Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso All Inclusive

5.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

On our 6th consecutive trip to the Grand, we again were not in any way disappointed=great room,fine service,gourmet dinning and plenty(if needed) activities.From the spa pool to the tranquility pool to the active swim-up bar pool=there's something for everybody. Then there's the beach lounges with the continuous bar service for the wave riders,people watchers and other activity-goers. The main draw to the GRAND for us is the personnel=from the front office{check-in,etc), room service(butler&maids),restrauant (service&chefs), star friends(entertainers&activity), bar servive to the maintenance people= All are friendly,personal,accomodating and eager to serve. Most employees have been here since we first arrived and fortunately some have been promoted in positions at some other Iberostar hotels. We have met quite a few returning guests and friends during the same time of year=happy returnees! If you want a vacation where you could be pampered to death/adults only&all-inclusive=check out the GRAND.

It was a great trip. The food was amazing and the resort was one of the best we have ever stayed in the Riviera Maya.

Fantastic top notch hotel, best in Riveria Maya By far. Best pool, best food, best staff. Don't waste your time going anywhere else.

The hotel and the staff were great. The only complaint we have is that we have to return because of a family emergency two days before our original plan, and we had to go through a long chain of phone calls and emails and still did not get a response from Iberostar for a credit or refund. This ruined all the experience we had.

The buffet food is OK – not much variety the specialty restaurants, i.e. Italian, with an exception of the Mediterranean are less than average. Strangely enough, we were only allowed to use 3 out of 6 specialty restaurants in our 7 day visit. Too many wild rat-like animals with long tails run all over the resort they get on the balconies, dining tables on the beach. The beach sand is very dirty cigarette butts, corn cores and other “stuff – during our 7-day stay I have not seeing it been cleaned. There is plenty of space on the beach. Every 10-15 min someone is trying sell you something on the beach: fake Bags and wallets, cheap silver jewelry, sunglasses, etc. After a couple of days it becomes very annoying. The swimming pool is huge and looks very good. The best thing about the resort is coffee – great espressos and a regular coffee! The resort is too big and impersonal. The entertainment is the same pathetic thing, as every resort in Mexico has - with the same stupid shows and games that we’ve seeing every year in the last 10 years with the same annoying and very loud music. I would not give this resort more than 2 stars. Rooms looks old. Air condition did not work. Something was biting me every night. I did ask front desk to do something . They told me they will spray it and never show up. I saw huge cockroach in my room. Looks like they don't care about their guests in Iberostar. I did go to the clinic yesterday. Doctor prescribe 4 medication for me to heal those bites.I am Still in pain. Worse vacation!

Hotel property was beautiful. Staff was nice. Room was clean. Food was good. Beach was nice. Staff at spa were very nice. I will use this hotel again

Great hotel, specially good if you like meat and liquor, vegetables and salads not as enjoyable. The beach, great to look at, not always good for swimming because it could be at bit rough. Staff always great and a good reason to return to this return. We are hoping to return soon.

WE HAVE STAYED AT THE IBEROSTAR TUCAN IN PLAYA DEL CARMEN 14 TIMES IN THE PAST 10 YEARS AND ONCE AT THE IBEROSTAR ON THE HOTEL ZONE....THE PARAISO BEACH IS BY FAR OUR FAVORITE MAINLY DUE TO THE OUTSTANDING STAFF. WE HAVE RECOMMENDED TO FRIENDS WE TAKE A ANNUAL VACATION WITH, TO STAY AT THE PARAISO BEACH WITH US IN JUNE.

My fiance and I chose this resort for our wedding ceremony and honeymoon. After months of planning via email, we were VERY disappointed in the services that we received, not the services we paid for. The resort itself is mediocre food is bland room service is worthless staff was very kind. I would not return to this same resort again, nor will I recommend it to a friend or family member.

First of all the booking is very misleading. Iberostar complex in Maya Riviera has 5 resorts within the complex. I booked this resort based on the pictures from the website. However, the pictures were from the Maya resort within the complex which is the second nicest resort within the complex. However, when we got there it turns out we are staying at the Beach resort which is the fourth nicest out of the five. I did not like how they mislead you into thinking you are staying at one part of the resort and in reality when you get there your part of the resort is not like the pictures at all. Also, it is not a true lazy river. The lazy river is small and does not have a current. Some of the food is inedible. Ended up having to waste a lot of food that I took from the buffet because it tasted awful.

Great Stay, would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling here!

This resort was average. I liked the buffet food better than A la carte restaurants. The best thing about this resort was the customer service and the cappuccinos.

The hotel was great - we were placed near the main restaurant area which was nice, however it made it a bit of a jaunt to get down to the pool or to the beach. They do provide a golf cart shuttle service that runs between the buildings and the beach which helps alleviate this (plus a little exercise never hurt anyone). One nitpicky note - I'm not sure if the hotel was booked to capacity, but the lounge chairs/porch beds/covered chairs are hard to come by if you don't go out early to reserve them. Especially if you want two or more next to each other. Also the swinging beds were nearly impossible to get without bending the rules - I got up at 5:30 a couple mornings to put a towel on the bed to reserve it. You're not supposed to do that, but they don't enforce it and if you don't you wont get one until the day is over. Food was great - restaurants were amazing. Depending on how long you stay you get a guaranteed number of dinners in the reservation only restaurants. You can also check each morning for cancellations, but with our length of stay we were given 3, and the concierge was nice enough to give us a 4th. I would recommend the Mediterranean restaurant as well as the Japanese restaurant. The Brazillian and Gourmet restaurants were okay. Also surprising was the quality of the steak prepared - I've had bad experiences with steak in Mexican resorts, but these were prepared perfectly and were decent cuts of meat. Staff was incredibly helpful - and most spoke extremely good English. ********************** Now for a couple suggestions regarding booking! ********************** Here's the deal - it was like 25 or 30 dollars to get a cab from the hotel (i'm honestly not sure how much it would be from the airport to the hotel because we paid some guy, which was probably not the safest or cheapest decision). When we booked we were given the option of a round trip of like $150/person for group transportation - this is obscene. I am convinced you could use the local taxi service for 2-3 people and only spend $75 total, not have to stop at other hotels, and get there in a timely fashion. There is NO Grayline representative on site at the hotel. This makes confirming your excursions a pain - and it's hard to ask questions about what the excursions are like. We paid for a snorkeling tour to one of the islands - 20 MINUTES of snorkeling (and I'm being generous here) and then another 6:40 minutes of traveling and screwing around... We did not get what we paid for on that excursion and felt nickled and dimed every step of the way. We also did the ruins (Chichen Itza) tour... which REQUIRED an additional $22/person (we were given a little advance notice about this charge, but we were not informed this was a required charge). Bring an umbrella because it is HOT and SUNNY on some days, also bring extra water with you (although the tour representative had water, they limited the number of bottles they gave us... water at lunch cost $2.50 a bottle). Needless to say we were not impressed with either excursion and felt like we wasted two days of our vacation. My final recommendation would be to book your excursions through the people on site at the hotel, and use the local taxi transportation service.

The best hotel ever, I was in Santos Eco Caracol before( was good )until I stayed in IBEROSTAR. I recommend !

The stay is wonderful. Beautiful beach and pools, nice staff, good food, excellent service and performance. What can you expect except those? The only complains is there are a lot of rocks under the water near the beach. Water shoes should be strongly recommended. Because the resort is big it may be a long way to walk to the beach and you may have to wait for quite some time for the shuttle. But generally, it is a wonderful and relaxing vacation place.

We decided to stay at Iberostar Grand on our baby-moon. The two things that stood out the most were the customer service and wonderful meal options. Every member of the staff made this a really enjoyable time for the now three of us (baby girl on the way). The shows on site were also very good, especially the magic show. I would definitely recommend this hotel to any and everyone I know.

Wonderful service! Loved the food and staff was extremely helpful and loved the hotel decor! Will recommend for anyone wanting to have a high class getaway!

Everything cleanliness from lobby to the beach, room were clean twice a day, staff friendly, food is excellent...

The best food and entertainment around. Nice clean rooms. Many pools. Scuba diving.

overall experience couldnt have been better, no flaws, service was excellent, will come back

Ctra. Chetumal - Puerto Juárez, Km. 309 Playa del Carmen QROO

Located 1.7 mi (2.8 km) from El Manglar Golf Course, Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso All Inclusive is within a 15-minute drive of Dr. Alfredo Barrera Marin Botanical Garden. This 310-room, 5-star resort has 2 outdoor pools along with a golf course and a full-service spa. It's on the beach and also close to Maroma Beach.


Dining

There are ample dining options with 6 onsite restaurants, including Venecia, which specializes in Italian cuisine. Order from 24-hour room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room.


Rooms

Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso All Inclusive's 310 air-conditioned rooms provide free minibar items, balconies, and iPod docks. Guests can enjoy satellite TV and stay connected with free WiFi. Beds are dressed in pillow menus and bathrooms offer jetted tubs, hair dryers, and free toiletries. Other amenities include private yards, refrigerators, and coffee makers.


Property features

Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso All Inclusive features a golf course, a full-service spa, and 2 outdoor pools. Free valet parking is available if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to help with concierge services, and answer any questions about the area. Other amenities at this all-inclusive resort include a nightclub, an indoor pool, and a health club.

Room options

Suite ()

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 2

Suite, Oceanfront ()

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 2

Suite, Pool View

King 1 | Full 1 | Sleeps 2

Suite, Jetted Tub, Oceanfront (Corner Suite)

King 1 | Full 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso All Inclusive

Everyone (3) Couples (115) Family (78) Other (15) Friends (18)
5

top notch treatment

adult-only

On our 6th consecutive trip to the Grand, we again were not in any way disappointed=great room,fine service,gourmet dinning and plenty(if needed) activities.From the spa pool to the tranquility pool to the active swim-up bar pool=there's something for everybody. Then there's the beach lounges with the continuous bar service for the wave riders,people watchers and other activity-goers. The main draw to the GRAND for us is the personnel=from the front office{check-in,etc), room service(butler&maids),restrauant (service&chefs), star friends(entertainers&activity), bar servive to the maintenance people= All are friendly,personal,accomodating and eager to serve. Most employees have been here since we first arrived and fortunately some have been promoted in positions at some other Iberostar hotels. We have met quite a few returning guests and friends during the same time of year=happy returnees! If you want a vacation where you could be pampered to death/adults only&all-inclusive=check out the GRAND.

By , from N.H. on Jan 1, 2017

5
Everyone

It was a great trip. The food was amazing and the resort was one of the best we have ever stayed in the Riviera Maya.

By on Dec 6, 2016

5

best resort in riveria maya

Everyone

Fantastic top notch hotel, best in Riveria Maya By far. Best pool, best food, best staff. Don't waste your time going anywhere else.

By , from S on Sep 11, 2016

4

relaxing family vacation

Everyone

The hotel and the staff were great. The only complaint we have is that we have to return because of a family emergency two days before our original plan, and we had to go through a long chain of phone calls and emails and still did not get a response from Iberostar for a credit or refund. This ruined all the experience we had.

By , from Florida on Aug 13, 2016

1

fourth vacation ever!

Families

The buffet food is OK – not much variety the specialty restaurants, i.e. Italian, with an exception of the Mediterranean are less than average. Strangely enough, we were only allowed to use 3 out of 6 specialty restaurants in our 7 day visit. Too many wild rat-like animals with long tails run all over the resort they get on the balconies, dining tables on the beach. The beach sand is very dirty cigarette butts, corn cores and other “stuff – during our 7-day stay I have not seeing it been cleaned. There is plenty of space on the beach. Every 10-15 min someone is trying sell you something on the beach: fake Bags and wallets, cheap silver jewelry, sunglasses, etc. After a couple of days it becomes very annoying. The swimming pool is huge and looks very good. The best thing about the resort is coffee – great espressos and a regular coffee! The resort is too big and impersonal. The entertainment is the same pathetic thing, as every resort in Mexico has - with the same stupid shows and games that we’ve seeing every year in the last 10 years with the same annoying and very loud music. I would not give this resort more than 2 stars. Rooms looks old. Air condition did not work. Something was biting me every night. I did ask front desk to do something . They told me they will spray it and never show up. I saw huge cockroach in my room. Looks like they don't care about their guests in Iberostar. I did go to the clinic yesterday. Doctor prescribe 4 medication for me to heal those bites.I am Still in pain. Worse vacation!

By on Dec 24, 2015

5

solo getaway

Singles

Hotel property was beautiful. Staff was nice. Room was clean. Food was good. Beach was nice. Staff at spa were very nice. I will use this hotel again

By on Dec 16, 2015

4

great hotel

Couples

Great hotel, specially good if you like meat and liquor, vegetables and salads not as enjoyable. The beach, great to look at, not always good for swimming because it could be at bit rough. Staff always great and a good reason to return to this return. We are hoping to return soon.

By on Nov 17, 2015

5

we'll be back

Couples

WE HAVE STAYED AT THE IBEROSTAR TUCAN IN PLAYA DEL CARMEN 14 TIMES IN THE PAST 10 YEARS AND ONCE AT THE IBEROSTAR ON THE HOTEL ZONE....THE PARAISO BEACH IS BY FAR OUR FAVORITE MAINLY DUE TO THE OUTSTANDING STAFF. WE HAVE RECOMMENDED TO FRIENDS WE TAKE A ANNUAL VACATION WITH, TO STAY AT THE PARAISO BEACH WITH US IN JUNE.

By on Nov 12, 2015

3

don't have your wedding ceremony hear!

Couples

My fiance and I chose this resort for our wedding ceremony and honeymoon. After months of planning via email, we were VERY disappointed in the services that we received, not the services we paid for. The resort itself is mediocre food is bland room service is worthless staff was very kind. I would not return to this same resort again, nor will I recommend it to a friend or family member.

By on Nov 11, 2015

3

misleading booking

Couples

First of all the booking is very misleading. Iberostar complex in Maya Riviera has 5 resorts within the complex. I booked this resort based on the pictures from the website. However, the pictures were from the Maya resort within the complex which is the second nicest resort within the complex. However, when we got there it turns out we are staying at the Beach resort which is the fourth nicest out of the five. I did not like how they mislead you into thinking you are staying at one part of the resort and in reality when you get there your part of the resort is not like the pictures at all. Also, it is not a true lazy river. The lazy river is small and does not have a current. Some of the food is inedible. Ended up having to waste a lot of food that I took from the buffet because it tasted awful.

By on Nov 9, 2015