Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Great place to stay. Only down side was room 228 was in back of hotel and patrons were VERY LOUD AND NOISY PLAYING BASS MUSIC THAT ROCKED THE WALLS OF THE ROOM.

Stay here for the location - close to the beach - and the price which is lower than surrounding hotels. Be aware that the hotel itself leaves a lot to be desired. Room was dirty, missing sheets, microwave had melted food in it, telephones weren't working. Also people sitting outside their rooms drinking and smoking all night who harassed me as I left in the morning. Staff seems to be working hard and updates are coming. But was lacking from the start - hard to find as it is no longer called the Breakwater Hotel.

Love the location. The hotel is a dump with dirty rooms

It had a large pool advertised as heated but it wasn’t. I saw a bunch of bikes and ocean gear people were using. Good place to stay for the money we spent.

no elevators, outside walkways, paper thin rooms and room configurations

I come to Florida for several weeks every February, and have stayed at this place every year except last when you were closed. I read your general letter to your patrons when I checked in on Monday and believe that you sincerely do wish your patrons to be please. In that spirit, I offer the following for your consideration. First, I made these (and all other) reservations through Orbitz. Although the listed cost for this lodging was something like $65 per night, I was also charged a daily amenity fee of some $22 per day when I checked in. I now see that this contingency is mentioned on the Orbitz description, but is is a rather less-than-straightforward manner to list total costs. I paid these fees because I try to remain stress-free on my trips down here; $100 is of no consequence. Let me start by saying that my room was #111; the bed was excellent and the shower was hot. Two of the most important things I have come to expect. That’s the good part. The less than flattering aspect of my input includes the following: 1) One of the two 110v receptacles was dead (Bill, the service guy, concurred). I needed one for my computer, and that meant I had to unplug the icebox and plug the TV into that receptacle so I could use the other (closer to the room desk) for my computer. Hence, no icebox during my stay. 2) The compressor on the air conditioner is loud; I had to get by with the fan. 3) The exhaust fan in the bathroom is either badly out of balance or needs a bearing

Toilet was not working enter the room left a plunger which did not clear. Moved to a different room which was a smoking and pet room checkout a day early.

The room had a broken door safety lock which had been ignored for some time The 70s popcorn ceiling was missing a lot of paint and looked trashy. The hot tub was hidden in back. Breakfast was only some of the items they advertised, apparently no sausage or bacon. Their guests were a lot of drunken journeymen who slam truck doors and yell all night. It looked like a meth cook convention. The phone in the room rang one ring all night The location was in fact right near the beach and they did have bikes board and beach chairs a plenty. The rooms were clean. Not a great place to relax persay

Mold in grout in bathroom; loud air conditioner; breakfast was good; location is great; loan of beach materials was convenient.

Close to the beach is the only redeeming Quality. Bed was a bed, typical tropics smell, bright lights on outside all night, and breakfast - oh my don’t even go there. I mean really don’t go there.

Images on website do not look anything like the hotel. All I can say is that their photographer was a miracle worker. The pool was dirty! I would not allow my son to get in it. The rooms were so old. Rust on the light fixture. Bathroom totally disgusting. Beds were sunken in the center. Could see the dips the the beds. Pillows were a joke. I'm a nurse and the pillows at my hospital were better than what they had. Check was horrible. Their system was down the entire weekend. They were assigning rooms to. Guest that were already occupied. So. People were walking into other peoples rooms. They weren't able to assign keys to rooms so each room got a master key that could unlock anyone's room.....Yes! You heard me and it was like that the entire 3 days I was there.

The toilet had issues flushing, had to fill the tank with water several times.

Location was great, near beach. Room OK, usual standard room, deluxe room meant ground floor. Stayed only one night as just passing thru with granddaughters. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We really liked the breakfast.

Hotel was very accommodating!! Went out of there way to make things right

everything was good they fixed the problems we had . This was a good value for the price. the free drinks and bikes and breakfast was good. I would stay there again

Nice hotel and was a short walk to the ocean. They are in the middle of a major remodel but this did not affect the stay.

Sadler Road Fernandina Beach FL

Hotel highlights

  • Free hot/cold buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Pool bar

Located within a mile (2 km) of Island Falls Golf, Ocean Coast Hotel at the Beach is within 3 miles (5 km) of Fernandina Beach Main Beach Park. This 135-room, 3-star hotel welcomes guests with free breakfast, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Free hot/cold buffet breakfast is included with your stay and is served from 6 AM to 9 AM. At the end of the day, unwind with a drink at the bar/lounge.


Rooms

Ocean Coast Hotel at the Beach's 135 rooms are air-conditioned and provide microwaves, refrigerators, and free local calls. 42-inch flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Ironing boards and desks are also standard.


Property features

Ocean Coast Hotel at the Beach features karaoke, an outdoor pool, and a fitness center. If you decide to drive, there's free parking. Front-desk staff can answer questions 24/7, and assist with securing valuables, concierge services, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include outdoor tennis courts, free WiFi in public areas, and a 24-hour business center.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Room, 2 Double Beds

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Suite, Kitchenette

King 1 | Sleeps 5

Premium Room, 2 Double Beds, Pool View

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Ocean Coast Hotel at the Beach

Everyone (14) Couples (1)
4
Everyone

Great place to stay. Only down side was room 228 was in back of hotel and patrons were VERY LOUD AND NOISY PLAYING BASS MUSIC THAT ROCKED THE WALLS OF THE ROOM.

By , from Atlanta on Oct 18, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 21, 2019

Thank you for staying with us and your feedback, AmethystRose. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

3
Everyone

By on Sep 30, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 3, 2019

Hi there, Thank you for staying with us and your review. We are sorry you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We are updating our hotel daily, interior and exterior, and do hope you will stay with us again once our updates are complete!

4
Everyone

By on May 18, 2019

Review comment responded on May 19, 2019

Hi there, Thank you for staying with us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

2
Family with small children

Stay here for the location - close to the beach - and the price which is lower than surrounding hotels. Be aware that the hotel itself leaves a lot to be desired. Room was dirty, missing sheets, microwave had melted food in it, telephones weren't working. Also people sitting outside their rooms drinking and smoking all night who harassed me as I left in the morning. Staff seems to be working hard and updates are coming. But was lacking from the start - hard to find as it is no longer called the Breakwater Hotel.

By , from Ann Arbor, MI on Apr 15, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 15, 2019

Hello Michael, Thank you for staying with us and your feedback. We are sorry to hear you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We are updating our hotel daily and hope you will stay with us once our updates are complete.

2
Family with small children

Love the location. The hotel is a dump with dirty rooms

By on Apr 14, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 15, 2019

Hi there, Thank you for staying with us and your feedback. We are sorry to hear you were not happy with your stay. We are updating our hotel daily, having recently replaced guest room flooring, mattresses and box springs and will be updating guest room bathrooms and furniture in the near future. We do hope you will stay with us again once all our updates are complete.

4
Family with small children

It had a large pool advertised as heated but it wasn’t. I saw a bunch of bikes and ocean gear people were using. Good place to stay for the money we spent.

By on Apr 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 8, 2019

Hi there, Thank you for staying with us and your review! We are sorry to say that our pool heater recently broke and we currently repairing it. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

2
Partner Couples

no elevators, outside walkways, paper thin rooms and room configurations

By on Apr 3, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 3, 2019

Hi there, Thank you for staying with us and your feedback. We are sorry to hear you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We are updating our hotel daily and do hope you will stay with us again once our updates are complete!

1
Everyone

I come to Florida for several weeks every February, and have stayed at this place every year except last when you were closed. I read your general letter to your patrons when I checked in on Monday and believe that you sincerely do wish your patrons to be please. In that spirit, I offer the following for your consideration. First, I made these (and all other) reservations through Orbitz. Although the listed cost for this lodging was something like $65 per night, I was also charged a daily amenity fee of some $22 per day when I checked in. I now see that this contingency is mentioned on the Orbitz description, but is is a rather less-than-straightforward manner to list total costs. I paid these fees because I try to remain stress-free on my trips down here; $100 is of no consequence. Let me start by saying that my room was #111; the bed was excellent and the shower was hot. Two of the most important things I have come to expect. That’s the good part. The less than flattering aspect of my input includes the following: 1) One of the two 110v receptacles was dead (Bill, the service guy, concurred). I needed one for my computer, and that meant I had to unplug the icebox and plug the TV into that receptacle so I could use the other (closer to the room desk) for my computer. Hence, no icebox during my stay. 2) The compressor on the air conditioner is loud; I had to get by with the fan. 3) The exhaust fan in the bathroom is either badly out of balance or needs a bearing

By , from Erieville, NY on Feb 10, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 14, 2019

Hello Bruce, Thank you for staying with us again and your feedback. We feature our resort fee on each listing of our hotel, including Orbitz, and cannot control where the online travel agents list the information. We have shared your feedback with their development team. We have had our maintenance team look into the issues in your guest room and are in the process of fixing them. We are updating our hotel daily, including our guest rooms, and do hope you will stay with us again when you return to the area.

2
Everyone

Toilet was not working enter the room left a plunger which did not clear. Moved to a different room which was a smoking and pet room checkout a day early.

By on Jan 1, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 2, 2019

Hello there, Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Our hotel is non-smoking, including our guest rooms. We are updating our hotel daily and do hope you will stay with us again once our updates are complete.

3
Everyone

The room had a broken door safety lock which had been ignored for some time The 70s popcorn ceiling was missing a lot of paint and looked trashy. The hot tub was hidden in back. Breakfast was only some of the items they advertised, apparently no sausage or bacon. Their guests were a lot of drunken journeymen who slam truck doors and yell all night. It looked like a meth cook convention. The phone in the room rang one ring all night The location was in fact right near the beach and they did have bikes board and beach chairs a plenty. The rooms were clean. Not a great place to relax persay

By on Nov 11, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 12, 2018

Hi there, Thank you for staying with us and your feedback! We are sorry to hear you did not completely enjoy your stay with us. We are updating our hotel daily, interior and exterior, and do hope you will stay with us again once our updates are complete!

Ocean Coast Hotel at the Beach

2707 Sadler Road, Fernandina Beach, FL 32034
url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Amelia-Island-Hotels-Ocean-Coast-Hotel-at-the-Beach.h21729112-p2.Hotel-Reviews