Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Extended Stay America - Houston - Med Ctr-NRG Park-Fannin

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

With an event going on at nrg. This hotel decided to rent out the parking lot for the event. Which made it impossible for parking for anyone who was staying the night at the hotel. I didn't get to park anywhere close to my room. Keep that I'm mind of you're staying the same night as am event at nrg.

You will get everything you need, including a microwave and refrigerator. BUT there are some things you should know about. In my room, the tub was peeling like crazy. It seriously needs to be refinished. I imagine that sanitation is an issue because of this. Plus, the tub faucet was running. It just wouldn’t shut off. My tv remote never once worked. I ran into an unexpected issue because I came back late from the rodeo one night and my key wouldn’t work. This was after I had already been in my room for well over 24 hours. Upon checkout, I was told that it’s an incredibly sensitive key. Even your smart key for your car will make it not work. I found this interesting. I stay at motels all of the country constantly. No one else has this issue. I think what actually happened is that they programmed my key for one night, instead of two nights. It seems like they were just trying to make up an excuse, rather than apologizing. I found out the hard way that the emergency phone next to the office does not work. Thank God security was available to help me get into my room. I don’t know what I would’ve done otherwise. The room my needs, but it was a little gross in the bathroom. I did have a couple roaches, which is expected for that area of Houston.

Even after calling ahead to confirm our 2 rooms when we got there they told us they were overbooked. They said it was Orbitz fault. I believe it was both Orbitz and the hotels fault. I will not be using Orbitz again.

AC was falling out of the wall. In room phone didn’t work. Toilet was disgusting, bed/pillows/comforter were really bad. Fridge leaked water on the floor.

Clean comfortable friendly staff great location would stay here in the future and tell all my friends quiet peaceful

If you have expectations of ease of check-in, rooms that you reserved well in advance to be there when you arrive, being check into an unoccupied room (very scary, this is unacceptable in regards to keeping your guests, and their property safe, and is the reason I will never, ever stay at a property owned by ESH Hospitality, Inc. again), being checked into a clean room, front desk answering your calls, properly maintained rooms, towels without hair and holes, soap that isn't better suited for a wax hockey puck, amenities as advertised, responsive General Managers or internet service, this hotel is not for you. Great location entirely offset by the lack of care from the top down at this property. I've never been so disappointed in a hotel in my life. ESH Hospitality, Inc. should be ashamed, as should the General Manager of this property. They don't seem to care about the guests or their welfare or even earning money for rooms that could have been sold if they had been cleaned. I don't normally waste my time writing reviews, but people should be aware of the risks they are taking when they choose to stay here.

One Person on staff that was checking people in, answering the phone, swapping out towels and even cleaning rooms that were still dirty. People complained that they got a room that was already occupied. Others complaining that their room was dirty. I finally got my room and sure enough it was both occupied and dirty. I advised the only person working about my situation however she was extremely overwhelmed with with other guests complaining about the same thing. It was rough! Never staying there again! Shame on the management for only having one person working on a NFL football game night. Very poorly run facility.

Super disappointed!! Even though I had advanced booking , still when I arrived there, they said they were over booked and didn't have my money back. NEither the room. I told the representative to let me talk to their manager and manager was not available, neither they have called !!!!

The first thing I noticed about the room was the extra lock latch was missing from the door. The A/C wouldn't blow cold unless it was set in the 60's, and only made it cool if you were in the bed. Everywhere else in the room was warm and stagnant. The bathtub had a continuous drip, which left the tub stained, the shower curtain was stained at the bottom from not being cleaned. It was such a small room and a uncomfortable stay. I would not recommend it to anyone. It wasn't worth the price. But it is within walking distance to NRG stadium and the light rail, which you can hear dinging when it passes.

I went down for the football game. It was in walking distance, room was decent. Staff was great.

bring your own towel, hotel provided one towel for 2 nights for two people, when we asked for another was told they were out of towels. mold on ac, easy to clean but not my job

I have stayed in this hotel before. You get what you pay for but last year it seemed cleaner and better kept up than this year. If it was the same amount of drop in cleanliness next year, I wouldn't stay there again. It is very convenient to NRG convention and the stadium.

This hotel has extremely poor quality, compared with other Extended Stay of America chain hotels or even with other 2-star hotels. I had stayed in other Estended Stay hotels many times, and this hotel is not even close. 1. Be aware this hotel does not provide daily housekeeping service. We stayed for 5 days and never had housekeeping. We had to travel to the office for exchanging towels everyday. Of course, there was no linen change. The first day, we were told that the towels are not ready and come back later. We had to re-visit the office three times (around 4:00PM, 7:00PM and finally 10:00PM). The staff never apologized for this inconvenience, and just kept saying to come back. One day, we returned our towels in the morning and asked for bring new ones during the day, because we were going to come back to the hotel by midnight. The staff answered yes, and of course it never happened. 2. Corridors and stairs were dirty and never swept for our whole 5-day stay. Orange peels, cigarette butts, straws were there for our whole stay. 3. During the day, the trash cans (under the stairs) are full and stinky. I guess the trash are picked up in the evening or so. 4. The staff are extremely unprofessional and unfriendly. I visited the office everyday for towels and it ALWAYS was unhappy and uncomfortable to talk with the staff. In particular, Deianara (I can't recall her spelling) needs re-education (if such a thing exists) for how to talk to customers correctly and politely. 5. The room was far, far away from being clean or sanitary. The bathroom seems to never be bleached or scrubbed, and stained brown. There is a toilet plunger in the bathroom, which was disgusting. 6. The room was infested with bugs, mosquitos (the Texas-size ones). 7. The kitchen was not equipped with anything. No spoons, no pots, no pans. Nothing. Of course, the fridge was filthy and the top was covered with thick dusts.

After driving about 1000 miles and arriving at the hotel just before midnight, I checked in and went up to my room. I was apalled by the odor, a very heavy cigarette smell, and the condition of the room. I will spare you the gross details, so let's just say it wasn't serviced. I went back to the front desk and there were no more rooms available for the night and i was offered no assistance in finding other accomodations. After calling about 6 nearby hotels from the parking lot, I finally found a very nice room, but for more than double the price! I have many "adventures" when traveling, but this was just a BAD experience.

All in all, it is a good deal for the price. The location was convenient for my needs. They could throw some fabric softener in with the sheets and towels as they were scratchy. The pillows were uncomfortable as well as they were flat and kind of lumpy.

Even if you are on a budget I wouldn't stay here. Spend an extra $15 to stay in a nicer room/hotel somewhere else. Stayed with my 8 year son one night for a Mother's Day vacation for the weekend and he said it "s*Cked, we should have stayed at LaQuinta Mom?" Room too small for the price and not clean enough. No amenities...thank gosh I brought my own or they just didn't put any?...breakfast was coffee and a granola bar or an orange, lame. Poor girl at the front was alone working hard with no rooms ready an hour after check in.

Check in time was 3:00PM. We arrived at the hotel after driving 3 hours from Lake Charles, LA to Houston,TX. I have epilepsy, and cannot drive. My husband has Parkinson's Disease, which is why we were in Houston, for an appointment Monday 28th, with his neurologist at UT Physicians. He can barely drive the 3 hour trip without having extreme tremors. We arrived in the hotel lobby at 2:55PM. We were told we could not check in for at least an hour and a half, because only two maids showed up for work that day. We had to find somewhere to go, with my husband having Parkinson's tremors and diskenisas, until someone from the hotel cleaned a room for us! That is totally unacceptable! Sick in Houston, Susan Landry

Very clean room. No odd smell. Great room rates. Near the Medical center and Reliant stadium

Clean neat, an absolutely perfect location for us. A trifle small, but no bother. Only complaint: the resident below our 2nd floor room was a smoker & our room smelled a bit, but the weather was pleasant, we opened the windows and it aired out quickly and we'll.

When I arrived at about 9:45 pm. I had to wait about an hour before the clerk finished with a customer getting 4 rooms. Once I was able to inquire about my room the clerk told me she tried to contact me to let me know my reservation has been transferred to Braeswood. So this review is actually for the Braeswood location. My overall stay was good. The bed was kind of too firm but tolerable. Aside from housekeeping knocking on my door at 8 a.m. the staff was great.

7979 Fannin St Houston TX

Hotel highlights

  • Free on-the-go breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Laundry facilities

Extended Stay America - Houston - Med Ctr-NRG Park-Fannin places you within 3 miles (5 km) of popular attractions like Houston Zoo and Houston Natural Science Museum. This hotel has 154 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking. It's also close to Children's Museum of Houston and Houston Maritime Museum.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free on-the-go breakfast offered each morning.


Rooms

The 154 air-conditioned rooms feature kitchens with refrigerators, microwaves, and stovetops. 32-inch flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Coffee makers, free local calls, and ironing boards are other standard amenities. Weekly housekeeping is available.


Property features

Renovated in 2012, Extended Stay America - Houston - Med Ctr-NRG Park-Fannin offers free WiFi in public areas, coffee in a common area, and laundry facilities. You can take advantage of free parking, along with a free area shuttle. Front-desk staff can help secure valuables, and provide local restaurant recommendations. This hotel also has barbecue grills.

Guest reviews for Extended Stay America - Houston - Med Ctr-NRG Park-Fannin

Everyone (12) Business (13) Couples (20) Family (15) Other (11) Friends (2)
2
Everyone

With an event going on at nrg. This hotel decided to rent out the parking lot for the event. Which made it impossible for parking for anyone who was staying the night at the hotel. I didn't get to park anywhere close to my room. Keep that I'm mind of you're staying the same night as am event at nrg.

By on Mar 21, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 23, 2018

Thank you for reviewing your experience at our hotel. Although you had an overall comfortable stay, we are sorry for the inconvenience with regard to parking. It is never our intention to disappoint you in any way, and we hope you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Management

3
Everyone

You will get everything you need, including a microwave and refrigerator. BUT there are some things you should know about. In my room, the tub was peeling like crazy. It seriously needs to be refinished. I imagine that sanitation is an issue because of this. Plus, the tub faucet was running. It just wouldn’t shut off. My tv remote never once worked. I ran into an unexpected issue because I came back late from the rodeo one night and my key wouldn’t work. This was after I had already been in my room for well over 24 hours. Upon checkout, I was told that it’s an incredibly sensitive key. Even your smart key for your car will make it not work. I found this interesting. I stay at motels all of the country constantly. No one else has this issue. I think what actually happened is that they programmed my key for one night, instead of two nights. It seems like they were just trying to make up an excuse, rather than apologizing. I found out the hard way that the emergency phone next to the office does not work. Thank God security was available to help me get into my room. I don’t know what I would’ve done otherwise. The room my needs, but it was a little gross in the bathroom. I did have a couple roaches, which is expected for that area of Houston.

By on Mar 20, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 22, 2018

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to know you had a pleasant visit and that you liked the kitchen amenities we have to offer. That being said, please accept our apology as well every assurance we will be working to address the concerns you outlined. We have shared your feedback with the respective teams and will certainly step up our efforts to improve our guest experience moving forward. We hope you will consider giving us another chance so we can serve you better. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1

overbooked

Everyone

Even after calling ahead to confirm our 2 rooms when we got there they told us they were overbooked. They said it was Orbitz fault. I believe it was both Orbitz and the hotels fault. I will not be using Orbitz again.

By on Feb 27, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 1, 2018

We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback, and we're sorry our hotel was overbooked and unable to accommodate you. We offer no excuses for this mix-up, and we apologize for the inconvenience. We understand the frustration and truly hope you will offer us another opportunity to serve you. Sincerely, Hotel Management 

3

hotel near nrg

Everyone

AC was falling out of the wall. In room phone didn’t work. Toilet was disgusting, bed/pillows/comforter were really bad. Fridge leaked water on the floor.

By , from houston on Feb 26, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 28, 2018

Hakeem, it is disheartening to read that we did not live up to our usual standards, and we're truly sorry your stay was less than satisfactory. We are taking appropriate steps to ensure future guests do not encounter the same issues. We hope you will accept our apologies and consider giving us another chance to show you the outstanding service that we typically provide. Sincerely, Hotel Management

5
Everyone

Clean comfortable friendly staff great location would stay here in the future and tell all my friends quiet peaceful

By on Feb 16, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 16, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share about your stay at Extended Stay America. We are thrilled to know you loved our courteous associates and that our great location was perfect for your needs. We look forward to welcoming you again the next time you visit our city. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1

concerning property

Everyone

If you have expectations of ease of check-in, rooms that you reserved well in advance to be there when you arrive, being check into an unoccupied room (very scary, this is unacceptable in regards to keeping your guests, and their property safe, and is the reason I will never, ever stay at a property owned by ESH Hospitality, Inc. again), being checked into a clean room, front desk answering your calls, properly maintained rooms, towels without hair and holes, soap that isn't better suited for a wax hockey puck, amenities as advertised, responsive General Managers or internet service, this hotel is not for you. Great location entirely offset by the lack of care from the top down at this property. I've never been so disappointed in a hotel in my life. ESH Hospitality, Inc. should be ashamed, as should the General Manager of this property. They don't seem to care about the guests or their welfare or even earning money for rooms that could have been sold if they had been cleaned. I don't normally waste my time writing reviews, but people should be aware of the risks they are taking when they choose to stay here.

By on Oct 13, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 15, 2017

We are disheartened to read your review. Please accept our sincere apology for the problems you encountered. You deserved a comfortable and stress-free stay, and we did not live up to your expectations. We will personally address these issues with the appropriate teams to ensure happy guests is our number one priority. We truly regret the inconvenience caused and please consider us again so that we can restore your faith in our hotel and provide you with the hospitality you should always expect from us. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1

game night and only 1 person on staff.

Everyone

One Person on staff that was checking people in, answering the phone, swapping out towels and even cleaning rooms that were still dirty. People complained that they got a room that was already occupied. Others complaining that their room was dirty. I finally got my room and sure enough it was both occupied and dirty. I advised the only person working about my situation however she was extremely overwhelmed with with other guests complaining about the same thing. It was rough! Never staying there again! Shame on the management for only having one person working on a NFL football game night. Very poorly run facility.

By , from Harlingen on Oct 10, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 12, 2017

Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We sincerely apologize for the cleanliness and service issues you experienced during your stay. This is certainly not acceptable and will be working with the appropriate department heads to see where we fell short and to ensure it does not happen again. We are really sorry for your experience and hope you will consider giving us another opportunity so that we can provide you with an improved visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1

vey unprofessional,

Everyone

Super disappointed!! Even though I had advanced booking , still when I arrived there, they said they were over booked and didn't have my money back. NEither the room. I told the representative to let me talk to their manager and manager was not available, neither they have called !!!!

By , from a on Jul 13, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 17, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We take these matters very seriously and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a better stay in the future. General Manager

2

wouldn't recommend this place

Everyone

The first thing I noticed about the room was the extra lock latch was missing from the door. The A/C wouldn't blow cold unless it was set in the 60's, and only made it cool if you were in the bed. Everywhere else in the room was warm and stagnant. The bathtub had a continuous drip, which left the tub stained, the shower curtain was stained at the bottom from not being cleaned. It was such a small room and a uncomfortable stay. I would not recommend it to anyone. It wasn't worth the price. But it is within walking distance to NRG stadium and the light rail, which you can hear dinging when it passes.

By , from Houston, TX on Jul 9, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 12, 2017

Ashlie, although difficult to know, candid reviews such as yours make us refocus our efforts to create a better stay experience for our guests, and we sincerely apologize for the issues in your suite. We have a duty to follow the processes in place to ensure each guest suite is well maintained. Additionally, we have a responsibility to place a suite in an out-of-order status as necessary when it does not meet our standards. Unfortunately, we missed something during this process, and for that we truly regret. We are terribly sorry you had an uncomfortable stay, and please give us another chance to serve you better in the future. Sincerely, General Manager

3

good deal for the price.

Everyone

I went down for the football game. It was in walking distance, room was decent. Staff was great.

By , from Detroit Michigan on Nov 1, 2016