Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Poor plumbing and ants on counter the room had an overwhelming smell poor furnishings spots on mattress building was old

There wasn't much not to like about this rental. It was exactly as advertised and fit what I was looking for.

Clean and great location. Older building but it was charming

Liked historical nature. But it needs a hotel desk with 24 hour staffing. It needs to be upgraded. Lights and baseboard sockets don't work.

We thought the property was absolutely fantastic just could use a bath tub stopper for our little ones but overall awesome!!!

Do not stay at this property. It is not as described. I booked it for three nights to drop my daughter off at college. Arrived at the property at 5 PM. No working elevators. Doors propped open with vagrants and homeless people walking in and out. Puddles of water standing in the entry way. When I contacted the customer service phone number I was given in the email to inform them I was unable to carry my luggage and walk 6 floors, I was informed that "there was nothing they could do for me because it was after 6 pm." When I responded that is was only 5:30, the informed me again that they could not help me. I told them I could not stay at the facility and to cancel my reservation. I contacted Orbtiz to do the same. I have since contact Orbitz twice and emailed the property (the only way to contact them!!!) I did not receive a refund or even a response from this property so I filed a claim with my credit card company. This is a run down property with no working elevators and no security!! Definitely a shabby apartment building with low residency trying to fill their rooms. Worst customer service I have ever experienced. Be forwarned.

The establishment wad great.........What I disliked was the cable tv, not enough channels to choose from, get that taken care ofi

The furnishings were great. Loved how quiet the building was and how close it was to everything.

Very clean and close to downtown. Great restaurants with in a few minutes of walking.

I arrived at the facility and there was nowhere to check-in, the number listed on my Orbitz booking was not a real phone number and when I googled the facility the number that came up was a personal cell phone number that didn't get answered either. Orbitz also attempted to contact them without and luck. So thankfully in the middle of the night, they were able to get me booked into another location.

Hayes St Nashville TN

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Nashville Broadway and Vanderbilt University
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Laundry facilities

Located in West End, The Lee ApartaHotel is adjacent to Nashville Broadway and within a 5-minute walk of other popular sights like Vanderbilt University. The 70 rooms at this apartment building include kitchens, dining areas, and refrigerators.


Rooms

Each apartment is individually decorated and features a kitchen and space to spread out with a dining area. A 32-inch LED TV is available for entertainment, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. The memory foam bed provides a full night's sleep, and the bathroom offers a soaking tub, hair dryers, and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a washer/dryer, a coffee maker, and an ironing board. Housekeeping is available once per stay.


Property features

At The Lee ApartaHotel, guests have access to free WiFi in public areas, express check-in, and express check-out. Free parking is available if you drive. Additional amenities include laundry facilities and a vending machine.

Room options

Standard Studio, 1 Queen Bed

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Premium Apartment

2 Queen Beds and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Apartment

2 Queen Beds and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 5

Presidential Apartment

3 Queen Beds and 1 Double Bed | Sleeps 8

Guest reviews for The Lee ApartaHotel

Everyone (4) Couples (4) Family (4)
1
Family

Poor plumbing and ants on counter the room had an overwhelming smell poor furnishings spots on mattress building was old

By on Dec 1, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 2, 2019

We are sorry to hear that you had issues with your stay, We will be looking into the feedback you gave.

4
Everyone

By on Nov 4, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 7, 2019

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! We hope you will stay with us again your next trip to Nashville

5
Friends

There wasn't much not to like about this rental. It was exactly as advertised and fit what I was looking for.

By on Oct 14, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 15, 2019

Thank you! Come back anytime!

4
Partner Couples

Clean and great location. Older building but it was charming

By on Oct 5, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 6, 2019

Thanks. Please let us know what we could have done to make your stay a 5/5.

2
Partner Couples Business Business

Liked historical nature. But it needs a hotel desk with 24 hour staffing. It needs to be upgraded. Lights and baseboard sockets don't work.

By , from Knoxville,TN on Sep 18, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 19, 2019

I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience. At this time, we don't have a front desk. We do have a late night staff member that you can reach at all times via the number provided in the check in instructions. We are in the midst of upgrading electric.

5
Family

We thought the property was absolutely fantastic just could use a bath tub stopper for our little ones but overall awesome!!!

By on Aug 25, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 28, 2019

Thanks! Come back anytime!

1
Family

Do not stay at this property. It is not as described. I booked it for three nights to drop my daughter off at college. Arrived at the property at 5 PM. No working elevators. Doors propped open with vagrants and homeless people walking in and out. Puddles of water standing in the entry way. When I contacted the customer service phone number I was given in the email to inform them I was unable to carry my luggage and walk 6 floors, I was informed that "there was nothing they could do for me because it was after 6 pm." When I responded that is was only 5:30, the informed me again that they could not help me. I told them I could not stay at the facility and to cancel my reservation. I contacted Orbtiz to do the same. I have since contact Orbitz twice and emailed the property (the only way to contact them!!!) I did not receive a refund or even a response from this property so I filed a claim with my credit card company. This is a run down property with no working elevators and no security!! Definitely a shabby apartment building with low residency trying to fill their rooms. Worst customer service I have ever experienced. Be forwarned.

By on Aug 23, 2019

4
Partner Couples Business Business

The establishment wad great.........What I disliked was the cable tv, not enough channels to choose from, get that taken care ofi

By on Aug 7, 2019

2
Everyone

By on Aug 1, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 1, 2019

I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. Please let us know what made it a 2/5 and what we could have done differently. Thanks.

3
Everyone

By on Jul 31, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 31, 2019

I am sorry to hear you didn't full enjoy your stay. Please let us know what we can improve on so next time, we make it more enjoyable.

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Nashville-Hotels-The-Lee-ApartaHotel.h36819810-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Nashville-Hotels-The-Lee-ApartaHotel.h36819810-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Nashville-Hotels-The-Lee-ApartaHotel.h36819810-p2.Hotel-Reviews