Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Chattanooga Choo Choo

3.0 out of 5.0

Chattanooga Choo Choo

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Awesome experience for anyone who loves trains, historical buildings, or something a little different than typical hotels. Staying in a train car is a must, and they were bigger, more comfortable, and more adorable than we had hoped! These are very cozy accommodations that you'll never forget---plus free wifi (with a strong signal, even in the Pullman cars); perfect central downtown location; amazing architecture and history; great assortment of free games for the whole family set up outdoors; attached coffee shop, restaurant, bar, and souvenir store; heated indoor pool on the premise; and lots of parking. The rooms were well-furnished with a comfy queen bed plus a daybed (with a trundle underneath), desk, chair, lamps, tv, mini-fridge & coffee-maker, and a shockingly big bathroom (with a built-in heater)! 100% recommend staying at this historic location when in Chattanooga, we loved every minute of it from playing bocce in the evening among the lighted gas lamps to enjoying the beautiful gardens/fountains to snuggling down in a real train car.

You are paying for nostalgia. That being said, it was pretty cool staying on the train car. Front desk was like pulling teeth. Understand that upkeep on old train cars is not easy, but management really needs to look at the damage.

Fun hotel with a great train theme. We didn't stay in one of the train car rooms, but our room was clean and comfortable. The hotel grounds are very pleasing with fountains and games set up all around. There are some stores and restaurants on site as well. The hotel is a very close walk to a lot of bars and restaurants.

Nice location, it was clean and staff was great. Loved it

Unique venue. We went for a wedding anniversary only 30 minutes from home. Hotel has lots going on. We went to the Comedy Catch on site, a couple of bars also. There was a Brewer's Fest going on with food trucks in the court yard, lots of other on site dinning and attractions. An all inclusive stay without leaving the site. Lots more varied dining and attractions within walking distance. Chattanooga itself is a great place to visit. Great stay.

This place has so much potential. Great location, the grounds and facilities are definitely on the way up. We stayed in one of the train cars. You are paying for the experience of staying in a train car only. The room itself was clean but in need of repair. I understand that it is historic but the bathroom was a joke. Not a complete waste, my wife and I had a great time, just not worth the price.

Chattanooga Choo Choo by no stretch of logic should be thought of as an historic hotel. It is a crumbling Motel 6 from the late 1970's behind a very nice historic train station. My family was locked out of our room twice due to faulty locks. The whole place smelled of mildew and the overpowering chlorine smell seeping past the "fire door" (with a broken lock) from the pool. There are a few new fixtures to give the mild appearance of an update, but this is still very much a sow's ear.

It was a nice hotel, there was a bunch of stuff to do on and near the property. I would definitely go back

Charged for parking.Pool is supposed to be heated but is ice cold.Poll needs to be resurfaced,as it gives the impression of being dirty.You need to give a warning on the amount of the room tax as it may be better to choose a less expensive hotel.

The staff was wonderful and extremely helpful! I would highly recommend the Chatt Choo Choo.

check in was great, staff was very helpful and very nice. the grounds are nice around the hotel, with nice restaurants, bars, and a gift shop. the room was fine, no frills but clean. i don't think anyone uses the pool, the pool area is in desperate need of a renovation.

We got in the room about 2A.M. and around 3:30 the police was knocking on all the doors looking for someone. People fighting in the halls and no parking near the room. The facility needs to be updated.

I was sooo disappointed. I had stayed there before in a regular room and wasn't impressed. For the convenience I thought I would try again. This time I selected one of the train cars. It was beyond horrible. Stains on the carpet. The bedding on the day bed was OLD and possibly from the 70's, the sheet and blanket were showing from underneath. THE WORST part was I froze!!! I had the heat up as high as it would go and had to get two blankets down to resemble anything like warmth. The mattress was sooo uncomfortable. I wouldn't speculate on how old it was. It reminded me of high school spring break and the quality of the rooms at Panama City. The hot water was non existent, it was cold after filling the tub 3 inches. There was a small heater in the bathroom THANKFULLY, and I had to turn it on for 15 minutes before I could consider bathing. The entire experience was unfortunate, A train car, how absolutely romantic and different or so I thought. I will NEVER stay there again.

This is a great experience for kids to be able to spend the night in a train car. The hotel is a Construction work of art. If your into old buildings this place is for you.

I love this hotel because of its history and location. The hotel and property needs a little bit of love but nothing that would really concern me. The location is perfection because it's next to the carta bus and around a lot of great restaurants that are easily with in walking distance. Will definitely be back.

We did not stay room was terrible, hole in door filled with putty, this place should be condemned!

In a supposedly renovated room where the toilet rocks back and forth. No parking near the restaurant. Watch out for glass walls..No warning stickers.

My room was clean and updated. The outside is a little more outdated, but staff was wonderful! Close to everything downtown.

We booked a room on the train. When we checked in we were told it wasn't available. At checkout, they thought we were on train and wondered why. But no apology. Restaurants were terrific though

1400 Market Street Chattanooga TN

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Indoor pool
  • 24-hour fitness center

Located in Downtown Chattanooga, Chattanooga Choo Choo is adjacent to Songbirds Guitar Museum and within a mile (2 km) of other popular sights like Tivoli Theatre. This 145-room, 3-star hotel welcomes guests with 3 restaurants, an indoor pool, and a 24-hour fitness center. It's in central Chattanooga and also close to University of Tennessee at Chattanooga and Tennessee Aquarium.


Dining

This hotel is home to 3 onsite restaurants, perfect for a quick bite to eat. You can sip a beverage at the coffee shop/café. For your convenience, a cooked-to-order breakfast is served for a fee each morning from 6:30 AM to 1 PM.


Rooms

A TV comes with satellite channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. The bathroom offers hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a coffee maker, free weekday newspapers, and an ironing board.


Property features

At Chattanooga Choo Choo, guests enjoy features like an indoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. If you drive, self parking is USD 7 per night, and there's also a free area shuttle. The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day to help with concierge services and dry cleaning/laundry. Other amenities at this boutique hotel include a business center, a microwave in a common area, and express check-out.

Room options

Room (1 Queen W-Daybed Pullman Train car)

Queen 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Chattanooga Choo Choo

Everyone (27) Couples (43) Business (5) Family (45) Friends (5) Other (3)
2
Everyone

By on Nov 9, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 9, 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while with us.

5
Everyone

Awesome experience for anyone who loves trains, historical buildings, or something a little different than typical hotels. Staying in a train car is a must, and they were bigger, more comfortable, and more adorable than we had hoped! These are very cozy accommodations that you'll never forget---plus free wifi (with a strong signal, even in the Pullman cars); perfect central downtown location; amazing architecture and history; great assortment of free games for the whole family set up outdoors; attached coffee shop, restaurant, bar, and souvenir store; heated indoor pool on the premise; and lots of parking. The rooms were well-furnished with a comfy queen bed plus a daybed (with a trundle underneath), desk, chair, lamps, tv, mini-fridge & coffee-maker, and a shockingly big bathroom (with a built-in heater)! 100% recommend staying at this historic location when in Chattanooga, we loved every minute of it from playing bocce in the evening among the lighted gas lamps to enjoying the beautiful gardens/fountains to snuggling down in a real train car.

By , from Houston on Nov 2, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 2, 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're glad you had a wonderful stay with us, and enjoyed what our property has to offer for the whole family.

4
Everyone

You are paying for nostalgia. That being said, it was pretty cool staying on the train car. Front desk was like pulling teeth. Understand that upkeep on old train cars is not easy, but management really needs to look at the damage.

By on Sep 25, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 25, 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We do apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay. The renovation process for the train cars has been started, and improvements have been made.

4
Everyone

Fun hotel with a great train theme. We didn't stay in one of the train car rooms, but our room was clean and comfortable. The hotel grounds are very pleasing with fountains and games set up all around. There are some stores and restaurants on site as well. The hotel is a very close walk to a lot of bars and restaurants.

By on Sep 20, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 21, 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

5
Everyone

Nice location, it was clean and staff was great. Loved it

By on Sep 16, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 20, 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

4

rail car stay

Everyone

Unique venue. We went for a wedding anniversary only 30 minutes from home. Hotel has lots going on. We went to the Comedy Catch on site, a couple of bars also. There was a Brewer's Fest going on with food trucks in the court yard, lots of other on site dinning and attractions. An all inclusive stay without leaving the site. Lots more varied dining and attractions within walking distance. Chattanooga itself is a great place to visit. Great stay.

By on Aug 27, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 28, 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you got to experience everything our property has to offer. We do apologize about the train cars having fresh/wet paint, but we are currently renovating them.

3

could be great but...

Everyone

This place has so much potential. Great location, the grounds and facilities are definitely on the way up. We stayed in one of the train cars. You are paying for the experience of staying in a train car only. The room itself was clean but in need of repair. I understand that it is historic but the bathroom was a joke. Not a complete waste, my wife and I had a great time, just not worth the price.

By on Aug 20, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 20, 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We do apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay. We are currently renovating the train cars, and hope to have them completed by spring.

1
Everyone

Chattanooga Choo Choo by no stretch of logic should be thought of as an historic hotel. It is a crumbling Motel 6 from the late 1970's behind a very nice historic train station. My family was locked out of our room twice due to faulty locks. The whole place smelled of mildew and the overpowering chlorine smell seeping past the "fire door" (with a broken lock) from the pool. There are a few new fixtures to give the mild appearance of an update, but this is still very much a sow's ear.

By , from Nashville on Aug 6, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 7, 2018

We sincerely apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay. We are currently in the middle of renovations, and we understand that this does not excuse the issues you had while staying with us. Again, we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while staying with us.

3
Everyone

It was a nice hotel, there was a bunch of stuff to do on and near the property. I would definitely go back

By on Aug 5, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 6, 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to seeing you again.

2
Everyone

Charged for parking.Pool is supposed to be heated but is ice cold.Poll needs to be resurfaced,as it gives the impression of being dirty.You need to give a warning on the amount of the room tax as it may be better to choose a less expensive hotel.

By on Jul 7, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 13, 2018

We sincerely apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay. We do understand that the heating element has gone out in the pool, and we are working on getting that replaced. Renovations will be done to pool soon. We apologize about the taxes being so high, but they are set by the city at 17.25% and should have been stated on your booking information from Orbitz.