Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Siena Hotel

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

This place is all smoke and mirrors, not least of all as the hotel is in the middle of major construction (from 7am on, so don't expect much beauty sleep after sunrise). Stains here, grime there. Staff largely apathetic. The only thing going for it is the fact that's it's non-smoking and not a casino...

Location is handy but a little off from the main street. Opposite to the hotel, there was a (weekly) hotel that looked 'run down' and a liquor store. Parking is outdoor next to street construction. Hotel itself is nice and the price is reasonable. Not sure I want to walk outside by myself after dark. Like the 'non smoking' and 'non gambling' features.

The mattresses were very mushy, old, and uncomfortable. One of the beds was on a slant. The room was very dirty with foreign matter on the walls and headboards, dirty and stained carpet. Animal hair all over throw pillows on the beds. Very worn furniture and lamps in the room.

Place was being renovated which normally isn't a big deal but not having any hand towels and only one washcloth in the room was The staff had no problem getting more but took 2 1/2 hours to get

My experience in this hotel was nice it wasn't bad. I feel like it could have been better. When i turned on the tub a lot of black stuff began to come out. So i had to drain the water out and clean it. The carpet was dirty and so was the sofa. The bed does NOT look like the picture on the web (that part i was disappointed at). Theres no restaurant or casinos inside this Hotel but they do have a pool and a very nice view.

no a/c never going back there again...too far from the interstate.

Told hotel is in transition to Marriott ownership.Lots of construction.Pool area closed..Coffee bar guy seemed lost.Room fine Got nice upgrade free.good bellhop service.

Hotel was right next to the seedy part of town. Homeless people outside and tagging along the way. The room was clean but definitely well worn. bathroom door would not close. We were put right next to the laundry room and kept being woken up by slamming machines and heavy cycles. I live in Nevada, I have stayed in many of the casino hotels. I dont reccomend this one. We will not stay here again. 100$ to not sleep well...

The renovations look nice and the staff was pleasant. There were just a few minor things that would move Siena from good to great. For instance - fans in the fitness room are much needed. Signs or information at check-in for the fitness room would be helpful. And, the cooling system in the room would be much better if it were temperature controlled rather than on/off mode. It makes for a disruptive night of sleeping when you have to get up to adjust the air. Finally, ensuring guests have enough towels for the number of people staying in the room. Minor things that would help the overall experience.

Only this hotel in Reno provide free shuttle in the city which was plus point

This hotel is changing hands at the moment. It is going through some major changes. The spa is closed, the pool is closed, casino gone, the restaurant is closed, the bar is only open in the evening for a few hours. It is walking distance to many restaurants. I love the location right on the river and you can walk to your car without a big journey like a lot of the casino hotels. I have allergies and was unable to sleep as the beds were made with feather duvet's and feather pillows. I did get the pillows changed out with housekeeping and that helped a bit. I would usually wake up about 4 AM unable to breathe and just get up.

Employees friendly, room relatively clean but the door handle entering room was broken and almost falling off. We were told most of the doors were like that. Shower pressure/water terrible. Not worth the $115.00.

The Sienna is undergoing renovations/new trade name. Nice room, small bath, 2Q's not really suitable for more than 3 persons. Only had one hand towel. Place verrry quiet at 10pm...no bar, no people, no movement....

The bed is comfy and the room is a decent size. This hotel is within walking distance (less than a mile) to the major Reno casinos and night life. There is a really good restaurant around the corner called Men Wielding Fire.

The rooms were very nice and clean. they had a refrigerator and coffee maker. Very nice view of the Truckee River and the pool is great. A very nice Hotel stay especially for the price.

Fast , easy parking and check-in. This is a very stylish hotel. The room was nicely designed abiet a little small. (This is a recently renovated older hotel.)the only reason I didn't rate the room better was that the carpet was very stained. The casino and pool ares are great!

when we wanted to extend our stay, they wouldn't talk to us because we used an on-line booking agent.!

The "No Smoking Rooms/Facilities" was the feature that attracted us. But, when we arrived at 2:00pm, they had put us in a smoking room. We asked if they could change our room to a no-smoking room, they said yes. Though the lobby says "No Smoking" everywhere, it's filled with smoke from the Casino right opposite the front desk. It was bad enough to make me nauseous. At 3:00pm we called and they said our room would be ready in an hour. At 4:00pm we arrived and waited until 5:45pm but still no room and we had to attend dinner at 6:00 so we left... At dinner another guest in our party said they too were waiting for their room... The rest of the wedding party we were with was booked in at the Peppermill and the rates were slightly less at the peppermill. After seeing their rooms and facilities, we realized we made a huge mistake... You have to deal with the cigarette smoke everywhere, but it's slightly more controlled at the larger hotels. If you need to be right in town, Eldorado, if 5 minutes away is ok... Peppermill! -- I have no financial interest in the Peppermill, it's just the only other hotel I got to see while there. I'm sure the Atlantis and other are probably just as nice.

The hotel is nice but not as represented online - online the hotel looks nice but when you get there, it is rather obvious that it is an older hotel that has had some refurbs. Basically you can't make a silk purse out of a sow's ear.... scale of 1-10 compared with other stays - 2 We WILL NOT STAY AGAIN nor would we recommend it. Other places are much nicer and more modern and offer exceptional service: - Eldorado - great buffet and rooms and LOCATION! - Atlantis - great buffet - awesome rooms - far away - Cal Neva - great food and specials as advertised The service in the hotel was the worst I have ever experienced. From calling to get information about hotel details to the most rude service ever from the restaurant manager - the lady was extremely rude and advertised specials were cryptic and hard to get. After 1 try in a very poorly decorated "greasy spoon" restaurant and after dealing with the manager, we never tried the uninviting restaurant again. We went to Cal Neva and had breakfast the rest of the time we were there. Great food and generous selection at $4.99 - eggs, pancakes, french toast or omelet to name a few. We enjoyed the casino until we tried to take advantage of the "Rewards" package that was a total joke. Advertised as 1st 24 hour risk money back guarantee - when we tried to get free credits, the rewards staff did not know how to activate the points or how to use them. After watching the rewards staff futz around for about 30 minutes, found a card that explained the rules - we pointed this out to the rewards staff and they said, oh no that is for another offer. At the end of the day the card was sorta right but instructions were not correct. The worst thing is the reward person "helping us" used our credits to check out to see if the rewards had been credited. We assumed they would credit the ones back they used - but they refused saying - oh it's not a big deal.... they were free. We complained to "Tim" who refused to give his last name when asked on the casino floor and he was rude and repeated - oh it's no big deal, don't know what you are so upset about. When I mentioned customer service he suddenly did not want to be involved even tho he took off with our card and when he reappeared, offered no solution except a "Pilate like" hand washing image.... After we used our comps, we did not play there anymore. The room was decorated in a very nice decor however was very small and cramped - even small for a hotel room. The bath room while very nicely decorated was tiny and the bath room door took up about 1/3 of the bath room. It was very cramped and not even comfortable for one person - when we both tried to squeeze in to get ready, it was very tight. The cleaning service was sloppy and left something undone each day. The first day the bed was not made. The next day, there was no toilet tissue and no hand towels. It seemed they just rushed in and did as little as they could get by with.

Good to gamble here but foods not that great. VERY short walk to the strip.

1 S Lake St Reno NV

Located in Downtown Reno, Siena Hotel is adjacent to National Automobile Museum and within a 10-minute walk of other popular attractions like National Bowling Stadium. This 4-star hotel has 214 guestrooms and offers an outdoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking. Located centrally in Reno, it's also close to Nevada Museum of Art and Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center.


Dining

At the end of the day, unwind with a drink at the bar/lounge.


Rooms

All of Siena Hotel's 214 air-conditioned rooms provide iPod docks, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can expect 40-inch flat-screen TVs with digital channels, along with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and bathrobes, and pillowtop beds with premium bedding ensure a restful night. Free weekday newspapers, laptop-compatible safes, and phones are also standard.


Property features

Guests of Siena Hotel have access to an outdoor pool, a health club, and a spa tub. You can take advantage of free parking, along with a free airport shuttle during limited hours. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with dry cleaning/laundry and luggage storage. Additional amenities include free WiFi in public areas, conference space, and a seasonal outdoor pool.

Guest reviews for Siena Hotel

Everyone (13) Couples (16) Business (1) Family (10) Friends (5)
2

7am construction - they need an online disclaimer!

Everyone

This place is all smoke and mirrors, not least of all as the hotel is in the middle of major construction (from 7am on, so don't expect much beauty sleep after sunrise). Stains here, grime there. Staff largely apathetic. The only thing going for it is the fact that's it's non-smoking and not a casino...

By on Oct 29, 2016

3
Everyone

Location is handy but a little off from the main street. Opposite to the hotel, there was a (weekly) hotel that looked 'run down' and a liquor store. Parking is outdoor next to street construction. Hotel itself is nice and the price is reasonable. Not sure I want to walk outside by myself after dark. Like the 'non smoking' and 'non gambling' features.

By on Sep 20, 2016

3

the hotel is right on the river.

Everyone

The mattresses were very mushy, old, and uncomfortable. One of the beds was on a slant. The room was very dirty with foreign matter on the walls and headboards, dirty and stained carpet. Animal hair all over throw pillows on the beds. Very worn furniture and lamps in the room.

By on Sep 19, 2016

4

under construction

Everyone

Place was being renovated which normally isn't a big deal but not having any hand towels and only one washcloth in the room was The staff had no problem getting more but took 2 1/2 hours to get

By on Sep 16, 2016

3

an ok hotel

Everyone

My experience in this hotel was nice it wasn't bad. I feel like it could have been better. When i turned on the tub a lot of black stuff began to come out. So i had to drain the water out and clean it. The carpet was dirty and so was the sofa. The bed does NOT look like the picture on the web (that part i was disappointed at). Theres no restaurant or casinos inside this Hotel but they do have a pool and a very nice view.

By , from San Jose, Ca on Aug 23, 2016

1

bad to bone

Everyone

no a/c never going back there again...too far from the interstate.

By , from weatherford tx on May 19, 2016

Review comment responded on Jun 3, 2016

Hello Joe. I am so sorry to hear you didn't have a great experience while staying with us. We are currently under renovation as we are transitioning to a Marriott Renaissance early next year. I am sorry to hear you had AC issues. We would love to welcome you back in the future and I can ensure you will be well taken care of.

3

hotel in transition.

Everyone

Told hotel is in transition to Marriott ownership.Lots of construction.Pool area closed..Coffee bar guy seemed lost.Room fine Got nice upgrade free.good bellhop service.

By , from California on May 9, 2016

Review comment responded on May 11, 2016

Hi Jim thank you for staying with us. Yes we are under renovation transitioning to a Marriott Renaissance at the end of the year. Our pool area is seasonal and slated to open up later this month. We would love to have you back with us once we complete the full renovation. Thanks again for staying with us and taking time to comment.

2

right on the river.

Everyone

Hotel was right next to the seedy part of town. Homeless people outside and tagging along the way. The room was clean but definitely well worn. bathroom door would not close. We were put right next to the laundry room and kept being woken up by slamming machines and heavy cycles. I live in Nevada, I have stayed in many of the casino hotels. I dont reccomend this one. We will not stay here again. 100$ to not sleep well...

By , from Nevada on May 2, 2016

Review comment responded on May 11, 2016

Hello Lili. Thank you for your recent stay with us and your honest feedback. We are currently under a full renovation as a lot of our services are not available. I am sorry to hear you did not feel safe as we do have 24hr security roaming the entire building. We would love an opportunity to have you back as we are transitioning to a Marriott Renaissance later this year.

3

okay...just a few tweaks.

Everyone

The renovations look nice and the staff was pleasant. There were just a few minor things that would move Siena from good to great. For instance - fans in the fitness room are much needed. Signs or information at check-in for the fitness room would be helpful. And, the cooling system in the room would be much better if it were temperature controlled rather than on/off mode. It makes for a disruptive night of sleeping when you have to get up to adjust the air. Finally, ensuring guests have enough towels for the number of people staying in the room. Minor things that would help the overall experience.

By on Apr 29, 2016

4

nice hotel near to river ,we enjoyed

Everyone

Only this hotel in Reno provide free shuttle in the city which was plus point

By , from sacramento on Apr 4, 2016

Review comment responded on Apr 13, 2016

Thank you so much for staying with us. Yes we do offer shuttle service to and from airport and casino properties. We would to have you back in the future. Tristan Director of Operations twood@sienareno.com