Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

The Waves Hotel

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Beautiful location. Great room. Within walking distance to plenty of things. However, the room's refrigerator did not work well and we could not connect to the WiFi and the staff couldn't help us.

I liked it was close to the beach, but wasnt too fond of the breakfast.

The room was not like the one pictured. The sauna didn't work. No A/C. Water pressure in the shower was very low. The comforter on one of the beds had what looked like blood on it. Possible bed bugs, as we had bites on us. The building is in need of many repairs.

The motel staff was very friendly and helpful! The room was nice and clean. The motel very much needs to be renovated. Lots of rust covering the entry doors, etc. Overall I was comfortable staying there but would probably recommend other spots to friends.

The property is very close to the ocean and many of the rooms have a great ocean view. While the property is a bit aged, It is still a very good value and the location it’s very good for families to have a mini getaway or a vacation.

Very nice location. Rooms were clean and comfortable for spending the night.

Hotel not on the beach, close to the beach. The photo looks like the beach is right there.

The rooms temperature was hot without air conditioning. The TV did not work. It gave instructions that were impossible to following. Instead there were old DVDs in the office that could be rented. Owner of hotel boasted of "hot breakfast" . There was absolutely nothing in breakfast line up that was hot except coffee. Water pressure was bad. It took around 10 minutes for the toilet tank to refill. Water temperature in shower kept changing. We had booked two days in advance. We would not be able to cancel second nights stay without paying for it. There were old blood stain on sheets. The positive was the balcony in the room and view of the ocean.

The hotel is clean and comfortable. The staff were really nice. This hotel is a little way off 101 so you dont get the traffic. I enjoyed my stay.

Comfortable, no-frills hotel within walking distance of Nye Beach and shopping. Room was big, clean, and quite. Beds were comfortable. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Breakfast options are basic but enough to get you going for the day. Would not pay extra for the ocean view room, but if you are looking for something clean and conveniently located at a decent price, this is a good stay.

Pool was great. Room was not that good the carpet was stained the bed comforter has cigarette burns. It smelled.

As advertised, the room had an amazing view of the ocean. Unfortunately the room itself felt like a low budget space. There was no air conditioning, only one tiny portion of the window would open, and I had to go to the office to finally get a battered old box fan. The desk clerk advised me to prop the room’s door open with a shoe to allow air in! With outside temps in the mid 90s, the room temp never got comfortable. The shower head was so low that I had to stoop to rinse my hair and the shower curtain was so thin that it blew inward and stuck to my leg for most of my shower. Ick.

This is a very dated hotel. I will say it was clean, so that was a positive. Everything needs updating. At first I thought the thermostat didn’t work, then I noticed every room had there window open in the morning which leads me to believe there is no AC. We were on the 1st floor and literally heard every step the people above us took as our ceiling would creak or thump. Not good at 11:30pm.

Nice ocean view and view of lighthouse from afar. Comfortable beds. No a/c that i could find. Great heater. Window opens for nice ocean breeze.

It was a lovely view of the beach on a nice sunny day.

820 NW Coast Street Newport OR

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from Nye Beach
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking

The Waves Hotel places you next to Nye Beach and within a mile (2 km) of other popular attractions like Oregon Undersea Gardens. This 60-room hotel welcomes guests with free breakfast and conveniences like an indoor pool and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free continental breakfast, served each morning from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM.


Rooms

Guests can expect to find free WiFi and 32-inch an LED TV with cable channels. The bathroom offers hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a refrigerator, a microwave, and a coffee maker.


Property features

Guests staying at The Waves Hotel enjoy an indoor pool, a spa tub, and a sauna. A stay here includes free parking. Front-desk staff can help with concierge services, and provide local restaurant recommendations. Additional amenities include free WiFi in public areas, laundry facilities, and a garden.

Room options

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Ocean View

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed, Ocean View

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Partial Ocean View

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Room, 2 Queen Beds

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for The Waves Hotel

Everyone (37) Couples (29) Business (2) Family (21) Friends (3) Other (1)
3
Everyone

By on Aug 22, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 23, 2019

Thank you for your review

4
Partner Couples

Beautiful location. Great room. Within walking distance to plenty of things. However, the room's refrigerator did not work well and we could not connect to the WiFi and the staff couldn't help us.

By on Aug 20, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 21, 2019

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and are working to correct the WIFI issue with a Tech professional however there are extremely limited resources avail.

4
Partner Couples

I liked it was close to the beach, but wasnt too fond of the breakfast.

By on Aug 20, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 20, 2019

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate the feedback and are always open to suggestions.

2
Everyone

By on Aug 18, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 18, 2019

Thank you for taking the time for your feedback

2
Friends

The room was not like the one pictured. The sauna didn't work. No A/C. Water pressure in the shower was very low. The comforter on one of the beds had what looked like blood on it. Possible bed bugs, as we had bites on us. The building is in need of many repairs.

By on Jul 16, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 17, 2019

Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry we failed to meet your expectations. The sauna is functional perhaps we could have assisted you if you had needed. We have just acquired the property and all of the linens and bed socks including bed bug protectors and preventative measures are in place. We do not have bed bugs, perhaps you were bitten at the beach by sand fleas. That is extremely unfair for you to post assumptions that have no merit online. We agree upgrades are needed and a full remodel is scheduled for this fall.

4
Families

The motel staff was very friendly and helpful! The room was nice and clean. The motel very much needs to be renovated. Lots of rust covering the entry doors, etc. Overall I was comfortable staying there but would probably recommend other spots to friends.

By on Jun 3, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 9, 2019

Thank you for staying with us. We hope you will come see us again.

4
Everyone

The property is very close to the ocean and many of the rooms have a great ocean view. While the property is a bit aged, It is still a very good value and the location it’s very good for families to have a mini getaway or a vacation.

By on May 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 9, 2019

Thank you for staying with us.

5
Family with small children Families

Very nice location. Rooms were clean and comfortable for spending the night.

By on Apr 12, 2019

4
Everyone

By on Nov 25, 2018

4
Everyone

Hotel not on the beach, close to the beach. The photo looks like the beach is right there.

By , from GP on Oct 27, 2018

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.