Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Nothing to like at all. Roaches Roaches Roaches! Roaches inside room, woke up to roaches crawling on me! Could not sleep because I spent the night on roach patrol. No lie the first things I saw walking into the room was roaches! I needed a place to crash for the night but this spot is absolutely not it. I would rather have slept in my car than to spend another second in one of those rooms! Absolutely disgusting! I wouldn’t even recommend this place to my worst enemy! Never ever again!

The grounds were filthy with garbage all over. Pool water was light green with dirt on the bottom. Bathroom door was falling apart. Staff was largely unresponsive. Garbage piled near multiple garbage cans. This place was absolutely awful. Pay a few extra dollars and don't live like a third-world slum.

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! My poor daughter got bit ALL OVER her body with bed bugs!!! She had over 8 bites all over her!!! Facility is poorly maintained!!! Room had roaches, bathroom door did not close properly, bathtub was dirty, and bed sheets AND towels were stained from head to toe!!!! Disgusted!!!

The property itself was rundown but the room was clean. Did not appreciate that the pool wasn't open and the continental breakfast didn't exist. These were 2 things I specifically searched for. I understand Covid but these things should be updated on the site when searching then. Other places had their pools open and had breakfast, i would have chosen one of them.

This hotel needs to be shut down. It needs to be sprayed its full of roaches it needs a comolete dewp clean n new linens. The pillow cases literaly have black stains all over them. The room was so dirty. Everything was black the hair dryer black walls shower was gross n toilet omg. Theres no way these rooms get cleaned. Bathroom door is rotted broke bottom falling off. The health Dept. Or whom ever it is that inspects hotels. Needs to view this place.

I was asked to .come back later to check in due.to shift change. I had a 2md floor room the upstairs walkway felt like it was going to colllapse. In the room one of the lamp shades had grafitti of a naked women drawn on it. The smike detector was missing from the room. The shower looked like they just caulked over the mold. Surprisingly the bed was comfortable. I slept fully clothed and did not take a shower as it just looked gross. Def the worst room i have stayed in ever. Would be good price for maybe 10 bucks a night but not 50 or 60 dollars

The property was right next to the Southbound side of I-17, which made it easy to leave the city of Phoenix, but the access to Sweetwater was limited to only a 30MPH speed limit.

I asked for towels because my room didn't have any and nobody gave me any the whole two days.the pool was black and green not kidding at all worse hotel ever.

Looks recently renovated, nice. Everything was clean. The "continental breakfast" was adequate. There was freeway noise, but, it didn't keep us awake.

Not a thing rat bed bug infested smells disgusting. Couldn't breath had to get out

This is a run down property, rude staff, items missing after room service, and I was first given a smoking room when the request was non smoking. This is an unsavory part of town and the employees represent it well

Price, location, soap/shampoo/conditioner availability, and beds (pillows, sheets, mattresses) were fine, wifi was a bit slow but stable. HOWEVER, much of the rest was severely lacking. Room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke upon initial entry. Several roach-like bugs to be killed throughout the stay -- thankfully no bedbugs. Toilet did not fully flush roughly 4 out of 5 times. Every single time a 2-bed room for 2 guests was given housekeeping treatment, only a single towel and single hand towel were provided -- rather difficult to share! While we could get more of those two linens upon request, there was a more serious problem -- WASHCLOTHS. We only ever saw two washcloths for a few hours the entire duration of our 4-day, 3-night stay. No washcloths were initially provided. For the second day, we managed to receive two washcloths from the front desk, one of which was a rather unsightly grey-stained hue. Upon housekeeping going through our room for the day, even those two washcloths vanished (replaced with only a single towel and hand towel, again). Asking throughout the days well into the night yielded alternating replies from front desk personnel claiming that they didn't currently have any, that they had "just loaned out their last ones" and couldn't get any more until housekeeping returned at 10 AM the next day, or that they would send someone to help. But the latter case was false hope -- we just received more hand towels instead. VERY uncomfortable showering.

Bathtub damaged. Ironing board had no cover,and no iron in room. No lobby area to speak of.

Hotel staff was good, but this place is nothing special, transients outside and up front Weird lady staying in her truck in the parking lot blasting country music and dancing on top of the truck at 10pm,, cops were called and came out but did nothing

WiFi and TV did not work. This property needs some TLC

this may be my worst experience at any motel in all of the world I have ever stayed at. I will NEVER stay there ever again. front desk man in mornings is beyond rude.... lady in morning breakfast- i mean rationing out 3 mini donuts.... like it came out of her pay AND refused me food even though i pad for it- ps breakfast is in room i think 101 BUT get this- there is no number on the door AND the front desk guy got mad i couldnt find it...BUT THE KICKER IS THE TOILET DID NOT WORK AND THE BLACK MARKS IN THE TOILET SHOW IT HAS BEEN PREVIOUSLY SNAKED.....the KNOW there is a problem but didnt care to fix it- TOILET did NOT work= clogged- i just left

W Sweetwater Ave Phoenix AZ

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool

Located in North Mountain, Econo Lodge Phoenix North I-17 is within a few miles (5 km) of sights such as Metrocenter and Castles N' Coasters. This 65-room motel has conveniences like free breakfast, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is served each morning from 6 AM to 9 AM.


Rooms

Econo Lodge Phoenix North I-17's 65 soundproofed rooms provide coffee makers, free weekday newspapers, and free local calls. 27-inch TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and pillowtop beds with premium bedding and down comforters ensure a restful night. Other standard amenities include laptop-compatible safes and desks.


Property features

At Econo Lodge Phoenix North I-17, guests have access to an outdoor pool, free WiFi in public areas, and coffee in a common area. You can put free parking to good use if you drive. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help with tours or tickets, and answer any questions about the accommodations. Additional amenities include express check-out, laundry facilities, and a vending machine.

Room options

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Smoking

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Poolside

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Econo Lodge Phoenix North I-17

Everyone (23) Couples (7) Family (15) Other (4) Friends (4)
1
Business Business

Nothing to like at all. Roaches Roaches Roaches! Roaches inside room, woke up to roaches crawling on me! Could not sleep because I spent the night on roach patrol. No lie the first things I saw walking into the room was roaches! I needed a place to crash for the night but this spot is absolutely not it. I would rather have slept in my car than to spend another second in one of those rooms! Absolutely disgusting! I wouldn’t even recommend this place to my worst enemy! Never ever again!

By on Oct 2, 2021

Review comment responded on Oct 3, 2021

Thank you for alerting us to a potential pest problem. We are investigating and treating to make sure that this is an isolated incident. I assure you that we have the highest standards of cleanliness and that your comments are very important to us and are being addressed immediately with our staff. We are always looking for ways to improve upon the guest experience and I hope you will return to see how we continue to grow and evolve.

1
Partner Couples

The grounds were filthy with garbage all over. Pool water was light green with dirt on the bottom. Bathroom door was falling apart. Staff was largely unresponsive. Garbage piled near multiple garbage cans. This place was absolutely awful. Pay a few extra dollars and don't live like a third-world slum.

By on Aug 31, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 2, 2021

Your review and rating are greatly appreciated; though it is very disappointing to learn of the bad impression we made during your recent stay due to the condition of our amenities. We are forever working to improve upon the guest experience, and I hope you will remember our attributes for when you return during another trip to the area to see how we have improved to impress you even more.

1
Family with small children

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! My poor daughter got bit ALL OVER her body with bed bugs!!! She had over 8 bites all over her!!! Facility is poorly maintained!!! Room had roaches, bathroom door did not close properly, bathtub was dirty, and bed sheets AND towels were stained from head to toe!!!! Disgusted!!!

By on Jul 30, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 1, 2021

I am terribly sorry to hear of your disappointment with our hotel. It is disheartening to learn that you did not enjoy your stay and that the room was not properly and thoroughly cleaned and maintained according to the high standards of our housekeeping and maintenance staff. Thank you so much for taking the time to share and to give us the opportunity to address this error and make things right.

4
Everyone

By on Jun 19, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 30, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to share your rating of our hotel. We hope to earn your business again on your next travels.,

3
Partner Couples

The property itself was rundown but the room was clean. Did not appreciate that the pool wasn't open and the continental breakfast didn't exist. These were 2 things I specifically searched for. I understand Covid but these things should be updated on the site when searching then. Other places had their pools open and had breakfast, i would have chosen one of them.

By on Jun 16, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 26, 2021

Thank you so much for sharing your review and giving us an honest look at the guest experience in our hotel. I do hear your suggestions for improvement and I apologize if you did not feel that our housekeeping met your own standards of cleanliness, though our own standards are very high and include checking up to ensure that rooms are as clean as can be. We hope to see you again soon and to impress you with our continuing improvements.

1
Family

This hotel needs to be shut down. It needs to be sprayed its full of roaches it needs a comolete dewp clean n new linens. The pillow cases literaly have black stains all over them. The room was so dirty. Everything was black the hair dryer black walls shower was gross n toilet omg. Theres no way these rooms get cleaned. Bathroom door is rotted broke bottom falling off. The health Dept. Or whom ever it is that inspects hotels. Needs to view this place.

By on May 13, 2021

Review comment responded on May 14, 2021

"We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you faced such an unusual situation. We continue to strive to improve our service and accommodations so that we may provide the highest level of guest satisfaction. For that reason we're sincerely sorry to have failed to meet your needs. Please keep us in mind for a future stay, so we may show you how we are continuously working to improve in these areas.", we are so sorry that we missed the mark during your recent stay. This feedback has been forwarded to management and we can only ask that you consider us again so that you can see the continuous improvements we make.

1
Family

I was asked to .come back later to check in due.to shift change. I had a 2md floor room the upstairs walkway felt like it was going to colllapse. In the room one of the lamp shades had grafitti of a naked women drawn on it. The smike detector was missing from the room. The shower looked like they just caulked over the mold. Surprisingly the bed was comfortable. I slept fully clothed and did not take a shower as it just looked gross. Def the worst room i have stayed in ever. Would be good price for maybe 10 bucks a night but not 50 or 60 dollars

By on Mar 29, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 31, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are saddened to hear that we fell short of your expectation due to the service you received from the hotel staff during your stay. We always desire for our valued guests experience to be outstanding. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves and deliver a seamless experience on your next stay.

1
Everyone

By on Dec 1, 2020

Review comment responded on Dec 4, 2020

We are continuously improving upon our services and accommodations and would like to invite you to stay with us again on your next visit to the area.

2
Business Business

The property was right next to the Southbound side of I-17, which made it easy to leave the city of Phoenix, but the access to Sweetwater was limited to only a 30MPH speed limit.

By , from Colorado Springs. on Nov 23, 2020

Review comment responded on Nov 26, 2020

I am very sorry to hear that you encountered such unusual circumstances and inconveniences during your most recent experience with us, especially that we were not able to address the issues and misunderstandings right away. I hope you'll accept our sincere apologies for the lapse in service and inconvenience that you encountered. We do hope that you'll return to see how we are continuously improving to impress our guests more with each visit.

1
Family

I asked for towels because my room didn't have any and nobody gave me any the whole two days.the pool was black and green not kidding at all worse hotel ever.

By , from Phoenix az on Sep 4, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 7, 2020

I am very sorry to hear that you encountered such unusual circumstances and inconveniences during your most recent experience with us, especially that we were not able to address the issues and misunderstandings right away. I hope you'll accept our sincere apologies for the lapse in service and inconvenience. Thank you so much for taking the time to share this review and for contacting us to give us the opportunity to address this situation.

Econo Lodge Phoenix North I-17

2735 W Sweetwater Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85029
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Phoenix-Hotels-Econo-Lodge-Phoenix-North-I-17.h1039699-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Phoenix-Hotels-Econo-Lodge-Phoenix-North-I-17.h1039699-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Phoenix-Hotels-Econo-Lodge-Phoenix-North-I-17.h1039699-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions