Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Centralized location in Hampton. Location was close to everything we had wanted to visit.

The first room I was checked into wasn't completely ready, the bed wasn't made and the shower looked freshly used. And in the second or last room the refrigerator did not work. Lastly, after a weekend of my group having different events throughout the hotel we show up for breakfast on the final day and the breakfast crew seems overwhelmed by us. Foods weren't being replenished in a timely manner and ordering a la cart took 30 mins for French toast. Ultimately, for the per night rate I paid I expect more than a days inn feel.

Nice location for what we needed, accessible room was fine, could use some adjustments. Hotel under rennovatuons.

Never cleaned my room. vending machines broken. food was bad. air conditioning in room was governed at an unnacceptable high temperature.

This facility is in a ownership transition to Hilton Hotels. Construction going on the first floor. Although the building is old, the maintenance of the facility appears good. A shout out to Erika & Ernest, whose service and hospitality made the stay most comfortable.

Under construction restaurants and bar closed pool area closed

Great location with nice water views. The rooms need some updating but overall are clean and welcoming.

First room smelled of mildew with water stains down the wall l. Second room had an ant crawling on the bed. Toilet had pink stains.

Close to Venue. Bar not open late. Could use some updating. Free parking a bonus!

Remodel remodel remodel so run down. My first room had no A/C second room had a broke closet door and stained curtains. Just nasty... oh and there are roaches

My experience was ok because I only spent one night. Handicapped accessible bathrooms need to be larger and completely remodeled. Location was ideal for visiting the university.

It was nice. The staff was great! The only issues I had was there was either a spider or bug of some sorts that I couldn’t find. The fridge knob was broken but it was replaced quickly.

A little disappointed that the pool was outdoor only and shut down for winter; however, all other amenities are lovely! We had a beautiful view of the Marina at sunrise. The staff were wonderful with my children.

Check in was slow. Only one staff member. Another eventually came to help out with the line, and it moved better then, but the staffing was definitely low for a Friday night. Check in took me over 15 minutes. In the room, there was an unidentified stain on one of the pillows that we were not to excited about. I normally would have complained, but it was late, and we just wanted to get to sleep, so we tossed pillow on couch and made do. Also, I was unable to connect to the Wi-Fi. That said, my wife was able to with her Surface tablet, so maybe it was my laptop. My wife's phone can be used as a hotspot, so we turned that on and I also made due. Not a horrible hotel. Close (walking distance) so some trendy restaurants, and with good water views. But for the price and the level of restaurant it aspires to be, this visit didn't live up to that expectation. We have had other stays that were up to my expectations, but this one wasn't.

I had not been there for nearly a year. The hotel and its rooms seemed "tired". There was mold around the windows in the first room we were given and paint was peeling on the walls near the windows. The second room we were assigned was much better, but still seemed like it need a generous dose of "TLC".

This hotel and staff is the place from hell. We booked 2 months in advanced only to get there and they gave our room away. They booked us a room 30 mins away at the Econo Lodge and it was the dumps. Staff is not trained properly. Understaffed. We missed the fishing trip because they did not have enogh money in the register and no paper work to show we paid the deposit. Smh. I am lost for words.

The elevators worked poorly with one down during most of our stay. The computer/business service room did not work at all. Of the 100's of hotels I have stayed at it was the worst. The front desk staff seemed to have no clue. No local knowledge of restaurants, etc so they could not advise us as to where to go for outside meals and shopping. Were unable to assist regarding the lack of working computers. There was no local interest flyers for guest to use in planning their day. The cleaning staff missed our room and on most days did not provide adequate bath towels.

Settlers Landing Rd. Hampton VA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Virginia Air and Space Center
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Located in Downtown within a 5-minute walk of Virginia Air and Space Center, Hampton Marina Hotel is within a mile (2 km) of other popular attractions like Hampton University. This 173-room, 3.5-star hotel has conveniences like a marina, an outdoor pool, and a 24-hour fitness center. It's connected to a shopping center in central Hampton and also close to Hampton Coliseum and Hampton Roads Convention Center.


Dining

This hotel serves as home to a restaurant, which has ocean views, along with a bar. Satisfy your hunger from the comfort of your room with room service.


Rooms

All of Hampton Marina Hotel's 173 air-conditioned rooms provide refrigerators, safes, and phones. Guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Climb into the pillowtop bed for a pleasant night's sleep. Rooms also include ironing boards.


Property features

At Hampton Marina Hotel, guests enjoy a marina, an outdoor pool, and a 24-hour fitness center. A stay here includes free parking. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with securing valuables, tours or tickets, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include free WiFi in public areas, a business center, and a seasonal outdoor pool.

Room options

Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible with Roll in Shower

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed, Marina View

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Marina View

Queen 2 | Sleeps 5

Room, 2 Queen Beds

Queen 2 | Sleeps 5

Guest reviews for Hampton Marina Hotel

Everyone (18) Couples (13) Business (5) Family (12) Other (3) Friends (4)
4
Partner Couples Families

Centralized location in Hampton. Location was close to everything we had wanted to visit.

By on Oct 11, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 11, 2019

Thank you for your feedback.

5
Everyone

By on Sep 3, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 4, 2019

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for your rating.

2
Families

The first room I was checked into wasn't completely ready, the bed wasn't made and the shower looked freshly used. And in the second or last room the refrigerator did not work. Lastly, after a weekend of my group having different events throughout the hotel we show up for breakfast on the final day and the breakfast crew seems overwhelmed by us. Foods weren't being replenished in a timely manner and ordering a la cart took 30 mins for French toast. Ultimately, for the per night rate I paid I expect more than a days inn feel.

By on Aug 26, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 26, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. I apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced during your stay

3
Everyone

By on Aug 25, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 25, 2019

Thank you for your feedback.

4
Partner Couples

Nice location for what we needed, accessible room was fine, could use some adjustments. Hotel under rennovatuons.

By on Jul 25, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 25, 2019

Thank you for your feedback.

2
Business Business Travelers

Never cleaned my room. vending machines broken. food was bad. air conditioning in room was governed at an unnacceptable high temperature.

By on May 24, 2019

Review comment responded on May 25, 2019

Thank you for your recent stay. We are sorry that the cleanliness and comfort of your room were not up to par while you were here, and for the inconvenience you experienced. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, and we want to assure you that we are working to address the problems you mentioned. You are our valued guest, and we hope you will consider giving our hotel another chance to make a better impression.

3
Everyone

This facility is in a ownership transition to Hilton Hotels. Construction going on the first floor. Although the building is old, the maintenance of the facility appears good. A shout out to Erika & Ernest, whose service and hospitality made the stay most comfortable.

By on May 13, 2019

Review comment responded on May 13, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. We will be sure to share you review with Erika and Ernest.We wish you safe travels.

4
Partner Couples

Under construction restaurants and bar closed pool area closed

By on Apr 19, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 20, 2019

Thank you for your feedback.

4
Families

Great location with nice water views. The rooms need some updating but overall are clean and welcoming.

By , from Park Ridge, IL on Apr 3, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 5, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share the feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is appreciated.

1
Everyone

By on Jan 4, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 8, 2019

Thank you for your feedback.

url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Newport-News-Hotels-Hampton-Marina-Hotel.h3729-p2.Hotel-Reviews