Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

I have stayed here before and must say I like it very much The location and grounds are superb. The service is attentive and very friendly . The rooms are of high quality with furniture to match the elegance of the house and with bang up to date bathrooms The Stables Restaurant is informal with a good selection of food for dinner and with beer from the hotel's micro brewery A small downside is that you have a short walk to get from the hotel to the restaurant The Eden Restaurant where you have breakfast is an elegant dining room with friendly service provided by mostly local ladies who go out of their way to see you are well fed and watered The hotel was very busy indicating a deserved popularity

Just returned from a weekend at Beamish Hall for my sons wedding. Day went like a dream and a big thanks to all the staff who made the day special. The grounds are fabulous for taking the photos in a 17th Century back drop of Beamish Hall its self. Luckily the weather behaved itself for a short while, while we go the photos done. Breakfast and the Wedding dinner were first class. Dinned in Stables Bar Saturday night and if you are in the area this place is a must for food. Booked a Premier Room, which was large and comfortable. My only complaint was that room service came the second day while my wife was having her hair done. We has some fresh towels dropped but room maid never returned even though we said we would be 30mins. So slept in the same bedding, no fresh water or tea, coffee biscuits etc and the bathroom was full of towels. Apart from that inconvenience the stay was pleasant.

We have tried several hotels in this area and this easily is the best - very reasonable and a delicious breakfast with charming staff. We just need an overnight stay about 4 times a year and this completely fits the bill.

Great hotel which is very close to the Beamish Museum. Beautiful building with lots of original period features and in a quiet location. We stayed overnight and had afternoon tea on arrival which was very nice and was plentiful. Wouldn't say the cakes were homemade but delicious none the less. Our room was quite small but adequate and very clean. Food and a drink in the Stables restaurant was an excellent choice in the evening and not overpriced as you sometimes find in hotels. The following morning we had a great breakfast which was cooked to order and very tasty. Overall a great experience and would definitely return if in the area.

Beautiful house & grounds plus our room - room 1 a large deluxe room on ground floor. However, I thought the standard of the food in the Stables restaurant was not up to the standard expected of a good hotel, although the staff in the restaurant were extremely polite and very helpful, ensuring a dish was made which catered for my dietary requirements. Unfortunately, after eating in the restaurant, we decided to get drinks from the bar and as the bar was busy with several guests from a wedding, we took our drinks into the hotel lobby and sat on the sofas, only to be joined several minutes later by the customers from the bar, one of whom spread herself out on the arm of the sofa right next to me. I asked her if she would mind moving as the sofa was already taken, but she wouldn't move. She then stroked my hair while she was getting amorous with another wedding guest! I reported the other guest intruding on the sofa to the duty manager, and he moved the wedding party, including the offending couple, into an area reserved for them, but I didn't get the impression he was especially apologetic. Needless to say, this incident spoiled our evening. Back in our room, we encountered another issue - the washbasin wasn't draining. The same manager came and after plunging it, said, "Well you have a point about the sink." With this on top of the incident in the lobby, in a 4 star hotel where we were paying for a premium room, I felt this was poor, and said as much. The manager's response was he had apologised, but we should see Reception about compensation. When we checked out 2 days later, no concession had been made for the trouble we had encountered - I wasn't looking for a huge discount on our bill, just a small token gesture by way of apology. Had this been a basic hotel, a curt apology and fixing the matter might have sufficed, but I was expecting better at this grade of hotel (I have stayed in many different grades of hotel in several countries).

We decided to treat ourselves to afternoon tea or 'Tiffin' in the hotel. At £15 a head we were comparing to other establishments we had been and to be honest it wasn't that impressive. Some attention to detail given to presentation but this paled when the particular honey loaf cake was dry and stale. It seemed to me also that some components of the sweet selection were bought in and I would expect homemade wherever possible. Not overwhelmed..would not return as better in the area.

Hubby and I went for afternoon tea as part of our 30th wedding anniversary celebrations. Have to say the food was gorgeous. Couldn't eat it all and brought some cakes home. Lovely food, good service and we'll be back.

My husband and I have just returned from an overnight stay here and really enjoyed it. We had afternoon tea on arrival which was really nice. You got a choice of sandwiches and lots of little cakes which were yummy! We couldn't eat them all so the waitress put them on a plate which we took to our room for later. The room was a bit on the small side which is the only reason I have rated it a four but it was ample for just the two of us. We ate in the Stables restaurant in the evening. My husband had the fish and chips and said it was the best he had ever tasted! I had the butter chicken which was also really good and both were very reasonably priced. We had breakfast in the morning which was great. Lots of choice including a full English and continental, which you could have both if you wanted. I had eggs benedict which was really nice. The staff were very attentive the whole stay and they even gave us discount vouchers when we checked out for the Beamish Museum where we were going to spend the day. Overall a fabulous stay. We would definitely go back.

My husband and I stayed for our anniversary on the room, breakfast and dinner deal for one night in a premier room and loved it. The house is the star in this production, full of character and that proper 'old English manor' vibe, but what a supporting cast; the staff were friendly and very professional and it clearly mattered very much to them that we enjoyed our stay. For instance, when we first went in to our room my husband found the foot of the bed had a fracture in the wood framing and consequently a loose panel (presumably broken by the previous guests, it was the sort of break that could easily have been missed by a housekeeping crew so no complaints there). We phoned reception and within two minutes had two duty managers at our door who quickly and unfussily assessed the issue, were full of apologies and within a few more minutes had us in an equally beautiful room. Faultless service. The bed was comfortable and soft, the bathroom amazing - I've seen smaller studio flats and the whirlpool bath was more like a small swimming pool, two of side by side didn't even fill it, it's that big. The food at the Stables restaurant was a good selection of dishes made with excellent quality ingredients and all cooked beautifully for instance with lots of lovely, fresh seafood options (in my mixed seafood pasta I think I identified squid, mussels, octopus, lobster and prawns) and my husband's cote de bouef was superb. Next morning the cooked breakfast, served in what appeared to be a former ballroom, rounded things off beautifully. It was lovely to have the fairly late checkout of 11am, too; we were able to go back to the room and relax for an hour after breakfast, have another cup of tea and just enjoy the surroundings. I cannot thank the staff enough for giving us such a wonderful stay, and the hotel for providing such excellent value for money.

We had a meal in the stables restaurant on the Thursday evening before the wedding this was very good my wife had the fish and chips myself I had the liver and bacon both plates had plenty on them. Looking around the other family members all there plates looked very good. The hall itself is a different matter it's furniture in some rooms were falling apart the carpets going upstairs are starting to look a bit tired, on the plus side all of the staff were very friendly. The wedding itself the staff once again done everything for the couple and their families the food was once again very good.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 Double Bed, Non Smoking

Full 1 | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Room, 1 Double Bed, Non Smoking

Full 1 | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Room, 2 Single Beds, Non Smoking

Twin 2 | Sleeps 2

Superior Room, 1 Double Bed, Non Smoking

Full 1 | Sleeps 2

Reviews from Trip Advisor

Trip Advisor aggregated rating

77% of guests recommend this hotel

Total of 1361 reviews