Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Manhattan Beach Marriott

3.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Unfortunately this was a terrible experience. Before we even check in, we noticed the entire hotel lobby is CLOSED because they are renovating. During check-in, we also find out the pool is closed because of the construction. It would be one thing if it was listed on the Orbitz site when we booked the hotel, but it was not. After finishing the check-in, we arrived to the room only to find out its the wrong one. We had paid an upgrade, and we were given a regular room instead. So had to go back to the make shift lobby to fix the error. The room itself did not have a pleasant smell. The shower is in need of renovation, because its showing its age. Also the shower water pressure is non-existent. Lowest water pressure I've ever experienced in a hotel. And then to top it all off, when we got to the parking garage to leave for dinner, we were stuck there for a good 25 minutes, because the arm/access was broken, and no cars could get out. Finally they sent someone over from the valet, and they manually opened the arm, which remained in the "up position" until we left. BY THE WAY, the parking costs $29!!! And don't expect free internet(wifi) either. That'll set you back another $14

I typically stay in inexpensive hotels when traveling, but booked this place because it was close to a friend. The room was very nice and the staff was helpful, but I was shocked by all the extras - $29/day for parking. $25/pp for breakfast. I see now the notes in the fine print of my reservation about all that and encourage you to take note before booking. The night before coming to this hotel, I stayed in a 2 star hotel for half the price that had free parking, free wifi, free breakfast, cookies on arrival and a fridge in the room. None of that at the Marriott. That said, because we were unable to get a room with two beds, the staff offered us free parking, which helped. No issues with the staff. This is a comment about the company.

We stayed here because of a work conference for my husband. The hotel staff was very friendly and the bar and restaurant was good. The decor is a little dated but we were told it will be going under a renovation in the near future. We liked the fact that it was within walking distance for restaurants and movie theaters.

Hotel was nice, staff was friendly, and the parking garage was a bonus(better if it was free). The hotel is fairly new but would definitely benefit from an upgrade, specially in the pool area since it has such a nice view.

The hotel was clean and accommodating but I gave this hotel an excellent rating because the staff here were all amazing!! The hotel staff made our whole experience the best ever! Especially in the hotel restaurant downstairs. The people were truly some of the nicest people I've ever met!! Claudia and the entire crew made sure we had great service and the food was excellent!

We enjoyed our stay, thank you Marriott! Great bedding, great location and close to LAX.

Great hotel. Beautiful lobby with nice view of golf course. Very comfortable beds. Walked to the beach. Dining and movie theater across the street. Would definitely stay again.

Beautiful hotel, fantastic service, great value - would absolutely stay there again!

This hotel doesn't provide free wifi connection to guest. Even parking is very expensive.

Hotel is within walking distance of several great bars and restaurants. Plenty of self parking in a garage attached to the hotel.

Hotel looks newly remodeled. Lobby area is spacious and welcoming with a fun bar overlooking the golf course. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

The Marriott at Manhattan Beach is a solid location, close to plenty of restaurants and only a short drive to Manhattan beach. The hotel has obviously been there for quite some time and the rooms are a bit small, however the room was clean and the staff was friendly enough. The surprise $20/night SELF parking and lack of refrigerator (even though we had reserved one weeks before and been told it would be placed in our room...not great as we had brought items that needed refrigeration) were rather frustrating and unfortunate. Overall a fine place to stay, but be ready for extra fees.

The location and hotel stay was great! It was a great place for a business meeting!

It wasn't the cheapest alternative in Manhattan beach, but I don't regret spending the extra bucks in exchange for a great spa and comfy room

Very comfortable and well appointed hotel. Close to amenities and an enjoyable stay.

Good location, clean rooms, smiley staff. It a transit hotel, but nice overall.

Satisfactory overall. Nothing impressive. Good for business class.

My husband and I were in town for a Wedding. We were very impressed by the lobby of the building, so we were excited to see our room. But to our surprise it was disgusting! It felt dirty and smelled like someone had just smoked a pack of cigarettes in the room. My husband has terrible allergies, so we immediately called the front desk. They told us that they would call us right back... And never did. My husband and I decided to go downstairs to see what the hold up was and we were informed that we were being moved rooms to a king suite. I was expecting something way better than the first room, but it was the same room with a better view and a monster of a balcony. Whatever, at least I didn't smell like smoke. It looks as though the place is in the middle of being remodeled, they just haven't gotten to the rooms yet. The happy hour was fantastic and the manager was so much fun. The location was great, walking distance to great eateries and movie theatre. The breakfast at the hotel was terrible, plus they have signs about Starbucks coffee everywhere, sadly, there is no Starbucks!

To my surprise, a nice executive golf course on the grounds!

The hotel has a lovely entrance and lobby, with fountains and outside seating. You can really enjoy the California life style this way. The exercise room is nice with individual tv's at each machine.

1400 Park View Ave Manhattan Beach CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Golf course
  • Business center

Manhattan Beach Marriott is located within a few miles (5 km) of Toyota Sports Center and Manhattan Beach Pier. This 385-room, 3.5-star hotel has conveniences like a restaurant, a bar/lounge, and a golf course. It's near the airport and also close to Hermosa Beach Pier and South Bay Galleria.


Dining

You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge or visit the onsite restaurant for a bite to eat. Satisfy your hunger from the comfort of your room with room service. Start your day off with buffet breakfast, available for a fee.


Rooms

Manhattan Beach Marriott's 385 rooms are air-conditioned and provide coffee makers, free weekday newspapers, and phones. TVs come with pay movies, and guests can stay connected with WiFi. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries, and pillowtop beds with premium bedding ensure a restful night. Ironing boards and desks are other standard amenities.


Property features

Guests of Manhattan Beach Marriott enjoy features like a golf course, free WiFi in public areas, and 23 meeting rooms. Valet parking is available for USD 35.00 per night. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and securing valuables. Other amenities at this golf hotel include conference space, a business center, and coffee/tea in a common area.

Room options

Room, Golf View

King 1 | Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Concierge Room, Room, City View

King 1 | Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Concierge Room, Room, Golf View

King 1 | Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Manhattan Beach Marriott

Everyone (6) Couples (7) Business (4) Family (6) Friends (3) Other (2)
1

under construction

Everyone
Under Construction Welcome to the Marriot

Unfortunately this was a terrible experience. Before we even check in, we noticed the entire hotel lobby is CLOSED because they are renovating. During check-in, we also find out the pool is closed because of the construction. It would be one thing if it was listed on the Orbitz site when we booked the hotel, but it was not. After finishing the check-in, we arrived to the room only to find out its the wrong one. We had paid an upgrade, and we were given a regular room instead. So had to go back to the make shift lobby to fix the error. The room itself did not have a pleasant smell. The shower is in need of renovation, because its showing its age. Also the shower water pressure is non-existent. Lowest water pressure I've ever experienced in a hotel. And then to top it all off, when we got to the parking garage to leave for dinner, we were stuck there for a good 25 minutes, because the arm/access was broken, and no cars could get out. Finally they sent someone over from the valet, and they manually opened the arm, which remained in the "up position" until we left. BY THE WAY, the parking costs $29!!! And don't expect free internet(wifi) either. That'll set you back another $14

By on Aug 8, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 10, 2017

Thank you for sharing your concerns and for choosing to stay with us. We are so sorry for not meeting your expectations with the current renovations taking place. We checked the booking agent you mentioned and did find the notes regarding our situation on the page where you selected your room type at the bottom. We are sorry this was missed and not communicated more clearly. We do appreciate you letting us know how in the meantime we can make the guest experience more enjoyable moving forward. Thanks again and we hope to have you back soon to see all the great changes. Sincerely, Stephanie Bauer General Manager

3

pay attention to the extra charges in fine print

Everyone

I typically stay in inexpensive hotels when traveling, but booked this place because it was close to a friend. The room was very nice and the staff was helpful, but I was shocked by all the extras - $29/day for parking. $25/pp for breakfast. I see now the notes in the fine print of my reservation about all that and encourage you to take note before booking. The night before coming to this hotel, I stayed in a 2 star hotel for half the price that had free parking, free wifi, free breakfast, cookies on arrival and a fridge in the room. None of that at the Marriott. That said, because we were unable to get a room with two beds, the staff offered us free parking, which helped. No issues with the staff. This is a comment about the company.

By on Jul 17, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 23, 2017

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry our fees came as a surprise to you. We inform guests of this when booking the reservation and again at check-in. The fees include a host of useful and unique amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. We will review your feedback with our team to make sure this information is being presented clearly. We hope your overall stay was enjoyable and would be delighted to see you here again. Stephanie Bauer General Manager

4
Everyone

We stayed here because of a work conference for my husband. The hotel staff was very friendly and the bar and restaurant was good. The decor is a little dated but we were told it will be going under a renovation in the near future. We liked the fact that it was within walking distance for restaurants and movie theaters.

By on Mar 27, 2017

4
Everyone

Hotel was nice, staff was friendly, and the parking garage was a bonus(better if it was free). The hotel is fairly new but would definitely benefit from an upgrade, specially in the pool area since it has such a nice view.

By on Sep 20, 2016

5

nice hotel close to the beach and shopping.

Everyone

The hotel was clean and accommodating but I gave this hotel an excellent rating because the staff here were all amazing!! The hotel staff made our whole experience the best ever! Especially in the hotel restaurant downstairs. The people were truly some of the nicest people I've ever met!! Claudia and the entire crew made sure we had great service and the food was excellent!

By , from Dallas, TX on Jul 15, 2016

5

nice hotel in manhattan beach

Everyone

We enjoyed our stay, thank you Marriott! Great bedding, great location and close to LAX.

By , from Jupiter, FL on Mar 21, 2016

5

business trip

Couples

Great hotel. Beautiful lobby with nice view of golf course. Very comfortable beds. Walked to the beach. Dining and movie theater across the street. Would definitely stay again.

By on Sep 27, 2015

5

perfect stay

GetawayWithFriends

Beautiful hotel, fantastic service, great value - would absolutely stay there again!

By on Aug 18, 2015

3

disappointed

Couples

This hotel doesn't provide free wifi connection to guest. Even parking is very expensive.

By on Jul 14, 2015

4

great birthday getaway

GetawayWithFriends

Hotel is within walking distance of several great bars and restaurants. Plenty of self parking in a garage attached to the hotel.

By on Jan 20, 2015