Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Marrakech Hotel New York City

3.0 out of 5.0

Marrakech Hotel New York City

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

This Hotel is terrible,no elevator, the stairs where very dirty and the cleanliness is very poor. I own several blogs online and I'll post how dirty is this hotel. We where in the room number 82 and the door had a very big gap where you could see the hallway....My girlfriend and I marked down with a pen all the blankets to see if they change it, but they did put the same blanket on the other side, VERY NASTY! AND VERY UNETHICAL!

Hotel was very clean but their website failed to mention that there was no elevator, only steps. First night we arrived, we were put in a very tiny room (I had paid for a larger room upon reservation) that was located on the fifth floor. We had to walk up five flights of steps to get to our room, carrying most of our things. Second day, we were moved to a room (actual room size that I had paid for) on the third floor. Upon check out, I had to pay same price for the tiny room that we were given upon arrival even though my reservation was for a larger room, so basically I was ripped off for one night. Front desk staff would not correct my final bill and tried to say that they gave us an upgrade (which is actually what I had paid for initially). In my opinion, I found the front desk staff to not be very friendly with their communication toward us (slight attitudes). As far as the room, everything was very clean, except sink was coming detached from the wall and the toilet ran constantly. There was also no microwave or refrigerator in either room, and no ice or coffeemaker anywhere in the hotel. We were given glass cups instead of plastic which I found extremely odd. However, hotel was located right next to the subway which was nice, and there were a lot of restraurants and businesses within close proximity. In summary, do NOT book this hotel if you are unable to walk up several flights of steps because there is no elevator, and prepare to be given the most basic accommodations.

Friendly service. Clean bathroom but the bed was awful and the carpet old. No ELEVATOR. Ownership could put a little more into it to make the rooms fit the theme of its name

The hotel pictures are a scam. There was mold all over the shower curtain and it had a terrible smell. The hotel is old but has a great location near transit. I don not mind that it is old as long as it is clean, but that was not the case. At least they should show pictures that accurate depict the current conditions.

AWFUL. First of all, this is NOT a hotel. Our room was at the 3rd floor with no elevator. The stairs were narrow and shabby. The room had NO HEATING (only a small electric stove that I was too afraid to turn up for safety reasons), so in the evening and in the morning the room was freezing cold. The condition of the bed linen was horrible (deteriorated, stained). We stayed there for 3 nights and they NEVER changed our towels (by the way, 2 out of 5 were dirtied at our arrival). We put them on the floor in order to have them changed, but the housekeeping folded them again and put them back on the shelf. The carpet in the room and the bathroom fixture were old and stained. I would NEVER go there again and I would NEVER recommend it.

Our heat was regulated by the building owner and not by the hotel staff or even by a thermostat in our room. On day 2, we had our windows open (in 30 degree weather) to regulate the incredible heat coming through the radiator. That then led to the incredible (all night) street noise that is New York City! Our hot water was VERY iffy, at best, and didn't allow for ANY evening showers. This was due to an 'old building' per the hotel front desk staff and our only option was to change rooms - again. Overall, the location is wonderful and the room was very clean - a MUST for me! The staff was also very friendly and helpful. One tip, don't book the car service from the hotel back to the airport - use a yellow cab - much cheaper and direct!

Its basic no frills everything so if you just want a place to drop your bags and get out intonthe city this is a good fit. The staff was very nice and the location offers access to the city via walking, bus, or subway.

At soon I walk in I know I couldn’t stay there. The advertisement for this hotel online is not the same as when you see it in person. I know every hotel use professional photographer to make their hotel look nice but for this hotel it is really exaggerated. This place is not clean at all, the hot water wasn’t working, the bed was not comfortable, they had cheap bed in their room. Bathroom super small and not clean at all. I couldn’t even shower. They next day I check out because I was getting sick from that hotel and I asked them for my refund for the next two days and they were fighting with me. Customer service is 0, I will not recommend this hotel . Even motel 6 is way better then this place.

The rooms are the size you'd expect in this price range in New York. So if you're looking for a truly luxurious and posh experience, this isn't the one for you. However, if you want the top value, this is the hotel for you. The rooms are small but not too small, we could still live comfortably. The rooms are clean and the bed is comfy. The staff was very friendly. The location and price of this hotel are sublime. My girlfriend and I could not believe we were staying in a comfortable and affordable hotel in uptown manhattan for less than $100 a night. I will definitely be staying here again.

Maids failed to clean and make up room one day of our five night Stay. Towels were in dire need of upgrade as they were worn and tattered.

The room was small but comfortable. Subway stop is steps away. The building interior is clearly old, but clean.

Ancient fixtures, tiny room, tired sheets and bedding, no way to adjust the heat and the room was uncomfortably hot even with the air conditioner full blast. I tripped on the uneven unmarked floor.

The room was tiny. The bed was equally as small. The last person who stayed in the room must have lost their contact lens because I found it stuck to the bottom of my foot in the bathroom.

The staff were very friendly and offered to bring my bag up the steps to the registration desk and down the steps when I was leaving. Didn't realize this hotel did not have an elevator until after I made my reservation. This that was listed in small print on the website. Hotel did not have any wash cloths, hand towels or a bathmat. They said they they were having problems with their washing machine. The staff brought me two more bath towels. No iron or ironing board in the room. I had to request it from the front desk. They brought an iron and an ironing board that you put on a counter to iron. One of the lightbulbs in the ceiling fan was out but nothing could be done about it until the next morning. Room was mainly clean but there was some dust in the corners. Definitely not my idea of a three star hotel.

The Hotel was very old, dingy, loud and a WALK UP - I had to carry my bags up 7 floors. The first room they assigned me was the smallest room in there. Thankfully they switched me to a bigger room with windows... but still dank. There was a huge gap above the door so it never felt like it was fully closed.

2688 Broadway New York NY

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • 24-hour business center
  • Concierge services
  • 24-hour front desk

Located in Upper West Side within a 5-minute drive of Central Park, Marrakech Hotel New York City is within a 10-minute drive of other popular sights such as Columbia University. The 130 rooms at this 3-star hotel include iPod docks, flat-screen TVs, and premium bedding. It's in central New York and also close to Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum and American Museum of Natural History.


Rooms

Guests can expect to find free WiFi and 30-inch a flat-screen TV with cable channels. Beds sport premium bedding and the bathroom offers a hair dryer and designer toiletries. Other standard amenities include an iPod dock, a ceiling fan, and a phone.


Property features

Guests of Marrakech Hotel New York City enjoy access to free WiFi in public areas, a 24-hour business center, and microwave in a common area. Transportation is made easy with limo/town car service. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with concierge services, luggage storage, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include a refrigerator in a common area, a computer station, and free newspapers.

Room options

Run of the House (Bed type not guaranteed)

Full 1 | Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Superior Room

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Quadruple Room

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Marrakech Hotel New York City

Everyone (15) Couples (1)
1
Everyone

This Hotel is terrible,no elevator, the stairs where very dirty and the cleanliness is very poor. I own several blogs online and I'll post how dirty is this hotel. We where in the room number 82 and the door had a very big gap where you could see the hallway....My girlfriend and I marked down with a pen all the blankets to see if they change it, but they did put the same blanket on the other side, VERY NASTY! AND VERY UNETHICAL!

By , from Charlotte,NC on Dec 21, 2018

3
Everyone

Hotel was very clean but their website failed to mention that there was no elevator, only steps. First night we arrived, we were put in a very tiny room (I had paid for a larger room upon reservation) that was located on the fifth floor. We had to walk up five flights of steps to get to our room, carrying most of our things. Second day, we were moved to a room (actual room size that I had paid for) on the third floor. Upon check out, I had to pay same price for the tiny room that we were given upon arrival even though my reservation was for a larger room, so basically I was ripped off for one night. Front desk staff would not correct my final bill and tried to say that they gave us an upgrade (which is actually what I had paid for initially). In my opinion, I found the front desk staff to not be very friendly with their communication toward us (slight attitudes). As far as the room, everything was very clean, except sink was coming detached from the wall and the toilet ran constantly. There was also no microwave or refrigerator in either room, and no ice or coffeemaker anywhere in the hotel. We were given glass cups instead of plastic which I found extremely odd. However, hotel was located right next to the subway which was nice, and there were a lot of restraurants and businesses within close proximity. In summary, do NOT book this hotel if you are unable to walk up several flights of steps because there is no elevator, and prepare to be given the most basic accommodations.

By on Nov 6, 2018

1
Everyone

By on Oct 4, 2018

3
Everyone

Friendly service. Clean bathroom but the bed was awful and the carpet old. No ELEVATOR. Ownership could put a little more into it to make the rooms fit the theme of its name

By on Aug 11, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 16, 2018

Thank you for your comments. I apologize you were not completely satisfied. I am concerned about your findings and would like to find out more. Can you please email me at k.acker@marrakechhotelnyc.com with more information and which room you were staying in so I can further investigate to fix the issue.

1
Everyone

The hotel pictures are a scam. There was mold all over the shower curtain and it had a terrible smell. The hotel is old but has a great location near transit. I don not mind that it is old as long as it is clean, but that was not the case. At least they should show pictures that accurate depict the current conditions.

By on Aug 11, 2018

1
Everyone

AWFUL. First of all, this is NOT a hotel. Our room was at the 3rd floor with no elevator. The stairs were narrow and shabby. The room had NO HEATING (only a small electric stove that I was too afraid to turn up for safety reasons), so in the evening and in the morning the room was freezing cold. The condition of the bed linen was horrible (deteriorated, stained). We stayed there for 3 nights and they NEVER changed our towels (by the way, 2 out of 5 were dirtied at our arrival). We put them on the floor in order to have them changed, but the housekeeping folded them again and put them back on the shelf. The carpet in the room and the bathroom fixture were old and stained. I would NEVER go there again and I would NEVER recommend it.

By on Apr 25, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 25, 2018

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate hearing your feedback on your stay. We will be discussing your comments with our executive committee to prevent your experience from happening again to any future guests. We hope if your travels bring you back to New York City, you consider the Marrakech Hotel so we can prove your experience is not a regular occurrence Sincerely, The staff and management of the Marrakech Hotel

4
Everyone

Our heat was regulated by the building owner and not by the hotel staff or even by a thermostat in our room. On day 2, we had our windows open (in 30 degree weather) to regulate the incredible heat coming through the radiator. That then led to the incredible (all night) street noise that is New York City! Our hot water was VERY iffy, at best, and didn't allow for ANY evening showers. This was due to an 'old building' per the hotel front desk staff and our only option was to change rooms - again. Overall, the location is wonderful and the room was very clean - a MUST for me! The staff was also very friendly and helpful. One tip, don't book the car service from the hotel back to the airport - use a yellow cab - much cheaper and direct!

By , from Jacksonville, FL on Apr 11, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 12, 2018

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate hearing your feedback on your stay. We will be discussing your comments with our executive committee to prevent your experience from happening again to any future guests. We hope if your travels bring you back to New York City, you consider the Marrakech Hotel so we can prove your experience is not a regular occurrence Sincerely, The staff and management of the Marrakech Hotel

3

the neighborhood is pretty convenient.

Everyone

Its basic no frills everything so if you just want a place to drop your bags and get out intonthe city this is a good fit. The staff was very nice and the location offers access to the city via walking, bus, or subway.

By , from LA on Nov 9, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 16, 2017

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate hearing your feedback on your stay. Sincerely, The staff and management of the Marrakech Hotel

1

condition

Everyone

At soon I walk in I know I couldn’t stay there. The advertisement for this hotel online is not the same as when you see it in person. I know every hotel use professional photographer to make their hotel look nice but for this hotel it is really exaggerated. This place is not clean at all, the hot water wasn’t working, the bed was not comfortable, they had cheap bed in their room. Bathroom super small and not clean at all. I couldn’t even shower. They next day I check out because I was getting sick from that hotel and I asked them for my refund for the next two days and they were fighting with me. Customer service is 0, I will not recommend this hotel . Even motel 6 is way better then this place.

By , from san francisco on Oct 29, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 14, 2017

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate hearing your feedback on your stay. We will be discussing your comments with our executive committee to prevent your experience from happening again to any future guests. We hope if your travels bring you back to New York City, you consider the Marrakech Hotel so we can prove your experience is not a regular occurrence Sincerely, The staff and management of the Marrakech Hotel

4

best value in uptown manhattan

Everyone

The rooms are the size you'd expect in this price range in New York. So if you're looking for a truly luxurious and posh experience, this isn't the one for you. However, if you want the top value, this is the hotel for you. The rooms are small but not too small, we could still live comfortably. The rooms are clean and the bed is comfy. The staff was very friendly. The location and price of this hotel are sublime. My girlfriend and I could not believe we were staying in a comfortable and affordable hotel in uptown manhattan for less than $100 a night. I will definitely be staying here again.

By on Jul 21, 2017

Marrakech Hotel New York City

2688 Broadway, New York, NY 10025