Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Playa Azul Golf, Scuba & Spa

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

This place was great. The staff was so friendly and welcoming. Other than the iffy hot water in the shower, which it was still room temperature and the cool off was refreshing, I wouldn't change a thing. We will stay again.

Best place to stay. Will not stay anywhere else. The people are the best. Will be back for our 7 stay

the best thing about play azul is the location on the beach. the next best thing is the staff. they were all so friendly an accommodating. I loved the snorkeling right from the beach. also a nice fun beach bar with good drinks. the breakfast buffet was good. there were always plenty of beach chairs. I definitely would go back.

Friendly staff gives personalized service. Beautiful view of water.

This is a great low key place on the beach. We never ventured to other beaches because everything was right there. Affordable bar and restaurant with excellent breakfast included.

Staff is outstanding. Breakfast is delicious. Wonderful small hotel with lovely Mexican decor.

3 days was a far to short of time at this beautiful resort.

The friendliness and professionalism of the staff made Playa Azul an excellent experience for us. This is not a luxury hotel, but it had everything we needed, and the staff went out of their way to help us. The location was perfect--not in town but close enough for a short taxi ride. The unlimited golf was great. The view could not be surpassed. The beach was excellent, with plenty of seating and palapas for everyone.

The stay is great and the free breakfast is a wonderful added bonus. However, I could not imagine staying at this hotel for more that two days. The rooms had a musky smell (due to the humidity) which made it uncomfortable to sleep in.

Just got back yesterday from Plaza Azul. Let's just say after all the reviews I read prior to going, I was optimistic that this could really be the vacation of a lifetime. Been fortunate to stay at several wonderful hotels. To be fair and balanced about my experience at Plaza Azul - let me categorize the pros and cons and start with all the positives first: Pros - 1) Those pictures of the ocean and small private beach are 100 authentic. One of the most beautiful, quaint tropical places I have ever seen. Almost those views alone sold me on booking here - coupled with all the positive reviews. 2) Authentic boutique hotel - just classic clementine colors - which reek of rich history and culture. 3) The tiki huts - the tiki covered lounge chairs in the sand - pool lounge chairs were fantastic. 4) Wait staff at breakfast were welcoming and nice while preparing a wonderful breakfast buffet making omelets made-to-order. 5) Hotel in general was primarily private (even though the beach still has public access)but also only 2-3 miles from Downtown San Miguel. Taxi rides only around 80 pesos each way or roughly $7-$8 based on current exchange. 6) Great air conditioning in the room - much appreciated. 7) Cleaning staff did a wonderful job cleaning the room each day and left little touches with new towel creatures almost daily - sometimes the little accents mean so much. 8) Right across the street from the Lobster House and very close to Buccano's At Night - 2 amazing places to have dinner. Now where some areas of improvement are needed. Cons - 1) 1st impression and greeting of hotel staff are everything - and let me just say this was not a welcoming experience after more than 12 hours of traveling. No one greeted me at the door to the lobby at all - and neither of the 2 men behind the hotel desk spoke much English at all. No tours of the site - not much explanation of anything. Gave me 2 keys to the room. Front desk kept their head down with paperwork and were not engaged all week. Had went down after midnight 2-3 times for information for the next morning - and I could hear the hotel desk attendant snoring in a back room loudly. 2) Requested King Bed and was told that was not available for my fiancé and I. Would understand if this was true - but quickly could tell only maybe a 12 rooms out of 50 were even booked for the week - the place was almost empty all week. My suspicions are they only allow very small amount of rooms to be accessed for whatever reason. 3) Wi-Fi was overall terrible. Imagine it just about has to be free since it is so unreliable and spotty the mass refunds would be demanded. 4) No ice machine. Everytime you want a bucket of ice for beverages you have to walk down the restaurant - and they have to go somewhere and get a new bag of ice and open it. Seemed to be a hassle. And there were ice buckets in each room? 5) Quiet Zones. Everyone reading books all day long - No entertainment. Absolutely no party atmosphere or music. Realize every hotel should have quiet zones as well as fun zones. No real fun zone here. I brought a Bluetooth speaker but left it at a very minimal setting. 6) Pool was extremely cold and had a lot of debri in it from the trees. We only seen it skimmed one day of the entire week. For every person we saw swim - we watched 5 others go touch the water but not willing to get in. 7) Complimentary golf was a little misleading - fine print says $37 and up for clubs - plus $31 Per Person to ride in the cart. Not a huge golfer - and my fiancé doesn't play - so wasn't willing to pay over $100 for complimentary golf for me to play and her just watch. Confirmed this with the front desk. Overall, while the location was breathtaking - this was just an average overall experience. If you go, just go for the snorkeling, beach and the ocean with little expectations of service and amenities or any other type of entertainment.

Been there 4 times and will be going back a 5th. Will not stay at any other place. Everyone is great. Food is always great.

Rooms were not as advertised. I booked a 637 sq ft room for our family of four. When we arrived we were put into a 250 sq ft room for the week. This Hotel has very few large rooms and apparently they were overbooked. We asked and showed paperwork but there was nothing larger available. They claimed it wasn't their fault and put the blame on the company I booked through. The wi-fi was spotty at best. We made the most of it, and besides the small cramped room we enjoyed the beach, the snorkeling is good right on the beach at the hotel. The breakfast is great and the staff was friendly and helpful. would recommend but be sure you know what size room you are getting.

We stayed at Playa Azul for three nights in August 2014. The hotel was quiet and comfortable (not a big mega resort). The pool area was not luxurious but perfectly acceptable - especially since one generally goes to Cozumel for the beautiful water that is 30 feet from the pool - not the pool itself. Decent beach/ocean access for some swimming and snorkeling in front of hotel (and some interesting night snorkeling with flashlights). Really hot outside but rooms were cool. Restaurants and dive shop met all of our needs. Nice and easy get in a couple morning dives right after breakfast in the beach front restaurant. This hotel is a bit north of town - so if you want it more quiet and secluded this is a great place for you.

Well kept, clean hotel with a friendly staff, wonderful breakfast and service

Playa Azul is a boutique hotel with a helpful and engaging staff. We enjoyed the clean, comfortable ocean view rooms. The food was very good. Swimming and snorkeling in the Caribbean was fantastic. The pool was small and the water colder than the ocean. Overall, a great place to relax. We will most likely return for another visit.

We have stayed at this small boutique hotel over the past 8 years and will continue to stay at Playa Azul in the years to come. This hotel has it's own private beach/cove with crystal clear water and colorful fish. Each room faces the Caribbean and just steps to the water. The hotel offers free golf at the most beautiful golf course. The wildlife adventure on this course cannot be beat. Breakfast is included and each morning had a delicious cooked meal. The staff are incredible. Be sure to pack "Deep Woods" mosquito repellant. Regular "Off" doesn't cut it. Rooms have excellent A/C to cool down. The hotel is very clean and workers are always busy keeping the grounds tidy.

Our stay at playa azul was great. The location was wonderful, people were friendly, and the resort was clean and quiet.

Got into hotel, tons of mosquitoes in the lobby. Got checked in got a room, walk to room door is wide open because the doorknob doesn't work correctly, so lots of mosquitoes in there as well. There were only FOUR rooms in the entire hotel booked, yet they still wouldn't give us an upgrade or a room with a better view. Complimentary breakfast was good, waiter was friendly. Snorkeling right out front was pretty great!

Playa Azul was perfect for what we desired during our first trip to Cozumel. The hotel was very peaceful and relaxing. And honestly, we had a better time snorkeling at the hotel with the snorkels we brought from Mega than we did on a paid snorkel cruise. Plus, the breakfast was delicious every day and the staff were welcoming, helpful and kind. If we ever visit Cozumel again, we wouldn't choose another hotel.

We really like this place. Clean, small, friendly very helpful pleasant staff. Could not be nicer!!!! Feels like a mini-Presidente......but only two tables around the pool, only one has an umbrella, no ashtrays (we brought our own big plastic ones) , not enough trash cans in the room or at the pool.......we don't like to litter, and no music outside.....we brought our own. Also wish they'd add a ladder to the end of the pier, would be easier to snorkel. But the good far outweighs the bad! And the right price!

Carr. a San Juan Km. 4 Cozumel QROO

Hotel highlights

  • Free hot/cold buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Located within a leisurely stroll of Cozumel Country Club and Golf Course, Playa Azul Golf, Scuba & Spa is within a few miles (5 km) of Los Cinco Soles. This 3-star hotel welcomes business and leisure travelers with a private beach, a full-service spa, and 2 restaurants. Cozumel Museum and Playa del Carmen Ferry are also nearby.


Dining

Free hot/cold buffet breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning from 7 AM to 10 AM. Enjoy dining at the hotel's 2 onsite restaurants: Palma Azul offers relaxing ocean views; Chan Kaan specializes in Mexican cuisine. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service.


Rooms

All air-conditioned rooms provide balconies, coffee makers, and free bottled water. Guests can expect free WiFi and plasma TVs with cable channels. Hair dryers and safes are also standard.


Property features

Guests of Playa Azul Golf, Scuba & Spa have access to a private beach, a full-service spa, and an outdoor pool. If you drive, take advantage of free parking. Staff members can answer questions about accommodations, and also provide front-desk service during limited hours. Other amenities at this beach hotel include a children's pool, free WiFi in public areas, and a meeting room.

Room options

Suite, Oceanfront

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Playa Azul Golf

Everyone (6) Couples (71) Family (15) Friends (5) Other (1)
5

great hotel w/ perfect beach snorkeling

Everyone

This place was great. The staff was so friendly and welcoming. Other than the iffy hot water in the shower, which it was still room temperature and the cool off was refreshing, I wouldn't change a thing. We will stay again.

By on Sep 7, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 27, 2017

Hola from Playa Azul Hotel Thank you very much for your review, we are happy that you had a good experience. Your opinion is very important to us and based on it we will be able to improve our service and I will personally let know the maintenance department about the hot water you mentioned. We all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon. Best regards

5
Everyone

Best place to stay. Will not stay anywhere else. The people are the best. Will be back for our 7 stay

By , from S on May 27, 2017

Review comment responded on May 31, 2017

Hola from Playa Azul!! Thank you so much for your nice comment, it is a pleasure to us to read that you had a great stay and planning to come back again. You are now part of Playa Azul family and we will be waiting for you :) Kind regards Ana

4

great snorkeling

Everyone

the best thing about play azul is the location on the beach. the next best thing is the staff. they were all so friendly an accommodating. I loved the snorkeling right from the beach. also a nice fun beach bar with good drinks. the breakfast buffet was good. there were always plenty of beach chairs. I definitely would go back.

By , from kansas city on Jan 30, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 1, 2017

Hola Greg Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know that you are planning to come back and it will be a pleasure to host you again so you can enjoy the beach and the snorkeling. I will let the restaurant manager know about the food and based on it he will be able to improve it. Best regards

5
Everyone

Friendly staff gives personalized service. Beautiful view of water.

By on Jan 27, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 30, 2017

Thank you very much for your visit and your comment. It is a pleasure to read that you had a good time and that you enjoy the views. We hope to see you soon Best regards

5

relaxed hotel on the beach

Everyone
Sunset spot

This is a great low key place on the beach. We never ventured to other beaches because everything was right there. Affordable bar and restaurant with excellent breakfast included.

By on Jan 24, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 27, 2017

Thank you very much for your review. It will be a pleasure to host you again in a future. Kind regards

5
Everyone

Staff is outstanding. Breakfast is delicious. Wonderful small hotel with lovely Mexican decor.

By on Jan 22, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 26, 2017

Thank you so much for your review. We hope to see you in a near future. Best regards

5

beautiful

Couples

3 days was a far to short of time at this beautiful resort.

By on Dec 3, 2015

5

treated very well

Couples

The friendliness and professionalism of the staff made Playa Azul an excellent experience for us. This is not a luxury hotel, but it had everything we needed, and the staff went out of their way to help us. The location was perfect--not in town but close enough for a short taxi ride. The unlimited golf was great. The view could not be surpassed. The beach was excellent, with plenty of seating and palapas for everyone.

By on May 27, 2015

4

fun for a two day stay

Couples

The stay is great and the free breakfast is a wonderful added bonus. However, I could not imagine staying at this hotel for more that two days. The rooms had a musky smell (due to the humidity) which made it uncomfortable to sleep in.

By on Apr 21, 2015

3

couple getaway

Couples

Just got back yesterday from Plaza Azul. Let's just say after all the reviews I read prior to going, I was optimistic that this could really be the vacation of a lifetime. Been fortunate to stay at several wonderful hotels. To be fair and balanced about my experience at Plaza Azul - let me categorize the pros and cons and start with all the positives first: Pros - 1) Those pictures of the ocean and small private beach are 100 authentic. One of the most beautiful, quaint tropical places I have ever seen. Almost those views alone sold me on booking here - coupled with all the positive reviews. 2) Authentic boutique hotel - just classic clementine colors - which reek of rich history and culture. 3) The tiki huts - the tiki covered lounge chairs in the sand - pool lounge chairs were fantastic. 4) Wait staff at breakfast were welcoming and nice while preparing a wonderful breakfast buffet making omelets made-to-order. 5) Hotel in general was primarily private (even though the beach still has public access)but also only 2-3 miles from Downtown San Miguel. Taxi rides only around 80 pesos each way or roughly $7-$8 based on current exchange. 6) Great air conditioning in the room - much appreciated. 7) Cleaning staff did a wonderful job cleaning the room each day and left little touches with new towel creatures almost daily - sometimes the little accents mean so much. 8) Right across the street from the Lobster House and very close to Buccano's At Night - 2 amazing places to have dinner. Now where some areas of improvement are needed. Cons - 1) 1st impression and greeting of hotel staff are everything - and let me just say this was not a welcoming experience after more than 12 hours of traveling. No one greeted me at the door to the lobby at all - and neither of the 2 men behind the hotel desk spoke much English at all. No tours of the site - not much explanation of anything. Gave me 2 keys to the room. Front desk kept their head down with paperwork and were not engaged all week. Had went down after midnight 2-3 times for information for the next morning - and I could hear the hotel desk attendant snoring in a back room loudly. 2) Requested King Bed and was told that was not available for my fiancé and I. Would understand if this was true - but quickly could tell only maybe a 12 rooms out of 50 were even booked for the week - the place was almost empty all week. My suspicions are they only allow very small amount of rooms to be accessed for whatever reason. 3) Wi-Fi was overall terrible. Imagine it just about has to be free since it is so unreliable and spotty the mass refunds would be demanded. 4) No ice machine. Everytime you want a bucket of ice for beverages you have to walk down the restaurant - and they have to go somewhere and get a new bag of ice and open it. Seemed to be a hassle. And there were ice buckets in each room? 5) Quiet Zones. Everyone reading books all day long - No entertainment. Absolutely no party atmosphere or music. Realize every hotel should have quiet zones as well as fun zones. No real fun zone here. I brought a Bluetooth speaker but left it at a very minimal setting. 6) Pool was extremely cold and had a lot of debri in it from the trees. We only seen it skimmed one day of the entire week. For every person we saw swim - we watched 5 others go touch the water but not willing to get in. 7) Complimentary golf was a little misleading - fine print says $37 and up for clubs - plus $31 Per Person to ride in the cart. Not a huge golfer - and my fiancé doesn't play - so wasn't willing to pay over $100 for complimentary golf for me to play and her just watch. Confirmed this with the front desk. Overall, while the location was breathtaking - this was just an average overall experience. If you go, just go for the snorkeling, beach and the ocean with little expectations of service and amenities or any other type of entertainment.

By on Apr 20, 2015