Ratings based on 943 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Orbitz Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice beach, and plaza area. Really nice pool

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Pools, beach, views.
Location: Went to town and shopped and went fishing.
We really enjoyed our experience here. Food was good, staff was friendly, great views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Great Hotel and Great Staff but needs updates

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Good location and good staff.
Cons: Modernize the resort. Add elevators to all buildings just not your higher paying "ocean view" guests.
Stayed here twice, never had complaints about hotel, staff or the food. This last trip it was the other guest that were annoying. In the morning there would be plates with food on the stairs or broken items. One morning the public sinks were full of vomit. I felt bad for the hard working employee that would have to clean that up. This year I was also on the top floor of my building. I knew they did not have an elevator which I knew would get annoying. I then learned from other guest that they had elevators and actual key fobs for their rooms. I had to use a traditional key every time. I guess if you pay a little more money you get an elevator.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel and good staff

Posted Jan 12, 2017
The hotel is fairly large offering activities, different pools and different restaurants around the grounds. The drinks are ok and the food fair. Don't expect to have great Tasting meals but rather just ok food along with the drinks. Overall it was decent especially for the money. There are other hotels in the area for $500-1000 per night so considering it was a good deal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Very nice hotel. Great staff.

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: Everything. If you looking for a solid 3.5 to 4 star resort this is it.
Cons: Vendors on the beach made it a pain but not a whole lot the resort can do about this. They do not come on the resort so that was good.
Location: Cabo Wabo was fun. We went during the day so it wasn't crazy. Down town was fun if you like older buildings and a bit of shopping.
Riu Sante Fe is a very nice resort. We were there at the busiest time of the year (Christmas/New Years) and everything was well taken care of, staff was great, food was pretty good, and everything was clean. Just like most all inclusive the food was okay. Not gourmet but better then just edible. Christmas dinner was very good. The drinks were good. all you had to do was ask if you wanted a different name brand of booze or if you wanted the drinks stronger. Rooms were nice but the pillows are pretty flat. We asked for extras after the first night and they brought three extras right up. Also the refrigerator and booze are restocked every other day. The grounds were kept immaculately. Pools were very clean. There were a few cups left laying around on occasion but for the most part very clean except the typical disrespectful vacationer. We flew out late on new years eve and had no problems with the resort. We were able to eat and drink till we departed with no issues. we took 2 excursions and they were both a blast. we took the 2 person side by side on the beach and enjoyed it greatly. Hint buy the bandanas. We also took the whale watching tour in the small boats. again great experience. we got to see 2 hump backs fully breach withing 1 minute of each other. Wow. Worst experience was with Gray line. the hosts at the resort were great. They did not pick us up from the resort for our return trip to the airport. Costing us a little anxiety and $140.00
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spokane Wa

Great location, good value, food is so so

Posted Dec 30, 2016
For the cost it's a decent value. Nice pools, great location but food is so so, rooms need some updating. Older tube tvs, beds are lousy but staff is great and they maintained the grounds well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Cons: ROOMS NEED UPDATING ALONG WITH TOILETRIES, TOWELS, ETC.
Location: NICE LOCATION HOWEVER CAN'T SWIM DUE TO CURRENT IN OCEAN
VISITED OVER CHRISTMAS. HOTEL NEEDS UPDATING. FOOD VERY AVERAGE.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from k

Great for price!

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Good location. Good variety at buffet but maybe only 4/5 star on quality. Reasonable price enabled us to not feel guilty skipping an occasional meal to explore meals in Cabo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA, San Diego

Garden view

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Good for partying people esp young ones and on budget. Dinner restaurants gets to be a long wait esp on our last night at Torote, as this was the only Rest at night that we haven't had dinner and so we decided to wait patiently to be accommodated. I was worth it anyway. I'm not a meat eater, but had steak and it was tender, just the way I liked it. It was a great experience overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baker Oregon

Been 4 times; it never has been a bad experience o

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: The price!!! You live cheaper for a week there than you can at home in my experience!
Cons: Sister would like more champagne; that is truly all. Great selection and the buffets and they've changed how they do the specialty restaurants so its
Location: Its a $14.00 cab ride into town, or it was for the 2 of us when we went. Its about 40 minutes from the airport and about 15 into town?
Great, incredible service!!! Love staying at the Riu Santa Fe. Drinks are great. Food is awesome and the location is perfection!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern California

I wouldn't recommend this place to my worst enemy!

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: ...the view of the ocean was nice
Cons: - new matrresses - slow closer for doors? or demolish building and start over - noise canceling headphones for guests - reservations for dinner
Location: we didn't go anywhere except a few hundred feet down the beach to get away from the noise.
Worst hotel we've ever stayed at. The hotel is built like a prison, so every time a door closes, it echoes down the hallways. this was a HUGE problem at night because, being that there is a 24 hour sports bar and a club, some people weren't getting back to their rooms until late...we didn't get any sleep until after 3 or 4 am! Every 20-30 minutes we'd wake up to the sound of people screaming in the halls or doors slamming. One of the reasons we chose this all inclusive hotel was because it has 4 restaurants on site with great ratings. No reservations needed. We thought - perfect! Until we showed up to dinner each night and had over an hour wait for 2 people every time. The hotel staff wasn't very friendly or outgoing. Probably because it's all inclusive, many people don't tip. We would have, but rarely encountered a person deserving one. Only come here if you want to swim in a urine filled pool (swim up bars that NO ONE gets out of all day), not get any sleep on the most uncomfortable mattress ever, fight with other hotel guests in line for the buffet (nobody has any manners for a simple "excuse me" anymore), and listen to the YMCA and stupid pool games over a WAYYY too loud microphone DJ while "relaxing" at the pool. Oh yea - and there's no free wifi unless you're standing like 10 feet from the lobby desk. All inclusive...what a joke. It was like being on a cruise ship that didn't go anywhere