Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Clarion Inn New London - Mystic

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Would stay again. East ride to the ferry dock, friendly staff.

Our room wasn't ready when we checked in. Forty five minutes later we were able to enter. The place had very little ac going. It is exactly how it's rated low class

Great experience. Staff have us a coupon for an uber to get to a concert at Mohegan Sun. Only issue was wifi was not working in the room, which made getting the uber difficult. Breakfast was delicious. Overall good experience. :) the concert was great too!

The pool was so cloudy you couldn't see the bottom and the water tasted like sweat! DISGUSTING! There were no towels in the pool area on a Saturday around 5PM. The continental breakfast was terrible, food ran out within a couple of minutes of being put out, only 1 person was cooking so it took forever to get more food. We wanted a microwave in our room so I watched hotel staff knock on and enter at least 8 rooms on my floor looking for a microwave, several of the rooms were occupied and had people's belongings inside. I would absolutely not go here again! The location is terrible, right off a one way busy interstate so you have to get on and off the interstate to go anywhere. This place is a 26 min drive through windy back country roads to Foxwoods...Do not stay here!

First day nothing was working... Pool and vending machine were out of order. Had to go to store to get cold drinks..

we were very comfortable--had a nice breakfast-staff very good at multi-tasking and helping with direction to area attractions.

Came here with 2 other people. Very Spacious rooms, very clean, and friendly staff! Hotel is about 15 minutes away from both Casinos. Would definitely stay here again!!

The reservation said: smoking free wifi without punctuation. I understood it to mean smoke free with wifi the hotel understood it to mean a smoking room with free wifi. The hotel straightened out the problem.

Clean, friendly, def some funny people getting together here for Bach parties and casino trips. Shuttle fee to casino was a little high, but to be expected with a low room rate like that. Continental breakfast was kind of a freaks show. Not enough seats for guests, but you get what you pay for. Again, for spa quick night, and shuttling to a casino.. It works!

Great rooms, nice staff. Breakfast was pretty minimal, but it was included with the overnight.

Requested a non-smoking room. When I checked in, I was told they did not have any non-smoking rooms left and gave me a room that smelled horribly. Then they promised to spray the room, which they didn't do. The breakfast the following morning was equally disappointing. Very few breakfast items available, and most of them did not seem fresh.

My friend and I needed a place to stay for one night and this hotel was centrally located. Overall it was good. Pretty generic hotel, a little dated. I am not sure if there was an elevator. We were directed right to the stairs which the doors didn't fit correctly and were hard to open. Other than hearing slamming doors at 3 am and a few crumbs left on the carpet the hotel was fine. The bed was very comfy. Bathroom was very small. After we were given a key with the wrong room # written on it I wasn't going to go back downstairs to question why we got 1 queen bed instead of two doubles like requested. I am not sure what happened there.

Excellent location. Very clean. Well maintained. Great price. No complaints

On a positive note, we arrived early due to the function that brought us to Ct. and were able to check into our room early. This allowed us to change and freshen up prior to going to our event. I will say the bed was comfortable but I did see mold on the shower curtain in the bathroom and there was rust on the shower head. When we went down for breakfast Sunday morning it was very disappointing. All there was breads and carbohydrates.....nothing protein. There was little of breads and it took awhile for the milk to be replaced if you wanted cereal. It was indeed too much for only one person trying to keep up with a large number of people arriving. The orange juice was light orange tinged water. With only one toaster that never did toast the bread after numerous times of putting it thru the machine, the line severely backed up. My husband did not eat anything and other than a bagel and coffee, I walked out very dissatisfied as well.

We arrived at this hotel to find out that we were one the second floor, and there was no elevator. My husband is 68 and I am 62 and we both have bad knees. We had to cart our bags up the stairs, which was not fun. Then to get ice we had to go downstairs and up again. The beds were comfy, but the room was smelling like cigarettes, and was supposed to be smoke-free. We could not dead bolt the door, it would not lock. The continental breakfast left a lot to be desired. There was only raisin bagels, which my husband doesn't' like. We each had coffee and I had a yogurt. We stayed two nights. After the first night, we were gone all day. When we can back, a cursory cleaning had been done. There was a French fry on the floor by the chair, and the towel I had put on the floor to be cleaned was hung back up on the towel rack. We will NOT be staying here again!

The hotel was nice with a lot of parking. The hotel room seemed to be clean and was comfortable.

Stayed here for one night to go to a wedding. Room and sheets appeared to be clean. Bathroom maybe didn't look the greatest but was satisfactory. In a smoking room which surprisingly didn't smell awful. The bed was comfortable enough for me. The room did get hot during the night but I think maybe the thermostat was preset and all I had to do was turn the temperature down. It was comparably cheaper than other hotels around and driving to the casino was quick and easy.

One I didn;t think any hotels where smoking rooms so I made the mistake of not asking for non smoking. The breakfast was a waste - one toaster which took forwever to toast and one microwave so the lines a delays made going acrosse the street to DD just easier. Quick stay served it purpose but more than one night never.

The hotel was located just off the highway which was good. The set up of the building was a bit tricky. It is behind "The Outback" restaurant and the front door/lobby wasn't very clear. The lobby was clean and very basic. Our room was through ramps and hallways, doorways, etc. (Again, the layout of the building was a bit awkward.) Our room was basic yet clean, which was all we needed for one night. We went to an event at Mohegan Sun Casino. Usually, they provide a shuttle but the driver was not in, so they provided taxi service for $10 round trip per person. It was very much worth the money. The trip was about 15 min. each way. The breakfast was again, basic. Various breads, muffins, fruit, cereal, coffee, juice and teas were available. The young lady at the front desk was very nice. Was this like The Four Seasons Hotel?? Absolutely not!! Nor was it "The Roach Motel" either. It is clean, without any frills.

Room was clean ... bathroom clean and ample pressure in the shower. .easy to park ... staff was friendly and always at our call if needed .. no noise from other rooms .. no smell of smoke either ... don't get me wrong its not a 5 star hotel but for 100.00 a night .. can't beat it. 15 minutes to the seaport and aquarium ..

Room options

Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Clarion Inn New London - Mystic

Everyone (4) Couples (15) Family (9) Friends (4) Other (1)
3
Everyone

Would stay again. East ride to the ferry dock, friendly staff.

By on Jul 12, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 21, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share this detail review with us! It was such a pleasure having you as a guest. We're sorry your stay with us was not up to your expectations.I do apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay. I only wish that you would have expressed your concerns while you were still with us so we could have fixed the issues you mentioned. Our promise to each guest that passes through our doors is a perfect stay, and if at any time your stay falls below perfect, we want to know so we can make it right immediately. We are taking the necessary measures to improve the areas of concern . When returning to the city, please reach out to me in advance and I will be happy to PERSONALLY ensure that your next stay is PERFECT! This is certainly not the norm for us and we hope that you will still consider us for your future travel needs as we strive to provide the best possible service to all of our guests and will take your criticism to heart. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

3
Everyone

Our room wasn't ready when we checked in. Forty five minutes later we were able to enter. The place had very little ac going. It is exactly how it's rated low class

By on Jun 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 21, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share this detail review with us! It was such a pleasure having you as a guest. We're sorry your stay with us was not up to your expectations.I do apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay. I only wish that you would have expressed your concerns while you were still with us so we could have fixed the issues you mentioned. Our promise to each guest that passes through our doors is a perfect stay, and if at any time your stay falls below perfect, we want to know so we can make it right immediately. We are taking the necessary measures to improve the areas of concern . When returning to the city, please reach out to me in advance and I will be happy to PERSONALLY ensure that your next stay is PERFECT! This is certainly not the norm for us and we hope that you will still consider us for your future travel needs as we strive to provide the best possible service to all of our guests and will take your criticism to heart. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

4
Everyone

Great experience. Staff have us a coupon for an uber to get to a concert at Mohegan Sun. Only issue was wifi was not working in the room, which made getting the uber difficult. Breakfast was delicious. Overall good experience. :) the concert was great too!

By , from NY on May 4, 2017

2

stay away

Everyone
Sweat pool no towels

The pool was so cloudy you couldn't see the bottom and the water tasted like sweat! DISGUSTING! There were no towels in the pool area on a Saturday around 5PM. The continental breakfast was terrible, food ran out within a couple of minutes of being put out, only 1 person was cooking so it took forever to get more food. We wanted a microwave in our room so I watched hotel staff knock on and enter at least 8 rooms on my floor looking for a microwave, several of the rooms were occupied and had people's belongings inside. I would absolutely not go here again! The location is terrible, right off a one way busy interstate so you have to get on and off the interstate to go anywhere. This place is a 26 min drive through windy back country roads to Foxwoods...Do not stay here!

By on Jan 30, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 8, 2017

ear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share this detail review with us! It was such a pleasure having you as a guest. We're sorry your stay with us was not up to your expectations.I do apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay. I only wish that you would have expressed your concerns while you were still with us so we could have fixed the issues you mentioned. Our promise to each guest that passes through our doors is a perfect stay, and if at any time your stay falls below perfect, we want to know so we can make it right immediately. We are taking the necessary measures to improve the areas of concern . .  When returning to the city, please reach out to me in advance and I will be happy to PERSONALLY ensure that your next stay is PERFECT! This is certainly not the norm for us and we hope that you will still consider us for your future travel needs as we strive to provide the best possible service to all of our guests and will take your criticism to heart. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

3

good get away

Families

First day nothing was working... Pool and vending machine were out of order. Had to go to store to get cold drinks..

By on Sep 2, 2015

5

very helpful staff

Couples

we were very comfortable--had a nice breakfast-staff very good at multi-tasking and helping with direction to area attractions.

By on Jul 21, 2015

4

great place!

GetawayWithFriends

Came here with 2 other people. Very Spacious rooms, very clean, and friendly staff! Hotel is about 15 minutes away from both Casinos. Would definitely stay here again!!

By on Jun 20, 2015

4

misunderstanding

Couples

The reservation said: smoking free wifi without punctuation. I understood it to mean smoke free with wifi the hotel understood it to mean a smoking room with free wifi. The hotel straightened out the problem.

By on Apr 20, 2015

3

for the price...great

GetawayWithFriends

Clean, friendly, def some funny people getting together here for Bach parties and casino trips. Shuttle fee to casino was a little high, but to be expected with a low room rate like that. Continental breakfast was kind of a freaks show. Not enough seats for guests, but you get what you pay for. Again, for spa quick night, and shuttling to a casino.. It works!

By on Dec 7, 2014

3

good place for family overnight

Families

Great rooms, nice staff. Breakfast was pretty minimal, but it was included with the overnight.

By on Aug 26, 2014