Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Best Western Plus Boston Hotel

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Heater was very loud. Bad neighborhood... there were homeless people in front of the building

Please, do not stay here. As many of the reviewers stated, we checked out before we even checked in. The hotel is located on the corner of Mass Ave and Melnea Cass- also known as methodone mile. The entire hotel is surrounded by druggies, the parking lot riddeled with people shooting up in between cars. There is no security and extremely dim lighting in the parking lot. It is not worth risking your safety for this hotel.

We arrived after dark which was a huge mistake. It’s in the absolute worst, unsafe part of town. The parking lot was incredibly hard to find and after finding it was immediately approached by many homeless drug addicts asking for money. The staff was nice but our rooms A/C was broken with the A/C panel open hanging off the wall and our rooms blow dryer was stolen. Outside the window I could see my car with a homeless woman sleeping next to it. The hotel provides ear plugs because the people outside are extremely loud with police sirens constantly going off. Parking and breakfast was included but trust me spending the extra money is worth your safety.

This hotel was nicely updated and in a unique building. However, there was a very active fire station, a methadone clinic, and a shelter right on the same couple of blocks. Many sirens all night long and people arguing and singing at all hours of the night. The hotel is also a bit of a ways from public transportation and this is not an area you would just want to hang around, at all.

Very nice hotel but in a scary scary location. It's too bad the area takes away from the charm of the hotels exterior. Shuttle drivers and breakfast crew were awesome but the desk staff and security had zero personality.

Witnessed drug deals, prostitution and people shooting up in rear parking lot-- all three of these things while making quick trip to grab bags after check-in. In broad daylight. Addicts and homeless loitering EVERYWHERE. Unsafe to walk anywhere from this hotel, which was our plan. The interior is an oasis though, with lovely staff. Orbitz info page for this property seems almost predatory towards people who don't know the area, because it was NOT a cheap room by any means. Do not stay here.

The location is convenient to downtown with the complimentary shuttle bus and free parking. It is not that far from the airport, although tricky to find as the signage of the hotel is not very obvious when trying to locate it after dark. There are not many places to eat within walking distance of the hotel that we found and it didn't appear to be a great place to walk around locally.

With an early morning appointment at BU Hospital, the location of this hotel was perfect. The room was generous, as was the breakfast. The problem was noise. Our room faced a fenced construction or demolition site, and they were banging around all night long.

My wife an daughter were so worried about the neighborhood (the way it looked and the number of homeless wandering around, the ongoing construction and dumpsters, the adult-themed amusement across the street) and we were so worried about leaving our car in the parking lot overnight that we didn't even bother to go inside. We booked another hotel in another part of town and never looked back. I rated the Staff, Hotel Facilities, Room Cleanliness, and Comfort all a neutral 3 rating because we didn't even enter the building; the neighborhood was that much of a turn off.

Our room was newly renovated, so It was really nice, clean and very big.. BUT the location of the hotel is not great. It's a bit of a walk to the city, which we didn't mind, but there were some undesirables hanging around outside which made us feel a little unsafe. A bit of a dodgy area.

The staff was pleasant and accommodating of our needs, the room was well appointed and very comfortable. Everything you expect from a well run hotel.

Cozy environment, friendly staff, free breakfast, walking distance to hospital and local transit stations and or bus stops. Many resturants to choose from to eat and is very close to the heart of the city where you can enjoy night life activities. .

This is our second time staying at this hotel. Rooms have been wonderfully renovated. It's still ongoing though which could be an issue for some people. We only stayed for the night.

We drove up to this hotel surrounded by homeless and garbage. There was nowhere to park and we didn't feel safe. I felt mislead by online pictures & orbitz & reviews. I never would have stayed here with children. We cancelled our reservation in person (the staff was very respectful). The lobby was fine but the outside conditions were terrifying. People in line in front of me complained about broken AC. Room windows were open.

The hotel itself was nice but when i got to my room it smelled stale, when i asked the house keeper for some air freshner but that didnt work either

Booked at this hotel because I was unable to get a room closer to Longwood medical area at a rate anywhere near the one I got here. They offer parking, as well as shuttle service to Longwood, so I figured I'd give it a try. The hotel was easily accessible from Route 93 and the free self parking was adjacent to the hotel. The double room had 2 queen beds and a separate sitting area. It was clean and comfortable. The free continental breakfast was much better than I expected. All the staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is in an industrial area, and the outside noise can be a little intrusive, especially earlier in the evening. It died down by 9 or So.

The hotel is right next to an industrial district, which acts as a natural alarm in the morning. The hotel does recognize this and provides ear plugs, which most hotels in the area will tell you to basically get over it. The area isn't the best, but it's right by bus access and walking distance to the train. I can't stress enough how great the staff is...we were going to miss our train and they had the shuttle driver make an extra trip to drive us all the way to our final destination. If you're looking for an inexpensive, decent hotel with a tremendous staff then stay here. If you are high maintenance and require down pillows and room service, this isn't the hotel for you.

The hotel, staff, breakfast, free parking weternal perfection!

The hotel staff were great and the room was excellent - only drawback is you need a car or taxi as the hotel is not close to the subway or bus stops

free parking was definitely a bonus!! walking distance to Fenway!

891 Massachusetts Ave Boston MA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Boston Medical Center
  • Free full breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking

Boston Medical Center is a short stroll from Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, and other popular attractions like Boston Symphony Hall are within a mile (2 km). This 92-room hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking. Near the airport, it's also near Copley Place and Hynes Convention Center.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free full breakfast offered each morning.


Rooms

All 92 air-conditioned accommodations feature sitting areas. Guests can expect free WiFi and 42-inch flat-screen TVs with pay movies. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and beds are dressed in down comforters. Sofa beds, microwaves, and refrigerators are also standard.


Property features

Best Western Plus Boston Hotel features a fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and a 24-hour business center. You can take advantage of free parking, along with a free train station shuttle. A multilingual staff is on hand to assist with dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include coffee/tea in a common area, a computer station, and free newspapers.

Room options

Suite, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Bathtub

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Suite, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, Refrigerator

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Best Western Plus Boston Hotel

Everyone (15) Couples (16) Business (14) Family (18) Other (4) Friends (16)
4
Everyone

Heater was very loud. Bad neighborhood... there were homeless people in front of the building

By on Nov 28, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 30, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you sharing your concerns and hope that our free shuttle and on-site security could help alleviate any discomforts. We want only the best for our guests here in Boston and look forward to our next opportunity to show you an even better stay. Please consider us on your return to the city.

1

no no no

Everyone

Please, do not stay here. As many of the reviewers stated, we checked out before we even checked in. The hotel is located on the corner of Mass Ave and Melnea Cass- also known as methodone mile. The entire hotel is surrounded by druggies, the parking lot riddeled with people shooting up in between cars. There is no security and extremely dim lighting in the parking lot. It is not worth risking your safety for this hotel.

By , from Boston on Nov 25, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 30, 2017

Dear Vivienne, Feedback from our guests is always appreciated as it helps us improve. We're sorry you felt our location and parking area were less safe than you would have liked. We do have security guards on site nightly between 11pm and 7am as well as security cameras in the lobby and entrance way. We certainly respect your concerns but hope you'll allow us the chance to provide you with safe accommodations when you're next in the area.

1

do not stay here

Everyone

We arrived after dark which was a huge mistake. It’s in the absolute worst, unsafe part of town. The parking lot was incredibly hard to find and after finding it was immediately approached by many homeless drug addicts asking for money. The staff was nice but our rooms A/C was broken with the A/C panel open hanging off the wall and our rooms blow dryer was stolen. Outside the window I could see my car with a homeless woman sleeping next to it. The hotel provides ear plugs because the people outside are extremely loud with police sirens constantly going off. Parking and breakfast was included but trust me spending the extra money is worth your safety.

By on Nov 7, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 10, 2017

We truly value your honest feedback and apologize that you did not have a better experience under our roof. Our team treats guest security as the number one priority, employing video cameras and a nightly security guard. We are sorry that you did not feel safe in our part of Boston. We want every guest to feel well-rested and hope you were able to relax in spite of the city's sounds. We were honored to host you and hope to improve your perception of our property next time you are in town.

3

nice hotel but terrible location

Everyone

This hotel was nicely updated and in a unique building. However, there was a very active fire station, a methadone clinic, and a shelter right on the same couple of blocks. Many sirens all night long and people arguing and singing at all hours of the night. The hotel is also a bit of a ways from public transportation and this is not an area you would just want to hang around, at all.

By , from minneapolis, mn on Oct 16, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 19, 2017

We appreciate that you chose to stay with us during your recent trip to Boston. Thanks for leaving your genuine feedback following your visit. While we are happy that you enjoyed our property, we are sorry you did not find our location ideal. Guest safety and security are our top priorities, and we employ a nightshift security guard and video cameras at all times. Thanks again for staying with us. We hope to exceed your expectations next time you are in town.

3
Everyone

Very nice hotel but in a scary scary location. It's too bad the area takes away from the charm of the hotels exterior. Shuttle drivers and breakfast crew were awesome but the desk staff and security had zero personality.

By on Oct 1, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 4, 2017

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. Our team strives to deliver an exceptional stay with our clean, comfy rooms and wide selection of amenities. We are sorry to hear that our location in central Boston deterred you from having the wonderful stay you were seeking. Being located in such a busy city has its advantages and disadvantages. However, we assure you our team takes all the necessary precautions to do everything we can to ensure our guest's safety. Thanks for choosing us for your recent trip to Boston. We love that you enjoyed our hotel overall and found our exterior charming. It would be our pleasure to host you again down the road.

2

safety concerns

Everyone

Witnessed drug deals, prostitution and people shooting up in rear parking lot-- all three of these things while making quick trip to grab bags after check-in. In broad daylight. Addicts and homeless loitering EVERYWHERE. Unsafe to walk anywhere from this hotel, which was our plan. The interior is an oasis though, with lovely staff. Orbitz info page for this property seems almost predatory towards people who don't know the area, because it was NOT a cheap room by any means. Do not stay here.

By , from RI on Sep 16, 2017

3

location and services

Everyone

The location is convenient to downtown with the complimentary shuttle bus and free parking. It is not that far from the airport, although tricky to find as the signage of the hotel is not very obvious when trying to locate it after dark. There are not many places to eat within walking distance of the hotel that we found and it didn't appear to be a great place to walk around locally.

By , from Hawai'i on May 13, 2017

3

very good except...

Everyone

With an early morning appointment at BU Hospital, the location of this hotel was perfect. The room was generous, as was the breakfast. The problem was noise. Our room faced a fenced construction or demolition site, and they were banging around all night long.

By , from Vermont on May 5, 2017

2

bad neighborhood

Everyone

My wife an daughter were so worried about the neighborhood (the way it looked and the number of homeless wandering around, the ongoing construction and dumpsters, the adult-themed amusement across the street) and we were so worried about leaving our car in the parking lot overnight that we didn't even bother to go inside. We booked another hotel in another part of town and never looked back. I rated the Staff, Hotel Facilities, Room Cleanliness, and Comfort all a neutral 3 rating because we didn't even enter the building; the neighborhood was that much of a turn off.

By , from New Jersey on Apr 26, 2017

3

nice hotel in not very nice area

Everyone

Our room was newly renovated, so It was really nice, clean and very big.. BUT the location of the hotel is not great. It's a bit of a walk to the city, which we didn't mind, but there were some undesirables hanging around outside which made us feel a little unsafe. A bit of a dodgy area.

By , from Southern Delaware on Apr 20, 2017