Ratings based on 4,933 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Orbitz Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland oregon

Beautiful resort on the beach

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Beautiful resort on the beach. Wish the description would have said it was geared more towards couples as me and my 2 girlfriends were the only single people there. Other than that it was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Beautiful hotel, wonderful service!

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: We love the proximity to the beach, which we love.
Cons: Can't think of anything at this time.
Location: We did not venture out of the hotel, we wanted to do nothing but relax.
We had a wonderful time during our stay at Playa Mujeres. The staff was courteous and friendly. Our room was beautiful and our bed was super confortable. The grounds of the hotel were beautiful and clean. The restaurants were excellent. We specially loved the French restaurant and having breakfast at Toscana and the Grill..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canfield, Ohio

Pampered and totally relaxed

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Everything. The Service is unmatched anywhere we have been.
Cons: limited number of cabanas at the beach
Location: Plenty of help at the hotel to find day trips to do whatever you want.
What a phenomenal place to stay. We have stayed at this resort multiple times and each time we compare it to other places we have stayed and there is no match for the money. Beside the beauty and cleanliness, the staff is beyond compare. Carolina Paz, the head of guest services is super, catering to your every need. They remember what you like and what schedule you follow while you are there. Things like when you want turn down service or the restaurants you like, they remember. Carolina and her staff treated us like "rock stars" and she should be highly commended. Also, Nelson the food and beverage Manager, we on top of his game also. What a place. That's why when you are there it is not unusual to find guest who have been there 8, 9, 10 times. That says it all!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Fayetteville, NC

Romantic Vacation

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: It's all inclusive and everything is clean and beautiful.
Cons: Nothing
Location: We stayed on the resort, but it offered sail boats, paddle boats, kayaks, snorkeling, parasailing, and jet skis.
The ambiance is beautiful and the smells are so relaxing. The rooms are very large and luxurious. The staff is very attentive to your needs and ensure that your experience is "excellent". There are various food choices for all. This was our second time visiting and we can't wait to go back! We recommend this to everyone we know.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, but cash was stolen from my wallet

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The hotel is great, staff is mostly friendly, food is good. Location is great, beach front, although it's 20-25 minutes away from Cancun and is the opposite side of the Mayan riviera. I would have rated this 9/10 except for the fact that while I was away on the beach or the spa, I got some cash stolen from my wallet (about $200). When I informed about this, instead of hearing concern I got odd looks and was told that had never happened, that they wanted to investigate and inspect the room while me and my wife were in the room. This was poorly managed. I told them I didn't want to do anything to do with it and was not asking for my money back. I just wanted to enjoy the remainder of my vacation. A week later, I'm back home, and out of curiosity I check the hotel reviews and read many similar stories. In other words, I was blatantly lied to and evidently management is not doing much to remedy this. Such a shame.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tennessee

Beautiful escape

Posted Aug 23, 2017
This was our 3rd time going to the excellence playa mujeres. It's hard not to go back when you know the food is good, they have great drinks, and it's overall the best resort out there. The staff is awesome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Saint Louis, MO

Awesome as Usual, but...

Posted Aug 7, 2017
This was our second time traveling to Excellence Playa Mujeres and this place really makes you feel pampered. The staff is wonderful and everyone goes out of their way to make you feel special and you know you are on vacation. I have two complaints though. First, we paid for the Excellence Club and stayed in a Junior Oceanfront room. Because of the new hotel along with the ongoing construction, our view was definitely obstructed. This was a bummer. The other complaint was that one of the bar tenders made some kind of tacky joke grasping at air (meaning where is my tip) after I ordered two diet cokes in the lobby bar. Gratuity is supposed to be included and although my husband and I almost always tip, I thought it was rude for the bar tender to basically ask for a tip especially when asking for two non-alcoholic drinks that only required him to open a bottle. Other than those two things, we had a wonderful time and we would go back. The food was very good, above all other resorts we have stayed at in Mexico.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Incredible beach oasis!

Posted Aug 2, 2017
We just returned from our second trip to excellence and can't say enough amazing things about this resort. We went for our honeymoon 2 years ago and decided, no other resort can even touch the quality of Excellence. It was time for a vacay and it wasn't even a question to go back to the same resort. We LOVE it!! The rooms are comfortable and roomey. The staff is friendly and professional. The pools are clean. The beaches are perfect. And the food is the best I've ever had at a resort. My only recommendation that could have made our trip better was to get private transportation rather than shared. The resort is usually the furthest from the airport and shared transport took way longer than we liked. If you want to start your vacation out right, private is the way to go. HIGHLY recommend this place to any couple or group that loves good food, good beach, good people, and great drinks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Jul 20, 2017
We had an amazing honeymoon. Definitely coming back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice staff and everything is clean, clean, clean.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Very clean and very nice staff.
Cons: There was no shuttle to/from the airport.
Location: Whale shark tours.
We were greeted at the entrance with a cold hand cloth and a glass of wine. Going inside for the first time was truly breathtaking, the lobby is beautiful, the staircase is grand. The staff is very courteous and extremely positive. We loved our room and the beach was fantastic. We rented jet-ski's and the next day my gf and I went out on the catamaran by ourselves. The lazy river was a nice addition to the swim up bar. Overall our experience there was a good one. My only gripe was there are no shuttles to/from the airport...