality and are continuously working to improve our services. We hope one day we can turn this experience around for you. Best Regards, Waneda

3

great location, but wouldn't stay again.

Everyone

We knew we weren't getting a five star hotel for the price, but didn't expect it to be dirty. My son who is three, threw a ball under the bed and immediately our comfort level changed. It was so dirty and clearly hadn't been cleaned that my husband wanted to leave. We decided to place blankets over the dusty area and checked out the next morning. The shower doesn't have any real water pressure and the freeway is very loud at night. Plus you can hear people in the rooms next to you like they're in your room with you. The staff is very pleasant and it's in a prime location. We did receive free parking which was a great offer from Orbitz, but even with great staff, we won't be back.

By , from Las Vegas on Mar 3, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 7, 2017

Hi Jacquie, Thank you so much for providing feedback on your recent stay. I am truly sorry to hear you experienced issues during your stay, please know I have forwarded your comments to the appropriate department. We thank you for choosing us and hope one day you'll return.

5

best sleep, quiet, lovely.

Everyone

By , from Atlanta on Nov 1, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 4, 2016

Greetings Francine, Thank you so much for providing feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back again! Best Regards, Waneda

4

great place to stay

Everyone

My wife and I enjoyed our stay easy access to all areas we were going to and it helped that the rail trolley was near by.

By , from R on Oct 15, 2016

Review comment responded on Oct 29, 2016

Greetings Valued Guest, Thank you so much for providing feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back again! Best Regards, Waneda

4

good hotel, close to shopping

Everyone

The hotel sufficed for how close it was to good shopping and Qualcomm stadium

By , from S on Oct 15, 2016

Review comment responded on Oct 29, 2016

Greetings Kezie, Thank you so much for providing feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back again! Best Regards, Waneda