Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Stay Hotel Waikiki

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Horrible parking experience, bad room experience with construction and ac issues, someone else entering upon our room

Staff were very friendly and the room was better than I expected for the price.

The only thing good about this place is how close it is to the beach and the bar inside. The rooms are the least comfortable I have ever been in and the bathrooms were horrible.

Too noisy and did not get any sleep. No parking available and no other available rooms for our stay. It was the worst place I have ever staid in. Woul not go back again. The windows were broken or not installed to keep noise out. The door was hard to close and no desk in room. Bathroom too samall and no counter to set items on.

I paid a lot for my stay at Stay Hotel and I couldn't even get a room with a proper window to see the views of Waikiki. My windows were made from some material that blurred the views of the outside. On top of that, the shower was incredibly cramped and nasty that even after swimming at the beach I dreaded having to shower after that. I also had a moment where I had to speak to one of the maids to have them re-change my sheets just after she changed them because there appeared to be blood stains on them. Otherwise, the staff was INCREDIBLY courteous and accommodating, which made my stay at the hotel worthwhile. I would suggest to the hotel though to be upfront about the hotel rooms they have and not just show the rooms that have proper window views and balconies. I would not have even paid to stay at the hotel had I known I would be staying in this kind of room; however, I tried to make the most of my situation.

Stay Waikiki was an excellent choice! This hotel could not have been located in a better spot. The staff were helpful and friendly and the rooms were clean. I would stay here again.

Uncooperative staff made it hard to stay and accusations of drug use were given by the manger and owner in which wasn't the case they smelt burning cotton from my buddy changing out his coils on his vape thus charging me 400 for room damage so overall the staff sucked there was no balcony and I paid 1000 dollars for a horrible one bedroom for 3 days, do not stay here !

Overall a good experience. It's a decent price for the location and friendly staff. The rooms are basic but clean. It gets pretty humid in the room quickly but the ac helps. They provide coffee every morning in the lobby area and lend beach mats, boogie mats, wifi, and beach towels. There were a lot of noise from construction nearby the whole time so bring ear plugs as there seems to be construction inn various places.

While location was stellar, and staff were delightful, the room was challenged by small shower, drapés that didn't fully cover windows (letting constant bright streetlsmp light in throughout the night) and not soundproof against the 4am garbage truck. also window AC unit was right at head of bed on one side so was blowing at my boyfriends head and the room was not well insulated so went hot quickly if ac was off.

Rm was near loud noise like a boiler or something. WiFi was awful. We need an overnighter so we used them.

The hotel staff and location are good. But they have a club on the first floor, so noisy . The room is terrible. I paid almost same price for different hotels in Waikiki another 2nights.

The staff was very nice and the location is great. Just 1 block from the beach. It's a smaller and older hotel.

The staff was great and helpful. I wouldn't stay here again though as the room was tiny and the internet was down much of the time. If you're not planning to be in the room very much it's a good choice, though they do charge an amenities fee.

Great hotel, however do take into consideration that parking is not included, however it is at the same rates that all other hotels.

The staff are extremely friendly and the room was clean, although you have to pay $10 a day for amenities. My TV didn't work the first two days and the internet in the room wasn't working at all.

Amenity extra charge BUT NO AMENITIES. The facilities promised were not there.

Nice place to stay while visiting Hawaii. Close to shopping and beach. Can easily travel too local attractions.

The staff went above and beyond to help and make our staff comfortable. I was very impressed by their service

Small hotel locates closely Waikiki beach only few blocks. Reasonable price, nice staff, big room. Guest parking is limited.

2424 Koa Ave Honolulu HI

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Honolulu Zoo
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • 24-hour business center

Located in Waikiki within a short walk of Honolulu Zoo, Stay Hotel Waikiki is within a mile (2 km) of other popular sights such as Waikiki Aquarium. This 80-room, 3-star hotel has a restaurant, free in-room WiFi, and a 24-hour business center. Located in central Honolulu, the hotel is also near Diamond Head and University of Hawaii at Manoa.


Dining

Explore the hotel and meet new friends over drinks at the bar/lounge, or enjoy a bite to eat at the onsite restaurant.


Rooms

All 80 air-conditioned rooms feature microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. 32-inch flat-screen TVs come with digital channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Free newspapers, free local calls, and ironing boards are also available.


Property features

Guests of Stay Hotel Waikiki enjoy access to free WiFi in public areas, a 24-hour business center, and coffee in a common area. Self parking is offered for USD 25 per day. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, tours or tickets, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this beach hotel include a computer station, a library, and free newspapers.

Room options

Deluxe Queen with Sofabed

Queen 1 | Sleeps 4

Boutique Queen

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Stay Hotel Waikiki

Everyone (28) Business (10) Couples (37) Family (13) Other (24) Friends (9)
4
Everyone

Staff were very friendly and the room was better than I expected for the price.

By on Jun 9, 2017

Review comment responded on Jun 15, 2017

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We are happy to hear that you liked your room and our staff. We hope your stay with us and your time in Hawaii was memorable! We wish you safe travels and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again. Mahalo, Nicha Guest Relations

3
Everyone

The only thing good about this place is how close it is to the beach and the bar inside. The rooms are the least comfortable I have ever been in and the bathrooms were horrible.

By on May 23, 2017

Review comment responded on May 26, 2017

Aloha, Thank you for taking some time to share your experience with us. We apologize the bathroom did not meet your expectations, however we are glad that you were still able to enjoy your stay and liked our location. We hope you had a memorable time in Hawaii! Mahalo, Nicha Guest Relations

1
Everyone

Too noisy and did not get any sleep. No parking available and no other available rooms for our stay. It was the worst place I have ever staid in. Woul not go back again. The windows were broken or not installed to keep noise out. The door was hard to close and no desk in room. Bathroom too samall and no counter to set items on.

By on May 20, 2017

Review comment responded on May 26, 2017

Aloha, Thank you for taking some time to share your experience with us. We apologize our hotel did not meet your standards. We hope you still were able to enjoy Hawaii and your time here. Wishing you safe travels. Mahalo, Nicha Guest Relations

3
Everyone

I paid a lot for my stay at Stay Hotel and I couldn't even get a room with a proper window to see the views of Waikiki. My windows were made from some material that blurred the views of the outside. On top of that, the shower was incredibly cramped and nasty that even after swimming at the beach I dreaded having to shower after that. I also had a moment where I had to speak to one of the maids to have them re-change my sheets just after she changed them because there appeared to be blood stains on them. Otherwise, the staff was INCREDIBLY courteous and accommodating, which made my stay at the hotel worthwhile. I would suggest to the hotel though to be upfront about the hotel rooms they have and not just show the rooms that have proper window views and balconies. I would not have even paid to stay at the hotel had I known I would be staying in this kind of room; however, I tried to make the most of my situation.

By , from Boston on Apr 30, 2017

Review comment responded on May 26, 2017

Aloha Melody, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We apologize that you feel that way and that our hotel did not meet your expectations. I am glad to hear that our staff were helpful and friendly. I do hope that you had a memorable time while in Hawaii and wish you safe travels. Mahalo, Nicha Guest Relations

5

best vacation ever!

Everyone

Stay Waikiki was an excellent choice! This hotel could not have been located in a better spot. The staff were helpful and friendly and the rooms were clean. I would stay here again.

By on Apr 5, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 10, 2017

Aloha, Thank you so much for taking a moment to leave us a review and share your thoughts with us. We are elated to know that you enjoyed your time with us and loved our staff! We hope to have the honor of hosting you again on your next visit! Mahalo, Nicha Guest Relations

2

totally shetty

Everyone

Uncooperative staff made it hard to stay and accusations of drug use were given by the manger and owner in which wasn't the case they smelt burning cotton from my buddy changing out his coils on his vape thus charging me 400 for room damage so overall the staff sucked there was no balcony and I paid 1000 dollars for a horrible one bedroom for 3 days, do not stay here !

By on Apr 2, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 13, 2017

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your experience at our hotel. While your time with us was fraught with an unfortunate series of events that you yourself stated were linked to your own acquaintances and which I believe tainted what would've been an otherwise solid guest experience, I appreciate that you took full responsibility for breaking our smoking policy by paying the full fine that is clearly stated to guests at their check-in times. As we discussed, open flames, in any fashion, are not allowed in our building and in fact most hotels for obvious safety reasons. Thank you again for your feedback. Mahalo nui loa, Carolyn Pinho General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki

4

walking distance to the beach and shops

Everyone

Overall a good experience. It's a decent price for the location and friendly staff. The rooms are basic but clean. It gets pretty humid in the room quickly but the ac helps. They provide coffee every morning in the lobby area and lend beach mats, boogie mats, wifi, and beach towels. There were a lot of noise from construction nearby the whole time so bring ear plugs as there seems to be construction inn various places.

By on Mar 25, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 28, 2017

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. Waikiki is ever-evolving, so you are right to share this observation with future guests. We do, however, hope that our guests spend the majority of their time out of their rooms enjoying the natural splendor that O'ahu has to offer. We are a perfect hotel to use as a base camp for our guests' daily adventures as we offer clean, comfortable rooms and friendly desk service that welcomes you like family. I hope that we have the pleasure of seeing you again soon. Mahalo nui loa, Carolyn Pinho General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki

3

quick walk to water, but budget hotel

Everyone
Warm aloha

While location was stellar, and staff were delightful, the room was challenged by small shower, drapés that didn't fully cover windows (letting constant bright streetlsmp light in throughout the night) and not soundproof against the 4am garbage truck. also window AC unit was right at head of bed on one side so was blowing at my boyfriends head and the room was not well insulated so went hot quickly if ac was off.

By , from b on Jan 19, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 2, 2017

Aloha Jackie, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay with us. We are very much looking forward to modernizing our windows and A/C units in the coming months. As you can imagine, it will be quite an endeavor, but we are committed to improving our guest experience, and we welcome the opportunity to do so. Mahalo nui loa, Carolyn Pinho General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki

3

needed an overnight stay

Everyone

Rm was near loud noise like a boiler or something. WiFi was awful. We need an overnighter so we used them.

By on Jan 17, 2017

2

it looks like motel. terrible room.

Everyone

The hotel staff and location are good. But they have a club on the first floor, so noisy . The room is terrible. I paid almost same price for different hotels in Waikiki another 2nights.

By on Jan 12, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 18, 2017

Aloha, Thank you for your review. While I am sorry to hear that your room did not meet your expectation, I am happy to know that you enjoyed the hospitality of our team and the central location of our property. Mahalo nui loa, Carolyn Pinho General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki