Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Myrtle Beach

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The hotel was gorgeous. It was 9 minutes away from everything. The breakfast was actually better than expected with a nice variety.

Nice hotel for the price. Loved the breakfast that was included. Staff was very friendly. Room was clean, and it was nice that we had mini fridge and microwave. The carpet in the hallway seemed like it could use a good cleaning. Not very fond of carpet it holds a lot of germs and saw people spill stuff, it gave the hallways not the most pleasant smell but the room themselves were carpet free. Not a far drive to the beach. Overall good hotel and would return.

Dirty towels in the room when we arrived. Housekeeping didn't look at our room for three days. I had to keep asking at the front desk for towels. Next day no hot water. Next day fire alarm goes off but they don't ask us to leave. We did leave out of concern for our safety.

This hotel is HORRIBLE! If you chose to stay here, you have made a foolish choice and you will regret it within 1 hour. Once you book this hotel, you are a subject to remaining and trapped into staying without any recourse or refund. This hotel has a 72 hour cancellation policy! Im sure your experience will be a disaster....their policies and terms are designed to trap you, make you stay and force you to pay! Upon checking in on 7/6/2017, we arrived in the lobby with 3 guests making complaints. It took us 2 hours to have a similar experience. The hotel is FILTHY! Nasty, dirty and smells horrible. The carpet is old, has bleach spilled stains and the paint is peeling everywhere. A section of the 1st floor had trash in the hallway that included large hair balls, dust balls, empty bottles, swept piles of trash, straw wrappers and trash all along the corridor. This remained in the hallway for 2 days. The swimming pool water appeared very cloudy. You could not see the bottom of the pool. Housekeeping carts were always present in the hallways but were hardly ever being used. The stairway was as dirty as the 1st floor. When we entered our assigned room, the floor was covered in sand, had dust balls and trash scattered on it and the beds were made with wrinkled sheets and top covers. I think the sheets were used. The bathroom floor had also never been cleaned. After bringing the concern to the front desk, Guest Services moved us to another room that was not much better. The main

Good budget hotel. Nothing fancy. I wish the breakfast eggs were better but standard for Carlson.

1. Messed up our reservation 2. The two rooms we booked were not clean 3. Had to ask for towels washcloths and toiletries 4. Pool and hot tub closed for over 24 hours We will not be returning

I arrived on the Saturday before labor day with my family. We arrived close to an hour early and the hotel had the room available with no problem. I already knew the prices were jacked high for the holiday weekend and I had no problem with how much I was paying; however the quality of the room and the common areas were a 1/2 star at best. The lobby was old, dated, and uninviting and the elevator was slow and made noise from one floor to the next. The pool was dirty or needed to be resurfaced and only 1/4 of jets on the hot tub were working and it did not get hot. There was mold all along the edges of the pool room along with garbage strewn about. The room: Please see the pics I posted to show the condition of the room. The furniture was dated and in need of cleaning and repair. The lamp shade was torn, there were numerous stains on the floor, the vent cover in the bedroom was broken, the bathtub was dirty, the cleaning fan was caked with dirt, there was a previous guest garbage left under the side table including a dental floss pick. The manager made it clear that they were sold out so there was no need to request to move. They did not provide sheets for the pull out bed and on our second day they neglected to bring towels and wash cloths. There is a sign when you first walk in indicating a future renovation. An old hotel is one thing; an old hotel that is dusty, dirty, moldy, and neglected is a completely different story. I would never stay here again.

Rented 3 rooms for the weekend for my daughter's graduation. Other than the fact of where this hotel sites (in front of a closed out shopping center and a closed down bar), don't let that keep you from staying. It was clean, great staff and very convenient to CCU.

Staff was nice, let us check in early. Breakfast was nice more than we expected. Rooms was small but okay considering not in room much. Pool was small and heated but nice.

Check in was dumb. Ashanti told many customners that we could not check in until 3pm. When many people arrived at 3pm there was a line about 10-15 people deep. She promptly left at 3pm so she just did not want to do any work. We could have easily been checked in prior to 3pm and just came back later to get our room. overall, customer service was poor. I would definitely not stay here again. THere is a reason it is cheaper than other area hotels.

I wasn't sure what I was going to expect, but we were pleasantly surprised. This was our first stay at any Country Inn. It was nothing really fancy but the accommodations were just what we needed, the location was great in reference to everything that we wanted to see and experience. The staff was very professional , kind and helpful. We extended our stay another day and was pleased to be able to stay there. Things that really mattered was handled well. THANKS!

nothing great / nothing bad.....just a good place to stay.

Decent hotel in a decent location. Could use updating.

This was a good hotel with a great location ,10 minutes from the oceanfront. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. However, the cleaning staff could use a lesson in cleaning 101. The floors weren't vacuumed well and the bathroom floors and countertops weren't cleaned well on a daily basis, I stayed for 3 nights. I would definitely use this hotel again, hopefully the cleaning staff will be better.

It did not bother me that this hotel is located right next to a strip club, but what was amiss is the fact that the cleanliness was very much less than desirable. The toilet, shower curtain, and window curtains were nasty. That only made me feel even more uncomfortable about the cleanliness of the beds and sofabed linens. I was surprised that there were a good bit of breakfast options, but some of the food was inedible. The staff is friendly and check in/out is pretty quick, as most hotels are. There were no flat panel/screen tv's and you cannot adjust the temperature in the room. You can only turn it off and on. If you are looking for luxury and value, keep on looking. Never staying there again would be too soon.

Hotel was clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast. No problem with check-in or check-out.

Not great location. Strip club next door and run down area. But hotel was very clean and cozy. Nice staff and breakfast was adequate.

Accomendations were great! Easy access to attractions, dining and shopping

This a great place to stay. Close to the beach and to Conway, where my daughter is going to CCU. Staff very friendly, nice complimentary breakfast and just minutes from the beach. Will definitely stay here again.

The hotel was centrally located to many eateries, shopping plaza, broadway at the beach, beach boardwalk and many other attractions. Easy access to the freeway. The staff was very friendly. The continental breakfast was sufficient but they often ran out of food and we had to wait. Otherwise, it was a great stay and I would recommend it to others.

3516 Waccamaw Blvd Myrtle Beach SC

Hotel highlights

  • Free hot/cold buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Myrtle Beach is located 2.2 mi (3.5 km) from Arrowhead Country Club and within a 10-minute drive of Broadway at the Beach. This 89-room hotel welcomes guests with free breakfast and conveniences like an indoor pool and free in-room WiFi. It's near the airport and also near Myrtle Waves and Myrtle Beach Speedway.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free hot/cold buffet breakfast offered each morning.


Rooms

All 89 air-conditioned rooms provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can expect LCD TVs with digital channels, along with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and beds sport premium bedding. Other standard amenities include free local calls, ironing boards, and desks.


Property features

Guests staying at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Myrtle Beach enjoy an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a spa tub. You can put free parking to good use if you drive. Front-desk staff can answer questions 24/7, and assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include free WiFi in public areas, a meeting room, and a business center.

Room options

Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Suite, 1 Bedroom, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 5

Suite, 1 Bedroom, Non Smoking

Queen 2 | Sleeps 5

Guest reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Myrtle Beach

Everyone (6) Couples (17) Business (2) Family (17) Friends (4) Other (2)
5

nice hotel not far from the excitement

Everyone

The hotel was gorgeous. It was 9 minutes away from everything. The breakfast was actually better than expected with a nice variety.

By , from wilmington, de on Jul 31, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 2, 2017

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our property. We look forward to your next stay.

4
Everyone

Nice hotel for the price. Loved the breakfast that was included. Staff was very friendly. Room was clean, and it was nice that we had mini fridge and microwave. The carpet in the hallway seemed like it could use a good cleaning. Not very fond of carpet it holds a lot of germs and saw people spill stuff, it gave the hallways not the most pleasant smell but the room themselves were carpet free. Not a far drive to the beach. Overall good hotel and would return.

By on Jul 30, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 2, 2017

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our property. We look forward to your next stay.

2

not near the beach

Everyone

Dirty towels in the room when we arrived. Housekeeping didn't look at our room for three days. I had to keep asking at the front desk for towels. Next day no hot water. Next day fire alarm goes off but they don't ask us to leave. We did leave out of concern for our safety.

By , from maine on Jul 11, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 15, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We are striving hard for excellence in cleanliness and guest satisfaction. On the other hand, we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay due to the cleanliness of your room and amenities and that you were bothered by your safety due to the alarm at that time. Also, we apologize for the service you received from our staff during your stay. This is certainly not the kind of experience we would like for our valued guests to have. Our team is taking all precautions for our guests comfort and safety as well as in making sure that our guests are comfortable and are receiving our best service. Your feedback is appreciated and will be forwarded to the hotel management for improvements. It is our hope that your next stay would be a pleasurable one.

1

hotel horrible!

Everyone

This hotel is HORRIBLE! If you chose to stay here, you have made a foolish choice and you will regret it within 1 hour. Once you book this hotel, you are a subject to remaining and trapped into staying without any recourse or refund. This hotel has a 72 hour cancellation policy! Im sure your experience will be a disaster....their policies and terms are designed to trap you, make you stay and force you to pay! Upon checking in on 7/6/2017, we arrived in the lobby with 3 guests making complaints. It took us 2 hours to have a similar experience. The hotel is FILTHY! Nasty, dirty and smells horrible. The carpet is old, has bleach spilled stains and the paint is peeling everywhere. A section of the 1st floor had trash in the hallway that included large hair balls, dust balls, empty bottles, swept piles of trash, straw wrappers and trash all along the corridor. This remained in the hallway for 2 days. The swimming pool water appeared very cloudy. You could not see the bottom of the pool. Housekeeping carts were always present in the hallways but were hardly ever being used. The stairway was as dirty as the 1st floor. When we entered our assigned room, the floor was covered in sand, had dust balls and trash scattered on it and the beds were made with wrinkled sheets and top covers. I think the sheets were used. The bathroom floor had also never been cleaned. After bringing the concern to the front desk, Guest Services moved us to another room that was not much better. The main

By , from Denver on Jul 10, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 16, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to bring this concern to our attention. We are sorry to hear that our policy didn't work well for you. Also, we sincerely apologize that you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay, to be particular, the carpet, hallway, pool and the stairway. Also, we are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with the cleanliness and accommodations of your room, specifically, the floor, bed sheets and bathroom floor. Moreover, we are saddened to learn that you felt like your concerns were not well taken care of by our staff at that time. Nonetheless, we are grateful that you took time to bring those issues to our attention as it is our desire to continuously improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to make a more favorable impression in the future.

3
Everyone

Good budget hotel. Nothing fancy. I wish the breakfast eggs were better but standard for Carlson.

By on Apr 23, 2017

1

four strikes and we left.

Everyone

1. Messed up our reservation 2. The two rooms we booked were not clean 3. Had to ask for towels washcloths and toiletries 4. Pool and hot tub closed for over 24 hours We will not be returning

By , from mi on Apr 14, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 17, 2017

Thank you for reaching out to us. We apologize for the multiple issues you've encountered at that time regarding the pool, the bathroom amenities and the cleanliness of the room. Your review gives us the opportunity to continuously improve our services. We hope for another chance to have you as our guest at any of our Country Inn & Suites hotels in the future.

2

unimpressive off the beach hotel

Families
Busted lamp Dirt under the table Stained carpet Dirty ceiling fan

I arrived on the Saturday before labor day with my family. We arrived close to an hour early and the hotel had the room available with no problem. I already knew the prices were jacked high for the holiday weekend and I had no problem with how much I was paying; however the quality of the room and the common areas were a 1/2 star at best. The lobby was old, dated, and uninviting and the elevator was slow and made noise from one floor to the next. The pool was dirty or needed to be resurfaced and only 1/4 of jets on the hot tub were working and it did not get hot. There was mold all along the edges of the pool room along with garbage strewn about. The room: Please see the pics I posted to show the condition of the room. The furniture was dated and in need of cleaning and repair. The lamp shade was torn, there were numerous stains on the floor, the vent cover in the bedroom was broken, the bathtub was dirty, the cleaning fan was caked with dirt, there was a previous guest garbage left under the side table including a dental floss pick. The manager made it clear that they were sold out so there was no need to request to move. They did not provide sheets for the pull out bed and on our second day they neglected to bring towels and wash cloths. There is a sign when you first walk in indicating a future renovation. An old hotel is one thing; an old hotel that is dusty, dirty, moldy, and neglected is a completely different story. I would never stay here again.

By , from Atlanta, Ga on Sep 15, 2016

Review comment responded on Sep 19, 2016

Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We have reviewed the photographs that you provided and we are very sorry for the condition of your guest room. We will review the conditions of your room with our housekeeping and Maintenance staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns & Suites by Carlson standards.

5

very nice property - surroundings a bit rough but overall good!

Families

Rented 3 rooms for the weekend for my daughter's graduation. Other than the fact of where this hotel sites (in front of a closed out shopping center and a closed down bar), don't let that keep you from staying. It was clean, great staff and very convenient to CCU.

By on Jun 4, 2015

3

family getaway

Families

Staff was nice, let us check in early. Breakfast was nice more than we expected. Rooms was small but okay considering not in room much. Pool was small and heated but nice.

By on Aug 25, 2014

2

poor customer service

Families

Check in was dumb. Ashanti told many customners that we could not check in until 3pm. When many people arrived at 3pm there was a line about 10-15 people deep. She promptly left at 3pm so she just did not want to do any work. We could have easily been checked in prior to 3pm and just came back later to get our room. overall, customer service was poor. I would definitely not stay here again. THere is a reason it is cheaper than other area hotels.

By on Jul 16, 2014