Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

This has been the worse service I’ve ever had. People loitering all around the building. The property was not clean looking.

I liked that it was close to town and the price was extremely good. I did not like that there was no microwave or refrigerator. Beds were very good for price point. I travel every week for work and most beds for this price are terrible. Also, great water pressure in shower.

Room price was cheap for the area. I liked the hard faux-wood floors much better than carpet. Our room didn't have a fridge or microwave (I didn't even think to ask ahead of time, as I thought those were pretty ubiquitous these days... I'll know in the future). The staff was pleasant, though I went to the lobby for help with something and they said they would come by my room shortly, and when I called down an hour later I was told they forgot. The hotel seems to be very popular with smokers. Curiously, there is a bulletproof bank-teller-style window on the lobby that is used after hours... I'm not sure if it is indicative of past/current problems, but that's the first time I've ever stayed at a hotel that had one.

There was trash under bed room smelled awful we turned on light and power went out

Room smelled like smoke, very old and you could see light coming in underneath the door when it was closed. Air conditioner compressor sounded like a truck revving his motor.

The room we were given at first was not made and the room was filthy. Our host whom was on call was VERY PLEASANT & compensated us. We ended up staying and it ended up turning out to being a pleasant stay all because of this staff member. Thank you. Tim & Marilyn

.Convenient location Clean Rooms, Overly Friendly Staff.

Nice staff. Quiet place. I like the seclusion of it

It was a last minute trip and it was ok and regular

I showed up after lobby was closed and handed a key in a flooded vending room, which I can live with. Went to room and it smelled like cheap oniony fast food with empty wrappings and cups and a bed clearly slept in as the bedding was pulled and rumpled half way down on one side. Towels on floor and other plastic bags full of trash. Gross. No other room available. This at 2am. I had called two times making sure my time of arrival was ok which they assured me it was. This was not the problem. The problem was a football game was in that town and no other hotel had a room that would allow one pet, a medium size dog. This is why we booked ahead, to avoid. I still have not been credited for a night where I had to sleep in a McDonnalds parking lot in my Prius with my daughter and a dog. Greenville was not in my forecast, neither was sleep.

No lotion, no otherfull facility, no breakfast, the houskeeper they don't understand about the D.&D. otherthan this which its good.

It was greate moment and best location, i Have been there For morthan two weeks So i realy like it. The only bad news about this Hotle BreakFast.

Greate front desk special at the morning and night its wonderful

Its nice Hotle just they don't have a breakfast at the morning so be prepare when reseve a Room here.

Well no breakFast otherthan this its verry good and quite

No breakfast On this Hotel Other than Everything else is VERY good

No Firige and microwave the one I stayed.no breakfast. Otherthan that its Good and qquite.

I stay in red roof because they are pet friendly and represent very good value in my opinion. This particular red roof is very quiet, well lit, and has very friendly and responsive staff.

Vision Court Greenville SC

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • 24-hour front desk

Located within a leisurely stroll of CU Intl. Center for Automotive Research, Red Roof Inn Greenville is within a few miles (5 km) of Gower Estates Park. This 108-room motel welcomes guests with conveniences like free in-room WiFi, free self parking, and coffee/tea in a common area.


Dining

Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room.


Rooms

Red Roof Inn Greenville's 108 rooms provide coffee makers, free local calls, and desks. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and 37-inch flat-screen TVs with satellite channels and pay movies. Other standard amenities include video-game consoles and free toiletries.


Property features

Guests of Red Roof Inn Greenville enjoy free WiFi in public areas, coffee in a common area, and a vending machine. There's free parking if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with sightseeing, directions, and local dining recommendations. This smoke-free motel also has a TV in a common area.

Room options

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Business Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking (Roll-In Shower)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Business Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Red Roof Inn Greenville

Everyone (32) Couples (10) Business (10) Family (12) Other (9) Friends (5)
3
Everyone

By on Feb 21, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 22, 2020

Thank you for your rating. We are glad your overall visit was pleasant and hope to have a chance to make your next stay a much better one. Naren Vivek, General Manager

1
Family Friends

This has been the worse service I’ve ever had. People loitering all around the building. The property was not clean looking.

By on Jan 29, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 1, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We strive to deliver exceptional service consistently, so we apologize that you had a disappointing experience with us. Your feedback is important to us, and we will use it to improve our services going forward. We are truly sorry for the problems you experienced, and we hope you will give us the chance to make it up to you at a future date. Naren Vivek, General Manager

3
Business Business

I liked that it was close to town and the price was extremely good. I did not like that there was no microwave or refrigerator. Beds were very good for price point. I travel every week for work and most beds for this price are terrible. Also, great water pressure in shower.

By on Dec 8, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 8, 2019

Thank you for writing a review of your recent visit to our hotel. We are glad you found us to be a good value and that you liked our convenient location and comfortable beds. However, we are sorry you felt your room did not have the amenities that you desired. For future reference, we do have rooms that include items such as a microwave and refrigerator, and we will gladly assist you in selecting one that will better meet your needs. It was our pleasure hosting you, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Naren Vivek, General Manager

3
Family Family with small children Partner Couples Family

Room price was cheap for the area. I liked the hard faux-wood floors much better than carpet. Our room didn't have a fridge or microwave (I didn't even think to ask ahead of time, as I thought those were pretty ubiquitous these days... I'll know in the future). The staff was pleasant, though I went to the lobby for help with something and they said they would come by my room shortly, and when I called down an hour later I was told they forgot. The hotel seems to be very popular with smokers. Curiously, there is a bulletproof bank-teller-style window on the lobby that is used after hours... I'm not sure if it is indicative of past/current problems, but that's the first time I've ever stayed at a hotel that had one.

By on Oct 20, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 21, 2019

Thank you for being our guest. Although you were impressed with our affordable prices, we are sorry for not meeting some of your expectations. Your comments have been shared with the appropriate teams to make sure we are consistent with our service delivery. We have addressed all your concerns as we are always looking to enhance our future guests’ experiences. We hope you will give us a second chance to deliver the type of experience you should always expect from us. Naren Vivek, General Manager

1
Partner Couples Family

There was trash under bed room smelled awful we turned on light and power went out

By on Sep 12, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 13, 2019

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are sorry for the difficulties you had in your room and regret the inconvenience it caused. Your feedback concerning the cleanliness and the unpleasant smell in your room has been shared with our housekeeping team to make sure we are consistent with our service delivery. We do hope you will choose us another time so we can provide you with a much more satisfying experience. Naren Vivek, General Manager

3
Family

Room smelled like smoke, very old and you could see light coming in underneath the door when it was closed. Air conditioner compressor sounded like a truck revving his motor.

By on Aug 25, 2019

2
Family Family with small children Friends Family

The room we were given at first was not made and the room was filthy. Our host whom was on call was VERY PLEASANT & compensated us. We ended up staying and it ended up turning out to being a pleasant stay all because of this staff member. Thank you. Tim & Marilyn

By , from Greenville SC on Mar 8, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 9, 2019

Dear Marilyn, We thank you for being our guest. We offer our sincere apologies for the condition of your room when you arrived. Our associates place great emphasis on maintaining fresh and clean accommodations, and we regret this was not the case with your room. Our goal is to provide each guest with an excellent experience, so we appreciate you mentioning how promptly we were able to resolve this concern to your satisfaction for an enjoyable stay after all. We hope you will choose us again the next time your travels bring you to our area. We wish you all the best with your travels. Naren Vivek General Manager

5
Business Business

.Convenient location Clean Rooms, Overly Friendly Staff.

By on Feb 26, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 27, 2019

Thank you for your wonderful review of Red Roof Inn Greenville. We are glad to know you liked our terrific location and that your spotless room made your stay more comfortable. It was a pleasure serving you, and we look forward to hosting you again soon. Naren Vivek, General Manager

4
Everyone

Nice staff. Quiet place. I like the seclusion of it

By on Dec 13, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 14, 2018

Thank you for choosing the Red Roof Inn Greenville. We are delighted to read our staff was attentive to your needs and made you feel at home. Your business is appreciated, and we look forward to hosting you back soon. Naren Vivek, General Manager

4
Everyone

It was a last minute trip and it was ok and regular

By on Dec 9, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 10, 2018

Thank you for making the Red Roof Inn Greenville a part of your travel plans. We appreciate your nice rating and are glad you had a comfortable stay. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to your next visit. Naren Vivek, General Manager

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Greenville-Hotels-Red-Roof-Inn-Greenville.h3451-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Greenville-Hotels-Red-Roof-Inn-Greenville.h3451-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Greenville-Hotels-Red-Roof-Inn-Greenville.h3451-p2.Hotel-Reviews