Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Howard Johnson Bethel

2.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Had big water stains on the ceiling. We were in a non smoking room and behind the curtain on the window sill was a cup with cigarette butts in it. No coffee pot. I stay there a lot, wasn't crowded either.

Location was great, staff where helpful n attentive. But Belfast items were a joke n the the hallways always smelled like smoke,ironically the room didn't which was a great thing.

I'm there usually once every 2 months or so. They know me by name. LOL

We forgot something in the room and we called 10 hours later and they had it... said they would keep it till we r up there again.

We have stayed there several times on our semi-annual Florida trips. Location is good. There is a nice diner right across the street. There have been some updates since our last stray.

Room was very dirty, crumbs in the sheets, white powdery stuff on the floor. Was very disappointed this time. might have to try another hotel cause of this.

Many electrical outlets did not work and air conditioning was broken.

Expectations were low. It was a working stay, just a place to rest my head at night. And for that it was just fine. No frills, but I wasn't expecting any. Staff was friendly. Check in was quick. Room was quiet even during weekend portion of the stay. No issues or problems arose.

We arrived for check in at 3pm on 8/10 and the counter woman said had us down for 4 rooms which was incorrect. so she gave us an 866 number to call to cancel the other 3. well that didn't work....we preceded to our room wher it had beer cans all of the floor.....the room wasn't cleaned yet.. and that was at 315pm.....so we had to go back downstairs and told the clerk all of this and she said oh they were full the nite before...we said we will just leave and come back later that nite....we arrived back at midnite and room was cleaned.. Next morning after I showered i come to find the blow dryer in the room didn't work and tried to call down to the office but phone didn't work either so I had to get dressed go down to the lobby to be told they don't have a hairdryer I could use....then I told clerk the phone didn't work. meantime phone rings and she answers it so I leave the key on counter and walk out......Terrible experience, probably won't stay there again. ps. the ceiling was peeling from where there must be a water leak.

Excellent stay, in an excellent place, will stay there again!!!!

It's a great place to stay at the gym I good and the staff is great it's also really close to the highway and a lot of bussinesses not to mention it is also a clean hotel

Good overall but watch out for the hellish I84 traffic, especially around Waterbury. seems the traffic regulators enjoy choking off the interstate to just one lane here.

The advertised rate is for a room in a different building that could be described as a dirt hole. When you get to the hotel they tell you that your rate is for this other building, and if you want to stay in the "motel" building it will be an extra $20 plus taxes and fees coming to $28. With that being said, the higher rate room is ok. Clean, and comfortable. Not the Ritz, but a place to sleep. The heater takes a while to warm up, but works well. One final note. They let people bring dogs into the motel. Had one barking all night across the hall. Called the front desk and they said there was nothing they could do. So, in the end I ended up paying $95 for at best a two-star room. I will definitely not be staying there again.

Clean and comfortable place in a good location for our whillwind trip

I would recommend staying here. Clean room, reasonable price, a nice stay.

I've have stayed at this hotel a few times in the past and for the price I paid it was worth it. I've always stayed in a non smoking room. This time although I booked a non smoking room they only had smoking left...I took it . When I walked in the room I was highly disappointed. I expected the cigarette smell...but not to the degree that it smelled like they hadn't cleaned at all. Overall I was disappointed and got the feeling of what is going to come out once I turn the lights off. Not worth the price I paid and will be the last time I use this hotel.

We got to the hotel and the room I booked was not available, and was told to pay an extra 20$ for the king suite, I said no and was down graded to a queen room. I was really tired so we went to our room, and there were pieces of garbage on the floor, I threw it away and I sat on the bed and the box spring was broken, it crunched underneath me, I am 30 weeks pregnant and my sleep was horrible. I woke up 4 times during the night. Three of the outlets did not work, and the sink leaked. The next morning check out was at 12, at 1140am we were called to be 'reminded' that check out was at 12 if we weren't staying another night. Was very rude. I told the lady at the check out counter (when we checked out at 1150) about all the problems in the room, so she can get them fixed, and she just stared at me like a deer in headlights. It was a very bad experience and they were unfit to run a business. Overall satisfaction a zero.

The staff was very attentive and friendly. Yet, the carpeting could have been a bit better. The floors were HARD. AND the walls are TOO THIN!!!

From beginning to end, my stay was perfect. The staff was friendly and courteous. The room was clean and comfortable. The location was great (directly across the street from a 24 hour diner) right outside central Danbury. The price was amazing. Great value.

Bed is really bad and I have back pain in the morning.

21 Stony Hill Rd Bethel CT

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Fitness center

Howard Johnson Bethel is located 1.5 mi (2.4 km) from Still River Greenway and within a 10-minute drive of Danbury Railway Museum. This hotel has 39 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking. Danbury Music Centre and Military Museum of Southern New England are also a short drive from this Bethel hotel.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is offered each morning.


Rooms

The 39 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including coffee makers, phones, and ironing boards. TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Desks are also included.


Property features

At Howard Johnson Bethel, guests have access to a fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and a meeting room. Free parking is available if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has staff always at the ready. This hotel also has free newspapers.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

Queen 2 | Sleeps 5

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Smoking

Queen 1 | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Howard Johnson Bethel

Everyone (2) Couples (8) Business (4) Family (4) Friends (2) Other (2)
2

terrible

Everyone

Had big water stains on the ceiling. We were in a non smoking room and behind the curtain on the window sill was a cup with cigarette butts in it. No coffee pot. I stay there a lot, wasn't crowded either.

By on Jan 9, 2017

Review comment responded on May 31, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Your comments will help us to improve better serve our guests in the future. We hope you will consider staying at our hotel if you return to the area.

3

get what u pay for.

Everyone

Location was great, staff where helpful n attentive. But Belfast items were a joke n the the hallways always smelled like smoke,ironically the room didn't which was a great thing.

By on Aug 28, 2016

Review comment responded on May 31, 2017

Thank you for taking time to post a review of our property. It is nice to know that you found the room comfortable and clean. On the other hand, I am sorry for the issues you had over the hotel's conditions.

4

my go to hotel in bethel

Couples

I'm there usually once every 2 months or so. They know me by name. LOL

By on Dec 8, 2015

4

we stay there alot

Couples

We forgot something in the room and we called 10 hours later and they had it... said they would keep it till we r up there again.

By on Nov 17, 2015

5

great overnighter

Couples

We have stayed there several times on our semi-annual Florida trips. Location is good. There is a nice diner right across the street. There have been some updates since our last stray.

By on Oct 25, 2014

2

been here many times before

Couples

Room was very dirty, crumbs in the sheets, white powdery stuff on the floor. Was very disappointed this time. might have to try another hotel cause of this.

By on Oct 2, 2014

3

average

GetawayWithFriends

Many electrical outlets did not work and air conditioning was broken.

By on Aug 4, 2014

3

working stay

BusinessTravelers

Expectations were low. It was a working stay, just a place to rest my head at night. And for that it was just fine. No frills, but I wasn't expecting any. Staff was friendly. Check in was quick. Room was quiet even during weekend portion of the stay. No issues or problems arose.

By on Jun 6, 2014

1

not a very pleasant experience

LGBT

We arrived for check in at 3pm on 8/10 and the counter woman said had us down for 4 rooms which was incorrect. so she gave us an 866 number to call to cancel the other 3. well that didn't work....we preceded to our room wher it had beer cans all of the floor.....the room wasn't cleaned yet.. and that was at 315pm.....so we had to go back downstairs and told the clerk all of this and she said oh they were full the nite before...we said we will just leave and come back later that nite....we arrived back at midnite and room was cleaned.. Next morning after I showered i come to find the blow dryer in the room didn't work and tried to call down to the office but phone didn't work either so I had to get dressed go down to the lobby to be told they don't have a hairdryer I could use....then I told clerk the phone didn't work. meantime phone rings and she answers it so I leave the key on counter and walk out......Terrible experience, probably won't stay there again. ps. the ceiling was peeling from where there must be a water leak.

By on Aug 12, 2013

5

man on the road

Singles

Excellent stay, in an excellent place, will stay there again!!!!

By on Feb 28, 2013