Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

GREAT PLACE, MY ROOM WAS NOT WH EEL CHAIR FRIENDLY AS ASKED FOR AND PROMISED,EVEN AFTER I CALL THE HOTEL TO ASSURE IT WOULD BE!! THE RESTAURANT WAS THE VERY BEST PART OF OUR STAY 5 STARS ALL THE WAY! VERY REASONABLE PRICES.

Average. Older property with great staff. Very remote part of town. Best option for the price in the area. Had business in Manteo and this is better than any of the options physically in Manteo.

Decent, no real problems while we stayed. One year old loved the bird downstairs

Room was okay when we got there, but the pillows were horrible. Whatever they stuff them with feels like poking device which hurt a lot in the middle of the night. The room service didn't make the bed. Would have appreciated cleaner room next day.

most of the local eateries were closed for the season, we stayed around and eat ate at the in-house restaurant.

good location with beach view, quick walk to beach via boardwalk, looks very '80s, but comfortable for the price

hotel was right on the beach. front desk staff was excellent.

So it may seem unfair, but my family and I generally stay at embassy suite hotels and have grown a custom to the perks, such as free full made to order breakfasts, free cocktails and it is always highly satisfactory. this stay at Ramada Inn was just not the Embassy! Everything cost extra on top of the room price. so even with the lower room cost initially; was close to the regular price of Embassy suites by the time you add up breakfasts, a cot and cocktails. I only wish they had one in OBX.

Just overall disappointing. Beach access, but hotel o lying provided less than a dozen beach chairs/umbrellas, mold growing in bathroom grout, towels that were so old and cheap that they felt like sandpaper,a four p.m. check in and yet room was still not ready. All in all, you are paying to be on beach, if that is all you want this is an expensive option because everything was substandard. Railing was ready to fall off. Will never stay or recommend here.

The front person, Athena, was very accomodating. She made sure that our stay will be fine, checking to see if our room let our expectations. She offered to give us an oceanview room even without asking. She is an excellent employee!

This was an enjoyable experience overall. Fabulous location right on the beach, and a great breakfast restaurant overlooking the ocean. It felt a little too crowded for my preference, but that's to be expected at the beach in August.

Definitely recommend 3rd through 5th floor 'ocean side' rooms. The 1st and 2nd are below dune level, so you can hear but not see the water from (all but perhaps the last few) lower floor rooms. The other side of the hotel has a view of the parking lot, often filled with bikers at least during our stay. We were on the 5th floor, had the balcony door open most nights and woke to the sunrise coming right in - can't beat that experience. Staff was great, restaurant was decent. Didn't use the pool or gym during our stay, but I'm sure they would be fine for anyone who can't get their fill of swim in the ocean or exercise walking the beach. The area has something for everyone.

The hotel is located right on the ocean front with a private walkway and deck for hotel guests. The location of the hotel is most convenient to stores and attractions. We enjoyed the indoor pool and whirlpool in the evening after having been out to the Aquarium and Elizabethan Garden on near-by Roanoke Island, which is always a must-see for us.

Good time, nice location near the beach and restaurants.

I was a beautiful area and the hotel was in a perfect location to my destination and local eateries, which were great. I loved the beach side view, absolutely gorgeous and the staff were exceptional

Great location, right on the beach! The pool room was really steamy, but the hot tub felt amazing. The hotel seems older, but nicely kept up, and updated too. Definitely recommended.

As soon as you walk in, you can tell they care about the hotel. Our room had everything we could need and there was also a restaurant located in the hotel. Awesome place to stay, would definitely recommend it!

Stayed overnight. Brought our pet. Only pet rooms available were on the first floor facing the beach. No beach view due to the dunes.

Every year we "day trip" on the way to the OBX. It beats a 14 hour drive. This year we decided to add a Nags Head stop. Good decision this year. Indoor pool, outdoor patio, outdoor bar and beach access terrific. Staff very accommodating when only one bed in a room for three people. Very courteous and got us a cot and free breakfast for the mix up. Would stay here again.

Overall, we had a very good stay at this hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the view of the ocean was beautiful! The hotel has recently been renovated and is also in a location that is convenient to many local attractions. There was fairly easy beach access and we were pleased with the outdoor shower available for use on the deck near the ocean. We would have given 5 stars, with the exception of two things: first, there is a restaurant in the hotel that holds a comedy club on Tuesday nights. Unfortunately, when we arrived at the hotel that evening after dinner, the parking lot was full of non-hotel guests attending the comedy club. We were very unhappy to find that there was no place to park and we had to drive around for quite some time to find a spot (more than 20 minutes). Other hotel guests were in the same situation as us. The second issue occurred the morning that we were leaving. The maid service began knocking on our door at 8am even though checkout was still a couple of hours away. We ignored the first knock, but she came back in half an hour and knocked again. Again, it wasn't enough to ruin the stay, but it was an annoyance and I can't recall having that happen at other hotels. I just felt that room cleanup could have waited until after checkout. All in all, we would stay at this hotel again.

1701 S Virginia Dare Trl Kill Devil Hills NC

Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront places you within a short walk of Destination Fun and within a mile (2 km) of Stop-N-Shop Beach Shop. This 3-star hotel welcomes guests with 171 rooms and conveniences like an indoor pool, a 24-hour health club, and free in-room WiFi. It's on the beach and also near Wright Brothers National Memorial and Nags Head Woods Preserve.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at Peppercorns, the hotel's onsite restaurant. Savor a meal from the privacy of your room with room service, or get a pick-me-up at the coffee shop/café. Start each morning off right with cooked-to-order breakfast served for a fee.


Rooms

All of Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront's 171 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including balconies, microwaves, and refrigerators. Guests can expect free WiFi and TVs with satellite channels and pay movies. Coffee makers, free newspapers, and free local calls are other standard amenities.


Property features

Guests staying at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront enjoy an indoor pool, a 24-hour health club, and a spa tub. Free parking is available if you drive. Front-desk staff can answer questions 24/7, and assist with concierge services, luggage storage, and securing valuables. Other amenities at this beach hotel include free WiFi in public areas, 4 meeting rooms, and a 24-hour business center.

Room options

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Ocean View

Queen 2 | Sleeps 5

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, City View

Queen 2 | Sleeps 5

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

Queen 2 | Sleeps 5

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Ocean View

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront

Everyone (8) Couples (63) Business (3) Family (39) Friends (12) Other (4)
4

nice hotel very clean

Everyone

GREAT PLACE, MY ROOM WAS NOT WH EEL CHAIR FRIENDLY AS ASKED FOR AND PROMISED,EVEN AFTER I CALL THE HOTEL TO ASSURE IT WOULD BE!! THE RESTAURANT WAS THE VERY BEST PART OF OUR STAY 5 STARS ALL THE WAY! VERY REASONABLE PRICES.

By , from CALHOUN,GA on Mar 6, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 14, 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review and nothing makes us happier than reading our team made sure to offer the friendly and attentive service all our guests deserve. We love that you enjoyed our gorgeous ocean views and especially that you got to enjoy a delicious dining experience at our well-reviewed Peppercorns Restaurant. We're so glad you stayed with us and we'll be sure to let our team know about all your comments so we can continue to make our service even better. Thanks again for taking the time to give us your feedback and we look forward to your next visit to stay with us in OBX!

4

on the beach

Everyone

Average. Older property with great staff. Very remote part of town. Best option for the price in the area. Had business in Manteo and this is better than any of the options physically in Manteo.

By on Mar 4, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 7, 2017

Thank you so much for staying with us recently and we're so glad our team made your visit memorable. We're glad our convenient location was the best option for your recent business in the area and we hope you got to enjoy some leisure time while you were in the Outer Banks, too. Please keep in touch with us so you can come back to stay again, whether for business or pleasure we'd love to have you back again.

4

nice valentine get away

Everyone

Decent, no real problems while we stayed. One year old loved the bird downstairs

By , from glen allen on Feb 14, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 21, 2017

Thanks so much for staying with us and we're so glad you had a happy Valentine's Day getaway! Sabrina is definitely a favorite for so many of our guests and we're so glad your family loved her, too. We hope you enjoyed our big beautiful deck and gorgeous ocean views at our awesome location between Kill Devil Hills and Nags Head in the Outer Banks. Please keep in touch with us. It would be our pleasure to have you and your family back to stay with us again soon!

2

okay hotel right next to beaxh

Everyone

Room was okay when we got there, but the pillows were horrible. Whatever they stuff them with feels like poking device which hurt a lot in the middle of the night. The room service didn't make the bed. Would have appreciated cleaner room next day.

By on Jan 16, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 24, 2017

Thank you for staying with us recently and we hope you had a great vacation while here in the Outer Banks. Your comments are important and we'll be sure to review them with our housekeeping team. We hope you enjoyed our gorgeous deck and had a delicious meal at Peppercorns Restaurant on site. Thank you for choosing us for your Outer Banks hotel plans and we certainly hope you enjoyed the gorgeous beach and had a great time while you were in the area. Thanks again for staying with us and for your helpful comments.

4

good to be in middle of everything in town.

Everyone

most of the local eateries were closed for the season, we stayed around and eat ate at the in-house restaurant.

By on Jan 5, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 10, 2017

Thanks so much for staying with us recently and we are so glad you had a great experience at our awesome location! Our beautiful beach access is incredible, but our location in town between Kill Devil Hills and Nags Head offers some nearby attractions for our guests to enjoy, too. We are glad you also got to enjoy our delicious on-site restaurant Peppercorns! It would be our pleasure to have you back to stay with us again in the Outer Banks during your next visit. Please keep in touch with us and thanks so much again for staying and also for taking the time to let us know about your experience.

3

good location on beach, bit dated

Everyone

good location with beach view, quick walk to beach via boardwalk, looks very '80s, but comfortable for the price

By on Sep 26, 2016

Review comment responded on Oct 4, 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We are so happy to know that you enjoyed our awesome location directly on the beach and our close proximity to so many great attractions in the Nags Head area. Between all of our wonderful hotel amenities and fun activities OBX is the place to be! We would love for you to return to stay with us again the next time you visit the Nags Head area.

3

outer banks trip

Everyone

hotel was right on the beach. front desk staff was excellent.

By on Aug 17, 2016

Review comment responded on Aug 23, 2016

Thank you for your review and we are thrilled that you had such an excellent stay at our oceanfront hotel. Our Ramada is indeed right on the beach which makes beach access so easy, especially if you have children or require assistance. Our staff work hard to make you feel at home and are always willing to get you whatever you need. We hope that you found your room to be clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed the breathtaking morning sunrise’s from your private room balcony. Please come back the next time you are in town.

3

nickel and dime

Families

So it may seem unfair, but my family and I generally stay at embassy suite hotels and have grown a custom to the perks, such as free full made to order breakfasts, free cocktails and it is always highly satisfactory. this stay at Ramada Inn was just not the Embassy! Everything cost extra on top of the room price. so even with the lower room cost initially; was close to the regular price of Embassy suites by the time you add up breakfasts, a cot and cocktails. I only wish they had one in OBX.

By , from Roanoke VA on Jul 31, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 1, 1970

We truly appreciate you taking the time to leave us your comments about your stay, and we are glad that our team was so helpful and pleasant. Our free coffee in the morning is an excellent way to start the day. Your feedback is truly appreciated, and we do our best to make sure our guests’ comments are reviewed with our team. Thank you so much for staying with us, and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in the Outer Banks!

2

only plus is that it is on the beach

Everyone

Just overall disappointing. Beach access, but hotel o lying provided less than a dozen beach chairs/umbrellas, mold growing in bathroom grout, towels that were so old and cheap that they felt like sandpaper,a four p.m. check in and yet room was still not ready. All in all, you are paying to be on beach, if that is all you want this is an expensive option because everything was substandard. Railing was ready to fall off. Will never stay or recommend here.

By , from Raleigh on May 28, 2016

Review comment responded on Jun 7, 2016

We truly apologize that you were not satisfied during your recent stay with us. Your comments are valuable as we are quickly researching the items that you’ve mentioned in your review. We are truly sorry that our level of service was below the norm and you did not have an enjoyable time with us here at the oceanfront.

5

excellent location and wonderful service

Couples

The front person, Athena, was very accomodating. She made sure that our stay will be fine, checking to see if our room let our expectations. She offered to give us an oceanview room even without asking. She is an excellent employee!

By on Dec 2, 2015