Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Gran Porto Resort All Inclusive

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

My point of comparison is The Royal, Playa Del Carmen just across the street. Since we were bringing our4 year old for the first time we chose this hotel for the location. I assume the Royal is close to the top of the list in terms of over all service and food choices. I guess I'm too picky because after a few days the food gets repetitive and there is almost always an issue with the freshness aspect of the food when it sits out on a buffet line. So with the Gran Porto there was a noticeable decrease in the overall food quality and selection that is probably pretty typical of these resorts. On the other hand, my wife thinks the food is generally good. The main good point of this hotel is the location, just a few blocks from 5th avenue shops. The cons: this area of beach is not nearly as wide as it was 5 years ago. The ocean directly in front of the hotel is not very swimmable due to rocks and manamade seawalls, the ocean directly in front had a foul odor at times that was not noticeable when walking north along the beach, reserved a room with king bed and were told only offered 2 queens, our room had bunk beds too which were a negative - too dangerous for my 4 year old son, construction noise, pools not heated/too cold (I think this is everywhere in Riviera maya),

Jose of the bar wait staff was awesome. Carlos, Manuel and Miguel always keep us moving

We all enjoyed are stay. We were not told that the hotel was going through a make over wish we were told. Workers were over the top especially They were so good and made are stay great! Erika chef, Jose poolside server, david bartender, phillipe bartender,,the activties were nice pool side. The shows and music at night was very nice. some audience participation would go a long way! over all we had a great time thank you!

Staff, food, room, activities were FANTASTIC! The only downside was there was a lot of noisy construction going on while we were there but can't wait to see it when it's completed!

Had a wonderful time here. The food and drinks were fantastic. Only complaint we had was the noise of construction, but it’s understandable.. reading reviews before hand about liquor was misinformed, we had crown and cokes, Smirnoff mixed drinks all week. The Brazilian restaurant and buffet were the best all-inclusive options I’ve ever had in Mexico.

The resort is very nice. The rooms are gorgeous and beds are very comfortable. The only disappointment is the description on orbitz and Expedia is misleading. This resort only has one pool and they are building a second and there is no swim up bar. Half of the things listed are at their sister resort, The Royal, which you get access to with only certain suites. It is right across the street so you can walk across to it. The location is awesome. LOTS of shopping one block down.

Upon arrival at the hotel, the double bedroom we had booked was not available. There was a family ahead of us and one behind with the same problem. The hotel staff was rude and terribly unhelpful. Their excuse was they wait to see who was using the room. My son, who is 6'2" did not fit in the twin. The hotel offered NOTHING for compensation. I have stayed along the coast at many places over many years. This was the worst. Food was not great either.

The resort was in an amazing area that safe for tourist like us that don't want to stay inside the resort every day.

Could not have asked for a better resort. Location was perfect and the room was amazing. Great view and proximity to the beach

This resort was sold as "5 star, all-inclusive". Have been to all-inclusives prior, and when you have multiple people in your group, its great. This was not. Starting from check-in, the front desk clerk was difficult. The rooms (we had 3, 2 with kings, and 1 with queens), not clean, found a contact lens on the night stand, beds were super hard and lumpy, the 2 queens were actually twins/fulls. The size of the rooms and bathrooms was great. Food and drink, the food is not horrible, but they DO NOT have the quantity of restaurants they advertise. Its more like 4 and 3 snack bars open odd hours. The sushi bar is a 42" reach-in cooler out in the sun, no need to say more. When ordering room service, told cannot order alcohol, and at the bar attempted to order a Sol, and told that has to be paid for and not included, only draft and well alcohol included. Thought I had paid for an all inclusive for 8 people, apparently not. Pool and Beach, 1st the pool is too small for the capacity of the property, and PACKED. The beach is a great view, but is rocky and difficult to use, if you walk 1/4 miles in either direction its much better. The location is not horrible, but far from 5 star, more like 2 or 3 star. The kids club was nice, but by the street, forget the mini golf course, its a mess. Have been to many different resorts/hotels, from no star to 5 diamond. One's level of expectation is subject to interpretation. But this was far from what was anticipated. Move on to another....

This resort was sold as "5 star, all-inclusive". Have been to all-inclusives prior, and when you have multiple people in your group, its great. This was not. Starting from check-in, the front desk clerk was difficult. The rooms (we had 3, 2 with kings, and 1 with queens), not clean, found a contact lens on the night stand, beds were super hard and lumpy, the 2 queens were actually twins/fulls. The size of the rooms and bathrooms was great. Food and drink, the food is not horrible, but they DO NOT have the quantity of restaurants they advertise. Its more like 4 and 3 snack bars open odd hours. The sushi bar is a 42" reach-in cooler out in the sun, no need to say more. When ordering room service, told cannot order alcohol, and at the bar attempted to order a Sol, and told that has to be paid for and not included, only draft and well alcohol included. Thought I had paid for an all inclusive for 8 people, apparently not. Pool and Beach, 1st the pool is too small for the capacity of the property, and PACKED. The beach is a great view, but is rocky and difficult to use, if you walk 1/4 mi in either direction its much better. The location is not horrible, but far from 5 star, more like 2 or 3 star. The kids club was nice, but forget the mini golf course, its a mess. Have been to many different resorts/hotels, from no star to 5 diamond. One's level of expectation is subject to interpretation. But this was far from what was anticipated. Move on to another....

Great 4 nights at gran Porto. Excellent location. Large resort in the middle of town

Pros: This is a nice hotel in a great location within walking distance to everything within the town of Playa Del Carmen. Generally a very clean resort with decent quality food and a very friendly staff. We had a large group of people there so we had a great time. Cons: Resort seems a bit old and needs some cosmetic work, beach area is horrible, pool is nice but small. All-inclusive plan is a bit frustrating as there are only 3 restaurants to choose from plus the buffet. Only buffet and Italian restaurant had working AC when we were there so it was hot basically everywhere. Extra charges for most wine, premium liquor and lobster in every restaurant was unexpected, especially wince it was not explained upon our arrival..

Loved it! Great hotel and excellent staff! The food was also very good!

The beach is literally impossible to go in because of the sharp rocks and seaweed in front of and in the water. So all you're left with is the pool and the all inclusive food. The pool was nice, but very warm. The food was inedible. Their "Brazilian Steakhouse" offered some meat that looked/smelled like dog meat, tasted like Robitussin, and where you had to chew like gum before you could swallow. Only part of the trip that was good was the kid's puppet show and the balcony had a hammock. Pretty sad that those are my only two highlights for my family vacation. We literally had to check out a few days earlier just to move hotels in order to salvage our trip. To their credit, after staying one night of the three night stay, the hotel refunded only $160 of the $1400 we paid for the hotel. Lol - absolute worst place ever. Grand Hyatt or anything north of that hotel will land you a great beach and better overall trip.

It was all good I had a lot of fun ,my boyfriend surprise me on my birthday with a ring they make it special ,nice, beautiful

Great places and hotel if you are looking for combination of relaxation on the beach and resort and walk around 5th avenue to enjoy food, bars, and shopping.

This was our first trip to Mexico and on this experience we would definitely go again. The hotel was excellent, room clean and cool, food was top notch and there were no issues with drinking the hotel water or ice (not faucet water). The thing that really surprised us was the friendliness of the staff. They actually enjoyed being there, enjoyed being with people and treated the hotel residents with respect and a kind attitude. Oh how I wish that our hotels in the US adopted this attitude! Really enjoyed our 5 day trip with my family here.

We vacationed at the Gran Porto the first week of February 2017. We loved the location close to 5th avenue and the staff was great. They are a little pushy about visiting the sister resort next door but not to bad. Our only complaint was the food at the buffet. the choice were very limited and the same every day.

I stayed here for a bachelorette getaway and it did not dissapoint. The food was SO good, especially the steak from the Rodizio restaurant. Oh, and the breakfast was always amazing. The drinks were really good too! We loveddd the entertainment at this resort-- while we were there they had a foam party and a fire show. Nightlife, shopping, & authentic Mexican restaurants are all within walking distance from the hotel which was amazing bc you don't need to waste time with cabs or buses. The beach direcltly in front of the hotel is very rocky which kind of sucked. However, Mamitas beach which is much nicer, is within walking distance, so it wasn't a big deal. Overall, an awesome all inclusive resort, I highly recommend it.

Constituyentes Number 1 Playa del Carmen QROO

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa

Located in Avenida Constituyentes, Gran Porto Resort All Inclusive is adjacent to Pier Navega and within a 5-minute walk of Quinta Alegria. This 287-room, 4-star resort has 2 outdoor pools along with a full-service spa and a free water park. It's in central Playa del Carmen and also a short walk from Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church and Mamitas Beach Club.


Dining

This resort is home to 7 onsite restaurants, perfect for a quick bite to eat. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, or make new friends at the free daily manager's reception.


Rooms

Gran Porto Resort All Inclusive's 287 rooms are recently renovated and provide minibars, ceiling fans, and safes. LCD TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. In-room massages are available, and other amenities include phones and ironing boards.


Property features

Gran Porto Resort All Inclusive features a full-service spa, 2 outdoor pools, and a free water park. A stay here includes free parking. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this all-inclusive resort include a children's pool, a fitness center, and a sauna.

Room options

Family Suite, Oceanfront (Junior)

King 1 | Sleeps 5

Junior Suite, Beachfront (Gran WalkOut)

King 1 | Twin 2 | Sleeps 4

Suite, 1 Bedroom, Oceanfront (Gran Master)

King 1 | Sleeps 5

Junior Suite, Oceanfront

King 1 | Twin 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Gran Porto Resort All Inclusive

Everyone (61) Couples (20) Students (1) Family (8) Other (1) Friends (10)
3

good location, so-so service.

Families

My point of comparison is The Royal, Playa Del Carmen just across the street. Since we were bringing our4 year old for the first time we chose this hotel for the location. I assume the Royal is close to the top of the list in terms of over all service and food choices. I guess I'm too picky because after a few days the food gets repetitive and there is almost always an issue with the freshness aspect of the food when it sits out on a buffet line. So with the Gran Porto there was a noticeable decrease in the overall food quality and selection that is probably pretty typical of these resorts. On the other hand, my wife thinks the food is generally good. The main good point of this hotel is the location, just a few blocks from 5th avenue shops. The cons: this area of beach is not nearly as wide as it was 5 years ago. The ocean directly in front of the hotel is not very swimmable due to rocks and manamade seawalls, the ocean directly in front had a foul odor at times that was not noticeable when walking north along the beach, reserved a room with king bed and were told only offered 2 queens, our room had bunk beds too which were a negative - too dangerous for my 4 year old son, construction noise, pools not heated/too cold (I think this is everywhere in Riviera maya),

By , from Dallas, TX on Oct 31, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 7, 2017

Dear Mr. Rodney, Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback. Our guest's observations are greatly appreciated as it is what helps us improve our service standards. Please, rest assured that we will address the concerns you have kindly mentioned with our team in order to give the proper follow up. Thank you for your visit and we truly hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future to exceed your expectations in our renovated property. Best regards, Marilú Inglés General Manager's Assistant

4
Everyone

Jose of the bar wait staff was awesome. Carlos, Manuel and Miguel always keep us moving

By , from Boston on Oct 21, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 24, 2017

Dear Mr. Bob, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay in Gran Porto Resort with all of us and letting us know you had a great holiday experience and our staff provided you with a memorable service. It will be a pleasure to share your kind comments with the members of our staff who you kindly mentioned. Sincerely, Marilú Inglés General Manager's Assistant

3
Everyone

We all enjoyed are stay. We were not told that the hotel was going through a make over wish we were told. Workers were over the top especially They were so good and made are stay great! Erika chef, Jose poolside server, david bartender, phillipe bartender,,the activties were nice pool side. The shows and music at night was very nice. some audience participation would go a long way! over all we had a great time thank you!

By , from boston on Oct 15, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 18, 2017

Dear Mr. Tom, Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback. All of our guest's comments and observations are greatly appreciated as it is what helps us improve our service standards. We are happy to know that our staff provided you with a memorable service and it will be a pleasure to share your kind comments with our team. We truly hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future to exceed your expectations in our renovated property. Best regards, Marilú Inglés General Manager's Assistant

4

fantastic vacation spot

Everyone

Staff, food, room, activities were FANTASTIC! The only downside was there was a lot of noisy construction going on while we were there but can't wait to see it when it's completed!

By , from Massachusetts on Oct 15, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 17, 2017

Dear Mrs. Rebecca, Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We are truly happy to know you had a wonderful holiday and we are already looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future to continue exceedind your expectations in our renovated property. Best regards, Marilú Inglés General Manager's Assistant

5

keto friendly resort in the heart of playa del car

Everyone

Had a wonderful time here. The food and drinks were fantastic. Only complaint we had was the noise of construction, but it’s understandable.. reading reviews before hand about liquor was misinformed, we had crown and cokes, Smirnoff mixed drinks all week. The Brazilian restaurant and buffet were the best all-inclusive options I’ve ever had in Mexico.

By , from OKC on Oct 9, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 12, 2017

Dear Mr. Bobby, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay in Gran Porto Resort with all of us. We are truly happy to read you had an incredible holiday and fully enjoyed our services. We truly hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to continue exceeding your expectations in our renovated property. Sincerely, Marilú Inglés General Manager's Assistant

4

very nice

Everyone
Cabana with junior walk out suites The beach massage pavilion Complimentary wine for our anniversary

The resort is very nice. The rooms are gorgeous and beds are very comfortable. The only disappointment is the description on orbitz and Expedia is misleading. This resort only has one pool and they are building a second and there is no swim up bar. Half of the things listed are at their sister resort, The Royal, which you get access to with only certain suites. It is right across the street so you can walk across to it. The location is awesome. LOTS of shopping one block down.

By , from rhode island on Aug 30, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 1, 2017

Dear Auriel, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay in Gran Porto Resort with all of us and letting us know you enjoyed your holiday and our privileged location here in Playa del Carmen. We truly look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future to exceed your expectations. Sincerely, Marilú Inglés General Manager's Assistant

3

deceptive booking practices

Everyone

Upon arrival at the hotel, the double bedroom we had booked was not available. There was a family ahead of us and one behind with the same problem. The hotel staff was rude and terribly unhelpful. Their excuse was they wait to see who was using the room. My son, who is 6'2" did not fit in the twin. The hotel offered NOTHING for compensation. I have stayed along the coast at many places over many years. This was the worst. Food was not great either.

By , from denver on Aug 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 25, 2017

Dear jimmy, Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback. We are truly sorry to read you did not enjoy your holiday with us. But please, rest assured that we will address the concerns you have kindly mentioned with our team in order to improve our service standards. Thank you for your visit and I remain at your service. Best regards, Marilú Inglés General Manager's Assistant

5

nice hotel and service

Everyone

The resort was in an amazing area that safe for tourist like us that don't want to stay inside the resort every day.

By on Aug 22, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 24, 2017

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback. We truly hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future to continue exceeding your expectations. Sincerely, Marilú Inglés General Manager's Assistant

5

perfect place

Everyone

Could not have asked for a better resort. Location was perfect and the room was amazing. Great view and proximity to the beach

By , from Louisiana on Aug 11, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 15, 2017

Dear Mr. Gary, Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback. We are truly happy to read you had an incredible holiday! We are already looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future to continue exceeding your expectations. Sincerely, Marilú Inglés General Manager's Assistant

2

over rated and under preforming, under delivering

Everyone

This resort was sold as "5 star, all-inclusive". Have been to all-inclusives prior, and when you have multiple people in your group, its great. This was not. Starting from check-in, the front desk clerk was difficult. The rooms (we had 3, 2 with kings, and 1 with queens), not clean, found a contact lens on the night stand, beds were super hard and lumpy, the 2 queens were actually twins/fulls. The size of the rooms and bathrooms was great. Food and drink, the food is not horrible, but they DO NOT have the quantity of restaurants they advertise. Its more like 4 and 3 snack bars open odd hours. The sushi bar is a 42" reach-in cooler out in the sun, no need to say more. When ordering room service, told cannot order alcohol, and at the bar attempted to order a Sol, and told that has to be paid for and not included, only draft and well alcohol included. Thought I had paid for an all inclusive for 8 people, apparently not. Pool and Beach, 1st the pool is too small for the capacity of the property, and PACKED. The beach is a great view, but is rocky and difficult to use, if you walk 1/4 miles in either direction its much better. The location is not horrible, but far from 5 star, more like 2 or 3 star. The kids club was nice, but by the street, forget the mini golf course, its a mess. Have been to many different resorts/hotels, from no star to 5 diamond. One's level of expectation is subject to interpretation. But this was far from what was anticipated. Move on to another....

By , from Scottsdale,AZ on Jul 15, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 18, 2017

Dear Ms. Gina, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay in Gran Porto Resort with all of us and letting us know about your concerns. Please, rest assured that we will share your observations with our team in order to improve our service standards. Thank you for your visit and best regards, Marilú Inglés General Manager's Assistant