Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Was closed for a while during Covid mess, so we were trying to be positive. It was very different than our visit prior. Food quality has gone down and the grounds are in need of a lot of work. We have hopes that the world will return to normal soon and this amazing place will return to its former splendor. The staff was fantastic, as always.

Amazing beach we were able to snorkel right off our beach cabana which was a great plus. Lots of neat fish no reef but we didn’t have to do anything to get there which was perfect. The adults only service from the clubhouse was outstanding. Lots of positives. A few areas need improvement there really is no room service despite advertised, the peddlers selling massages and such at the beach are never ending and super annoying, and the pool was extremely packed regardless of COVID. Awesome animals roaming the property. Food was delish tons of options and they will make you any amazing tropical drink you can think of with better alcohol brands. Very nice.

It is not 4 stars. The AC leaked on the first night constantly. Took me 1 complete hour at front desk to get another room. There was sewage smell steadily at various spots. A cockroach landed in a restaurant on my friend's shoulder. A large scorpion in their room second night. Animal poo all over the place in some areas. Animals in the middle of the night leaking the water spouts of beverages drinks offered to customers in Lobby bar and other bars when all was quiet. Understaffed big time in main restaurant. Meats not great in Brazilian restaurant, fat and cheap cuts. Time from wedding ceremony and reception with 2-3 hours in between to continue with their "restaurant" schedule at the same location. Children's shows not appropriate for children. Internet connection terrible. Many guests that I personally know got terribly sick . One of them a child for 3 months.

What an amazing place! If you are an animal lover, you will love this resort. My adult daughter and I came here, partially for the beach, part for animals, and the adult only peaceful room and pool. We were not disappointed! It was just delightful to get to see all the animals, though the monkeys were not very social. We saw them up in the trees near the reserve and that was it. The coatees were really cute, we enjoyed watching them. Our room was nice and kept clean and stocked, the room service was great, the drinks were great, the food was amazing and so many options. The beach was rocky and we didn't spend much time there, but we did jet ski and that was fun. I honestly can't think of any complaints except we would have loved to feed the coatees but there are signs everywhere saying not to. I'm sure it's for their best interest, but in all, we loved this place, and we'll be back. The entertainment was a blast, everything was just wonderful.

The grounds of the resort are spectacular, situated in a lush jungle with plenty of wild life and paths to explore. The grounds are easy to navigate with directional signs at most every intersection and a resort map at high traffic areas. The paths and signs are well lit at night. The resort does a great job at highlighting areas of interests with information placards. The resort has daily activities to sign up for and free to guests. We could do thinks like take a guided bike tour of the resort, swim in the cenote, Mayan cooking class, plant a tree, Jade river tour, etc. you could literally do a new activity every hour. In the evenings they have a schedule of shows to enjoy. We also liked that the resort invited local artisans to set up stalls for shopping and 2 of our nights the main square was transformed into a Mexican village with shopping, food stalls and entertainment. You must see the Fire Show on Saturday night, truly an immersive experience. We enjoyed the food and the many options the resort has to offer. 3 Buffets, 5 restaurants and 1 restaurant that is reservation only. Plus, they have little snack area set up in the lobby bar and a poolside buffet for lunch. The bars are great and we never had a problem finding a cocktail or cocktail server. The staff is amazingly friendly and went above and beyond every time. The beach is rough and rocky and the sargassum was pretty bad, but that is not anything the resort can control and there are so many activities and pools

We were there for our daughters wedding, over all our stay was pleasent, as with any other resort there were issues ,but nothing that that would have made our stay unpleasent.....

We picked to have the select club which was worth it and not worth it at the same time. The select club has a private pool for select club members only, also a beach area. We requested a king bed in our room but didn’t get it. Food was decent for all inclusive, Brazilian place had good food, so did the Japanese restaurant. Italian place was terrible. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There was a ton of stuff to do on the resort so you’re never bored. There is a ton of monkeys, coaties, cats and different birds all around the resort. You’re in a beautiful jungle setting, but with the jungle setting comes the bugs. I came home with a ton of bug bites so I highly recommend trying to find a bug spray that will work. The rooms were just decent, our AC leaked the whole time and I slipped and fell on the floor from the water coming out of the AC. If you’re looking for a lot of stuff to do on our resort than I highly recommend this resort. But if you just want to relax by the beach than maybe this place isn’t for you. The beach is about a 6 minute walk depending on where your building is. Only one of the pools had a pool bar, select club didn’t have a pool bar. Water park was more for kids, only had 4 slides to go down for adults. The beach is very rocky but there is some parts you can walk in and be okay. Since it is a public beach both resort and off resort venders come up to you constantly. I don’t think I would go back, but I would try the other properties they have.

The only way to go is with the adults only select club. This way you are able to access the restaurants on select club only adult nights, you have your own pool and restaurant for breakfast and lunch. They need to limit the times children are allowed in the a la carte restaurants. Children were running rampant as you're trying to enjoy a meal. This hotel is very well taken care of. The grounds are well manicured and the rooms are well cleaned everyday. As to the restaurants. The Brazil has a very good selection of meats and is very good. The Rivera has a wonderful atmosphere however, the food is rather bland and boring. The El Lirio has good food however is very chaotic and hot. The staff are all very helpful and friendly. Ruben at reception is wonderful, helpful and a pleasure. Victor, the waiter, and Lettie, the poolside waitress, at the select club pool and restaurant are absolutely wonderful. If your lucky enough to have William as your busboy at El LIrio your dinner will be much more pleasureable., The animals are quite enjoyable. Its nice to see how well they're taken of and not kicked aside. Overall it's a nice all inclusive resort.

Sandos Caracol is a beautiful property with so much to see and do. We travelled as a family of four adults, and stayed as Select Club guests (the adults only part of the resort); highly recommend if you are going without kids. The Select Club beach area and club house is worth the cost alone. There are Bali beds and beach mattresses, hammocks, and the club house has a bar, free snacks all day (much better than the main snack bar), and you don’t have to mess with the beach towel cards at the main pools. Our favorite parts of the rest of the resort were sunrises at the beach, the cenotes, all of the animals (make sure to visit the deer/parrot area, as the monkeys congregate there), the Mediterranean restaurant on the beach, and the Japanese restaurant. The rooms are comfortable and large, but the first place you’ll notice that this isn’t a five-star resort. Just typical wear and tear, and some issues with hot water, but nothing that made our stay unpleasant. One tip: if it is your first visit, they will invite you to a “welcome breakfast” and a sales pitch for their Royal Elite club in exchange for massage vouchers or other perks. They are surprisingly up-front about their goal, but what they promise will only take 1.5 hours took nearly 3. They want you to buy into a points system with a minimum 15-year commitment, so if you’re not open to that at all, there are much better ways to spend your first morning. But overall, this is a great place and a good value!

There seemed to be more things working against this resort than working for it. After we received our room and were taken to it, we walked in on other guests in "our" room. Needless to say this was not our room. After finally getting into our own room the WIFI was not working. This was a major disappointment because we, in part, chose this hotel because of WIFI throughout the complex. When we tried to get an answer we were told everything from "you don't get WIFI in your room," to "you're not doing it right," to "it's being worked on and should be ready in the morning." There wasn't any one thing that made this resort bad, but a lot of little things. The mirror in our bathroom had spots all through it, like it was peeling from the wall. One of our sinks had a big crack through it. The tennis courts were worn out and not useful for anyone that actually knows how to play tennis. The food was average at best. Also, this hotel is billed as an Eco Resort and looks as if they carved it out of the mangrove forest. This makes for cool paths and surroundings but there is a lot of standing water and the mosquitoes were horrible. Lastly, while we were there they were renovating the main pool. While that is great, and I understand that it probably needed to be done, I wish we would have been notified before we got there.

We came here a little worried due to some of the reviews but this hotel was amazing. We just spent a week there and enjoyed every minute of it. The staff was very friendly and helpful even when you are walking around the property EVERY staff member would greet you if they saw you walking by. The food in all the restaurants were very good, my favorites were the vegetarian place and The Lirios (steak and seafood). They had so many restaurants we actually didn't get to visit them all. The rooms were clean and well kept, the maid made sure we always had plenty of everything and we never even had to ask for anything. There is so much wild life on the property but my favorite were the monkeys. They came right to our balcony and we were able to feed them by hand (AMAZING)! The beach is ok, lots of rocks but it does have a patch of crystal clear water that has plenty of fish that we also unbelievable fed bread by hand (great videos of that). We stayed on the adult side and there were plenty of chairs even when we went out late due to sleeping in. The property was very lively. Every night they have a show... my favorite believe it not was the Michael Jackson show (great props). They also had a couple of nights were they had vendors come and they had everything Mexican..from tequila stations, to Mexican Candy stations, Churros, corn on the cob with that amazing cheese and chili (forgot whats its called), tostadas, you think Mexican and they had it. We will be back!

I wanted to love this place, but unfortunately I didn't. It is a neat resort (large in size) for families- lots of free activities. However the mosquitoes were definitely a deal breaker for me. I got 25 mosquito bites on my legs- it was painful and irritating. The free bug repellent that was all over the resort were all gone- every single bug repellent dispenser was out of their repellent which was irritating. It would be nice if they would refill those dispensers on a daily basis. I was there 4 nights at the Select Club but found it useless. No drink upgrades, food was decent, but at least there were on reservations required for most of the restaurants.

Just came from my vacations in the riviera maya , sandos caracol hotel and resort was an amazing experience for me and my family. Stayed for 5 nights , great spa, the zenotes were beautiful ... the water park was very fun, not only for kids, its also for adults . Beautiful beach, the staff were friendly and the rooms were clean and spacious. They have activities everyday. The restaurants have some delicous food, i enjoyed the buffet the most. Overall an amazing 5 days in mexico ( sandos caracol hotel and resort

Carretera Chetumal Pto Juarez Playa del Carmen QROO

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa

Sandos Caracol Eco Resort Select Club Adults Only- All inclusive places you within 3 miles (5 km) of popular attractions like Quinta Avenida and Mamitas Beach Club. This 218-room, 4-star property welcomes business and leisure travelers with 3 outdoor pools, a full-service spa, and a free water park.


Dining

This property is home to 10 onsite restaurants, perfect for a quick bite to eat.


Rooms

All 218 rooms provide free minibar items, balconies, and iPod docks. Guests can expect free WiFi and 42-inch plasma TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers, free toiletries, slippers, and bathrobes. Coffee makers, ceiling fans, and laptop-compatible safes are other standard amenities.


Property features

Sandos Caracol Eco Resort Select Club Adults Only- All inclusive features a full-service spa, 3 outdoor pools, and a free water park. There's free parking and an airport shuttle for a fee. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with concierge services, luggage storage, and dry cleaning/laundry. Other amenities at this adults-only property include a nightclub, a health club, and 3 spa tubs.

Room options

Deluxe Select Club, King Bed with Sofabed and Jetted Tub

1 King Bed | 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 3

Superior Select Club 2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | 2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 3

Penthouse Select Club, 1 king bed with Sofabed and Jetted Tub

1 King Bed | 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Sandos Caracol Eco Resort Select Club Adults Only- All inclusive

Everyone (16) Couples (18) Family (9)
4
Everyone

By on Jun 6, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 16, 2021

Dear Guest, Thank you for your evaluation, we hope to receive you soon again! Regards.

4
Family

Was closed for a while during Covid mess, so we were trying to be positive. It was very different than our visit prior. Food quality has gone down and the grounds are in need of a lot of work. We have hopes that the world will return to normal soon and this amazing place will return to its former splendor. The staff was fantastic, as always.

By on May 17, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 2, 2021

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments, we take them very seriously and will do our best to improve the issues you are mentionning. We hope you will give us the chance to serve you again in the future, as you deserve. Regards.

4
Partner Couples

Amazing beach we were able to snorkel right off our beach cabana which was a great plus. Lots of neat fish no reef but we didn’t have to do anything to get there which was perfect. The adults only service from the clubhouse was outstanding. Lots of positives. A few areas need improvement there really is no room service despite advertised, the peddlers selling massages and such at the beach are never ending and super annoying, and the pool was extremely packed regardless of COVID. Awesome animals roaming the property. Food was delish tons of options and they will make you any amazing tropical drink you can think of with better alcohol brands. Very nice.

By on Sep 15, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 16, 2020

Thanks for having taken the time to share your comments and opinions of your stay with us at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort. We really appreciate hearing about our Guests experiences and we will be forwarding them to our Management for their review. We look forward to welcoming you back at your earliest convenience. Always at your service! Warren B Web Relations Manager Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

5
Everyone

By on Nov 11, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 16, 2019

Thanks for your comments, we hope to see you again soon

1
Family Family

It is not 4 stars. The AC leaked on the first night constantly. Took me 1 complete hour at front desk to get another room. There was sewage smell steadily at various spots. A cockroach landed in a restaurant on my friend's shoulder. A large scorpion in their room second night. Animal poo all over the place in some areas. Animals in the middle of the night leaking the water spouts of beverages drinks offered to customers in Lobby bar and other bars when all was quiet. Understaffed big time in main restaurant. Meats not great in Brazilian restaurant, fat and cheap cuts. Time from wedding ceremony and reception with 2-3 hours in between to continue with their "restaurant" schedule at the same location. Children's shows not appropriate for children. Internet connection terrible. Many guests that I personally know got terribly sick . One of them a child for 3 months.

By on Nov 10, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 10, 2019

Dear guest, We apologize if some of our services did not meet your expectations. We set a high standard for ourselves and regret to hear that this was not in the interaction with our business. " Please know that your situation was an exception. As you can see on other reviews, we are known for taking ownership and caring deeply about our customers. We can’t fix that previous situation but you have our personal commitment to improve the way our staff serves every customer. Until then, please accept my sincerest apologies on behalf of everyone on the team. Regarding the variety of buffets, we would like to inform you that we have more than 50 daily dishes displayed in the buffets, between hot and cold dishes. We have different thematic nights, such as the Caribbean, Mexican, cowboy, cheff night, which change the variety of dishes. All the food is produced in the hotel, are prepared with the best and freshest elements available; Our Hotel has just been audited and we have obtained the "Distinctive H" certification by the Tourism Secretariat, which guarantees our guests the highest quality and hygiene of our processes, products and services. Best regards, Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa.

5
Family Family

What an amazing place! If you are an animal lover, you will love this resort. My adult daughter and I came here, partially for the beach, part for animals, and the adult only peaceful room and pool. We were not disappointed! It was just delightful to get to see all the animals, though the monkeys were not very social. We saw them up in the trees near the reserve and that was it. The coatees were really cute, we enjoyed watching them. Our room was nice and kept clean and stocked, the room service was great, the drinks were great, the food was amazing and so many options. The beach was rocky and we didn't spend much time there, but we did jet ski and that was fun. I honestly can't think of any complaints except we would have loved to feed the coatees but there are signs everywhere saying not to. I'm sure it's for their best interest, but in all, we loved this place, and we'll be back. The entertainment was a blast, everything was just wonderful.

By on Jul 24, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 24, 2019

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for choosing Sandos Caracol as your holiday destination, and for your kind and detailed review about the resort. It is wonderful to know that you felt welcomed here in your home away from home, the service we offer each day is only rewarded when our guests go home happy and remind us with a smile, and I am glad to know that this is the case with you. Let us know as soon as you are ready to comeback; our great team will be ready to exceed your expectations again! Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa

1
Everyone

By on Jun 22, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 2, 2019

Dear Guest We regret that your stay was not to your liking and that we have not met your expectations. Sandos Caracol’s mission is to create unique experiences for our guests, which we achieve by guest service and quality service that we provide constantly to make sure you enjoy your vacations. Respectfully yours.

5
Everyone

By on Jun 10, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 10, 2019

Dear guest, We thank you for your excellent rating and for giving us the opportunity to be your hosts. We hope to see you back very soon. Best wishes,

5
Family

The grounds of the resort are spectacular, situated in a lush jungle with plenty of wild life and paths to explore. The grounds are easy to navigate with directional signs at most every intersection and a resort map at high traffic areas. The paths and signs are well lit at night. The resort does a great job at highlighting areas of interests with information placards. The resort has daily activities to sign up for and free to guests. We could do thinks like take a guided bike tour of the resort, swim in the cenote, Mayan cooking class, plant a tree, Jade river tour, etc. you could literally do a new activity every hour. In the evenings they have a schedule of shows to enjoy. We also liked that the resort invited local artisans to set up stalls for shopping and 2 of our nights the main square was transformed into a Mexican village with shopping, food stalls and entertainment. You must see the Fire Show on Saturday night, truly an immersive experience. We enjoyed the food and the many options the resort has to offer. 3 Buffets, 5 restaurants and 1 restaurant that is reservation only. Plus, they have little snack area set up in the lobby bar and a poolside buffet for lunch. The bars are great and we never had a problem finding a cocktail or cocktail server. The staff is amazingly friendly and went above and beyond every time. The beach is rough and rocky and the sargassum was pretty bad, but that is not anything the resort can control and there are so many activities and pools

By on May 16, 2019

Review comment responded on May 17, 2019

Dear guest, We would like to thank you for your detailed review of your stay with us. We are glad to know that our services exceeded your holiday expectations. We thank you for highlighting our attributes and the different activities you were able to enjoy during your stay. We hope to have the honor of serving you in the future. Kindest wishes,

4
Everyone

By on Apr 26, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 26, 2019

Dear guest, We are glad to know that you had a good time staying at Sandos Caracol. We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review. We truly hope to have you back soon. Sincerely,

Sandos Caracol Eco Resort Select Club Adults Only- All inclusive

Carretera Chetumal Pto Juarez, Playa del Carmen, QROO 77710
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Playa-del-Carmen-Hotels-Sandos-Caracol-Eco-Resort-Select-Club-Adults-Only--All-inclusive.h4799416-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Playa-del-Carmen-Hotels-Sandos-Caracol-Eco-Resort-Select-Club-Adults-Only--All-inclusive.h4799416-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Playa-del-Carmen-Hotels-Sandos-Caracol-Eco-Resort-Select-Club-Adults-Only--All-inclusive.h4799416-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions