Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Ramada Plaza Chico

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Very clean hotel despite needing an interior upgrade. Staff friendly and welcoming.

Overall, the stay was positive. The outdoor pool is nice and the breakfast in the mornings was decent. Make sure to lock your room whenever you are in the room, though, since cleaning staff may not realize the room is occupied and try to come in. That happened to my mother (across the hall); the hotel offered to reduce their overall stay price by $20 for the inconvenience of a midnight intrusion (only when the issue was brought up again at check-out by my mother). The WiFi in the rooms is excellent. There doesn't seem to be enforcement for smokers to stay away from windows and doors near the hotel, though; it was common to smell cigarette smoke outside of non-smoking rooms and in and around the check-in/breakfast area. The fitness center seemed to be mostly out-of-order and it was common for unsupervised children to be in there after visiting the pool. The hotel overall was not noise-friendly; one could hear all conversations from the rooms in the hallways, and our at the pool (our room was near there).

It took 4 separate rooms to check in properly to a room that either had a TV that worked or was not occupied. I was given the key to two locked and occupied rooms. 4 rooms and 4 trips to the lobby later I was able to settle in. Terrible place.

Good updates in common downstair areas. Carpets and decor look outdated in corridors. Room was clean and comfortable though a little outdated. Air conditioning worked well - very important here! Was fairly quiet AC as well which makes for a pleasant change. Breakfast was fine, nothing special (poor cereal choiceI IMO), but service was great - new hot food kept coming frequently during a very busy period. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

We had 2 rooms for 2 nights. We had requested that they be close. They were not. One room was much older and smaller. The other room's air conditioner kept cycling on and off all night and never got very cold. The breakfast was disappointing. The room was not cared for. No waffles for 2 days because they were out of batter. No cold cereal. The floor was sticky from syrup the second day even though we told them that someone had spelled syrup before us.

Disappointed that the remodel is still under way. Paid top dollar and this is my second stay AFTER the planned finish date. That said, the staff was wonderful and our room as promised For 11+ years and now parents to now 2 graduates of Chico St, BW is the best value in town

Room reserved not available when checking in, hotel and furniture are filthy, hair in dirty showers, stained upholstery, awful smelling, loud trashy bar in lobby, breakfast bar mediocre. Will never set foot in this hotel again.

Check in was poor. The computers were down, and the staff was not sufficiently trained to check someone in. Reserved the room on a credit card and told them I would pay with cash. Upon checkout I paid by cash and still ended up with a charge for $60.00 more than the booking price. In addition the in room refrigerator was not working, nor was the Ice machine on that floor. I contacted Josh at the front desk and asked for assistance. He was polite but unable to provide timely assistance for either issue.

It's an okay hotel in that it's clean, friendly, and quiet, however it's overpriced for what it is. The room was small and the decor beyond bland. On the plus side, the bed was comfortable. We had a stunning view of the rooftop of an adjoining building with a large number of ugly vents. But we weren't there for the view, thankfully. The A/C was massively noisy. We had to turn it off completely in order to get any sleep. The breakfast was utterly mediocre. So it didn't suck, but we expected more for the name and the price.

The shower did not have a shower curtain, the knob for the shower to pull out to switch from the tub to shower was broken off, the door did not lock.

easy to find, easy parking, quick check-in & check-out, CLEAN room/sheets/bathroom/towels. Nice shower pressure. Great pillows. Sloooooow wi-fi. Nice breakfast with great service. We were very happy & will return.

I think we got bug bites from this place. Not happy with the dated wallpaper bathroom, the sink didn't drain well, and limited breakfast.

There were roaches in our hotel room. Ick. Twice we saw huge roaches in the hotel room. Please clean this place up better.

The hotel was nice, Lobby was warm and friendly. Bathroom floor could have been cleaner. Bsthtub drain didn't work very well.

Hotel was nice and it was kept clean. I like that they have a small gym, a nice bar and pool. unfortunately, I did not have enough time to used them but I will definitely recommend this hotel for either business or family trips.

On business in the area regularly. First time at this hotel. Happily surprised ! Very friendly service and the in house restaurant offers very nice meals !

we had a group reservation needed a total of 9 rooms and needed one room before 3 for the artist that was performing we couldn't get it so the artist and others had to go find a hotel that can accommodate

Very nice place, friendly staff and very clean and quiet.

The staff were friendly. The room was clean. There was hot water and hardly any noise heard outside the room. I'd say it was a successful stay!

The Holiday Inn is right off the freeway easy to get to. The check in & out was easy. The person behind the desk was helpful with directions to downtown.

685 Manzanita Ct Chico CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Located within 2 miles (3 km) of Bidwell Mansion State Historic Park, Ramada Plaza Chico is within 3 miles (5 km) of National Yo-Yo Museum. This 3-star hotel has 172 guestrooms and offers conveniences like free breakfast, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi. California State University-Chico is also 2.1 mi (3.4 km) away.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free buffet breakfast. Enjoy a bite to eat at the hotel's restaurant, or relax with a drink at the bar/lounge. Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room.


Rooms

All 172 air-conditioned rooms feature microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can expect to find cable TV and stay connected with free WiFi. Free newspapers, hair dryers, and safes are also standard.


Property features

At Ramada Plaza Chico, guests enjoy an outdoor pool, a fitness center, and a spa tub. If you drive, take advantage of free parking. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include free WiFi in public areas, 7 meeting rooms, and a conference center.

Room options

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Room, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Room, Accessible, Non Smoking

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Ramada Plaza Chico

Everyone (15) Business (8) Couples (5) Family (14) Friends (1) Other (2)
4

nice

Everyone

Very clean hotel despite needing an interior upgrade. Staff friendly and welcoming.

By on Oct 28, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 31, 2017

Thank you for your feedback! We are pleased to her that the staff was friendly and welcoming. We hope to see you again soon!

3

nice hotel with decent breakfast and great wifi

Everyone

Overall, the stay was positive. The outdoor pool is nice and the breakfast in the mornings was decent. Make sure to lock your room whenever you are in the room, though, since cleaning staff may not realize the room is occupied and try to come in. That happened to my mother (across the hall); the hotel offered to reduce their overall stay price by $20 for the inconvenience of a midnight intrusion (only when the issue was brought up again at check-out by my mother). The WiFi in the rooms is excellent. There doesn't seem to be enforcement for smokers to stay away from windows and doors near the hotel, though; it was common to smell cigarette smoke outside of non-smoking rooms and in and around the check-in/breakfast area. The fitness center seemed to be mostly out-of-order and it was common for unsupervised children to be in there after visiting the pool. The hotel overall was not noise-friendly; one could hear all conversations from the rooms in the hallways, and our at the pool (our room was near there).

By , from Seattle, WA on Oct 2, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 4, 2017

Thank you for your response, we are always looking for feedback. We will address the issues you mentioned to our staff. Thank you for choosing Ramada Plaza, we hope to see you again soon.

1

4 rooms to check-in

Everyone
It took 4 rooms to get a room... exhausting.

It took 4 separate rooms to check in properly to a room that either had a TV that worked or was not occupied. I was given the key to two locked and occupied rooms. 4 rooms and 4 trips to the lobby later I was able to settle in. Terrible place.

By , from Botswana on Aug 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 25, 2017

We are sorry to hear that you had these issues. Please be assured that we will be discussing this with our staff to ensure this does not happen again.

4
Everyone

Good updates in common downstair areas. Carpets and decor look outdated in corridors. Room was clean and comfortable though a little outdated. Air conditioning worked well - very important here! Was fairly quiet AC as well which makes for a pleasant change. Breakfast was fine, nothing special (poor cereal choiceI IMO), but service was great - new hot food kept coming frequently during a very busy period. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

By on Aug 19, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 23, 2017

Thank you for your survey ! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us ! We hope to see you again soon !

2

disappointing

Everyone

We had 2 rooms for 2 nights. We had requested that they be close. They were not. One room was much older and smaller. The other room's air conditioner kept cycling on and off all night and never got very cold. The breakfast was disappointing. The room was not cared for. No waffles for 2 days because they were out of batter. No cold cereal. The floor was sticky from syrup the second day even though we told them that someone had spelled syrup before us.

By on Jul 20, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 22, 2017

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are addressing these issues with our staff to ensure these are corrected. Please know that we do our best to accommodate special requests , such as rooms close together , but it is based on availability . If we do not have the availability we

3

bw still under construction

Everyone

Disappointed that the remodel is still under way. Paid top dollar and this is my second stay AFTER the planned finish date. That said, the staff was wonderful and our room as promised For 11+ years and now parents to now 2 graduates of Chico St, BW is the best value in town

By , from Los Angeles on Jun 1, 2017

1

don't stay here

Everyone

Room reserved not available when checking in, hotel and furniture are filthy, hair in dirty showers, stained upholstery, awful smelling, loud trashy bar in lobby, breakfast bar mediocre. Will never set foot in this hotel again.

By , from Pasadena, Ca on May 22, 2017

Review comment responded on May 25, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We take all suggestions into consideration and will address the appropriate departments. We strive for 100% guest satisfaction on our property and apologize that we did not accomplish this during your stay. In the future please know that reaching out to management during your stay so we can resolve anything not up to par immediately is always the best policy. Safe travels in the future.

2

overcharge

Everyone

Check in was poor. The computers were down, and the staff was not sufficiently trained to check someone in. Reserved the room on a credit card and told them I would pay with cash. Upon checkout I paid by cash and still ended up with a charge for $60.00 more than the booking price. In addition the in room refrigerator was not working, nor was the Ice machine on that floor. I contacted Josh at the front desk and asked for assistance. He was polite but unable to provide timely assistance for either issue.

By on May 22, 2017

Review comment responded on May 30, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit. We are currently training new staff and appreciate your patience while we bring them up to speed. I'm sorry for any inconvenience this caused during your stay. Our management contacted you and addressed your concern over that charge and explained it was an authorization that included the $30 per night incidentals and not an overcharge. As discussed, that was never actually charged, but I apologize for the confusion. I will share your feedback with the maintenance staff who were working diligently as fast as they could to address any guest issue. Safe travels and I hope you choose to visit us again to allow us to show you the exceptional service that our new staff provides.

3

okay, but overpriced

Everyone

It's an okay hotel in that it's clean, friendly, and quiet, however it's overpriced for what it is. The room was small and the decor beyond bland. On the plus side, the bed was comfortable. We had a stunning view of the rooftop of an adjoining building with a large number of ugly vents. But we weren't there for the view, thankfully. The A/C was massively noisy. We had to turn it off completely in order to get any sleep. The breakfast was utterly mediocre. So it didn't suck, but we expected more for the name and the price.

By , from Bay area on Apr 5, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 14, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to hear that your stay was quiet and enjoyable, and that our staff was friendly. We take all guest reviews into consideration and will be passing along your comments to the maintenance department so these issues can be addressed and fixed immediately. We hope to see you again in the future. Thank you for your business and safe travels.

3
Everyone

The shower did not have a shower curtain, the knob for the shower to pull out to switch from the tub to shower was broken off, the door did not lock.

By on Nov 29, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 1, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am so sorry that the breakfast was not what you expected it to be. We are working all the kinks out as offering the full hot breakfast to all guests is a new amenity. We hope that you choose to stay with us in the future. Thank you for your business and safe travels.