Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Courtyard by Marriott Scranton Wilkes-Barre

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

This was our 3rd stay but 1st time on the 1st floor and we felt like we were in the maintenance area. They consistently left the maintenance room door open which was dirty and our bathroom was not clean enough for my tastes. There was visible black mold on the ceiling and the water initially ran brown from the tub. In the past we've had better rooms. The room also smelled musty upon our arrival. I'd go back but they have to do better next time. I will demand it!

The bathroom was disgusting. Stains on walls and ceiling. Hairs in the shower/tub.

I reserved a non smoking room and when I checked in it definitely smelled like a lot of stale smoke like a lot of cigarettes had been smoked in the room. I did not complain because the folks at the front desk and in the bistro were awesome and top notch the whole weekend. However, I suggest that the staff go into each of the rooms that were designated as non smoking to determine if they would fit the bill of someone expecting a ZERO smoke smell. This time, it did not for me but the staff was great all around.

Hotel staff were friendly, room was quiet and clean; beds extremely comfortable. Convenient location near multiplex cinema and many chain restaurants.

Everything was excellent, only no free breakfast. $150 a night you think they'd offer me a bagel and some muffins or a little bit of coffee. Other than that no complaints.

Stayed one night, didn't use the pool, just slept the night. Very clean hotel. No free continental breakfast at this hotel but they do have a restaurant that had breakfast, we were back on the road quickly and had other plans so we didn't partake. Would recommend this hotel to others. Very quiet and clean.

great great great great great great great great great

I stayed here on a recent trip to visit family.The hotel is well maintained, friendly and helpful staff,reasonably priced good breakfast. Hotel also has a very nice indoor pool and fitness center. I highly recommend it and will return on my next visit to the area.

Stay was very enjoyable. My college friend and I used the hotel as a base from which we shopped and attended a rock concert. Both the shopping and the concert venue were within a mile of our hotel. The staff took care of our every request.

not a place I would stay at again.I reserved a handicap accesable unit,there was not a grab bar to be found in that unit,the exhaust fan in the bathroom dripped water on you everytime you sat on the toilet.I had to argue with the front desk person to move us to another room,which they wanted us to move THAT MOMENT,we were running late because the resaurant only serves breakfast,which we were not made aware of until we tried to get dinner.We spent an hour trying to find a good resaurant in the area.The front desk persons' supervisor finally got on the phone and told us she could moe us when we returned from the concert and she would be happy to help us move.When I booked the reservation,I paid extra for breakfast.They could not find a confirmation on this. It was a good thig I brought along my print out from home. Not a good experience. Next time I'll be staying at the Comfort suites right down the road.We have stayed at many hotels and book ones with a restaurant for dining and room service.I was very disappointed,and will not rely on what it describes on the web site.

16 Glenmaura National Blvd Moosic PA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Bar/lounge
  • Free airport shuttle

Located within a mile (2 km) of PNC Field, Courtyard by Marriott Scranton Wilkes-Barre is within 3 miles (5 km) of Montage Mountain Waterpark. This 3-star hotel has 120 guestrooms and offers conveniences like a bar/lounge, an indoor pool, and free in-room WiFi. It's in the mountains and also near Montage Mountain Ski Resort and Steamtown National Historic Site.


Dining

For your convenience, a cooked-to-order breakfast is available for a fee. Get an energy boost at the coffee shop/café, or grab a drink at the bar/lounge.


Rooms

All 120 air-conditioned accommodations feature sitting areas. LCD TVs come with cable channels, and free WiFi keeps guests connected. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Microwaves, coffee makers, and phones are other standard amenities.


Property features

Guests staying at Courtyard by Marriott Scranton Wilkes-Barre enjoy an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a spa tub. You can take advantage of free parking, along with a free airport shuttle. The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day to help with dry cleaning/laundry and securing valuables. Additional amenities include free WiFi in public areas, a business center, and coffee/tea in a common area.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed (Extended)

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Suite, 1 Bedroom

Full 1 | King 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Scranton Wilkes-Barre

Everyone (3) Couples (1) Family (4) Friends (2)
4

perfect for montage mountain

Everyone

This was our 3rd stay but 1st time on the 1st floor and we felt like we were in the maintenance area. They consistently left the maintenance room door open which was dirty and our bathroom was not clean enough for my tastes. There was visible black mold on the ceiling and the water initially ran brown from the tub. In the past we've had better rooms. The room also smelled musty upon our arrival. I'd go back but they have to do better next time. I will demand it!

By , from NJ on Jan 30, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 1, 2017

Thank you for taking time out to review your stay with us. Here at the Courtyard we welcome both positive and negative experiences, so we may better your experience here. I am so sorry to hear you stay fell short of your expectations! I have directed your comments to our Chief Engineer and Housekeeping staff to approve upon these issues immediately. We hope you will make it a 4th time staying with us, if ever you are in the area!

2

dirty

Everyone

The bathroom was disgusting. Stains on walls and ceiling. Hairs in the shower/tub.

By on Dec 10, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 14, 2016

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We typically have very good feedback from our guests on the cleanliness of our rooms, and I apologize if you had issues during your stay. If you would like to discuss it with me further, please contact me directly at the hotel. Thank you again for your review.

3

non smoking room that smelled like smoke

Everyone

I reserved a non smoking room and when I checked in it definitely smelled like a lot of stale smoke like a lot of cigarettes had been smoked in the room. I did not complain because the folks at the front desk and in the bistro were awesome and top notch the whole weekend. However, I suggest that the staff go into each of the rooms that were designated as non smoking to determine if they would fit the bill of someone expecting a ZERO smoke smell. This time, it did not for me but the staff was great all around.

By on Nov 14, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 30, 2016

Thank you for taking the time our to review your recent stay. While I am delighted our staff made such and excellent impression, I am sorry to hear about the room. Since we are a smoke free hotel, I have given your comments to our Executive Housekeeper and staff, so they may be aware of the situation. We are currently taking proactive steps to ensure this was a one time incident. If you are ever in the area again, I hope you would consider us, so we may show you a superb stay!

4

pleasant enough

Families

Hotel staff were friendly, room was quiet and clean; beds extremely comfortable. Convenient location near multiplex cinema and many chain restaurants.

By on Oct 14, 2014

5

courtyard

Families

Everything was excellent, only no free breakfast. $150 a night you think they'd offer me a bagel and some muffins or a little bit of coffee. Other than that no complaints.

By on Sep 3, 2014

4

great one-night stay.

Families

Stayed one night, didn't use the pool, just slept the night. Very clean hotel. No free continental breakfast at this hotel but they do have a restaurant that had breakfast, we were back on the road quickly and had other plans so we didn't partake. Would recommend this hotel to others. Very quiet and clean.

By on Jul 21, 2014

5

great

Couples

great great great great great great great great great

By on Oct 25, 2011

4

"great location & value"

GetawayWithFriends

I stayed here on a recent trip to visit family.The hotel is well maintained, friendly and helpful staff,reasonably priced good breakfast. Hotel also has a very nice indoor pool and fitness center. I highly recommend it and will return on my next visit to the area.

By on Jul 4, 2010

4

easy access to shopping and show

GetawayWithFriends

Stay was very enjoyable. My college friend and I used the hotel as a base from which we shopped and attended a rock concert. Both the shopping and the concert venue were within a mile of our hotel. The staff took care of our every request.

By on Aug 15, 2009

1

never again

Families

not a place I would stay at again.I reserved a handicap accesable unit,there was not a grab bar to be found in that unit,the exhaust fan in the bathroom dripped water on you everytime you sat on the toilet.I had to argue with the front desk person to move us to another room,which they wanted us to move THAT MOMENT,we were running late because the resaurant only serves breakfast,which we were not made aware of until we tried to get dinner.We spent an hour trying to find a good resaurant in the area.The front desk persons' supervisor finally got on the phone and told us she could moe us when we returned from the concert and she would be happy to help us move.When I booked the reservation,I paid extra for breakfast.They could not find a confirmation on this. It was a good thig I brought along my print out from home. Not a good experience. Next time I'll be staying at the Comfort suites right down the road.We have stayed at many hotels and book ones with a restaurant for dining and room service.I was very disappointed,and will not rely on what it describes on the web site.

By on Jul 5, 2009