Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Catalonia Royal Tulum - Adults Only - All Inclusive

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Myself and my girlfriend recently stayed here for her birthday. We did upgrade to the privilege section upon arrival and in my opinion it was worth it. The margarita bar was my favorite best drinks on the property. Armando and Isaac went out of there way to make our expirence memorable. The food was amazing at all the restaurants and the seafood was always fresh and delicious.

The hotel was beautiful. Close walk to the beach which was maintained beautifully, the pool was immaculate and the food was great. The staff was wonderful and did everything they could to keep us happy. We can't wait to return

Every restaurant including the buffet was 5 stars easily, with great service. The beach is easily the best in the area with enough beach chairs for everyone and enough palm trees to offer shade. Reef is 15-20m off the shore. Lots of coral, fish or perfect for just floating around.

Beautiful grounds. The wildlife was entertaining. The rooms were very clean. Food was great. The bar tenders and wait staff were ok, but some inconsistencie-different rules for different people and more friendly to some guests. Overall, it was a great stay! Would recommend to others.

Overall a phenomenal experience. Only complaint is that we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary, of which they knew about, and they didn't do anything "special" for us. Other resorts have always given us champagne, strawberries, etc. in the room or something at a dinner or SOMETHING!

Great, quiet location. Staff is nice and accommodating. Room was clean and the showers were awesome. The beach is beautiful and is cleaned of seaweed most mornings. The hotel grounds were well-kept with quite the amount of greenery to make it feel like you were in the jungle. My friend and I stayed in the the portion closest to the beach and the walk was quite doable. My only con about the resort was the food for lunch and dinner. The food was somewhat bland and mediocre. Breakfast options were great! I would recommend if you are able to get a good deal, however, I would not pay full price because the food is not that impressive.

I'm not sure I would give this resort the 4 Star rating it has, probably more like a 3.5 Im not sure where to start.. It just wasn't for us. It was quiet meaning it wasn't the most lively environment. No music was played by the pool. Main bar in lobby had no bar stools anywhere so no opportunity to interact with the guest. No pool bar. Food wasn't that great.. Typical resort food. Had to wear a wrist band the entire time in order to eat ... Ridiculous ! You get 2 beach towels per day which u had to take with you to & from the beach/ pool.. If u loose your beach towel or key card its 30.00 fee. When we checked in, no one gave us any information on where our room was, where the foods were located, etc.. As we settled in we noticed the staff constantly trying to sell people on time shares all day long! Beach Pros: the water was absolutely amazing. Beautiful, clean, white sand, almost perfect. Beach Cons: not all that wide of beach. Most of the chairs were really close together. To be fair, if u have no other resorts to compare this to, you will probably like this resort. We have been to several so the pros & cons stand out. We will not be returning unfortunately .

My husband and I went end of April and it was fantastic! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean & comfortable! The pool area was large enough that if we got down their in the morning there wasn't a problem finding a chair. We loved the soft white sand beach and the sea! The restaurants were good, especially the breakfast buffet and the steakhouse. Would go again in a heartbeat!

Beautiful property, very friendly attentive staff, amazing beach, nice pool, but all that was completely ruined by the persistent club music and pounding base blaring the entire day. It made the resort a lot less classy than it appears, like a Vegas pool area or a spring break Cancun resort full of sorority and fraternity kids.

Great vacation. Would definitely go back. Friendly staff, beautiful beach, good restaurants. Very clean rooms.

Just returned from a weeks' stay and it was awesome. The property is well maintained and beautiful. The staff were friendly and helpful. The entertainment staff, in particular, we're outstanding. We enjoyed the nightly programs. There were many food choices, all very good. The beach and pool area are gorgeous, and the walk to get there was gorgeous..... especially at night. I didn't like the animals on the sidewalk but they weren't a problem. Overall, this is one of my favorite resorts.

Great food. Had to turn down 1st two rooms. One room musty odor. 2nd one looked like it wasn't that clean. 3rd was fine. Payed for shuttle service to and from hotel.When we went to get shuttle to airport,it left without us. Didn't know what time to meet it.flight was at 4pm.was in lobby 11:10 am. Front desk finally contacted supershuttle.they wouldn't send another shuttle. Paid taxi 45.00 US to airport. This was unacceptable. Front desk ,in my experience should have picked up the taxi fare.there is something called customer satisfaction.

Our overall stay was pretty average. We were not real impressed with anything. Upon arrival check in was a little unorganized. We had to wait on a room. We did upgrade to "privileged". I'm glad we did, as Beloved was where we ate the most. If not, we would have been limited to buffets for lunch and breakfast. I'm not a fan of categorizing people with different arm bands... We have never experienced this at other resorts. Food was nothing special and the restaurants all seemed under staffed. It took a long time for service, food, & drinks everywhere we went. Beer is all draft & mixed drinks are very sweet. The staff morale seemed low and reflected in the service we received. We even tipped generously and didn't seem to change anything. We were also annoyed by the camera people that want to take your pictures every day. When I'm relaxing by the pool I don't want to pose for photos. They even showed up at supper one night! We kindly said no, but they were kind of pushy. I'm sure it's a great place if you have nothing to compare it to, but we've been to better.

Great beach, friendly staff, food was very good. Mostly couples or couples traveling together. Had perfect weather everyday. Took the collectivo to Playa del Carmen, Tulum ruins, and to Akumal Bay to snorkel with wild sea turtles (saw at least a dozen). We did not pay for guided tours at either Tulum or Akumal Bay and had a great time. We found the Collectivo (minivan public transport) to be safe, clean, convenient and very cheap (about $2USD in pesos per person each way). I followed the advice on this site to politely but pointedly decline the sales pitch for the Club (time share). After the intial pitch right after check-in, we cut it off after a few minutes and were never contacted again the rest of our stay. Had a wonderful stay at CRT. Would definitely go back

Orbitz contacted and working toward a resolution. Worst property ever. Severe communication problems as no staff member speaks English.

We recommend this hotel to people who are looking for a decent all inclusive place but a bit budget conscious. It's a beautiful place. We loved the beach and the nature that surrounds this hotel. The staff members are so great. They are all kind and willing to help you. We enjoyed the stay 100 percent. We cannot say that foods here were good. If you stay in a privilege room, it will allow you to eat at a restaurant called Bloved, which was the only restaurant that was decent and worth going back for. The room is OK but nothing too special. It is comfortable and we loved the view of nature and animals we can find. You will not get an ocean view but it isn't important for us. This was a first resort we stayed that did not have a Jacuzzi tab in the room but then again it was less expensive than other places we have stayed so it's fine. We enjoyed the trip and loved the people who worked there. This is more a casual resort compared to others we have stayed.

Food was very good at the restaurants I visited...Bloved(only for Privileged guests) Steak house, Main buffet. Asian. Drinks were very good at pool bar. Pool so is large so that the pool service was a little slow getting around the pool, but was never a problem for us. Friendly service everywhere. Beach is absolutely stunning. Lots of chairs at pool and beach. Never a problem getting a chair at either. Privileged guests had their own beach chairs roped off...I was a privileged guest and never used them. Rooms are along a stone pathway from the lobby to the beach/pool area..Privileged guests rooms are in building closest to the beach..No room is "beachfront" because you are in a jungle with lots of wildlife...Animals you do not see in the U.S. Beautiful birds everywhere. Peaceful just sitting on your deck and looking into the jungle area. Just beautiful. Breezy at night so a light jacket was needed for the nightly entertainment. I took bug spray and never used it. A lot of the restaurants are outdoors settings and there is really no need for men to take long trousers...Shorts and a nice shirt are welcome at the restaurants. Room service was worth it...Bring comfortable shoes for your walk on the stone pathway. It was not a problem for us, but I could see if you have sensitive feet that it could be..Although if you do not feel like walking they will pick you up in a golf cart and take you wherever you need to go within the resort...Just dial 0. Plenty of hot water for showers.

This is nice hotel in a great beach. The go out of their way to make sure your stats is great.

Beautiful beach, excellent staff, clean, good service, food, and entertainment. Will return for sure.

Great service friendly stuff beautiful beach delicious food and drinks.

Carr Cancun Chetumal Km 264 5 Xpu-Ha QROO

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Xpu-ha Beach
  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking

Catalonia Royal Tulum - Adults Only - All Inclusive places you within a short walk of Xpu-ha Beach and within a mile (2 km) of Bel Air Animal Park. This 288-room, 4-star resort welcomes guests with 7 restaurants, a full-service spa, and an outdoor pool. It's on the beach and also near Cenote Cristalino and Chikinha Cenote.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free buffet breakfast offered each morning. Enjoy dining at La Selva, one of 7 onsite restaurants. Order from 24-hour room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room.


Rooms

All 288 air-conditioned rooms feature free minibar items, furnished balconies, and MP3 docks. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and plasma TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and bathrobes, and beds are dressed in pillow menus. Other standard amenities include coffee makers, free bottled water, and ceiling fans.


Property features

Catalonia Royal Tulum - Adults Only - All Inclusive features a full-service spa, a nightclub, and an outdoor pool. There's free parking if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with concierge services and luggage storage. Other amenities at this adults-only resort include a fitness center, a spa tub, and a sauna.

Room options

Privileged Honeymoon

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Privileged Junior Suite

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Privileged Deluxe

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Catalonia Royal Tulum - Adults Only - All Inclusive

Everyone (24) Couples (233) Family (11) Friends (17) Other (5)
5

great staff

Everyone

Myself and my girlfriend recently stayed here for her birthday. We did upgrade to the privilege section upon arrival and in my opinion it was worth it. The margarita bar was my favorite best drinks on the property. Armando and Isaac went out of there way to make our expirence memorable. The food was amazing at all the restaurants and the seafood was always fresh and delicious.

By , from Philadelphia on Nov 9, 2017

5

nice hotel, great beach, great pool and restaurant

Couples

The hotel was beautiful. Close walk to the beach which was maintained beautifully, the pool was immaculate and the food was great. The staff was wonderful and did everything they could to keep us happy. We can't wait to return

By , from Wyoming on Oct 5, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 3, 2017

Dear Joel, Thank you so much for your lovely comments and your great review. We really appreciated your compliments to our Resort, beach, almost all of restaurants and the details of our service. We hope you will decide to visit us again in the future; it will be our pleasure to welcome you once again!

5

amazing food and fantastic beach

Everyone

Every restaurant including the buffet was 5 stars easily, with great service. The beach is easily the best in the area with enough beach chairs for everyone and enough palm trees to offer shade. Reef is 15-20m off the shore. Lots of coral, fish or perfect for just floating around.

By , from Brisbane on Aug 6, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 9, 2017

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, it’s comfortable to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel. It will be a pleasure for us to receive you again in the near future so we will have another opportunity to pamper you and exceed your expectations. Warm Regards, Guest Experience Manager

4

relaxing stay

Everyone

Beautiful grounds. The wildlife was entertaining. The rooms were very clean. Food was great. The bar tenders and wait staff were ok, but some inconsistencie-different rules for different people and more friendly to some guests. Overall, it was a great stay! Would recommend to others.

By , from PA on Aug 6, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 8, 2017

Dear Guest: We would like to start by thank you for taking the time to write us your comments about your stay at Catalonia hotels. Be sure that all your comments have been forwarded to the persons responsible for the departments involved and that the appropriate corrective and preventive measures will be taken in order to ensure that situations like these do not happen in the future and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations. Regards, Guest Experience Manager

5

beautiful hotel, fantastic beach and staff.

Everyone

Overall a phenomenal experience. Only complaint is that we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary, of which they knew about, and they didn't do anything "special" for us. Other resorts have always given us champagne, strawberries, etc. in the room or something at a dinner or SOMETHING!

By on Jul 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 26, 2017

Dear Guest: We would like to start by thank you for taking the time to answered the test about your stay at Catalonia Royal Tulum. Be advised that your opinion is very important and help us to improve our facilities and service every day. We truly appreciate it and also We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations. Regards, Guest Experience Manager

4
Everyone

Great, quiet location. Staff is nice and accommodating. Room was clean and the showers were awesome. The beach is beautiful and is cleaned of seaweed most mornings. The hotel grounds were well-kept with quite the amount of greenery to make it feel like you were in the jungle. My friend and I stayed in the the portion closest to the beach and the walk was quite doable. My only con about the resort was the food for lunch and dinner. The food was somewhat bland and mediocre. Breakfast options were great! I would recommend if you are able to get a good deal, however, I would not pay full price because the food is not that impressive.

By , from Atlanta, GA on Jun 2, 2017

Review comment responded on Jun 5, 2017

Dear Guest: We would like to start by thank you for taking the time to write us your comments about your stay at Catalonia hotels. Be sure that all your comments have been forwarded to the persons responsible for the departments involved and that the appropriate corrective and preventive measures will be taken in order to ensure that situations like these do not happen in the future and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations. Regards, Guest Experience Manager

3

average

Everyone

I'm not sure I would give this resort the 4 Star rating it has, probably more like a 3.5 Im not sure where to start.. It just wasn't for us. It was quiet meaning it wasn't the most lively environment. No music was played by the pool. Main bar in lobby had no bar stools anywhere so no opportunity to interact with the guest. No pool bar. Food wasn't that great.. Typical resort food. Had to wear a wrist band the entire time in order to eat ... Ridiculous ! You get 2 beach towels per day which u had to take with you to & from the beach/ pool.. If u loose your beach towel or key card its 30.00 fee. When we checked in, no one gave us any information on where our room was, where the foods were located, etc.. As we settled in we noticed the staff constantly trying to sell people on time shares all day long! Beach Pros: the water was absolutely amazing. Beautiful, clean, white sand, almost perfect. Beach Cons: not all that wide of beach. Most of the chairs were really close together. To be fair, if u have no other resorts to compare this to, you will probably like this resort. We have been to several so the pros & cons stand out. We will not be returning unfortunately .

By on May 17, 2017

Review comment responded on May 20, 2017

Dear Guest: Thank you very much for your feedback. We deeply apologize if your stay with us was not a completely perfect experience. We are therefore very concerned for your comments, as it is obvious that you did not receive the level of service you were expecting from us. Be sure that all your comments have been forwarded to the persons responsible for the departments involved and that the appropriate corrective and preventive measures will be taken in order to ensure that situations like these do not happen in the future and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations. Regards, Guest Experience Manager

5

wonderful property!

Couples

My husband and I went end of April and it was fantastic! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean & comfortable! The pool area was large enough that if we got down their in the morning there wasn't a problem finding a chair. We loved the soft white sand beach and the sea! The restaurants were good, especially the breakfast buffet and the steakhouse. Would go again in a heartbeat!

By , from Colorado on May 2, 2017

Review comment responded on May 5, 2017

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you such nice comments about our hotel facilities. We all are deeply glad to hear that you spent a great time with us. It will be a pleasure for us to receive you again in the near future so we will have another opportunity to pamper you and exceed your expectations. Regards, Cinthya Esparza Guest Experience Manager

4

beautiful beach but get rid of the club music

Everyone

Beautiful property, very friendly attentive staff, amazing beach, nice pool, but all that was completely ruined by the persistent club music and pounding base blaring the entire day. It made the resort a lot less classy than it appears, like a Vegas pool area or a spring break Cancun resort full of sorority and fraternity kids.

By , from seattle on Apr 15, 2017

Review comment responded on May 1, 2017

Dear Guest: First of all, we would like to thank you for forwarding us your comment as the opinion of our guests is very important to us and our main source to improve our facilities and service. We regret not having been able to fulfill your expectations regarding your stay with us. Be sure that myself, my colleagues and all the hotel staff will take your comments very seriously in order to surprise you positively in your next visit to our hotels. Regards, Cinthya Esparza Guest Experience Manager

5

great vacation

Everyone

Great vacation. Would definitely go back. Friendly staff, beautiful beach, good restaurants. Very clean rooms.

By , from New Jersey on Apr 7, 2017

Review comment responded on May 1, 2017

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service. It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel. We hope to see you soon!!! Regards, Cinthya Esparza Guest Experience Manager