Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

We loved the beauty surrounding the property. We also loved the size of the Pedestal...very comfortable. The young woman who checked us out was fantastic...very friendly and just genuine! The woman who check us in was a whole other issue. She was rude, not at all friendly or helpful. We had to call because our visit was delayed by our rental car company. We got lost as it was dark and when we called she said she had no idea where we were even though I told her roads we were on. She was very short tempered and quite snotty.

It was good experience except few things. We had bad experience with flooring as it was old and not clean when we checked in. Front office was also not responsive at times with questions.

Very nice place to stay. Quite and relaxing for me and my family

Booked late on Orbitz for a last minute vacation for two nights with my wife and two kids. Check in was quick and easy but we were told the indoor pool was closed for renovations when we checked in, which came as a surprise. The staff said it was posted on Orbitz but I never saw it. When we got to the condo, we were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was and pretty much every utensil you would need was in the room, if you decide to eat in. The condo looked like it has been recently renovated, but the furniture was a little older. When my son (about 175 pounds) sat in the chair in the living room, the right rear leg gave out and he ended up in the floor (not hurt, we laughed). I called to report it the next morning. The second night, while watching a movie, we heard dripping from the main level bathroom/laundry room and upon investigating, found the ceiling peeling away and water dripping from upstairs. I went upstairs and cut off the water to the toilet and the water stopped dripping. Called the after hours emergency number and a maintenance guy called back a few minutes later. He said he'd be there to check it in about 45 minutes. When he came, he offered to move us but it was already around 11 PM and we were checking out the next morning so we declined. Checkout was quick and the receptionist apologized but did not offer any money back or anything else. I would not choose to stay here again.

Fairway Drive Basye VA

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from George Washington National Forest
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool

Chalet High by Capital Vacations places you next to George Washington National Forest and within a mile (2 km) of Bryce Ski Resort. This 78-room, 3-star condo building has an indoor pool along with free in-room WiFi and free self parking.


Rooms

Each condo is air-conditioned and features a kitchen and space to spread out with a dining area and a sitting area. A TV comes with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Other standard amenities include a washer/dryer, a fireplace, and a sofa bed.


Property features

Guests staying at Chalet High by Capital Vacations enjoy an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a spa tub. If you drive, take advantage of free parking. Staff members can help with accommodation requests, and provide front-desk service during limited hours. Other amenities at this golf condo building include a sauna and free WiFi in public areas.

Room options

Pedestal

2 Queen Beds | 2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 8

Standard Room, 3 Bedrooms

2 Twin Beds | 1 King Bed and 1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 8

Guest reviews for Chalet High by Capital Vacations

Everyone (5)
5
Everyone

By on May 28, 2019

Review comment responded on May 29, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We hope to see you back again soon!

4
Everyone

We loved the beauty surrounding the property. We also loved the size of the Pedestal...very comfortable. The young woman who checked us out was fantastic...very friendly and just genuine! The woman who check us in was a whole other issue. She was rude, not at all friendly or helpful. We had to call because our visit was delayed by our rental car company. We got lost as it was dark and when we called she said she had no idea where we were even though I told her roads we were on. She was very short tempered and quite snotty.

By , from Big Lake on Oct 26, 2018

Review comment responded on Oct 31, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort! We're glad that you enjoyed our scenic area and our pedestal unit. As for your check in experience, we do apologize for the poor attitude and we will address this issue with our staff immediately. We do hope to see you back!

2

old carpet, uncleared carpet and spider on couch

Everyone

It was good experience except few things. We had bad experience with flooring as it was old and not clean when we checked in. Front office was also not responsive at times with questions.

By , from NY on Aug 10, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 15, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are in the process of upgrading units, including carpets and flooring. Some units carpets are stained but are well cleaned. Also, we are in a remote wooded area and even though we have pest control treat our units each week, we still have bugs in this area. As far as office not being responsive to questions, we all try our best to give guests as much attention as we can when they have questions and to answer as best to our abilities. Thank you.

4

pleasant

Everyone

Very nice place to stay. Quite and relaxing for me and my family

By on Aug 21, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 29, 2017

Thank you for your review of our resort! We hope to see you back again when you and your family are ready for more relaxing!

2

remote location in the mountains but needs work

Everyone

Booked late on Orbitz for a last minute vacation for two nights with my wife and two kids. Check in was quick and easy but we were told the indoor pool was closed for renovations when we checked in, which came as a surprise. The staff said it was posted on Orbitz but I never saw it. When we got to the condo, we were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was and pretty much every utensil you would need was in the room, if you decide to eat in. The condo looked like it has been recently renovated, but the furniture was a little older. When my son (about 175 pounds) sat in the chair in the living room, the right rear leg gave out and he ended up in the floor (not hurt, we laughed). I called to report it the next morning. The second night, while watching a movie, we heard dripping from the main level bathroom/laundry room and upon investigating, found the ceiling peeling away and water dripping from upstairs. I went upstairs and cut off the water to the toilet and the water stopped dripping. Called the after hours emergency number and a maintenance guy called back a few minutes later. He said he'd be there to check it in about 45 minutes. When he came, he offered to move us but it was already around 11 PM and we were checking out the next morning so we declined. Checkout was quick and the receptionist apologized but did not offer any money back or anything else. I would not choose to stay here again.

By , from Monroe, VA on Aug 8, 2016

Chalet High by Capital Vacations

2742 Fairway Drive, Basye, VA 22810
url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Luray-Hotels-Chalet-High-by-Capital-Vacations.h5832189-p2.Hotel-Reviews