Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Days Inn Birmingham AL

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Yes the drywall has cracks. Yes the hot water isn't that hot. Yes they don't run the AC in the hallways. However the room was clean, she sheets were clean, it was quiet, the employees were nice, and the breakfast was good.

This is the worst hotel I ever stay The smell in the room is So terrible Never come to this hotel even free

There were crumbs. And smears in the desk chair, obvious enough to see if anyone has bothered to look at it. Also the heater was so dirty and rusted that it blew stuff out of the vents.

Found a bed bug crawling on me! Coffee pot was broken on the side. Staff were very kind.

The hotel was obviously fairly old, but it was in a very safe area. The halls were fairly warm. Probably because the ac units were broken and looked like they were falling off the wall. It was an ok stay. Not the best, but surely not the worst hotel.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hallways were kind of hot and stuffy but the room temperature was excellent. I would recommend bringing some fa-breeze as the room was slightly stuffy upon entering although very clean. It was fine after the air conditioner was turned on: as a matter of fact, I had to ask my teenagers to turn it down several times as it was very cold. They went swimming in the pool and said they enjoyed it as the hotel staff had just cleaned it. Breakfast was a very pleasant experience- good food along with a very helpful and kind hostess named Susan. It is an older hotel but I feel that any reasonable person would find the stay as pleasant as my family and I did.

We booked a room with 2 queen beds; we got a room with 2 standard double beds.They told us they were sold out and could not move us. I am 6'5" tall it was a terrible night There was no electricity in the bathroom so we coluld not shave, dry our hair or even see what we were doing, Will never stay at a Days Inn again.

hallways smells musty. first room assigned to us, big gap on the door and wont even shut completely. they gave us another room with no problem though. paint's coming off the ceiling, seems like there's been a leak at some point. good thing we only stayed a night.

I booked two different upgraded standard rooms with double beds. When I showed up and went to my room the sliding door to the balcony didn't lock and with a toddler that was not a good sign to start with. Soon after I washed my feet to get into bed and the water wouldn't drain out of the tub. The thing that broke the camels back was I looked over and saw a half eaten rotting cooking on the floor. This was all just in my room alone. If they don't clean up the floor I don't trust they cleaned out the bed. I decided I would go check out the other room since family was staying in there. Well there was bottle caps under the bed a used gas station cup on the balcony still. And last but not least a dirty sock in the floor by the night stand. When I called to complain I was informed stuff happens there was no I'm sorry what can I do exchanged. I ended up getting my money back and going to stay at the red roof inn across the road. It was cheaper and were actually clean.

All in all it was great. The shower could have been cleaner but I came prepared! Nice location right off 65 with easy access!

NEEDS IMPROVEMENT! OLD HOTEL.STAFF WAS FINE.WONT STAY HERE AGAIN.

It wasnt as clean. Roaches were present but overall ...it was ok.

We stayed here because we were tired of driving and wanted to rest throughout the night.

Expectations were met. Friendly staff. I would stay there again. Didn't have time to check out the pool but it looked clean

Great Stay. Definitely recommend it. The rooms were little outdated tho. Definately could use some refinishing.

Pulled into parking lot which was covered in ice, no caution signs. Hallways smelled like cigarettes and urine. Walked into room cigarettes and cigars trash on top of television, tub not clean. Got switched to another room saw one roach not a problem but 3 or 4 is just nasty . Very unsatisfied with my stay there.

The staff were very nice. The girl at the front desk helped me to change my room to a big one. The room was very clean.

Wifi not reliable. Insufficient charging wall sockets. Ants coming our of bathtub.

We had 2 rooms, both were equally dismal. The room was not well cleaned, there was visible filt in the ac/heat unit, the walls and ceiling were patched badly and stained all over, the floor was actually bumpy! We had no TV remote; although I called for one twice and was told they'd bring one, but nobody ever did. The only positive thing we found was an excellent free breakfasts. I would not stay there again....ever!

Hotel looks kind of ghetto from the outside. Rooms were clean. Beds were comfy...but not heavenly. Rooms have balconys so pray you don't have a neighbor that goes in and out all night because the doors squeal and slam shut, irritating when trying to sleep.

1485 Montgomery Hwy Birmingham AL

Hotel highlights

  • Free hot/cold buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Located in Vestavia Hills within 2 miles (3 km) of Birmingham Ballet, Days Inn Birmingham AL is within a few miles (5 km) of Aldridge Gardens. This 3-star hotel welcomes guests with 124 rooms and conveniences like an outdoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking. Riverchase Galleria is also nearby.


Dining

Free hot/cold buffet breakfast is served each morning from 6 AM to 9:30 AM. Enjoy a bite to eat at the hotel's restaurant, or relax with a drink at the bar/lounge. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service.


Rooms

All of Days Inn Birmingham AL's 124 air-conditioned rooms provide balconies or patios, refrigerators, and coffee makers. TVs come with cable channels, and free WiFi keeps guests connected. Bathrooms offer deep soaking tubs, hair dryers, and free toiletries. Free local calls, safes, and ironing boards are also available.


Property features

Days Inn Birmingham AL features an outdoor pool, free WiFi in public areas, and 3 meeting rooms. If you drive, take advantage of free parking. The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day to help with luggage storage and securing valuables. Additional amenities include conference space, a business center, and a seasonal outdoor pool.

Room options

Double Room, 2 Double Beds

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Days Inn Birmingham AL

Everyone (9) Couples (9) Business (7) Family (8) Friends (5) Other (2)
3

decent place for price

Everyone

Yes the drywall has cracks. Yes the hot water isn't that hot. Yes they don't run the AC in the hallways. However the room was clean, she sheets were clean, it was quiet, the employees were nice, and the breakfast was good.

By on Jun 28, 2017

1

never come to this hotel

Everyone

This is the worst hotel I ever stay The smell in the room is So terrible Never come to this hotel even free

By on Apr 21, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 24, 2017

We're sorry to hear you had an issue with a strange odor in your room. Please know this is not typical. We hope you took the time to talk to the front desk about it. It's important to our team to make sure you are comfortable and happy during your stay and we'll do everything we can to make this happen. Again, we do apologize. If you are ever in the area again we'd appreciate the chance to make this up to you.

2

everything was dirty

Everyone

There were crumbs. And smears in the desk chair, obvious enough to see if anyone has bothered to look at it. Also the heater was so dirty and rusted that it blew stuff out of the vents.

By on Dec 21, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 8, 2017

We're Sorry you were not happy - We're working hard to address the issues you experienced. Thank you for your feedback.

2

bedbugs

Everyone

Found a bed bug crawling on me! Coffee pot was broken on the side. Staff were very kind.

By on Oct 26, 2016

3

not bad. not great

Everyone

The hotel was obviously fairly old, but it was in a very safe area. The halls were fairly warm. Probably because the ac units were broken and looked like they were falling off the wall. It was an ok stay. Not the best, but surely not the worst hotel.

By , from Milton, Florida on Oct 25, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 8, 2017

We're Sorry you were not happy - We're working hard to address the issues you experienced. Thank you for your feedback.

4

great hotel for the money.

Everyone

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hallways were kind of hot and stuffy but the room temperature was excellent. I would recommend bringing some fa-breeze as the room was slightly stuffy upon entering although very clean. It was fine after the air conditioner was turned on: as a matter of fact, I had to ask my teenagers to turn it down several times as it was very cold. They went swimming in the pool and said they enjoyed it as the hotel staff had just cleaned it. Breakfast was a very pleasant experience- good food along with a very helpful and kind hostess named Susan. It is an older hotel but I feel that any reasonable person would find the stay as pleasant as my family and I did.

By , from Smiths, AL on Sep 19, 2016

Review comment responded on Oct 5, 2016

Thank you for staying at the Days Inn Vestavia. We are in the process of cleaning and renovating the hotel to make it even better. Thanks for letting us know.

1

don't stay there

Everyone

We booked a room with 2 queen beds; we got a room with 2 standard double beds.They told us they were sold out and could not move us. I am 6'5" tall it was a terrible night There was no electricity in the bathroom so we coluld not shave, dry our hair or even see what we were doing, Will never stay at a Days Inn again.

By on Jul 4, 2016

2

old needs some fixing

Everyone

hallways smells musty. first room assigned to us, big gap on the door and wont even shut completely. they gave us another room with no problem though. paint's coming off the ceiling, seems like there's been a leak at some point. good thing we only stayed a night.

By , from Florida on Apr 15, 2016

Review comment responded on Oct 6, 2016

We are very sorry that you were not happy with your stay. We are working hard to fix the issues you experienced. We are in the process of cleaning and renovating the hotel. Thanks for letting us know.

1

filthy rooms

Everyone

I booked two different upgraded standard rooms with double beds. When I showed up and went to my room the sliding door to the balcony didn't lock and with a toddler that was not a good sign to start with. Soon after I washed my feet to get into bed and the water wouldn't drain out of the tub. The thing that broke the camels back was I looked over and saw a half eaten rotting cooking on the floor. This was all just in my room alone. If they don't clean up the floor I don't trust they cleaned out the bed. I decided I would go check out the other room since family was staying in there. Well there was bottle caps under the bed a used gas station cup on the balcony still. And last but not least a dirty sock in the floor by the night stand. When I called to complain I was informed stuff happens there was no I'm sorry what can I do exchanged. I ended up getting my money back and going to stay at the red roof inn across the road. It was cheaper and were actually clean.

By , from southern alabama on Apr 5, 2016

4

couples retreat

Couples

All in all it was great. The shower could have been cleaner but I came prepared! Nice location right off 65 with easy access!

By on Nov 30, 2015