Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Myrtle Beach

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Good budget hotel. Nothing fancy. I wish the breakfast eggs were better but standard for Carlson.

1. Messed up our reservation 2. The two rooms we booked were not clean 3. Had to ask for towels washcloths and toiletries 4. Pool and hot tub closed for over 24 hours We will not be returning

I arrived on the Saturday before labor day with my family. We arrived close to an hour early and the hotel had the room available with no problem. I already knew the prices were jacked high for the holiday weekend and I had no problem with how much I was paying; however the quality of the room and the common areas were a 1/2 star at best. The lobby was old, dated, and uninviting and the elevator was slow and made noise from one floor to the next. The pool was dirty or needed to be resurfaced and only 1/4 of jets on the hot tub were working and it did not get hot. There was mold all along the edges of the pool room along with garbage strewn about. The room: Please see the pics I posted to show the condition of the room. The furniture was dated and in need of cleaning and repair. The lamp shade was torn, there were numerous stains on the floor, the vent cover in the bedroom was broken, the bathtub was dirty, the cleaning fan was caked with dirt, there was a previous guest garbage left under the side table including a dental floss pick. The manager made it clear that they were sold out so there was no need to request to move. They did not provide sheets for the pull out bed and on our second day they neglected to bring towels and wash cloths. There is a sign when you first walk in indicating a future renovation. An old hotel is one thing; an old hotel that is dusty, dirty, moldy, and neglected is a completely different story. I would never stay here again.

Rented 3 rooms for the weekend for my daughter's graduation. Other than the fact of where this hotel sites (in front of a closed out shopping center and a closed down bar), don't let that keep you from staying. It was clean, great staff and very convenient to CCU.

Staff was nice, let us check in early. Breakfast was nice more than we expected. Rooms was small but okay considering not in room much. Pool was small and heated but nice.

Check in was dumb. Ashanti told many customners that we could not check in until 3pm. When many people arrived at 3pm there was a line about 10-15 people deep. She promptly left at 3pm so she just did not want to do any work. We could have easily been checked in prior to 3pm and just came back later to get our room. overall, customer service was poor. I would definitely not stay here again. THere is a reason it is cheaper than other area hotels.

I wasn't sure what I was going to expect, but we were pleasantly surprised. This was our first stay at any Country Inn. It was nothing really fancy but the accommodations were just what we needed, the location was great in reference to everything that we wanted to see and experience. The staff was very professional , kind and helpful. We extended our stay another day and was pleased to be able to stay there. Things that really mattered was handled well. THANKS!

nothing great / nothing bad.....just a good place to stay.

Decent hotel in a decent location. Could use updating.

This was a good hotel with a great location ,10 minutes from the oceanfront. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. However, the cleaning staff could use a lesson in cleaning 101. The floors weren't vacuumed well and the bathroom floors and countertops weren't cleaned well on a daily basis, I stayed for 3 nights. I would definitely use this hotel again, hopefully the cleaning staff will be better.

It did not bother me that this hotel is located right next to a strip club, but what was amiss is the fact that the cleanliness was very much less than desirable. The toilet, shower curtain, and window curtains were nasty. That only made me feel even more uncomfortable about the cleanliness of the beds and sofabed linens. I was surprised that there were a good bit of breakfast options, but some of the food was inedible. The staff is friendly and check in/out is pretty quick, as most hotels are. There were no flat panel/screen tv's and you cannot adjust the temperature in the room. You can only turn it off and on. If you are looking for luxury and value, keep on looking. Never staying there again would be too soon.

Hotel was clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast. No problem with check-in or check-out.

Not great location. Strip club next door and run down area. But hotel was very clean and cozy. Nice staff and breakfast was adequate.

Accomendations were great! Easy access to attractions, dining and shopping

This a great place to stay. Close to the beach and to Conway, where my daughter is going to CCU. Staff very friendly, nice complimentary breakfast and just minutes from the beach. Will definitely stay here again.

The hotel was centrally located to many eateries, shopping plaza, broadway at the beach, beach boardwalk and many other attractions. Easy access to the freeway. The staff was very friendly. The continental breakfast was sufficient but they often ran out of food and we had to wait. Otherwise, it was a great stay and I would recommend it to others.

I felt this hotel was in a sort of slummy area. It was right next to a strip bar. Not good for kids.

I booked a 1bedroom suite to enjoy my marriage anniversary, when we reached hotel and received key to our we found that its lock was broken. When we contacted front desk they said all the suites are booked if we want they can give us a standard room but they were not willing to refund anything although it was their fault. Ultimately we had to stay in the same room. Room service was also bad. I will never stay their again.

This hotel was great. Speedy check in\out, helpful staff, nice pool..cold though, great bed, and I loved how close the hotel was to everything. I do think u need more non starch selections at breakfast. We would absolutely stay here again.great value.

Athought I only stayed for one night, The hotel was good. I was comfortable, the rooms were clean and the breakfast was great!! The only thing that was bad was that next door is an adult place called Girls Girls Girls, which is innappropriate for children to see when staying at the hotel. I think that place should move out. Other than that, the hotel is very good.

3516 Waccamaw Blvd Myrtle Beach SC

Hotel highlights

  • Free hot/cold buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool

Located within a leisurely stroll of Waccamaw Factory Shoppes, Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Myrtle Beach is within a few miles (5 km) of Arrowhead Country Club. This 89-room hotel welcomes guests with free breakfast and conveniences like an indoor pool and free in-room WiFi. It's near the airport and also near Broadway at the Beach and Myrtle Waves.


Dining

Free hot/cold buffet breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning.


Rooms

All 89 air-conditioned rooms provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can expect LCD TVs with digital channels, along with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and beds sport premium bedding. Other standard amenities include free local calls, ironing boards, and desks.


Property features

Guests staying at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Myrtle Beach enjoy an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a spa tub. You can put free parking to good use if you drive. Front-desk staff can answer questions 24/7, and assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include free WiFi in public areas, a meeting room, and a business center.

Room options

Room, 2 Queen Beds

Queen 2 | Sleeps 5

Suite, 1 Bedroom, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 5

Suite, 1 Bedroom, Non Smoking

Queen 2 | Sleeps 5

Guest reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Myrtle Beach

Everyone (2) Couples (17) Business (2) Family (17) Friends (4) Other (2)
3
Everyone

Good budget hotel. Nothing fancy. I wish the breakfast eggs were better but standard for Carlson.

By on Apr 23, 2017

1

four strikes and we left.

Everyone

1. Messed up our reservation 2. The two rooms we booked were not clean 3. Had to ask for towels washcloths and toiletries 4. Pool and hot tub closed for over 24 hours We will not be returning

By , from mi on Apr 14, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 17, 2017

Thank you for reaching out to us. We apologize for the multiple issues you've encountered at that time regarding the pool, the bathroom amenities and the cleanliness of the room. Your review gives us the opportunity to continuously improve our services. We hope for another chance to have you as our guest at any of our Country Inn & Suites hotels in the future.

2

unimpressive off the beach hotel

Families
Busted lamp Dirt under the table Stained carpet Dirty ceiling fan

I arrived on the Saturday before labor day with my family. We arrived close to an hour early and the hotel had the room available with no problem. I already knew the prices were jacked high for the holiday weekend and I had no problem with how much I was paying; however the quality of the room and the common areas were a 1/2 star at best. The lobby was old, dated, and uninviting and the elevator was slow and made noise from one floor to the next. The pool was dirty or needed to be resurfaced and only 1/4 of jets on the hot tub were working and it did not get hot. There was mold all along the edges of the pool room along with garbage strewn about. The room: Please see the pics I posted to show the condition of the room. The furniture was dated and in need of cleaning and repair. The lamp shade was torn, there were numerous stains on the floor, the vent cover in the bedroom was broken, the bathtub was dirty, the cleaning fan was caked with dirt, there was a previous guest garbage left under the side table including a dental floss pick. The manager made it clear that they were sold out so there was no need to request to move. They did not provide sheets for the pull out bed and on our second day they neglected to bring towels and wash cloths. There is a sign when you first walk in indicating a future renovation. An old hotel is one thing; an old hotel that is dusty, dirty, moldy, and neglected is a completely different story. I would never stay here again.

By , from Atlanta, Ga on Sep 15, 2016

Review comment responded on Sep 19, 2016

Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We have reviewed the photographs that you provided and we are very sorry for the condition of your guest room. We will review the conditions of your room with our housekeeping and Maintenance staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns & Suites by Carlson standards.

5

very nice property - surroundings a bit rough but overall good!

Families

Rented 3 rooms for the weekend for my daughter's graduation. Other than the fact of where this hotel sites (in front of a closed out shopping center and a closed down bar), don't let that keep you from staying. It was clean, great staff and very convenient to CCU.

By on Jun 4, 2015

3

family getaway

Families

Staff was nice, let us check in early. Breakfast was nice more than we expected. Rooms was small but okay considering not in room much. Pool was small and heated but nice.

By on Aug 25, 2014

2

poor customer service

Families

Check in was dumb. Ashanti told many customners that we could not check in until 3pm. When many people arrived at 3pm there was a line about 10-15 people deep. She promptly left at 3pm so she just did not want to do any work. We could have easily been checked in prior to 3pm and just came back later to get our room. overall, customer service was poor. I would definitely not stay here again. THere is a reason it is cheaper than other area hotels.

By on Jul 16, 2014

5

pleasantly surprised

Families

I wasn't sure what I was going to expect, but we were pleasantly surprised. This was our first stay at any Country Inn. It was nothing really fancy but the accommodations were just what we needed, the location was great in reference to everything that we wanted to see and experience. The staff was very professional , kind and helpful. We extended our stay another day and was pleased to be able to stay there. Things that really mattered was handled well. THANKS!

By on Jul 4, 2014

4

not bad

Couples

nothing great / nothing bad.....just a good place to stay.

By on Jul 1, 2014

2

country inn & suite myrtle beach

BusinessTravelers

Decent hotel in a decent location. Could use updating.

By on Jun 10, 2014

3

good hotel for the price!

BusinessTravelers

This was a good hotel with a great location ,10 minutes from the oceanfront. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. However, the cleaning staff could use a lesson in cleaning 101. The floors weren't vacuumed well and the bathroom floors and countertops weren't cleaned well on a daily basis, I stayed for 3 nights. I would definitely use this hotel again, hopefully the cleaning staff will be better.

By on Jun 1, 2014