Ratings based on 4,852 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Orbitz Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Jul 20, 2017
We had an amazing honeymoon. Definitely coming back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice staff and everything is clean, clean, clean.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Very clean and very nice staff.
Cons: There was no shuttle to/from the airport.
Location: Whale shark tours.
We were greeted at the entrance with a cold hand cloth and a glass of wine. Going inside for the first time was truly breathtaking, the lobby is beautiful, the staircase is grand. The staff is very courteous and extremely positive. We loved our room and the beach was fantastic. We rented jet-ski's and the next day my gf and I went out on the catamaran by ourselves. The lazy river was a nice addition to the swim up bar. Overall our experience there was a good one. My only gripe was there are no shuttles to/from the airport...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lenexa, KS

Great Honeymoon Resort

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Cons: Offer a dinner buffet/more casual option for dinner that doesn't require pants (it's hot) and a collared shirt. Allow AC in rooms to be colder
Location: We took the Catamaran to Isla Mujeres and snorkeled. The snorkeling was not great, but the boat staff was fun. Not much to do on the island.
My husband and I just returned from our honeymoon, which we celebrated at Excellence Playa Mujeres! When you arrive, you are greeted with a glass of champagne and a cool towel (heck yes). The resort is spotless and beautiful. We upgraded to the Excellence Club, but were in just a junior suite. It was a beautiful room, and with the upgrade to the Excellence club, we had access to the private beach, pool, and lounge for Club members. The private beach and pools were nice because they weren't as crowded and had their own dedicated concierge to bring you towels and make your beach bed! It was awesome. Our favorite restaurant was Spice (you have to make reservations for the hibachi). We also loved the lunch buffet at Toscana and the mozzarella sticks at the Sports Bar. The coffee/ice cream/pastry shop Aroma was one of my favorites too. Our favorite bartenders were David and Tomas! They took such good care of us. We recommend doing hydrotherapy at the spa (included with all spa treatments). Our couples massage at the spa was the BEST massage we've ever had. AMAZING. We would definitely recommend this resort for couples who are looking for a romantic getaway! The service really is five star and the staff is for the most part very friendly. Don't forget your bug spray though and if you're a guy- bring enough collared shirts and pants because all dinner restaurants require collared shirts and pants for men.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2017
They are very kind, cleaning our room twice a day when we left. I enjoyed dishes very much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Pros and Cons of excellence

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Great shows, activity to keep us busy
Cons: Dress code that is fair for both men and women and clean beach side like leaves MUSIC on pool side please,
Location: We just stayed at hotel because it is like 25 minutes drive from Downtown, but there are tons of things to do inside the resort
PRO: Great activity, entertainment, choices of restaurant. CON: Hammock on swimming pool smells really bad, LOTS of mosquitoes- especially outdoor sitting only restaurants like Lobster and Grill even the show areas, not letting man with short sleeves in to the restaurant -while girls can enter with only bikini looking clothing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York,NY

Best place to stay on earth

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Cons: Air conditioning in the main bar area needs to be improved.
The Excellence is simply the most relaxing place ever. My wife an I are in love with this place. The food, service and overall experience is amazing. We highly recommend!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Elegant hotel

Posted May 26, 2017
Our stay was incredible. The hotel lived up to its reputation. The environment was amazing. We were surrounded by extremely accommodating staff, respectful vacationers, and delightful restaurants and beaches. Our bike your was a blast, entertainment was up to par. Bars were all around the premises and the cleanliness of the hotel is noticeable right from the front entrance of the hotel. Not to mention that alluring aroma of luxury. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is in search of heaven.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Paradise!!

Posted May 26, 2017
Excellent in all. There is nothing they are missing. Relaxing and beautiful. Great staff and food. Perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OHIO, USA

Almost Perfect!

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: I really enjoyed how fresh and clean everything was.
Cons: Beach swim areas. Get rid of all the grass.
Location: We didn't explore outside the report but it appeared there was a lot to do locally.
This resort was almost perfect. The only reason i couldn't rate it 5 stars is because of the beach swim area having so much grass growing in it. Im not sure if this can be scraped from the bottom or not but something needs to be done. It appeared most guess avoided swimming because of this. Everything else was 5 star quality though. From the minute u arrive u just know its going to be a special week. The service, food, drinks, rooms, & entertainment was well thought out and couldn't be better! The pools were great with all day entertainment in certain areas but quiet in other areas if thats your thing. I just can't say enough about the Excellence Resorts. We stayed here this year and the one in Riviera Miya Last year and both were superb. Over the years we've stayed at multiple all inclusive resorts but nothing comes close to what these resorts can offer. AMAZING - SERVICE - FOOD - ROOMS!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland , Maine

Amazing place

Posted May 8, 2017
Can't say enough about EPM. The incredible staff and management make it vastly superior to ANY other Caribbean property! Be sure to request Guendoline as your concierge, when booking ! Will jump to do everything to make your stay the best possible!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear George, Let us thank you for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres as host of your getaway and for sharing your experience with all Expedia users. We are delighted to read your enthusiastic words. It is great to know that you had a fantastic time at our hotel and our colleagues, providing a friendly and attentive service, were able to exceed your expectations. We truly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future. Receive our warmest regards from Excellence Family!