Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

the evening we went to check in, the police were on site for a domestic complaint. the young girl working was worked up about it and clearly nervous. after she checked us in, and we got off the elevator to head to our room- the smell was terrible. Upon opening our room, it was dirty. the floor had dried up crusty white splotches all over. also, the police were 2 doors down for the domestic complaint that was called. Needless to say, we went back down to the desk to leave. The girls working were unable to issue a refund but left a note for the staff coming on the next morning. We also called Orbitz to notify of the safety and cleanliness issue and asked for assistance to ensure we received our refund. That was 4 days ago and it still is not resolved.

Clean and comfortable and good price. Really didn't take advantage of the amenities

Property was outdated and the room had an musty smell. Found a roach in our toilet. But didn’t see any evidence anywhere else though.

Very dirty - staff was nice but the place is a mess - choose another place - don't go here.

The room was very clean. However, the hotel Staff/Receptionist was rude and disrespectful. I arrived with 10 family members to attend a funeral. She not professional and yelled to me "if you don't like our policy, you can take your money back and get out!"

Room was clean but needs updating. Breakfast was mediocre with limited choices and no beverages(juices) for example only coffee and tea.

Front desk clerk tried telling me I didn't have a reservation and that they were booked I showed them email, and spelled my name 3 times and he had misspelled my name. The the in the room had to be turned up all the way to barely hear (we were in the area for my fiance to take a class so I spent more time in the room than I normally would). There was no fitted sheet on our bed I asked front desk for one it never came. Had to get the top sheet to stay best we could and use the blanket as a top sheet

This hotel says complimentary breakfast but one of the first things that the clerk tells you is that its not really breakfast but a grab and go coffee and granola bar. I specifically searched hotels that have breakfast in the morning. Our rooms look bland and uncared for. The clock doesnt work, One bed had hair on the sheets and the other had a blood stain.. not like a blood stain thats been washed but more like a blood stain that dried and the sheets re-used. Im looking into getting out of this hotel as we speak.

When we book this hotel breakfast is included but no breakfast only Apple , snakes bar , this is cheating customer to make money, front desk customer was bad when we check in , I will never recommend any body. When we checked out , I asked tecipet the lady said no , you get only by email because I booked on line but I booked online got tecipet before

KC is a great town to visit. Hotel was a great deal for what we paid, we only used it to leave luggage, shower and sleep, and the price was the best deal for what we used it.

The staff was always unavailable. The room has a bad odor and it need a good cleaning.

I stayed with my wife and two young kids for four nights. Upon arrival we could see the hotel was generally dingy. We encoutered ditry hallways, stairs, and elevator. When we entered our room we noticed the carpets were dirty, cobwebbs in the corners and a deffinate cigarette odor, which we did not expect from a non-smoking room on a non-smoking floor. The staff was friendly but sparse. We spent each day in the room (after additional cleaning and airing) but only encoutered one house keeper. The suite was as advertised aside from its state. Kithenette with full fridge, microwave, two burners, and a sink. The beds were not the best but the sheets were clean and well made. The worst part of the experience was our one year old found a dried out chewing tobacco spit cup under the bed. We thought about asking for a new room but as we walked down the hallway on the non-smoking floor we could smell active cigarette smoking from multiple sources, so we gave it up and made due. The best part was the price we got on the room. All in all, we got what we paid for, but we'll go somewhere else next time!

Located close to great shopping and the speedway. Very helpful staff.

The Front staff were amazing. Super friendly and attentive. Unfortunately most their rooms needed maintenance and/or a good scrub. Over first rooms temperature on the shower was broken, our second room had residual smoke from the pervious person smoking in it, and our third room had mold on the shower curtain and the heater/air conditioner was broken. If they were able to stay on top of their cleaning staff and maintenance staff this hotel would be wonderful. All the rooms were quite spacious, the appearance of the hotel was perfect, the rooms were equipped with a kitchenette so you could cook, they even had plates/cups/silverware. I'd definitely book with the chain again just maybe not this one.

Affordable & clean easy access to the interstate friendly staff

Very friendly staff. We arrived very late and left pretty early the next morning so we did not experience much of the hotel.

The Hotel is conveniently at a good location. I felt the amenities were not all in there. There was a bad carpet smell in the room i stayed. I have expected it to be more cleaner for what i have paid. Over all - it was OK.

Quivira Rd Overland Park KS

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Laundry facilities
  • 24-hour front desk

Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Overland Park places you within a leisurely stroll of Overland Park Regional Medical Center and Johnson County Community College. This 119-room hotel welcomes guests with in-room amenities like kitchenettes, refrigerators, and microwaves.


Rooms

The 119 rooms feature kitchenettes with refrigerators, microwaves, and stovetops. Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Pillowtop beds sport premium bedding and bathrooms offer free toiletries. Other standard amenities include coffee makers, free local calls, and ironing boards. Housekeeping is available on request.


Property features

Guests staying at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Overland Park enjoy free WiFi in public areas and laundry facilities. If you plan to drive, free parking is available. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with luggage storage and securing valuables.

Room options

Studio, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Studio, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Studio, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Studio, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Overland Park

Everyone (9) Business (4) Couples (9) Family (7) Other (1)
1
Partner Couples Business Business

the evening we went to check in, the police were on site for a domestic complaint. the young girl working was worked up about it and clearly nervous. after she checked us in, and we got off the elevator to head to our room- the smell was terrible. Upon opening our room, it was dirty. the floor had dried up crusty white splotches all over. also, the police were 2 doors down for the domestic complaint that was called. Needless to say, we went back down to the desk to leave. The girls working were unable to issue a refund but left a note for the staff coming on the next morning. We also called Orbitz to notify of the safety and cleanliness issue and asked for assistance to ensure we received our refund. That was 4 days ago and it still is not resolved.

By on Nov 7, 2020

Review comment responded on Nov 9, 2020

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. Please accept our apologies for not providing you with the excellent service you deserve. We are committed to giving each guest an exceptional stay; therefore, we are disappointed this was not your experience. We appreciate your feedback, which serves to help us do a better job of achieving our goal. Meanwhile, we will also look into your billing-related concerns and appreciate your patience. Thank you again for your comments. Sincerely, Hotel Management

4
Everyone

By on Jun 8, 2020

Review comment responded on Jun 10, 2020

Thank you for rating your nice experience at Extended Stay America. It is always our attempt to provide a comfortable stay for each guest, and we are glad to see we accomplished this while you were here. We hope to be your hotel of choice whenever you return to the area. Sincerely, Hotel Management

5
Everyone

Clean and comfortable and good price. Really didn't take advantage of the amenities

By on May 2, 2020

Review comment responded on May 2, 2020

We appreciate you choosing to stay at the Extended Stay America and taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you had an enjoyable experience, and you felt we were a good value in the area. Thank you for your feedback, and we hope you will revisit us back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management

3
Family

Property was outdated and the room had an musty smell. Found a roach in our toilet. But didn’t see any evidence anywhere else though.

By on Aug 11, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 12, 2019

Thank you for being our guest. We sincerely apologize that our facility fell short of your standards. Your feedback with regard to the condition of our property and the housekeeping issues will help us take corrective action is improving our future guest experiences moving forward. Please consider giving us an opportunity to make your next visit a better one. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1
Everyone

Very dirty - staff was nice but the place is a mess - choose another place - don't go here.

By on May 28, 2019

Review comment responded on May 30, 2019

Thank you for posting a review of your stay. Although you were pleased with the service you received from our associates, we apologize for the cleanliness issues you encountered while you were here. We take these concerns seriously and place great emphasis on maintaining a clean and healthy environment for all of our guests. Your feedback has been relayed to our housekeeping team, and we will make sure steps are taken so this doesn't happen again. Please consider giving us another opportunity to provide you with the exceptional experience you deserve. Sincerely, Hotel Management

5
Everyone

By on May 15, 2019

1
Family Family with small children Family

The room was very clean. However, the hotel Staff/Receptionist was rude and disrespectful. I arrived with 10 family members to attend a funeral. She not professional and yelled to me "if you don't like our policy, you can take your money back and get out!"

By on May 9, 2019

Review comment responded on May 10, 2019

We are sorry to hear the circumstances of your trip and apologize for the rude behavior you received from one of our associates. Your feedback will be shared with the appropriate team members to improve our service going forward. We hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate the excellent service you should have experienced on this visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management

5
Everyone

By on Apr 6, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 12, 2019

Thank you for your terrific rating of Extended Stay America. We are pleased your stay with us was an excellent one, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management

3
Partner Couples

Room was clean but needs updating. Breakfast was mediocre with limited choices and no beverages(juices) for example only coffee and tea.

By , from Fort mill sc on Mar 18, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 19, 2019

Duane, thank you for being our guest. We're glad to know you were pleased with your well-appointed room, but we're sorry for the inconveniences you mentioned. We have alerted our maintenance team to your concerns, and we will be more proactive replacing items that are beginning to show wear. We will also share your feedback regarding our grab-and-go breakfast with our Brand Leaders so that they can use it while planning new breakfast offerings. We hope you will consider a return visit so we can restore your confidence. Sincerely, Hotel Management

2
Everyone

Front desk clerk tried telling me I didn't have a reservation and that they were booked I showed them email, and spelled my name 3 times and he had misspelled my name. The the in the room had to be turned up all the way to barely hear (we were in the area for my fiance to take a class so I spent more time in the room than I normally would). There was no fitted sheet on our bed I asked front desk for one it never came. Had to get the top sheet to stay best we could and use the blanket as a top sheet

By , from Sabetha KS on May 21, 2018

Review comment responded on May 21, 2018

Andrew, thank you for staying at our hotel and for sharing your feedback. Exceptional service for every guest is our highest priority, so we are disappointed to learn that your experience with us fell short. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate team members so adjustments can be made. We value you as a guest and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Management

Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Overland Park

10750 Quivira Rd, Overland Park, KS 66210
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Kansas-City-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America---Kansas-City---Overland-Park.h67979-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Kansas-City-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America---Kansas-City---Overland-Park.h67979-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Kansas-City-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America---Kansas-City---Overland-Park.h67979-p2.Hotel-Reviews