Hotel Cariblue3.0 out of 5.0
Recent guest reviews
Overall good experience here. Breakfast is included, pool on site, spacious rooms. A taxi into town if you prefer not to walk the two miles, is about $4.00 or 2,000 colones.. This is definitely a JUNGLE experience and NOT for the picky or finicky guest. If you’re easily disgusted by bugs this is NOT the place for you. The hotel is very secure and guards will walk you to your room with a flashlight if you get in late. You cannot stroll into the grounds without checking in with security. We came with friends and their room was not clean when they entered their room. This was remedied the following morning. This hotel is a combination of two hotels and they may be understaffed. Jungle cabins require a lot of maintenance, because the critters, rain and humidity can take over quickly. It could use some work. Also, we checked out at 5:30am and no one was at the desk. We had to just leave our keys after yelling “Hello!” and ringing the desk bell for about 15 minutes. Bed was comfortable and our bathroom had a double sink, so we were able to get ready quickly in the morning. Staff was quite gracious, especially the ladies who serve breakfast. Very sweet ladies. Overall a good visit. If you keep in mind that this is a 3 ⭐️ hotel, you’ll be able to better manage your expectations.
Reserved 2 bungalows. they were not available. End up with what they call Superior rooms, they should had been called Inferior rooms. Hotel was not able to tell us what happen to our reservations. We reserved the rooms through a company call My Costa Rica. A bad ending to a good vacation. Go someplace else
As a travel agent we have stopped here on multiple occasions. Close enough to drive to activities, but far enough to be quiet and relax as well. Food is great. They have a swim up bar. Something for every kind of traveler.
My review needs a few major caveats. Our family traveled to Puerto Viejo after a fantastic few days in Arenal. We were hoping to spend some quality time relaxing by the beach, surfing and diving. I opted for the Caribbean side because I didn't want the high-rise hotel feel of Tamarindo Beach. While I was expecting Puerto Viejo to be a bit more "rustic, I did not expect the hotel selection to be so poor. I agree that Cariblue is one of the best hotels in the area, but don't expect much. Our "oceanfront" room did have ocean views but abutted the main/only road in the area. The traffic noise was pretty bad all day/evening but did quiet down during the night. Don't be fooled by the slick marketing pictures on their website. The family room we booked was very large and the beds were comfortable but the lack furnishings and decorations coupled with the cold white CFL bulbs in all of the light fixtures made it very cold and uninviting. The bathroom was...gross. We immediately complained and while awaiting a response from the GM, went on a four hour search for another hotel. Unfortunately, everything was booked and the travel agent (me) was getting the stink eye from the rest of the family. To his credit, the GM was very apologetic, offered to credit us for any nights we didn't stay at the hotel (non-refundable rate) and offered to call around to other hotels to find us other accommodations. That was service above and beyond and very much appreciated. Further, he did manage to move us to another room which, although not perfect, was a marked improvement. If you're hell bent on going to Puerto Viejo and staying at this hotel, definitely book a bungalow. They looked MUCH nicer than the rooms along the main road. Last thought, do not book your trip during or even near the rainy season. We had one nice day but the others were non-stop, torrential rain. Last, last thought, Puerto Viejo is a funky, fun old school surf town with great restaurants and a great vibe.
The hotel room was nice, a superior double but it would have been great had it had a fridge. The local water is not good to drink, and at this hotel you have to buy filtered water. $1 for a small bottle. We bought a big bottle at the local shop. There is a lovely pool, but you need to buy a small pool towel for $6 should you not want to use the single bathroom towel. It rains a lot here....buy an umbrella. Breakfast was close to being the poorest we had enjoyed across our month stay in Costa Rica. Only one type of fruit each day...it did change but why not provide a choice? The omelettes were very well cooked. Given that the quality of the breakfast is a good indicator of the restaurant we didn't eat in the very expensive restaurant. The bikes to hire were OK but the same price as all the others on offer, no benefit for hotel guests. They bag search all their staff on exiting the hotel. With a bit of trust of staff and guests, and a little generosity of spirit,this could and would be a lovely place. The staff we found to be pleasant and helpful and obviously embarrassed that the managers and owners are letting the place and them down...but they don't say a word. They are loyal....to the owners, I doubt it is reciprocated. After a while the relaxed nature of Puerto Viejo and a couple of lovely cycle rides,slow lunches and snatched moments between rainfalls on the beach we enjoyed our stay.
Nice hotel with a resident Sloth! Amazing beach opposite with surf lessons. Ok room. No TV. A bit out of town, and walking 2km to the nearby nightlife wasn't really recommended. (Taxi safer and cheap). Breakfast good. Booked with Intrepid tour and overall pleased with their choice of hotel.
Nice lodges, with lots of fauna/flora on the domain. We saw coloured tiny frogs, some sloths, lizzards, insects, big crabs in the evening. Beds were good, rooms/bathroom were clean. Not always hot water to shower, but this was not really an issue. Location very nice at the carribean side. Drive a bit further to a national park at the beach. It gives you excellent views while big butterflies are just flying around.
This hotel was booked by our travel agency and not something we would have chosen had we made the bookings. It is walking distance from one of the beaches. Pros: 1. Can walk to beach. Please note beach waters are chopping. Beach towel can be bought for $8. 2. Security in hotel is good. 3. Can rent cycles for $8 per day per person. Cycles need to be returned by 5 pm and rental can continue on next day. 4. Taxis available to city for a price. Please note that you have to pay round trip fees as the taxi comes in from the city to get you. 5. Cabins have a quaint look and feel. 6. TV channels have good coverage. 7. Swimming pool is decent. 8. Hotel restaurant is okay, though we did take the taxi to eat in the city on several occasions. 9. Nice frogs and other animals on site. Son enjoyed working around early in the morning. Could hear the howler monkeys at night. Cons: 1. Can't really walk to other restaurants and places after dark. 2. Breakfast options are very limited. Even the eggs have three options - meat, onions and cheese. 3. Not a luxury hotel. Bathrooms are a little sad. The soap holding dish was missing from the shower. One could see that it had been there before and was now gone. 4. Service was a little lackadaisical. Front desk did not seem to really care very much (except for one person.)
This is the second time in 7 months that I visit this hotel with my family. It has everything on our wish list: convenient location (Cocles), beautiful and comfortable bungalows (with A/C, private bathroom with hot water, free Wi-Fi, tv with cable and hammock) in the middle of the jungle, awesome pool with wet bar (Junior the bartender is awesome too!), delicious buffet style breakfast included, super friendly customer service and reasonable prices. The only reason why I didn’t give them 5 stars is because our room had only 2 beds and we needed 3, but they resolved it quickly and brought us an extra bed right away. We will definitely be staying there next time we’re in town.
I was upstairs in a four-plex building. The room was clean and the a/c was sufficient. The resort is nice just older. The staff were very nice and the food was great. few min walk to beach. All was very good.
- Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
- Free parking
- Onsite dining
Hotel Cariblue places you within 2 miles (3 km) of Talamanca Family Art and Foundation Jaguar Rescue Center. This 45-room, 3-star hotel welcomes guests with 2 restaurants, a full-service spa, and an outdoor pool. Black Sand Beach and Jaguar Centro de Rescate are also nearby.
Enjoy dining at the hotel's 2 onsite restaurants: Sole Luna offers relaxing pool views; Totem Beach Bar specializes in Italian cuisine. Quench your thirst with a drink at the bar/lounge.
Hotel Cariblue's 45 individually decorated rooms provide balconies, private yards, and safes. Guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and Tempur-Pedic beds with Egyptian cotton sheets and down comforters ensure a restful night. In-room massages are available, and rooms also include desks.
At Hotel Cariblue, guests enjoy a full-service spa, an outdoor pool, and a children's pool. If you drive, take advantage of free parking. Staff members are on hand to provide dry cleaning/laundry services, tour or ticket assistance, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this beach hotel include a spa tub, free WiFi in public areas, and coffee/tea in a common area.
Reviews from Trip Advisor
80.0% of guests recommend this hotelTotal of 1073 reviews