Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Baymont Inn & Suites Spearfish

2.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

First when we checked in we had no tv in our room garbage all over couldntmake coffee

Filthy room, filthy comforter, filthy bathroom. The room had not been vacuumed in months, dirt & dust accumulated all along walls & under desk & chair. Beer bottle cap laying on floor. Hair all over tub & floor. frayed dirty carpet throughout hotel. Cracked filthy window. Pictures on wall were all broken & cracked. Would never stay here again.

Being told daily that the hot tub and swimming pool were in working order only to realize it was the same. Katana the manager is a liar. I heard her tell customers daily the same crap she told us in our first night. Public bathroom was disgusting. The room appeared clean then later seeing nasty stains on the carpets, and feces under the toilet lid. After riding 2-400mi a day riders like to soak in a hot tub. This particular one has no operational jets. Very disappointed. Although Tray at the front desk seemed to care he wasn't authorized to make many changes.

Very comfortable Excellent location Front desk staff calm, competent, professional

The TV didnt change channels so that took another hour and a half of the staff going in and out of our room to find a remote that would work. Then it was as if that was an inconvenience for them to do this. It should of been working before I ever got there. We wont stay there again

I did like the spacious, clean room upon entrance... the bed was comfortable unlike other motels i been in in the past. Didn't have a chance to swim in the pool but it looked clean. Staff was nice and had no issues with them when we needed anything. I will stay there again.

area under construction...a problem. motel under change of ownership from H Johnson to Baymont. short on staff even though they were pleasant. Room lacked some supplies. Window curtain allowed folks from parking lot to see in bedroom. Breakfast was usual.

Lots of construction right in front of motel. I didn't bring a hair dryer as I expected one in the room but there wasn't one.

I stayed here for the time I was at the Motorcycle rally in Sturgis. It was a real good place to stay. I had no complaints

Well when I arrived to check in unfortunately it took the front desk more than 30 minutes to help me. She was unable to give me a receipt. When I got to the room there it smelt like skunk and on top of that there was blood on the sheets. I asked for clean sheets. The front clerk came and dropped them off and no one ended up returnin to make the bed. Very unsatisfied.

We chose this hotel for our second leg of a family vacation and it was wonderful! The room very well accommodated the 6 of us. The pool entertained the kids. There is a Pizza Ranch attached as well. We would also recommend Killian's Tavern for dinner, family friendly and fabulous food.

VERY NICE A PLACE TO LAY YOUR HEAD THAT DONT COST A FORTUNE

We booked this on line, which worked very well. Quiet place for the 2 nights we stayed.. The only problem we had was the wireless was not very strong and kept going out, but otherwise, everyone we came into contact was very nice, and more than happy to help, I would reccomend.

The price (and somewhat decent recent reviews) were what lured us to book and prepay. As anyone can see, there are unfortunately no highly rated hotels in Spearfish. Upon first impression, the hotel seems to be going through a renovation. The ceiling over the check-in counter is messed up, so I hope that is just a work in progress. We were told upon check-in that the room we pre-paid for online was unavailable. The desk clerk was very nice and helpful. He told us the room he was putting us in was nicer than the one we pre-paid for anyhow. The room we were placed in was not newly remodeled or renovated, so it made me quite curious as to the condition of the room we prepaid for. It was somewhat clean (there were crumbs on the carpet, but the bathroom looked clean). The beds were comfortable. The bathtub was peeling and the overall state of the room needs serious updating. The light fixtures were mismatched and the room had some other "oddities." We were also told that the hot tub was not working and the internet was acting up. This was not a concern for us as we planned to use neither. However, I can see how these issues would be a big deal to other people. The HUGE issue for us was in the morning. The shower did not function. The water would run in the tub, but would not through the shower head once the lever was pushed over to "shower." I called down to the desk to see if there was a vacant room we could use the shower in and she told me they were booked, and there was "nothing she could do for us." This was about 9am, and several people had checked out (I could plainly see the housekeepers working down the halls). She did not offer to send a maintenance person up to try and fix it, nor did she offer us a recently vacated (and cleaned) room to use the shower in. We checked out and the desk clerk was quite polite and apologized, of course. I told her I was not upset at her, as these things are beyond her control, but asked that she relay to her superior that I was most un-pleased. Being that there are no highly recommended hotels in Spearfish, next time we drive through, we will keep driving to Rapid and perhaps we will have better luck there.

we stayed at the howard johnsons in spearfish to watch the sd state track meet semi finials that was held in spearfish, it was rea easy to fine the hotel, the rooms were real nice. the staff were great, they did a great job in keeping the rooms clean and beds fixed. nice breakfast each morning. the staff was real great in answering questions we had about the city. would stay there again if we get out that way. thanks howard johnson hotel. CE.

Nice hotel for the price. Awesome pillows but the beds are too hard.

The hotel was very smelly. The man at the front desk checked us in and sent us to a room that already had someone staying in there. Luckly the person wasn't in the room and luckly we were not there to rob the person. The guy wasn't very concerend about the problem. The room was not very clean, needed to be updated, there was no closet door, and the room door was very loud when we would shut it. Also, the key didn't work very well.

Clean room, nice reception. Not enough staff to keep the breakfast room stocked.

I just stayed the night, nothing special. The doors on the hotel rooms slam REALLY loud. Everyone should be attentive to the door closing quietly.And there was the pool. If you want to sleep and don't care about swimming get as far as possible away from that area. Like the 3rd floor.Because the families with children will stampede through the halls and make as much noise as possible...the guy at the desk was SLOW waiting on me ..Asking me to wait until he was done doing some paperwork. Then he stopped to cash a ticket someone won in the casino there. I waited 20 before being checked in....

Clean rooms, good free breakfast, pool and spas were ok. Bang for the buck was great!

323 S 27th St Spearfish SD

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Baymont Inn & Suites Spearfish places you 2.8 mi (4.4 km) from Spearfish Canyon North Entrance. This hotel has 64 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, an indoor pool, and a 24-hour fitness center.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is offered each morning. The onsite restaurant is perfect for a quick bite to eat.


Rooms

The 64 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including coffee makers, free local calls, and safes. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Ironing boards and desks are other standard amenities.


Property features

At Baymont Inn & Suites Spearfish, guests enjoy an indoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and a spa tub. A stay here includes free parking. Front-desk staff are standing by 24/7 to assist with any requests. Additional amenities include free WiFi in public areas, a meeting room, and a microwave in a common area.

Room options

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

Queen 2 | Sleeps 5

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Suite, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Baymont Inn & Suites Spearfish

Everyone (9) Couples (11) Business (1) Family (5) Other (4) Friends (3)
1
Everyone

First when we checked in we had no tv in our room garbage all over couldntmake coffee

By on Sep 4, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 6, 2017

We apologize for the inconvenience. We did send some housekeepers to put tv in your room. Whoever checked you in, didn't know that your room didn't have a tv. We are sorry and we hope this never happens again.

1

don't stay here

Everyone

Filthy room, filthy comforter, filthy bathroom. The room had not been vacuumed in months, dirt & dust accumulated all along walls & under desk & chair. Beer bottle cap laying on floor. Hair all over tub & floor. frayed dirty carpet throughout hotel. Cracked filthy window. Pictures on wall were all broken & cracked. Would never stay here again.

By , from SD on Sep 1, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 4, 2017

We apologize for the inconvenience that you had during your stay. As you said about poor housekeeping, we are trying to update and renovate the rooms and we have hired housekeepers from a different country. We trained them for 1 week, but because of language barrier they sometimes forget to do what they're suppose to do like what supplies needs to be put in the rooms and what needs to be removed. Also this building is under new management and we are working very hard to fulfill the needs for every guest. Again we are really sorry for the poor housekeeping.

2

none of the amenities were working

Everyone

Being told daily that the hot tub and swimming pool were in working order only to realize it was the same. Katana the manager is a liar. I heard her tell customers daily the same crap she told us in our first night. Public bathroom was disgusting. The room appeared clean then later seeing nasty stains on the carpets, and feces under the toilet lid. After riding 2-400mi a day riders like to soak in a hot tub. This particular one has no operational jets. Very disappointed. Although Tray at the front desk seemed to care he wasn't authorized to make many changes.

By , from Colorado on Jul 29, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 2, 2017

Hello Sir, I am sorry about the inconvenience that you had during your stay. She was the Manager On Duty. She was not lying, she was not aware that the pool was not working, usually the maintenance puts up the sign when it is out of order. The public restroom is what everyone uses and it can't get cleaned every 30 minutes. The carpets have been cleaned but since there are kids in double queen beds the carpets get stained. I am sorry and hope you understand.

5

business

Everyone

Very comfortable Excellent location Front desk staff calm, competent, professional

By , from US on Jul 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 26, 2017

Hello sir, thank you for your awesome review and for giving us a perfect rating. I am very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant. We look forward to see you again as a guest in our hotel. Hope to see you soon. Thanks.

2

it took me 20 minutes to find someone to check us

Everyone

The TV didnt change channels so that took another hour and a half of the staff going in and out of our room to find a remote that would work. Then it was as if that was an inconvenience for them to do this. It should of been working before I ever got there. We wont stay there again

By on Jul 19, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 2, 2017

Hello, This is the GM of Baymont Inn. I am sorry for the inconvenience you had with the TV. We had new remote controls for all the TVs programmed to each TV but were not sure what happened. We had maintenance help you and about 20-30 minutes later it started working. I am sorry you had to wait and we will make sure it does not happen again. Again I apologize and hope you understand.

4

overall a nice hotel

Everyone

I did like the spacious, clean room upon entrance... the bed was comfortable unlike other motels i been in in the past. Didn't have a chance to swim in the pool but it looked clean. Staff was nice and had no issues with them when we needed anything. I will stay there again.

By on Mar 27, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 25, 2017

Thank you for staying with us, and the nice comments. I am the new GM here, and will strive to make this hotel even better. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

3

low cost, low quality

Couples

area under construction...a problem. motel under change of ownership from H Johnson to Baymont. short on staff even though they were pleasant. Room lacked some supplies. Window curtain allowed folks from parking lot to see in bedroom. Breakfast was usual.

By , from Helena, MT on Sep 28, 2016

3

close proximity to family

Everyone

Lots of construction right in front of motel. I didn't bring a hair dryer as I expected one in the room but there wasn't one.

By on Sep 19, 2016

4

sturgis

Everyone

I stayed here for the time I was at the Motorcycle rally in Sturgis. It was a real good place to stay. I had no complaints

By , from MN on Aug 9, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 1, 1970

I am glad that you had a pleasant stay and got a lot of great riding in thank you.

1

cheap hotel for 1 night

Everyone

Well when I arrived to check in unfortunately it took the front desk more than 30 minutes to help me. She was unable to give me a receipt. When I got to the room there it smelt like skunk and on top of that there was blood on the sheets. I asked for clean sheets. The front clerk came and dropped them off and no one ended up returnin to make the bed. Very unsatisfied.

By , from Gillette wy on Mar 5, 2016

Review comment responded on May 9, 2016

let me start by apologising for your experience. we strive to meet and exceed our guest expectations and this time we have fallen short. I do hope you will give us another try as to see how enjoyable a stay with us can really be.