Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Budget Inn Merced

2.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

A little bit disappointing. Very dirty carpet and hair on sheets. Railroad tracks not far away (quite loud in the middle of the night because of the passing trains). Across parking lot in front of my room was a garbage container and around 5 AM garbage truck came - very loud. Would think twice.

pay a few extra $ and stay someother place. sketchy people in parking lot. had to pay for wifi. bed was hard and walls are thin.

All you need to sacrifice is to drive an additional 30 minutes if you are visiting the yosemite while you can save $150+ in lodging expenses. This hotel is just a 30min drive from the outskirts of the yosemite valley and is just one quarter of the average hotel prices in yosemite. The cleanliness, bedding, bath were well maintained. The hotel provides a basic breakfast. all i care is for a hot coffee which the lodge gave. for other breakfast needs, there are several restaurants in walkable distance.

Train noise all night. Plus, as it is close to highway the noise is always there. The trash truck comes at 4am ! Could not sleep well. The only reason I chose this place was for sleeping and that did not happen.

We paid cash for our room for one night and was asked by the lady for a credit card for the phone or what ever. I told her we had our own phone she said it was policy it was only a deposit, she gave me a copy and wrote deposit on it. She said she would make it only $20.00 We arrived home the next day, and that evening I got a call from my bank, someone was using my credit card in merced at a grocery store.

Staff were friendly, room was ok, bed was comfortable. Only issue was it's advertised as having breakfast and all there was is coffee, juice and danish rolls. As I was turning in keys there was another family in there telling the girl at the desk they shouldn't advertise breakfast if they don't have breakfast., rolls are not breakfast.

I booked this motel online and when I checked into my rook there were bugs crawling on the walls and under the sheets on the bed. The room was dirty, carpet dirty and stained, the bedding looked like it hadn't been washed in months and was very tattered, almost like it could tear at any moment. Needless to say, I checked out 20 min later with no refund since I used a third party provider to book the room.

I stayed two nights while visiting Yosemite National Park. The room was clean and comfortable, much better than I expected based on other hotels rated as 2 stars. Denny's and McDonald's less than a block away.

We arrived around midnight and was served by a courteous staff. The room was cleaned with quiet neighborhood. There was no shampoo, only tea and coffee for breakfast when it said continental breakfast when booking.

We just stayed here for one night - and the price was unbeatable. Clean room, would recommend it for a sleepover.

The staff was lovely! The room was average but very affordable.

Decent place for the money I paid. You can always pay more and find places close to Yosemite National park if you have $$$

Nice hotel and they are very nice people. They have internet that was good to use for work.

You get what you pay for. Average hotel, but location is a few blocks from downtown. Staff was really good. Free Ice dispener is included with your, so no extra pay, (this was June 2014). It matters when it summer in the Central Valley. Bus passes by the hotel and the bus central location is a few blocks away.

I was able to collect more than half a dozen varieties of insects in the comfort of my own room! I suggest you also use a shoe cover to protect the ancient Jurassic dirt and soil trapped in the carpet.

Had an enjoyable stay - some traffic and train noise, but oferall a good experience.

Motel was ok, room was clean. Staff was not friendly at all.

Inexpensive but clean room, with early breakfast available. Good for a night's sleep while in transit. Amenities are very basic but bed was comfortable and air-conditioning worked just fine on hot day.

Pros: Wi-Fi, cable, quiet, comfortable bed. Cons: no coffee setup, no microwave, no shampoo, coffee in office was okay. Overall: good place to sleep.

Advertised a Continental Breakfast - Only instant coffee and juice from a machine.

Room options

Traditional Room, 1 Queen Bed

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Room, 2 Double Beds

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Room, 1 Queen Bed

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Budget Inn Merced

Everyone (6) Business (6) Couples (6) Family (4) Other (4) Friends (2)
2
Everyone

A little bit disappointing. Very dirty carpet and hair on sheets. Railroad tracks not far away (quite loud in the middle of the night because of the passing trains). Across parking lot in front of my room was a garbage container and around 5 AM garbage truck came - very loud. Would think twice.

By on Aug 31, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 2, 2017

I'm sorry you were unhappy. Should you return we will be sure to give you a better location and room. Again, please accept my apologies.

2

yukk

Everyone

pay a few extra $ and stay someother place. sketchy people in parking lot. had to pay for wifi. bed was hard and walls are thin.

By on Aug 4, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 6, 2017

We're sorry you were unhappy. We do have a 24 hour staff; did you notify them? We don't allow trespassing on the property. We do wish you well in your future travels.

5

very good hotel for this price

Everyone

All you need to sacrifice is to drive an additional 30 minutes if you are visiting the yosemite while you can save $150+ in lodging expenses. This hotel is just a 30min drive from the outskirts of the yosemite valley and is just one quarter of the average hotel prices in yosemite. The cleanliness, bedding, bath were well maintained. The hotel provides a basic breakfast. all i care is for a hot coffee which the lodge gave. for other breakfast needs, there are several restaurants in walkable distance.

By on Jul 2, 2016

Review comment responded on Jul 5, 2016

Thank-you for taking the time to give us such a nice review. I am so happy your stay was a good one. I will send the breakfast suggestion on to the general manager Good luck in your future travel plans and we hope to see you again in the future!

2

rooms are not that sound proof

Everyone

Train noise all night. Plus, as it is close to highway the noise is always there. The trash truck comes at 4am ! Could not sleep well. The only reason I chose this place was for sleeping and that did not happen.

By , from CA on Jun 3, 2016

Review comment responded on Jun 6, 2016

We apologize for the noise keeping you awake at night. We obviously cannot do anything about the train but we have called the City to try and resolve the early garbage pickup, so hopefully that will soon be resolved. I am not sure what room you stayed in but we do have an upgraded room on the quiet side, should you decide to give us another chance. Good luck in you future travels and thank you for staying at Budget Inn Merced.

1

i would not stay here again!

Everyone

We paid cash for our room for one night and was asked by the lady for a credit card for the phone or what ever. I told her we had our own phone she said it was policy it was only a deposit, she gave me a copy and wrote deposit on it. She said she would make it only $20.00 We arrived home the next day, and that evening I got a call from my bank, someone was using my credit card in merced at a grocery store.

By , from Nevada on Jun 1, 2016

Review comment responded on Jun 7, 2016

I am sorry but I don't understand your review. We don't take deposits for the telephone (it's free) and if you go through Orbitz you prepay and you said you paid cash. Also, your last line would have nothing to do with this property. I cannot find any record of you staying here.

3

close to freeway and fuel

Everyone

Staff were friendly, room was ok, bed was comfortable. Only issue was it's advertised as having breakfast and all there was is coffee, juice and danish rolls. As I was turning in keys there was another family in there telling the girl at the desk they shouldn't advertise breakfast if they don't have breakfast., rolls are not breakfast.

By on May 31, 2016

Review comment responded on Jun 4, 2016

Thank-you for your review. I'm happy to hear your stay was a good one. In regards to what is considered "breakfast" I will forward your comments on to the general manager for review. Good luck in your future travels and thank you for staying at Budget Inn.

1

horrible dirt bugs

Families

I booked this motel online and when I checked into my rook there were bugs crawling on the walls and under the sheets on the bed. The room was dirty, carpet dirty and stained, the bedding looked like it hadn't been washed in months and was very tattered, almost like it could tear at any moment. Needless to say, I checked out 20 min later with no refund since I used a third party provider to book the room.

By on Nov 17, 2015

4

nice clean hotel with cable tv

Singles

I stayed two nights while visiting Yosemite National Park. The room was clean and comfortable, much better than I expected based on other hotels rated as 2 stars. Denny's and McDonald's less than a block away.

By on Oct 6, 2015

4

business trip

BusinessTravelers

We arrived around midnight and was served by a courteous staff. The room was cleaned with quiet neighborhood. There was no shampoo, only tea and coffee for breakfast when it said continental breakfast when booking.

By on Aug 29, 2015

3

good value for money

GetawayWithFriends

We just stayed here for one night - and the price was unbeatable. Clean room, would recommend it for a sleepover.

By on Sep 2, 2014