Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Maui Beach Hotel

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Nice hotel, close to airport,restaurants, shopping, etc. Friendly staff. I just wish the room had a microwave!

We had a one night stay with our two adult daughters. We paid the $80 extra per person but there was only amenities for two guests. Not enough towels. The air conditioner was so loud and dripped. The shuttle had stopped running a half hour before our arrival.

it was a fun vacation staying in Maui beach hotel. Close to the mall,

There was nothing overly special nor blatantly terrible about this hotel. The room had a view of the A/C compressor of another unit. The proximity to the beach was certainly there but the beach itself was difficult to get to and hardly worth more than looking at. The bar had a nice feel with good food and drinks. The hotel was offering a Mai Tai special with check-in but the bartender seemed to resent that she had to prepare these for the guests (mostly because the guests were not tipping her for the free drinks). The receptionists were not exceptionally friendly (nor rude), accommodating, or responsive. It took almost an hour to get checked in and my room card did not work at first (and sporadically thereafter). The hotel served its purpose, a place to rest my head and get a shower. Overall, it was too pricey for the utilitarian purpose it was more suited to. Perhaps my opinion of the value would be different had I been placed in a better room.

Liked the peacefulness of being rt on the bay. Good place to think meditate & rest & relax. But not enough tourists for me time I was there!

We really enjoyed our stay at the Maui Beach Hotel. Even though we flew in to the Kapalua Airport on the other side of the island, it was still less than an hour drive to get there. It's right on the ocean but also convenient to downtown Kahului and the Kahului Airport. We also chose this area instead of a Lahaina location because we wanted to be closer to Haleakala National Park which was also less than an hour drive. A pool and a short walk to a small beach made for two good swimming options. The friendly and helpful staff made us feel welcome as well. All in all, it was a positive experience.

Beach area was littered with garbage. Some Room views are of an outside wall.

Ideal, if you arrive late and don't want to drive. Only a few minutes from the airport. Has a restaurant, pool and shopping mall right across the street. Nothing fancy, but all you need .

Wires hanging out fire hazard shower head broken water shooting out from the top, maid didnt clean room appropriately. Want my refund on the room.

Room was good no tub, but did not matter for me. Had a refrigerator coffee maker. Close tho beach, restaurant easy access.

Room is clean, and front desk was helpful. We had a little problem with our reservation but Orbitz took care of it.

Not optional, so know these 2 fees. Between 2 busy streets, yet with an ovean side. Weird smell at room entrance, not in main room with bed. Was Ok in a pinch.

Our stay was pretty good considering we only slept there and was gone most of the day. Front desk crew were very attentive and polite! Only my wifi in my room could now connect to my devices. The restaurant looked nice and tidy although they opened at 7am . Our schedules did not provide us enough time to enjoy the restaurant.

It's was good no complaints quick check in and check out

-Hairs 4x -Hairs on towels -Roach -Rooms not similar to online picture -Smelly -No ice machine or vending machine in ice machine and vending machine room -Slow wifi -Almost slept in rental car -Parking $5/night -Resort fee $10 -Loud A/C -Dirty, scratched up sink -Damper on trip -Beach is mostly huge rocks/can't swim and next to a shipping yard -Old/dirty carpet

I recently stayed at Maui Beach and it was nothing like how it was years ago. The walls in the hallway was so dirty and there was towels along the windows because of rain leaking in. The fire alarm randomly went off a little after midnight and they couldn't get someone down to turn it off for over an hour! The interior of the room was okay but definitely not worth the rate. Definitely won't be staying here again!

Looks a little run down from the outside, but the room was clean and comfy. The staff was incredibly friendly and always greeted you with a warm smile, no matter their position. Close to the airport, restaurants and shopping. Centrally located for easy access to different areas of the island. Beach access was a little rocky, but this was the perfect place to spend our last couple days.

while the staff was nice, the room was dated and not well cleaned the bed was good but the bathroom was small and the shower tiny.

It was a good value, but dated and dining not available often enough.

170 Kaahumanu Avenue Kahului HI

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Maui Arts and Cultural Center
  • Onsite dining
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool

Maui Arts and Cultural Center is a short stroll from Maui Beach Hotel, and other popular attractions like Maui Nui Botanical Gardens are within a mile (2 km). This 145-room hotel has conveniences like a restaurant, an outdoor pool, and a free airport shuttle. It's in central Kahului and also close to Queen Ka’ahumanu Center and Alexander and Baldwin Sugar Museum.


Dining

Enjoy a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite restaurant, or have a drink at the bar/lounge. Start each morning with breakfast, served for a fee from 7 AM to 11 AM.


Rooms

Maui Beach Hotel's 145 rooms are air-conditioned and provide refrigerators, coffee makers, and safes. For entertainment, guests can enjoy cable TV. Other standard amenities include hair dryers, phones, and desks.


Property features

Maui Beach Hotel offers an outdoor pool, 2 meeting rooms, and a conference center. If you drive, self parking is USD 5 per night, or you can take advantage of the free airport shuttle at scheduled times. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, and securing valuables. Other amenities at this beach hotel include a computer station, laundry facilities, and a garden.

Room options

Deluxe Room

Full 2 | Queen 1 | Sleeps 3

Ocean View

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Room, Oceanfront

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Maui Beach Hotel

Everyone (19) Couples (49) Business (23) Family (27) Friends (8) Other (13)
5

convenient location, close to everything.

Everyone

Nice hotel, close to airport,restaurants, shopping, etc. Friendly staff. I just wish the room had a microwave!

By , from Colorado on Jun 3, 2017

Review comment responded on Jun 5, 2017

Aloha Joe, Thank you so much for taking the time to share you review with us. We are delighted that your stay was met with such positive results. Mahalo,

2

not enough

Everyone

We had a one night stay with our two adult daughters. We paid the $80 extra per person but there was only amenities for two guests. Not enough towels. The air conditioner was so loud and dripped. The shuttle had stopped running a half hour before our arrival.

By , from San Diegp on May 25, 2017

Review comment responded on May 30, 2017

Aloha Nancy, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review with us. We will share your review with the entire team and continue to work hard to improve those areas needing to be improved. Mahalo

4

nice hotel close to the mall

Everyone

it was a fun vacation staying in Maui beach hotel. Close to the mall,

By on May 16, 2017

Review comment responded on May 19, 2017

Aloha Traveler, We are truly delighted that your stay was met with such positive results. Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us we will share it with our team. Mahalo

3

utilitarian

Everyone

There was nothing overly special nor blatantly terrible about this hotel. The room had a view of the A/C compressor of another unit. The proximity to the beach was certainly there but the beach itself was difficult to get to and hardly worth more than looking at. The bar had a nice feel with good food and drinks. The hotel was offering a Mai Tai special with check-in but the bartender seemed to resent that she had to prepare these for the guests (mostly because the guests were not tipping her for the free drinks). The receptionists were not exceptionally friendly (nor rude), accommodating, or responsive. It took almost an hour to get checked in and my room card did not work at first (and sporadically thereafter). The hotel served its purpose, a place to rest my head and get a shower. Overall, it was too pricey for the utilitarian purpose it was more suited to. Perhaps my opinion of the value would be different had I been placed in a better room.

By , from Honolulu, HI on Mar 28, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 1, 2017

Aloha Jared, Thank you for sharing your valuable review with us. We will definitely work harder to improve the areas you have listed. Thank you for choosing the Maui Beach Hotel. Mahalo, Lei

3

nice hotel on kahului bayside.

Everyone

Liked the peacefulness of being rt on the bay. Good place to think meditate & rest & relax. But not enough tourists for me time I was there!

By , from C on Feb 21, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 8, 2017

Aloha David, Thank you for taking the time so we may experience the hotel from your perspective. We appreciate your attention to details that will allow our team to make improvements to all areas. We truly appreciate you! Mahalo

4

great hotel, great location, beautiful locale.

Everyone

We really enjoyed our stay at the Maui Beach Hotel. Even though we flew in to the Kapalua Airport on the other side of the island, it was still less than an hour drive to get there. It's right on the ocean but also convenient to downtown Kahului and the Kahului Airport. We also chose this area instead of a Lahaina location because we wanted to be closer to Haleakala National Park which was also less than an hour drive. A pool and a short walk to a small beach made for two good swimming options. The friendly and helpful staff made us feel welcome as well. All in all, it was a positive experience.

By , from Eau Claire, WI on Jan 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 26, 2017

Aloha Peter, We are truly delighted that your stay was met with such positive results. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your very detailed review. Your review gives our staff a great sense of pride to know that our guest feel the "Aloha" our staff all have to share. A hui hou; Until we meet again take care. Mahalo

3
Everyone

Beach area was littered with garbage. Some Room views are of an outside wall.

By on Jan 15, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 18, 2017

Aloha Traveler, Thank you so much for taking the time to share you very valuable feedback. We will work hard to improve all the areas you have listed above. We truly appreciate your honest feedback. Mahalo,

3

it's a bed in maui, near the airport.

Everyone

Ideal, if you arrive late and don't want to drive. Only a few minutes from the airport. Has a restaurant, pool and shopping mall right across the street. Nothing fancy, but all you need .

By , from Kelowna, British Columbia on Jan 8, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 13, 2017

Aloha Traveler, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us of your recent stay. We are truly delighted that your stay was met with such positive results. It is through your feedback that we are able to guide our team to providing all of our guests with accommodations and services to their satisfaction. Mahalo

1

very disappointed

Everyone

Wires hanging out fire hazard shower head broken water shooting out from the top, maid didnt clean room appropriately. Want my refund on the room.

By on Dec 19, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 21, 2016

Aloha Traveler, We would like to thank you for sharing your review with us. We apologize for any and all inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay with us. We will definitely work with our housekeeping department to improve all the areas you have listed that we need to focus more attention on. Thank you so much for taking the time and choosing the Maui Beach Hotel. Mahalo

2

convenience becomes inconvenient

Everyone

By on Nov 1, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 2, 2016

Aloha Traveler, We're sorry you were unhappy we will work hard to improve the areas you have listed in your review. Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review of your recent stay with us. Mahalo