Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The staff was horrible, they never helped with anything. They didnt even want to check the buss schedule for you.

Good location, only a short walk from the beach, and various shopping centers. Bus to Waikiki Beach and Ala Moana stop right in front of hotel. Older place would recommend for people looking for good value for money that won’t be spending too much time at the hotel (we were pretty much only sleeping there) rooms are good size and it has a pool etc

I will never stay that hotel again. Front door I had a big gap wind whistle on night. Shower never drain so water will come up to the ankle. Air conditioning down at work it makes loud noise and smell was awful. I just don't see how that hotel will stay on the busyness it right in the middle of Waikiki . Going to Hawaii was nice but that hotel expense it was very awful

I was desperate to getaway after not having an island vacay in 2 years. I heavily relied on the guest ratings and 73% of you recommended this place and they were running a promotion of "no resort fee" so that saved me almost two hundred dollars. Pictures were decent and mixed reviews left it ultimately up to me on would I book the room or not. The overall walk to the room reminded me of a motel with the doors facing the outside of the building in an open air design. The furniture/fixtures were poor and worn and the room was basic not a place to hang out all day. Never turned on TV so don't know if that worked. The front desk were not the best in documenting what occurred. Before I left home I called the hotel to confirm the deposit policy as well as confirm that my promotion to waive the resort fee was applied. I was told that my resort fee was waived. When I check-in they tried to charge me the resort fee. I spent about 10-15 minutes trying to prove the promotion that was very influential in choosing that hotel from the start. Finally we worked it out after finding my email from Orbitz stating that very thing "no resort fee". Didn't feel like they had the "customer always right attitude". I loved the neighborhood and found other hotels (even Holiday Inn Express) across the street looked more appealing. I still had the best time I just didn't spend that much time in the room; I had Hawaii to explore.

My stay at the Ambassador was great. I will definitely stay there again.

The staff are very nice, its just the room and the building need to upgrade, its like a rundown hotel, , nees to have the air condition to be quite, to loud,,

Room was not like the pictures please update . The drainage in the shower was horrible. The staff was nice an courtesy but the overall hotel was deceiving but can not complain got a great deal.

We cooked most of our food. We enjoyed our stay. Nice and clean room.

We got a room for 3 and were upgraded to a room with kitchenette. It had a double bed, twin and sofa bed. quite comfortable for my wife and I and step daughter. Overall the hotel is a little dated, but the staff was very nice and polite and the room was comfortably large.

Dated, tired, old, and dirty. Rust stains, grease stains. Poor floor plan.

Noisy area. Tour buses park at midnight with engine on. A/C is wall mounted old and noisy. We didnt turn them on at night and kept patio door open very noisy outside super hot inside couldnt sleep. Shower stall tile floor has dirty grout lines. No working venting in bathroom. Smell of sewage at night from the vent.no wifi for day and a half. Cable tv very slow jittery picture. Toilet seat old and yellow. One of the stove elements not working. Game room has missing game.piece items. Pool closwd until 10 am. No outside seating available before 10 am. No dvd rental. No barbecues. Best item is free bikes for 2 hours a day, out highlight.

The staff was pleasant, but the room was outdated and there was something on the floor of the bathroom. Gross! I was on Oahu for an overnight business trip and in the evening, there were some "questionable" people hanging around. Will not stay there again.

Shower doesnt drain properly. Front office take long to call back. Some are rude and plainly font care. In the past they would find ways to make you comfortable, now this time was just to fill the hotel!!

We were told our room would have three single beds but it ended up only having two double beds. No big deal. Our original room had a very nice kitchen and bathroom. The actual room part was not as nice. It looked shabby and the view was of some random building from the second floor. The balcony had a tiny sitting area but it didn't hide how sad it looked overall. We did manage to pay a bit more to upgrade to he seventh floor. The kitchen and bathroom were not as nice (the bathroom light would flicker and the shower drain did not work as well as it could have. We were showering while standing in a puddle!) but the room was a lot nicer. It looked much cleaner and the view was much more ideal. There was a little pile of water on the balcony dripping from somewhere. The staff were very pleasant and accommodating. The pool was nice enough and the laundry room was useful. Overall, it's very good for a quick and cheap stay but if a high quality hotel is what you're looking for, you're better off looking elsewhere.

Poorly maintained hotel, worst I've stayed at. Needs major renovation. Although, staff were nice.

Very nice island,good peaples, good food and too much noising

Extra charges I did not expect at check out and the manager argued with me about it and never did take it off or even part of it. Do yourself a favor and go across the street to holiday Inn express, best experience, totally opposite from ambassador.

Getting to the hotel we thought it would look way different than what we were presented with. The pictures on the booking website are very out dated. Other than that our view was outstanding, and the staff was awesome!

Reasonable for the $ paid. Staff are very friendly.

Everything is ok. But kitchen cabinets have bed smell.No dish soap to wash the dishes.Toster needs be upgraded.Not enough silverwear 4 people.

2040 Kuhio Ave Honolulu HI

Hotel highlights

  • Close to Ala Moana Center and Honolulu Zoo
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Outdoor pool
  • 24-hour fitness center

Located in Waikiki, Ambassador Hotel Waikiki is within a mile (2 km) of popular sights such as Ala Moana Center and Honolulu Zoo. This 311-room, 3-star hotel welcomes guests with a coffee shop/café, an outdoor pool, and a 24-hour fitness center. Near the airport, it's also near University of Hawaii at Manoa and Diamond Head.


Dining

You can sip a beverage at the coffee shop/café.


Rooms

All of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki's 311 air-conditioned rooms provide balconies, refrigerators, and safes. Guests can expect free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other amenities include phones, ironing boards, and desks.


Property features

Guests staying at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki enjoy an outdoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. Self parking is available for USD 25 per night. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include a 24-hour business center, an arcade/game room, and laundry facilities.

Room options

City View Kitchen

Full 2 | Twin 3 | Sleeps 4

City View Suite

Full 1 | Sleeps 4

Partial Ocean View Kitchen

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 4

Ocean View Suite

Full 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Everyone (52) Couples (132) Business (27) Students (1) Family (95) Friends (39) Other (57)
2

the staff was horrible, unfriendly

Everyone

The staff was horrible, they never helped with anything. They didnt even want to check the buss schedule for you.

By , from stockholm on Jan 5, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 10, 2018

Aloha Kristina, Thank you for the feedback. We're sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience with us. Please feel free to contact us directly if you'd like to discuss this experience further. Sincerely,

4

centrally located in waikiki

Everyone

Good location, only a short walk from the beach, and various shopping centers. Bus to Waikiki Beach and Ala Moana stop right in front of hotel. Older place would recommend for people looking for good value for money that won’t be spending too much time at the hotel (we were pretty much only sleeping there) rooms are good size and it has a pool etc

By , from Auckland on Jan 3, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 4, 2018

Aloha Fabiola, Thank you for the feedback. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to serve you again in the near future. Sincerely,

1

very very poor

Everyone

I will never stay that hotel again. Front door I had a big gap wind whistle on night. Shower never drain so water will come up to the ankle. Air conditioning down at work it makes loud noise and smell was awful. I just don't see how that hotel will stay on the busyness it right in the middle of Waikiki . Going to Hawaii was nice but that hotel expense it was very awful

By , from jacksonville fl on Dec 14, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 17, 2017

Aloha Cat, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience with us. However, we appreciate you bringing our attention to the issues you mentioned. Sincerely,

2

do not stay unless you really need a vacation

Everyone

I was desperate to getaway after not having an island vacay in 2 years. I heavily relied on the guest ratings and 73% of you recommended this place and they were running a promotion of "no resort fee" so that saved me almost two hundred dollars. Pictures were decent and mixed reviews left it ultimately up to me on would I book the room or not. The overall walk to the room reminded me of a motel with the doors facing the outside of the building in an open air design. The furniture/fixtures were poor and worn and the room was basic not a place to hang out all day. Never turned on TV so don't know if that worked. The front desk were not the best in documenting what occurred. Before I left home I called the hotel to confirm the deposit policy as well as confirm that my promotion to waive the resort fee was applied. I was told that my resort fee was waived. When I check-in they tried to charge me the resort fee. I spent about 10-15 minutes trying to prove the promotion that was very influential in choosing that hotel from the start. Finally we worked it out after finding my email from Orbitz stating that very thing "no resort fee". Didn't feel like they had the "customer always right attitude". I loved the neighborhood and found other hotels (even Holiday Inn Express) across the street looked more appealing. I still had the best time I just didn't spend that much time in the room; I had Hawaii to explore.

By , from Philadelphia, PA on Nov 15, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 9, 2017

Aloha Kori, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your comments and will use them to improve the overall experience of our hotel. Sincerely,

4
Everyone

My stay at the Ambassador was great. I will definitely stay there again.

By on Nov 5, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 9, 2017

Aloha, Thank you so much for your feedback. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely,

3
Everyone

The staff are very nice, its just the room and the building need to upgrade, its like a rundown hotel, , nees to have the air condition to be quite, to loud,,

By on Oct 14, 2017

3

pictures was not what we got. please update rooms

Everyone

Room was not like the pictures please update . The drainage in the shower was horrible. The staff was nice an courtesy but the overall hotel was deceiving but can not complain got a great deal.

By , from los angeles on Oct 8, 2017

5

nice location.

Everyone

We cooked most of our food. We enjoyed our stay. Nice and clean room.

By , from Orlando Florida on Oct 3, 2017

4

room for three

Everyone

We got a room for 3 and were upgraded to a room with kitchenette. It had a double bed, twin and sofa bed. quite comfortable for my wife and I and step daughter. Overall the hotel is a little dated, but the staff was very nice and polite and the room was comfortably large.

By , from Kauai, Hi on Sep 22, 2017

2

get what you pay for

Everyone

Dated, tired, old, and dirty. Rust stains, grease stains. Poor floor plan.

By , from California on Sep 21, 2017