Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95)

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Great Price. Fast check in and check out process. Breakfast area had ok selections. Bed was very comfortable. I am a clean freak, room was decently screen not spotless, but good enough to sleep in. Hard towels. Really hot shower a plus!

Very nice and accommodating place! Matt B was our check in host and has excellent customer interaction skills, and very friendly young man...KUDO's to Matt! The rest of the staff was also very nice, even checking with guests during breakfast to see how things were! Of course the all day cookies and coffee, along with pool and hot tub (super strong jets!) were a nice add to the place. Nice well kept grounds and just a nice nights stay....we would DEFINITELY STAY here again.

Air was broke for first three nights,didn't get fixed until the night before check out, so room was stuffy. Hotel is pretty dated. Drug dealers and prostitues roaming down the street.

Honestly seemed like a very busy motel and over used. Needs redoing! Room smelled of smoke and I was afraid of bed bug being there because it looked so run down.

Front desk personnel could use more training in how to deal with difficult people.A non guest at this hotel was very disruptive for over an hour in the lobby and breakfast area @8am She was very loud and was cursing on her cell phone about her problems and then trying to get a taxi immediately Employee did ask her to keep it down There were 3-10 paying guests around disgusted

Driving from NJ to NC I stopped here halfway. The bed was SO comfortable, room was clean, and breakfast isn't bad!! I will stay here again!

What more can I say The ratings above speak for themselves !!!

Stopped midway from NC to MY. Easy check-in, clean room and comfy bed

Polite staff. Good location. Breakfast was not very good but the all day cookies made up for that.

Great people! Just needs an update, but clean. Breakfast was good every day.

There are several cheap hotels in the area but believe me, you will get what you paid for. I could tell you some horrible stories about my stays in low cost hotels in the region. But since I found this Country Inn I only stay there. It is really like a family owned hotel, it is not new but everything is nice, clean and the staff will do everything they can to make your stay as comfortable as possible. To me, always a five star.

Very nice and welcoming. Cookies and herbal tea before bed was nice. Quiet and comfortable beds. Perfect location off 95.

Staff was very nice. There were spiders in the room, so not to comforting. Beds were very comfortable, but the bathrooms were a little small.

We stopped here during a road trip. Checked in at 11pm with no trouble. Desk clerk friendly and helpful. It was everything we needed for a nights stay. The area seemed safe. The room was clean and the bed was more comfortable than mine at home! The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Ice cold water and fresh cookies available in lobby at all times. My old complaint is there was no fan in the bathroom causing the room to smell musty and everything feel a bit damp. Once we got the AC going though the problem was resolved. Pool could use some updating too but was still useable and seemed clean.

The staff at the front desk not friendly neither had the willingness to help, i saw and hear the way they lied to a customer

In town to visit with a new infant grandson and his family. Have stayed here several times in the past. The room rate was very reasonable for the accommodations. The thermostat in our room had no control over the temperature however the temp was fine most of the time.

great to bring the pooch to! close to our son's home

I had to book this room on the day of my trip. It was discounted (big bonus) and convenient to my location. I arrived after 9pm and had no issues with check in. The room was exactly as described and was clean. Staff was helpful and courteous. Would stay again.

The room was very spacouse, the breakfast was nice as well as cookie in the lobby

We stayed here overnight while visiting friends in the area. The room was very comfortable, and clean. Would stay here again.

Room options

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave

Queen 2 | Sleeps 5

Studio Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 5

King, Suite, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson

Everyone (14) Couples (32) Business (7) Family (25) Friends (4) Other (2)
5

hurricane irma evacuees

Everyone

Great Price. Fast check in and check out process. Breakfast area had ok selections. Bed was very comfortable. I am a clean freak, room was decently screen not spotless, but good enough to sleep in. Hard towels. Really hot shower a plus!

By on Sep 12, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 17, 2017

Thank you for your business, review and feedback. We proudly welcomed any guests that were unfortunately evacuated due to Irma and glad that you were safe during this storm, it was our pleasure to provide some comforts of home during this time. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the guestroom and cleanliness met your expectations. We hope that you were able to return home safely and we continue to keep all Floridians in our thoughts as they make the long journey back home.

4

nice first time visit

Everyone

Very nice and accommodating place! Matt B was our check in host and has excellent customer interaction skills, and very friendly young man...KUDO's to Matt! The rest of the staff was also very nice, even checking with guests during breakfast to see how things were! Of course the all day cookies and coffee, along with pool and hot tub (super strong jets!) were a nice add to the place. Nice well kept grounds and just a nice nights stay....we would DEFINITELY STAY here again.

By , from Cola, SC on Aug 25, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 28, 2017

Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson family! We are delighted to see as a first time guest our hotel that you enjoyed your stay and found the location, customer service, amenities and extra touches exceeded your expectations. We are reviewing plans for future upgrades which will include expanding the breakfast area, we hope to start early next year. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our location and other Country Inn's during your travels.

3
Everyone

Air was broke for first three nights,didn't get fixed until the night before check out, so room was stuffy. Hotel is pretty dated. Drug dealers and prostitues roaming down the street.

By , from savannah ga on Jul 3, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 6, 2017

Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room due to the air unit malfunctioning. We could have provided you with a fan to help cool the room (based on availability) or looked for another room. We are excited to announce future upgrades and improvements are coming soon. While we can't take back this experience, we hope you consider a future stay so we can provide better service.

2

seemed run down and the room rebaked of smoke.

Business Travelers

Honestly seemed like a very busy motel and over used. Needs redoing! Room smelled of smoke and I was afraid of bed bug being there because it looked so run down.

By , from GA on Jun 4, 2017

Review comment responded on Jun 6, 2017

We are sorry to hear this was the impression you were left with from your recent stay and we did not meet your expectations better. We are a non smoking hotel and it is disappointing that others smoke in the room, thanks for letting us know, we'll do our best to remove the odor. We are very clean hotel with great customer service and always happy to assist our guests to make sure they have a great stay. We are updating the guestrooms later this year into early 2018. We are looking forward to sharing the upgrades with our valued guests. Thank you for your time.

4
Everyone

Front desk personnel could use more training in how to deal with difficult people.A non guest at this hotel was very disruptive for over an hour in the lobby and breakfast area @8am She was very loud and was cursing on her cell phone about her problems and then trying to get a taxi immediately Employee did ask her to keep it down There were 3-10 paying guests around disgusted

By on Apr 26, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 28, 2017

We appreciate your feedback and certainly apologize for the disruption. We had no idea she would use profanity and when we approached her twice to ask her to please quiet her voice or step outside for the remaining of the call, it aggravated the situation further and we decided it was best to give her space. Unfortunately, even with all our training, sometimes the best way to diffuse a situation is to step back and let it work itself out, we are sorry you and the other guests had to endure that.

4

pick this hotel

Everyone

Driving from NJ to NC I stopped here halfway. The bed was SO comfortable, room was clean, and breakfast isn't bad!! I will stay here again!

By , from fayetteville nc on Apr 22, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 24, 2017

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel as your half way stop during your travels. We are pleased to hear the comfortable bed, good breakfast and location were ideal for your needs and you had an enjoyable stay. The best compliment we can receive is a repeat guest, we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

5
Everyone

What more can I say The ratings above speak for themselves !!!

By on Jan 26, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 27, 2017

Thank you, we appreciate your business and review. We are very pleased to hear that you had a great stay. We hope to welcome you again during your travels.

4

stop on way from nc to nj

Everyone

Stopped midway from NC to MY. Easy check-in, clean room and comfy bed

By , from Nj on Dec 8, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 12, 2016

Thank you for selecting our Country Inn & Suites as your place to stay during your travels. We know that drive and traffic is bear, glad you took the time to rest. It was a pleasure having you as our guests, stop in anytime when you are back in the area.

4
Everyone

Polite staff. Good location. Breakfast was not very good but the all day cookies made up for that.

By on Nov 19, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 21, 2016

Thank you, our team works hard to ensure our guests are comfortable and receiving our best service. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the location & extra touches we offer like fresh bakes cookies all day met your expectations. We are sorry however breakfast was not to your liking.

4

close to fredericksburg convention center

Everyone

Great people! Just needs an update, but clean. Breakfast was good every day.

By , from p on Oct 4, 2016

Review comment responded on Oct 6, 2016

Thank you for the kind words and positive feedback for us. We are pleased to hear the convenient location, friendly staff and breakfast met your expectations. We will share this with the team as we review plans for future upgrades.