Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Historic Hollywood Beach Resort

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The property is in a defunct mall with only a handful of shops open. The rooms were poorly maintained, floors dirty, and in general need of updating/repair. The cable had been ripped out of the TV in my room and was just left lying on the floor, and the internet never stayed connected for more than 10 min at a time. The AC was a loud window unit and I found myself looking under the beds to make sure nothing would crawl out in the middle of the night. Overall a poor nights sleep and not a place I would recommend.

Poor service from the front desk to the cleaning. Fire alarms going off until 10:30 at night to boot

Noisy and a little bit dirty . Very close to the beach and entertainment

Would never stay here again! Entrance smelled like cigarettes and the rooms smelled like bug spray/ bathroom had cracked wall, chipped paint in the tub, shower head dirty/ when I opened the top of the coffee pot there was a filter left in It and a bug crawled out/ stain on the quilt/ broken blinds and closet door/ noisy portable air conditioners/stinky towels/ only 1 of 2 elevators was working very slow. The pool water was warmer than the hot tub. The front desk did try to accommodate my request to switch rooms - we saw a total of 6 rooms which were all gross! Too late in the evening to switch hotels we ended up settling for a room just to sleep in, we were out of there before 10am. They credited my card $10 resort fee, I feel they should have refunded the total or at least half of the room cost for the inconvenience and wasting my time switching rooms.

My daughter and I had a great stay at this hotel. We were very pleased with our room. This will be where we stay every year for our vacation. Thank you to the friendly staff. Special thanks to Gibel for her fenominal people skills.

Everything was dirty but the smell the roon super dirty The people hotel they don't know what to doing

Checked in on Wednesday and don't get maid service till Saturday and we checked out Sunday...hotel needs upgrades and cleanliness done. Pool supposed to be heated and it wasn't. From what other people told us it the heater broke days before we got their and it was gonna take few more days to fix it. Water was ice cold . This hotel needs new mamanagemet that can turn this around . Will not stay here again. Best thing was Francis the driver who can take you anywhere you want cheap. Very nice guy definitly will call him onour next trip to Florida! Call Francis for ride to and from airport he's the best! He works for himself not just the hotels around the area

Everything, except for the air conditioning going out mid-stay, was absolutely fantastic!

when i first walked in the hotel, there was a stinch and also carpet was dirty in the hall area. the room was nice and clean and smelled nice. the staff couldnt provide good answers to my questions.when booking the hotel i was advised it would be 150 deposit. then when i got there an additional 100 was placed on my card as a hold. i was provided with room 436 that was already occupied. i eventually got into room 722. the shuttle driver joe was awesome. he was very nice and made me feel welcomed. the other staff was mediocre.

It was a horrible expirience at this hotel my room didn't even have ac

We had a wonderful stay. The location is a perfect 10. The staff was friendly. The bed was comfortable. The pool is excellent! It's old (thus the name historic) so there is a mildew smell. We bought a scented candle. Problem solved. The a/c works great. It was 90 degrees everyday. Tv was good. The only problem is the old musty smell and the dated bathroom. If they replaced the carpet in the halls, that would be a huge plus. But there's 24 hour security there. I always felt safe. Pretty good place overall.

The room was great and very spacious. It even had a kitchenette! We enjoyed everything except the lobby/downstairs area. That was the only disappointing thing, as it was a bit run down and barren.

We stay here several times a year because it is the cheapest, most tolerable oceanfront hotel with a pool in South FL. It is "historic" so it is a very old building, but SG Resorts is trying to fix it up. Our bed collapsed. We had to hold it up with a suitcase. The first day, the maid came to clean our room at 6pm! I asked everyday for wash cloths, and EVERYDAY THEY SAID THEY DIDN'T HAVE ANY!!! There were NO BUGS. The exterminators came while we were there. The room had a full size fridge, microwave, and oven burners, but no actual oven. At 9AM, some serious construction began in the room next to us - INTENSE HAMMERING AND DRILLING and lasted all day. Valet is $25/day and $40/day on holidays. The garage is $18/day. Make sure to prepay so you can go in and out. While our room did not smell like cigarettes, the hallway did...most likely because of permanent residents there. They recently got a fitness room and a business room. The gym equipment is very outdated, obviously passed down from another gym, but the room is large with quite a few cardio and weight machines. Checkout is at 11am, but they let us stay 'till noon at no extra charge. They said we were free to use the pool if we wanted and could shower in the fitness room. If you leave something in the room, regardless of the value, you have to tell them the exact day you were there and the exact room. After two months, the maid who found it gets to keep it. They don't have a simple "Lost and Found".

Cons: Room had one of those portable air conditioners with the vent out the window. Hair dryer let out burning and smoke when I turned it on. Have to pay a 10 dollar resort fee, but man, that is a loose interpretation of resort. Fire alarm went off for an hour in the middle of the day. Oh yeah and the first floor is an abandoned mall I think I saw in an episode of SVU Pros: Front desk staff was nice. There's a pool and hot tub. It's on the beach. AFFORDABLE. Close to the strips of bars and restaurants on the beach and the Broadwalk.

Well, first impression was not great because we had a room that was not so nice and the hallway was not in good shape .I spoke to the front desk employees and they were very very very nice including manager and they told me to wait for next day until guests check out .Next day I moved into a great room vey clean very white towels and sheets ( even the other room had very clean sheets and towels) and a great ocean vue.So yes o do recommend a cheap resort on the beach under 100 dollars with walking distance to everything and actually I will have my stay every time at this hotel .

reservation was for 2 nights and was changed from original date.requested ocean view as reserved in original booking.Female desk clerk was no help 10 AM. At 6pm checked in ,young man at desk gave me the ocean view just by seeing request on reservation.I never said anything to him,After a very long day I was happy to see room I was given! When I came back down to lobby I went to desk to THANK him. Nice surprise after dealing with woman in the morning who said I would have to pay 50 dollars per night for an upgrade ! I will now stay again ! After staying a few times in past.A computer system that identifies past guest would help them make educated decisions! Room Very Clean !Needed in a very old hotel with a great location! Room 634

Don't expect more than 2.5 star quality. You will be disappointed. I've been coming to this hotel for years and I like the location but I don't expect anything more than a clean bed.

Parking is expensive, The Building Is old But, the Location is perfect .It had good view. Other than that everything is perfect.

Room options

Standard Studio, 1 Queen Bed

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Standard Studio, 1 Queen Bed, Ocean View

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Standard Studio, 2 Double Beds

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Standard Studio, 2 Double Beds, Ocean View

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Historic Hollywood Beach Resort

Everyone (17) Family (1)
1

neglected and dirty

Everyone

The property is in a defunct mall with only a handful of shops open. The rooms were poorly maintained, floors dirty, and in general need of updating/repair. The cable had been ripped out of the TV in my room and was just left lying on the floor, and the internet never stayed connected for more than 10 min at a time. The AC was a loud window unit and I found myself looking under the beds to make sure nothing would crawl out in the middle of the night. Overall a poor nights sleep and not a place I would recommend.

By , from Virginia on Mar 21, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 29, 2017

Dear Alan, We were delighted to welcome you and we appreciate your sincere feedback. We regret learning that your recent stay with us fell short of your expectations as it relates to the cleaning and maintenance of your accommodations. Please accept our sincere apologies for this shortfall. We hope you were still able to enjoy some time on Hollywood Beach and made some pleasant vacation memories! Sincerely, The Historic Hollywood Beach Resort

2

cheap for a reason

Everyone

Poor service from the front desk to the cleaning. Fire alarms going off until 10:30 at night to boot

By on Mar 19, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 24, 2017

Dear Guest, We appreciate you allowing us to host you on your recent beach vacation and we thank you for your feedback. We are terribly sorry to read that your stay was disrupted by the fire alarms which were recently activated unexpectedly while some electrical work was being done. Please accept our sincere apologies for the this inconvenience. We hope the incident didn’t prevent you from enjoying the beach and boardwalk and making many pleasant memories on your vacation. Kind regards, The Historic Hollywood Beach Resort

2

very close to the beach

Everyone

Noisy and a little bit dirty . Very close to the beach and entertainment

By on Feb 25, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 1, 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for being our guest and sharing your feedback! We’re delighted that you enjoyed our oceanfront location and we hope you got to stroll along the boardwalk and take in the amazing views of the Atlantic Ocean! We also appreciate you sharing your added comments and hope you’ll come see us again so that we may have a chance to further impress you! Warm regards, The Historic Hollywood Beach Resort

1

nightmare

Everyone

Would never stay here again! Entrance smelled like cigarettes and the rooms smelled like bug spray/ bathroom had cracked wall, chipped paint in the tub, shower head dirty/ when I opened the top of the coffee pot there was a filter left in It and a bug crawled out/ stain on the quilt/ broken blinds and closet door/ noisy portable air conditioners/stinky towels/ only 1 of 2 elevators was working very slow. The pool water was warmer than the hot tub. The front desk did try to accommodate my request to switch rooms - we saw a total of 6 rooms which were all gross! Too late in the evening to switch hotels we ended up settling for a room just to sleep in, we were out of there before 10am. They credited my card $10 resort fee, I feel they should have refunded the total or at least half of the room cost for the inconvenience and wasting my time switching rooms.

By on Feb 12, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 15, 2017

Dear Guest, We thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We strive to offer comfortable rooms at low rates right on the beach, and we’re sorry if our accommodations fell short of your expectations. We appreciate you giving us a try and your flexibility in switching rooms. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to Hollywood Beach, Florida and made many pleasant vacation memories. All the best, The Historic Hollywood Beach Resort

5

hostorical beach front hotel

Everyone

My daughter and I had a great stay at this hotel. We were very pleased with our room. This will be where we stay every year for our vacation. Thank you to the friendly staff. Special thanks to Gibel for her fenominal people skills.

By , from Sand Lake, MI on Feb 7, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 15, 2017

Dear Dawn, We were delighted to welcome you for your mother/daughter getaway and we appreciate your positive review! Gibel is one of the many gems on our team and we’re so glad you enjoyed her hospitality. We’ll be sure to let her know and we will all look forward to seeing you and your daughter here again next year! All the best, The Historic Hollywood Beach Resort

1
Everyone

Everything was dirty but the smell the roon super dirty The people hotel they don't know what to doing

By on Jan 14, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 18, 2017

Dear Guest, We thank you for being our guest and taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry to see that your time with us fell short of your expectations and our own high standards, and we appreciate you letting us know so that we may have the opportunity to improve for our future guests. We hope you had a chance to enjoy our views of the Atlantic Ocean and a stroll along the beautiful beach out back while you were here. Warm regards, The Historic Hollywood Beach Resort

2

run down hotel

Everyone

Checked in on Wednesday and don't get maid service till Saturday and we checked out Sunday...hotel needs upgrades and cleanliness done. Pool supposed to be heated and it wasn't. From what other people told us it the heater broke days before we got their and it was gonna take few more days to fix it. Water was ice cold . This hotel needs new mamanagemet that can turn this around . Will not stay here again. Best thing was Francis the driver who can take you anywhere you want cheap. Very nice guy definitly will call him onour next trip to Florida! Call Francis for ride to and from airport he's the best! He works for himself not just the hotels around the area

By , from boston, ma on Nov 21, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 30, 2016

Dear Traveler, Our team values guest feedback and we thank you for sharing yours. While housekeeping service occurs daily, we have Green-Friendly initiatives in place in regard to our linen service and with that change the guest linens every second or third day, unless otherwise requested. We apologize if this was not communicated to you and thank you for letting us know. We’re so glad that you enjoyed Francis’ services and hope you made some great vacation memories! Sincerely, The Historic Hollywood Beach Resort

4

great until a/c went out

Everyone

Everything, except for the air conditioning going out mid-stay, was absolutely fantastic!

By , from South Florida on Oct 31, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 4, 2016

Dear EB, We were delighted to host you on your recent Florida vacation and we appreciate your review! It’s great to hear that you enjoyed our location (the most important part of a beach getaway!) right on the Atlantic Ocean and the boardwalk. We are SO sorry to hear that the AC in your room went out during your stay and we hope it was promptly addressed to your satisfaction. Thank you for your understanding and, again, for sharing your feedback. Please come back and see us again soon so that we can try for a flawless and memorable experience! All the best, The Historic Hollywood Beach Resort

2
Everyone

when i first walked in the hotel, there was a stinch and also carpet was dirty in the hall area. the room was nice and clean and smelled nice. the staff couldnt provide good answers to my questions.when booking the hotel i was advised it would be 150 deposit. then when i got there an additional 100 was placed on my card as a hold. i was provided with room 436 that was already occupied. i eventually got into room 722. the shuttle driver joe was awesome. he was very nice and made me feel welcomed. the other staff was mediocre.

By on Sep 20, 2016

Review comment responded on Sep 23, 2016

Dear Guest, We were delighted to welcome you and we appreciate you sharing feedback about your stay with us. Joe is a wonderful example of exceptional service and we’re so happy to read that you enjoyed his hospitality! We have shared your feedback with him and he was glowing with pride to know he was mentioned in your review. We’re terribly sorry to hear about the confusion you experienced at check-in and regarding the deposit. We will review both topics with our team to ensure that situations like these are not repeated. We thank you again for bringing it to our attention and hope we have the pleasure of hosting you on your next trip to Florida so that we may have another opportunity to impress you! Warm regards, The Historic Hollywood Beach Resort

1

horrible

Everyone

It was a horrible expirience at this hotel my room didn't even have ac

By on Sep 18, 2016

Review comment responded on Sep 20, 2016

Dear Guest, Our hotel team values guest feedback and we thank you for sharing yours. We’re terribly sorry to see that you experienced an issue with the AC in your room, and we regret that it wasn’t resolved promptly to your satisfaction. We can assure you that this is not a typical occurrence, and we offer our sincere apologies for the inconvenience. We hope you were still able to enjoy some sun and sand on the beach and make some good memories on your vacation! Best regards, The Historic Hollywood Beach Resort