Ratings based on 1,401 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Orbitz Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by LISETTE

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Groovy hotel DJ in the lounge

Posted May 15, 2017
Here's my unique hotel experience in downtown la. I arrived Saturday afternoon checkin 3pm, I paid $40 for vallet and checked in with the hotel staff, the clerk gave my girl and I comped drinks at the bar while our room was being cleaned. THe hotel was in walking distance of spring street where we got drinks and listened to live music before heading back to the hotel at 3am. I checked out at 9am the next day Here our my thoughts: Affordable room for staying in downtown LA Service was friendly and accomadating Unique atmosphere; lobby dj, lobby late night bar, rooftop techno event, rooftop pool Close to Spring Street I would recommend to anyone wanting to have a fun time that doesn't care that its a more vintage spot and the hallways may smell a little
5 out of 5
by Richard

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
Fun
4 out of 5
by Kushal

Great location! Comfortable Hotel!

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
We had a great time at the Standard LA. The location is spectacular for downtown LA. We were walking distance (1.5 blocks) to the train station. We were about 20 min walk from the convention center. The hotel was nice. It had a great rooftop bar/pool area. The service was excellent. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The rooms were small, but nice. Would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Dawn

I love this hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
My stay there was easily one of the best hotel stays of my life. Before I rave about this hotel, let me list a few of the cons because ... who reads to the end a review? There was no coffee maker in the room that I could find. It's also not listed among amenities. I didn't check for one when booking. I just assumed one was a pretty standard amenity, especially for a hotel on the spendier side. I also could not find a hair dryer. Now, onto the good parts. The staff was helpful and welcoming. The lobby was great to hang out in and get some work done. Most hotel lobbies are great to look at, but aren't very functional. Theirs was low key with a tangle of comfortable couches. It was easy to find a part to relax in or a private nook to do work. The room was amazing. The shower and bed were both top notch. It was quiet, clean and stylish. It was set up for both getting work done and also relaxing. The rooftop bar area was amazing. The area was stylish and service polished, but the seating was clearly meant to be sprawled out over. The hotel has that mix of great service and a polished experience, while also being very chill. I've been to hotels that are after that vibe, but this was the first place I've been to that hit the mark. It's really down to the fantastic staff, from the front desk to the bars, that makes this hotel work.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel has a rooftop with a pool.

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: rooftop
Cons: the customer service. they need to be nicer to guests.
there was only one desk person at the front desk. it took half an hour to check in. we had trouble getting in the rooftop night club. this hotel was not great. the customer service was horrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Overall pleasant stay

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: Awesome décor and great location if you are there for business downtown. Great pool and bar areas.
Cons: Better TV and remote. Coffee pot in room. Better ironing board and iron.
Location: Again, great bar and pool/lounge areas. Room service was great and very nice.
Hotel staff was very helpful, but if you are looking for a 'brand new' hotel this is not the location. Awesome décor and place to hang out. Room was nice, but missing a higher-end feel to the finishes. Clean and useful, just missing a the stepped-up feel of other Standard Hotels.
4 out of 5
by Sarah

Chaotic, but accommodating

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
I have stayed at the Standard DTLA one other time. Maybe because it was a holiday weekend, this time was a bit more chaotic than I remembered. The room was nice and all the amenities are great, and the price I got was definitely worth it. That said, the party started at 5pm when we arrive to find a group of drunk guys huddled around their friend who was projectile vomiting into a plastic bag. Part of the interest in staying at the Standard is having easy access to the hotel pool and rooftop bar. Unfortunately on weekends a third party vendor has taken over the roof and even guests have to wait in line, get their and stamped and then wait in line again to get carded before they are allowed up on the roof. This has been going on for about a year, but for some reason last time I stayed there I didn't have to go through the hand-stamping process - so this inconvenience was a big surprise. When I took my complaint to the front desk however, they were very nice and offered to comp some of our drinks for the trouble. I left the hotel feeling that the staff was nice, but that they have some logistical problems to work out before I would stay at that location again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from New York City, NY

Millennial Heaven

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Expedia
Cons: Add a microwave to the facility. Lower the valet parking rates.
Location: The Westin Hotel 2 block away
Very expensive valet parking - cost is twice more than a daily car rental rate. Amenities: cool to see a room with 3-4 ping pong tables and a lounge. Roof top pool, lounge and beergarden - accessible to anyone staying at the hotel