Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Extended Stay is close to the airport and affordable. They also did a great job at keeping the place clean and the exterior is well kept. However, some drawbacks particularly for my room: -the deadbolt would not lock in place. -the heating and ac unit was broken. It only had one functioning setting at 65 degrees at high speed. -there were no extra blankets or pillows. -the hold and cold settings were backwards on the faucets. Quite a few issues, however, it was clean and affordable.

We were driving from Illinois to Florida and were getting very tired. We decided we would get a room in Chattanooga, to rest a bit, before continuing our drive. I felt like I was in a scene from a horror film. First, there was no one available at the front desk, to check us in. We waited in our vehicle, until someone was available. Finally, we were given our room keys and as we entered the room, we realized there were already guests in this hotel room. Roaches! Everywhere. Coming out of the AC unit, crawling on the headboard of the bed, and all over the carpet. This was the most disgusting scene I’ve ever seen! We returned our keys and left immediately. I hope to see a refund, but it has been two days and I have not received a call back from the hotel or Orbitz. This is the worst experience I have ever had. Please do not stay here!

The place was dirty with no amenities. The shower was cold water never really hot. And it was he loud bang that shook the room every now and then it was a bit unnerving.

So I've stayed in worse hotels but this one had a few different issues. Bad things: The first staff member I met was rude (a blonde woman), our room door only locked if we slammed the door when we left, our bathroom sink didn't have hot water and the bathroom door didn't have a working lock, the kitchen stove burners were also old and rusted. And also the location is in a sort of sketchy area. Good things: Air and hetaing system worked really well, the refrigerator was a good size, clean, and very cold, the water pressure in the shower was great, there was a domestic disturbance in another room down the hall and two brunette workers handled it very well, overall room cleanliness was fairly good.

I'll start by saying this property was not as bad as several reviews made it out to be. I had a 1st floor room and saw NO cockroaches. I did kill 1 small wood roach, in a wooded area, no big deal. The bed was comfortable and while I could not find any evidence of bed bugs, I did wake up early itchy, so I'm a bit suspicious. The bathroom door was so warped that it didn't fully close or latch. The electrical outlets are not convenient at all. To make the phone work I had to go behind the bed and gingle the cord. The fridge continually made creaking & popping sounds. Bottom line you're probably better off staying elsewhere.

Staff was very friendly and nice. Room had roaches and wasn’t really clean.

People were nice and everything was as expected. No airport shuttle is a huge downfall of the hotel that is closest to the airport.

What attracted us was the kitchen. However, as we get there we notice there is no elevator. (Third floor) that should be advertised, I would have been more prepared if I’d known. No roll away beds. They don’t provide them even at an additional charge. I felt this was rather dissapointing. When I called down to let them know the chair wouldn’t extend. (Obvious tampering, preventing it from extending in the lay position.) The representative made it clear, they “weren’t” supposed to extend. The breakfast is very minimal as well. Overall, it wasn’t a bad experience. If all you need is a bed, then this is the location for you. However, I doubt we’ll stay again, as with the amount we paid, I would expect quite a bit more amenities.

Noisy. We paid for a queen but got a double. Bed was broken. Sheets were scratchy. Pillows were hard. Paid for a nonsmoking room. Now we have to wash everything because it reeks of smoke. AWFUL!!!!

Pretty worn out place. Couple of minimal prepackaged muffins is your free breakfast. Staff didn’t even come to front desk for checkou5 or say goodbye...pretty marginal pkace

Hard to get to Cigarette butts all over the stairs ,open smelly garbage right by the stairs Grounds were in desperate need of picking up all the trash

Too Smokey for me to stay there. When we walked into the room it smelled of smoke. There were a lot of cigarette buts in the walk ways. If you like smoke it will work for you.

Room Smelled so bad, floor was dirty, asked for a remote for tv didn’t get one until and hour later, people were screaming all nite and honking horns in the parking lot. Worst stay anywhere ever.

Big stain on sheet. Had to go get it replaced. Room had odor. Beer bottles on steps. Broken glass at bottom of steps

The hotel staff was wonderful at check in. My room had no soap or cups and the smoke alarm and carbon monoxide detector kept beeping due to low batteries. I informed the front office staff and they took care of this in 5 minutes. The room was fairly clean although the floor wasn't vacuumed and I found some fast food napkins on the side of the chair. I wonder where the fast food came from because the hotel is in an industrial park with no dining options within walking distance. Everything in the room was in working order and the bed was very comfortable.

We made this reservation for someone who needed to sleep while on a short layover from greyhound and Chose the location for its convenience. Unfortunately when checking in staff required a $100 deposit. When you make a reservation online with a credit card, there should be no reason an additional deposit outside of a credit card reservation be made. We certainly could not recommend making a reservation here unless you have an additional $100 for them to hold on to during your stay. This is an out of date or cash only practice. If you have that many issues with your establishment to require added deposits...perhaps it is a different issue.

Cable was not working but management comped our room for 2 nights. Good customer service

The clerk at Extended Stay Hotel was 5 star, unfortunately she was put in the unfair position of having to pretend and ignore the indecency of the rooms she offered. To begin the hotel was being renovated (this was never mentioned). Construction workers and large construction equipment disgraced the entrance and parking lot, not many rooms were available and the two that were made available to us were a disgrace. New, modern, tasteful amenities are desired but not necessary. However, what is necessary is clean, functioning basics. The first room that we were offered had visible stains on the spread, carpet and walls. The toilet was running, paint was peeling (hopefully not lead based), the caulk around the kitchen sink contained visible mold. There was what appeared to be two smoke detectors, neither had covers and only had a battery -- oh there were gnats. The air conditioner decided to stop working properly and we were offered another room. We took the 2nd room it was almost as bad as the first room. What was unique about it though it had a strange odor, not necessarily a stench (just strange) and instead of gnats it had ants.

Airpark Dr. Chattanooga TN

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Laundry facilities

Extended Stay America Chattanooga - Airport places you within a few miles (5 km) of Hamilton Place Mall and Brown Acres Golf Course. This 120-room hotel has conveniences like free breakfast, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free continental breakfast, served each morning from 6:00 AM to 10:00 AM.


Rooms

The 120 air-conditioned rooms feature kitchens with refrigerators, microwaves, and stovetops. Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Other standard amenities include coffee makers, phones, and ironing boards. Housekeeping is available on request.


Property features

Renovated in 2016, Extended Stay America Chattanooga - Airport offers free WiFi in public areas, coffee in a common area, and laundry facilities. There's free parking if you drive. Front-desk staff can help secure valuables, and provide local restaurant recommendations.

Room options

Studio, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Studio, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Studio, 2 Twin Beds, Non Smoking

2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Extended Stay America Chattanooga - Airport

Everyone (14) Couples (4) Business (4) Family (2) Other (2)
3
Everyone

Extended Stay is close to the airport and affordable. They also did a great job at keeping the place clean and the exterior is well kept. However, some drawbacks particularly for my room: -the deadbolt would not lock in place. -the heating and ac unit was broken. It only had one functioning setting at 65 degrees at high speed. -there were no extra blankets or pillows. -the hold and cold settings were backwards on the faucets. Quite a few issues, however, it was clean and affordable.

By on Dec 31, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 1, 2021

John, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad to know you had a pleasant stay and that you were impressed with our location with easy access to the airport and that you liked our well-kept property. However, we are sorry for the maintenance issues you had in your suite. We have shared your comments appropriately to review and rectify them immediately. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we hope you will choose us again for a much better experience. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1
Partner Couples

We were driving from Illinois to Florida and were getting very tired. We decided we would get a room in Chattanooga, to rest a bit, before continuing our drive. I felt like I was in a scene from a horror film. First, there was no one available at the front desk, to check us in. We waited in our vehicle, until someone was available. Finally, we were given our room keys and as we entered the room, we realized there were already guests in this hotel room. Roaches! Everywhere. Coming out of the AC unit, crawling on the headboard of the bed, and all over the carpet. This was the most disgusting scene I’ve ever seen! We returned our keys and left immediately. I hope to see a refund, but it has been two days and I have not received a call back from the hotel or Orbitz. This is the worst experience I have ever had. Please do not stay here!

By , from Chicago on Jun 7, 2020

Review comment responded on Jun 8, 2020

Yesenia, thank you for your review. We are sorry for the trouble you had at the time of your check-in; moreover, we also apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to the roaches in your accommodations. We have asked our pest control provider to service your room immediately. Also, know since the booking was made through a third party website, any changes or amendment needs to be routed through these websites. We hope this unfortunate situation will not prevent you from staying with us again. Sincerely, Hotel Management

2
Business Business

The place was dirty with no amenities. The shower was cold water never really hot. And it was he loud bang that shook the room every now and then it was a bit unnerving.

By on May 29, 2020

Review comment responded on May 31, 2020

Thank you for your review. We genuinely apologize for the cleanliness issues you encountered. Your feedback will be shared with our housekeeping team to ensure we are more diligent moving forward. We are also sorry for the disturbance due to the noise. We wish we had the opportunity to address the issue while you were here as we would have done our best to ensure you were comfortable. We regret not meeting your expectations this time and hope you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves on a future visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1
Everyone

By on Apr 7, 2020

Review comment responded on Apr 8, 2020

Thank you for being our guest. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay, and we apologize for failing to live up to your expectations. Thank you also for your feedback, and we hope you will return so we can have an opportunity to provide you with a better experience. Sincerely, Hotel Management

3
Partner Couples Business Business

So I've stayed in worse hotels but this one had a few different issues. Bad things: The first staff member I met was rude (a blonde woman), our room door only locked if we slammed the door when we left, our bathroom sink didn't have hot water and the bathroom door didn't have a working lock, the kitchen stove burners were also old and rusted. And also the location is in a sort of sketchy area. Good things: Air and hetaing system worked really well, the refrigerator was a good size, clean, and very cold, the water pressure in the shower was great, there was a domestic disturbance in another room down the hall and two brunette workers handled it very well, overall room cleanliness was fairly good.

By on Dec 15, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 15, 2019

Victoria, thank you for your review. We apologize for the issues you encountered in your room. We have shared your concerns with the maintenance team so that they can take the necessary actions. We are also sorry for the poor experience you had with one of our associates. It is never our intention to disappoint any guest, and we apologize for letting you down. We have shared your comments with her so that such instances are not repeated. We understand the frustration and sincerely hope you will provide us another opportunity to serve you. Sincerely, Hotel Management

3
Everyone

I'll start by saying this property was not as bad as several reviews made it out to be. I had a 1st floor room and saw NO cockroaches. I did kill 1 small wood roach, in a wooded area, no big deal. The bed was comfortable and while I could not find any evidence of bed bugs, I did wake up early itchy, so I'm a bit suspicious. The bathroom door was so warped that it didn't fully close or latch. The electrical outlets are not convenient at all. To make the phone work I had to go behind the bed and gingle the cord. The fridge continually made creaking & popping sounds. Bottom line you're probably better off staying elsewhere.

By on Dec 6, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 7, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the issues you faced in your room. We have shared your concerns with the appropriate teams so that they can take the necessary actions. We are sorry for this unpleasant experience and hope you will give us the chance to make it up to you on a future date. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1
Business Business

Staff was very friendly and nice. Room had roaches and wasn’t really clean.

By on Oct 6, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 6, 2019

Thank you for staying at our hotel. We are sorry for the roaches you encountered in your room and regret your stay was not a pleasant one. Our pest control provider has serviced the hotel, and we are working to ensure procedures are being followed to prevent future infestation. On a positive note, we are pleased you liked our associates. We hope you will consider a future stay as we would welcome the opportunity to regain your trust. Sincerely, Hotel Management

4
Business Business

People were nice and everything was as expected. No airport shuttle is a huge downfall of the hotel that is closest to the airport.

By on May 1, 2019

Review comment responded on May 3, 2019

Thank you for staying at Extended Stay America. It is good to know you liked our staff and had a nice time with us. Thank you once more for choosing to stay with us, we hope to have the opportunity to host you again during a future visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management

3
Everyone

By on Apr 14, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 15, 2019

We appreciate your rating and are happy you liked various aspects of your stay. However, we are sorry we were not at our best. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management

3
Family

What attracted us was the kitchen. However, as we get there we notice there is no elevator. (Third floor) that should be advertised, I would have been more prepared if I’d known. No roll away beds. They don’t provide them even at an additional charge. I felt this was rather dissapointing. When I called down to let them know the chair wouldn’t extend. (Obvious tampering, preventing it from extending in the lay position.) The representative made it clear, they “weren’t” supposed to extend. The breakfast is very minimal as well. Overall, it wasn’t a bad experience. If all you need is a bed, then this is the location for you. However, I doubt we’ll stay again, as with the amount we paid, I would expect quite a bit more amenities.

By , from Florida on Mar 22, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 28, 2019

It is disappointing to read your comments concerning your stay at our hotel. Please accept our apologies, as we never mean to disappoint our guests in any way, and we definitely failed in this attempt. We can assure you that what you experienced is not acceptable by our standards, and we will be taking the proper action to ensure a more wonderful experience for every guest entering our doors. Thank you again for your candid feedback as this helps us to improve the experience for future guests. We truly appreciate your feedback. Sincerely, Hotel Management

Extended Stay America Chattanooga - Airport

6240 Airpark Dr., Chattanooga, TN 37421
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Chattanooga-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America-Chattanooga---Airport.h41658-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Chattanooga-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America-Chattanooga---Airport.h41658-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Chattanooga-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America-Chattanooga---Airport.h41658-p2.Hotel-Reviews