Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Occidental Papagayo - Adults Only -All Inclusive

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Great resort for peace and quit, the food is great, the staff are awesome, the representatives go out there way to maximize your vacation, watch out for the raccoons, just always lock patios and doors, beach and pool are fair, activities I rate fair, great atmosphere, will definetely visit again and recommended to any couple

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at this resort. Staff was friendly and helpful. We ate at both the buffet and the Italian restaurant and we both enjoyed the food. We also ate at the snack bar one afternoon instead of having lunch in the restaurant, since we weren't very hungry. We aren't into the night life, so cannot comment on that. The beach was good for wading and snorkeling, which we did for a couple of hours. Kayaks were also available, but it was quite windy so we didn't try those.

Stayed here for 6 days\5 nights during christmas week. It was nice and quiet- perhaps too quiet. Power went out for up to 20 minutes at least 3 days. There was no cold water the first 2-3 days either. Food is good. For the a la carte restaurants, the Italian is way better than the Oriental. Room was decently clean, sans the shower. It took forever to get new towels also.

Grounds were very good. The meals and choice of restaurants was so so.The room was okay but not stocked, no shampoo or water, beer in fridge.Lounge was very nice and quiet. Staff was very good. Not 5 star but okay 4 star.

Our stay were great. The staff were very gentile and prompt to respond to our needs. the service was great. The room was clean. The beach and the pool service were great. The only problem I had was mosquito bites and areoplane connection were too long. Otherwise everything was great. We visit Coco beach and did some shopping which was great and the sunset tour. Thanks

Great place to stay! Rooms are well appointed. Wonderful staff. It's not the fanciest all inclusive but it is good for those on a budget.

Very beautiful locale..private and enjoyable staff was ok young and inexoerienced but accomdating. .good vacation

Pros: Friendly staff, not too far from LIR, decent food & drinks, large pool, close to the volcano park and Coco beach Cons: Bed was hard as a rock, pool felt like warm bathwater, no beach. I think this would be a nice stay for a long weekend but a whole week would get boring.

Hotel does not have 4 stars service, The main concern was housekeeping: no shampoo, no conditioner, no body lotion, sometimes they did not clean up our room, did not bring clean towels, housekeepers did not understand English. The beach towel station was too far away from the beach and was closed at 5 pm, no restroom on the beach area. Food was good, but restaurant staff mostly does not speak English. Front desk people were very helpful.I would rate this hotel like 3 stars resort and will not stay over there next time

This is the first time I've given a review in my many years of travel. I hope I can prevent someone else from making the mistake of booking at this place. The room they tried to stick us with was horrible! I immediately said something to the front desk person and was told they wouldn't have another room for 2 days. It smelled so badly of mold and mildew that we didn't sleep one hour that first night. The next morning I demanded they move us the next day. Finally, they moved us to a room that wasn't disgusting. They also allowed small children the last weekend we were there!

The rooms were average, but the hotel staff was excellent. The resort grounds are beautiful. Highly recommended, would go back again.

Ok we got ripped off on the cab ride to the hotel, had to speak to manager of hotel as they wanted to charge us 50 dollars twice. The hotel is nice but small. The beach is dirty and the pool cloudy at all times. I got drunk and did go swimming in it. I wouldent return to the place. One. Good thing was our room was really nice.

The hotel and surrounding area are beautiful. The scenery alone is definitely worth the trip. The hotel is very nice, but seemed under-staffed, and what staff there was often did not follow through with requests. The buffet wasn't great, but the a la carte restaurants (included in the price) both served excellent food. Here, too, the small staff marred an otherwise great experience, as service was slow, and seating was very limited. When we arrived at the hotel, our porter informed us that housekeeping would supply us with coffee for our room, and restock our mini-fridge with water and beer every other day throughout our stay. Neither of these things happened, and on our last day we didn't even receive washcloths. All these negatives in service are outweighed, for us at least, by the beautiful scenery. The hotel is filled with beautiful landscaping, and situated right on a picturesque beach. It's a short drive from the local airport, and many tour providers congregate on the beach each day, both of which are very convenient. We would go again, but if mediocre food and bad service outweigh beautiful scenery, this may not be the resort for you.

The hotel is beautiful and the landscape is amazing. The beach is nice and green. We really enjoyed it. Unfortunately, we had a bad experience with room service. My wife's expensive sunglasses were stolen from the room. It was the last day that we reported it. We submitted a report and management promised to get back to us. We never heard from them. About a month after the incident, I contacted the General Manager and she promised to get back to me since she did not know about this incident, have not heard from her for the last three months. A couple that we met at the hotel, had their money stolen from their safe. I had a feeling that some money was taken from our safe but since I did not remember the exact amount I did not report it. Do not turst the safe. Be very carefu.

Staff was "Great" everyone from front desk to restaurant staff was very very friendly. Hotel was very clean and beautiful. Food was fair to very good! Problem... internet Not available in all rooms. Never was, probably won't be. Also Note! Only available with "Ethernet cable", so iPad won't work, no Wi-Fi in any rooms. Somehow need to verify that you are reserving an internet room. Staff knows which rooms have internet and which do not. Wi-Fi is available in lobby area. Other than that, very good value!

If you want a vacation where you can relax this is the ideal place. The atmosphere is very calm, the staff is super attentive, genuinely nice and the food is Delicious. We went to the two restaurants that they have there, special shout out to Raul! from the Italian restaurant for his great service. In reality all of the staff really did make sure that we felt at home. I would also like to give Juan Pablo a shout out for his great customer service. I will definitely be going back next summer. ~Pura Vida~

It was our first time in CR and there were 9 of us, 3 families. We had to get 2 rooms because my daughter is considered an adult and they don't allow 3 adults in a room. We requested rooms right next to each other and they accommodated us. In fact our entire family was in the same section. We ocean view ground level rooms, honeymoon package so there was champagne, fruit and robes upon our arrival to our room. The room was decorated nicely. The bed was comfortable. Everything was very clean. The cleaning lady came every day and left fresh towels. The staff in the restaurants were polite, friendly and went above and beyond to accommodate us. They had a very nice selection of specialty cocktails and actually had top shelf liquors at no extra cost as is the case with other all-inclusive resorts. The breakfast buffet was adequate however the dinner buffet was limited. Not a very large selection. They didn't really have any of the typical meals kids like so that was tough . One night there was no chicken so we asked one of the waiters if they can grill some chicken for us and they did. It was a bit of a walk to the main building so on occasion we would call for transportation. They arrived quickly each time. Plenty of seating around the pool as well as shaded areas. Overall it was a great place to vacation with family. Plan to go back next year.

Overall, it was a great experience. The staff was really friendly, the food was decent (restaurant was better), and the beach was a lovely short walk from our villa. I was pleasantly surprised and ran into several other honeymooners on the trip making my experience even more enjoyable!

Amazing staff!! The resort itself was a three star at best. It was clean but certain things were in disrepair and the room smelled moldy a few times. The buffet was very fresh and the cocktails were made exactly how you want them with decent well known liquor brands. Freshest, ripest fruit as well. It was a good deal so I am not overly disappointed with any part of the trip.

The grounds are simply beautiful. However, there is a lot of walking which can be a good thing but there is a lot of stairs to the main building that could be dangerous at night. However they do offer a shuttle which is somewhat prompt. As for the location, its top notch for the money. Very private and dont have a ton of rooms which we liked. No swim up bar though which would have been nice.

Playa Hermosa Papagayo Guanacaste

Located in Panama Beach, Occidental Papagayo - Adults Only -All Inclusive is 1.9 mi (3 km) from Hermosa Bay Beach. This 4-star resort has 163 guestrooms and offers an outdoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and free valet parking. It's on the beach and also within a 15-minute drive of Coco Beach.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free buffet breakfast. This resort is home to 4 onsite restaurants, perfect for a quick bite to eat. Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room.


All of Occidental Papagayo - Adults Only -All Inclusive's 163 air-conditioned rooms provide balconies or patios, minibars, and free bottled water. Flat-screen TVs come with satellite channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer rainfall showers, hair dryers, and free toiletries. Other amenities include safes, ironing boards, and desks.

Rooms


Occidental Papagayo - Adults Only -All Inclusive features a nightclub, an outdoor pool, and a fitness center. If you drive, take advantage of free valet parking. The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day to help with concierge services and securing valuables. Other amenities at this adults-only resort include a spa tub, a sauna, and an outdoor tennis court.

Property features

Room options

Deluxe Room, Bay View

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Room, Concierge Service

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Room, Bay View (Romance)

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 2

Junior Suite (Premium Level)

King 1 | Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Occidental Papagayo - Adults Only -All Inclusive

Everyone (3) Couples (54) Business (2) Family (11) Friends (8) Other (3)
4

adults only occidental papagayo resort

Everyone

Great resort for peace and quit, the food is great, the staff are awesome, the representatives go out there way to maximize your vacation, watch out for the raccoons, just always lock patios and doors, beach and pool are fair, activities I rate fair, great atmosphere, will definetely visit again and recommended to any couple

By on Apr 1, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 4, 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for making our Occidental Papagayo your choice hotel on this occasion and for your very kind recommendation to the travel community of Orbitz this positive feedback keeps us motivated to encounter the compliance of our demanding quality standards. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind Regards, Jean Marie Prudencio

5

all-inclusive couples resort

Everyone

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at this resort. Staff was friendly and helpful. We ate at both the buffet and the Italian restaurant and we both enjoyed the food. We also ate at the snack bar one afternoon instead of having lunch in the restaurant, since we weren't very hungry. We aren't into the night life, so cannot comment on that. The beach was good for wading and snorkeling, which we did for a couple of hours. Kayaks were also available, but it was quite windy so we didn't try those.

By , from NY on Feb 16, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 21, 2017

Dear Michele, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay in our Occidental Papagayo. It is wonderful to hear we were able to make your stay special from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed. We are glad to read that you really enjoyed our unbeatable location to visit the wonders of a vacation in Papagayo . It is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours. Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon. Kind regards, Jean Marie Prudencio General Manager

4

quiet resort, very good food

Couples

Stayed here for 6 days\5 nights during christmas week. It was nice and quiet- perhaps too quiet. Power went out for up to 20 minutes at least 3 days. There was no cold water the first 2-3 days either. Food is good. For the a la carte restaurants, the Italian is way better than the Oriental. Room was decently clean, sans the shower. It took forever to get new towels also.

By on Jan 2, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 9, 2017

Dear Guest, We first would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló hotel for your holidays in Occidental Papagayo and for sharing your comments on your experience among us. We do apologize for the technical problems you encountered; there are absolutely no excuses for details to be overlooked as all rooms should be thoroughly checked on a daily basis. We will make sure that the procedure is being reinforced . Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Kind Regards, Jean Marie Prudencio. General Manager

4
Everyone

Grounds were very good. The meals and choice of restaurants was so so.The room was okay but not stocked, no shampoo or water, beer in fridge.Lounge was very nice and quiet. Staff was very good. Not 5 star but okay 4 star.

By , from Ontario on Apr 8, 2016

Review comment responded on Apr 19, 2016

Dear Karen Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion of Occidental Papagayo. We are glad to read that you had a nice stay with us. We regret you had experience lack of services in your room. Our main goal is the total satisfaction of our guests. It was our pleasure to attend you throughout your stay and we do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back here in the not too distant future. Kind regards Mr. Jean Marie P General Manager

5

we have a great time with good staff and great food

Families

Our stay were great. The staff were very gentile and prompt to respond to our needs. the service was great. The room was clean. The beach and the pool service were great. The only problem I had was mosquito bites and areoplane connection were too long. Otherwise everything was great. We visit Coco beach and did some shopping which was great and the sunset tour. Thanks

By on May 15, 2015

4

great place!

Couples

Great place to stay! Rooms are well appointed. Wonderful staff. It's not the fanciest all inclusive but it is good for those on a budget.

By on Mar 3, 2015

4

relaxing getaway

Couples

Very beautiful locale..private and enjoyable staff was ok young and inexoerienced but accomdating. .good vacation

By on Nov 14, 2014

3

good value, lacks beach front

Couples

Pros: Friendly staff, not too far from LIR, decent food & drinks, large pool, close to the volcano park and Coco beach Cons: Bed was hard as a rock, pool felt like warm bathwater, no beach. I think this would be a nice stay for a long weekend but a whole week would get boring.

By on Jul 6, 2014

3

pura vida vacation

Couples

Hotel does not have 4 stars service, The main concern was housekeeping: no shampoo, no conditioner, no body lotion, sometimes they did not clean up our room, did not bring clean towels, housekeepers did not understand English. The beach towel station was too far away from the beach and was closed at 5 pm, no restroom on the beach area. Food was good, but restaurant staff mostly does not speak English. Front desk people were very helpful.I would rate this hotel like 3 stars resort and will not stay over there next time

By on Jan 25, 2014

2

would not go back

Couples

This is the first time I've given a review in my many years of travel. I hope I can prevent someone else from making the mistake of booking at this place. The room they tried to stick us with was horrible! I immediately said something to the front desk person and was told they wouldn't have another room for 2 days. It smelled so badly of mold and mildew that we didn't sleep one hour that first night. The next morning I demanded they move us the next day. Finally, they moved us to a room that wasn't disgusting. They also allowed small children the last weekend we were there!

By on Nov 25, 2013