Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Hotel Magic Mountain

3.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Stayed here on April 2017 for one night. We stayed in the brand new extension of the hotel with Volcano view. Friendly staff. Small but clean pool. No hot spring water here. Free but very limited breakfast.

Our room was perfectly adequate, but just missing some minor things that would have made it feel much nicer. Both our refrigerator and room safe were inoperable, and the wifi was fairly spotty. We didn't spend much time in the room because we were out and about, so these things weren't that big of a deal. We didn't complain, so they weren't able to fix the items and change our opinion, but if the staff were checking the condition of the room, they would have known about these items not working.

It is a great value for the money you pay hotel. Good location, friendly staff, and good surroundings (garden and pool). The staff eagerly assisted us in booking guided tours to various places around. The restaurant (Lina) is bit overpriced for the quality of food served. The Internet service is very patchy with a standard response from the hotel staff that they will reset the router whenever you asked them, which is not the staff's fault but the quality and speed of the connection that the hotel had.

The hotel was very nice, clean and had an excellent view of the Volcano.

My family and I were so amazed about the location of this hotel. We had a good view of the Arenal Volcano from our hotel balcony. Even though we arrived late to check-in, all provisions were left to the security guard so we could access our room. The restaurant manager even left his commitment at the function hall to open the kitchen for us and be served for dinner. The staff members were very consistent in accommodating all our daily needs to ensure that our vacation would be memorable and exciting. If I will go back to this part of Costa Rica, I will not have second thought of staying in this hotel again.

Overall this hotel was great. Staff was very friendly and every room had a view of the volcano. The only issue we had was that they advertised king size beds...they did not have any king beds. That was our only complaint.

The Hotel has a great location, where your close to town and great view of Arenal Volcano. The house keeping were very nice and cleaned the room very well. Also the waiters in the restaurant were very nice. What it does need is better staff service in the main lobby, better beds and TV's and Wi-Fi service through out the hotel. I wouldn't stay there again, its not as relaxing as it seems. Good luck!!!!

Overall the hotel was excellent, the staff were very helpful and polite, the food at the free buffett was excellent, however, their should be more daily variety. The hotel was kind of far from downtown but taxis are available for $3. The front desk is not open 24 hr, so if you need to checkout you have to wait untill 6 am. Our room kind was very difficult to work with, tried several times before you can open the door. The room was nice and so with bed. The safe storage was very useful. I would stay here again.

This was a clean hotel but we needed wifi in the room, not just in the lobby. Breakfast okay each morning.

My first time there, the staff was excellent they went out of there way to make sure everthing including our excurisions was the best experiences.This hotel is centurally located you can walk to town to enjoy some truly amazing resteraunts.Zip Lining is a must, you won't be disappointed.

We very much enjoyed our stay at Hotel Magic Mountain while we were hiking the rainforests and the Arenal Volcano area. It's very close to all the attractions and was easy to find. The room was super clean and our only complaint was that the bed was uncomfortably hard and the pillows were like pancakes. We never saw the volcano while were were there because of cloud cover but I'm told by other visitors that we would see it from our balcony if it were clear. The grounds of the hotel are absolutely lovely. The quantity and variety of flowers is wonderful. I really enjoyed all the hummingbirds buzzing around. The pool looked nice but we never got in it as it rained the entire time we were there, but it is in the rainforest region so I guess you have to expect that! The staff there was very friendly and helpful. They were especially prompt whenever you requested assistance. Overall, a nice place to stay and I would recommend it to travelers!

I don't know how, but 0rbitz managed to get us a room here for about half the hotel's regular rate. The room was clean and comfortable, and the view from our balcony was absolutely stunning: it overlooked the pool, a sloping meadow with cows, and then Arenal Volcano itself. It looked like almost all the hotel's rooms have similar views. The staff was friendly, and the included breakfast was actually really good! Overall, we had a terrific trip and would definitely stay here again (or go camping/backpacking).

While in La Fortuna, we rode horses, ATVs and we ziplined. The hotel is in a great location, just minutes away from the small center of town and near a supermarket. All of the rooms face the Arenal Volcano - you can't go wrong with any of the room selections.

The Hotel was nice and clean. Swimming pool was enjoyable,nice garden and location. comfortabls.

I love the hotel. You have a great view of the Arenal mountain on your balcony. Nice pool on the back with a swimm in bar seating. Great location close to La Fortuna without being in the city and half an hour away from Arenal Observatory. Great Receptionist that helps out on everything. The receptionists are very knowledgeable of the excursion around town. Able to help us find a tour group for rappelling on the last minute request(same day request). The complimentary breakfast and welcome drink were great. The thing I love them the most was that they were able to give me the same online price for an additional day.

I chose this property because it came up as 4 stars and I wanted to pamper my parents with a nice place. When I arrived and tried to check in, apparently my reservation came up for 2 instead of 3 people (may have been a typo on my part not sure) However, when researching rates, adding a 3rd person made the price go up by just $10 They wanted to charge me an additional $30 USD! I felt that to be a ripoff since I had already paid $106 for the room and breakfast (the price was $66 + Tax adding breakfast made the price go up an additional $30). I stood up for myself and told them that it should not be more than $10. They allowed me to check in 2 hours earlier and pay just the $10 USD. So that was cool in my book. While there at the reception desk I noticed they had a special at their Spa for 2 massages for $70!! I made reservations for that. They also gave us coupons for a welcome beverage, non alcoholic but very tropical and delicious, sort of like a creamy frozen fruit punch with a cherry on top. We got a standard room on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the pool and a straight view to the Arenal Volcano. The pool was gorgeous and had a wet bar but no one attending it =( Their Spa was very nice with all the calming effects and decor a Spa should have. Very pleased with the service here. As for breakfast, I was expecting more since again the price went up significantly when I added breakfast. I would have preferred a buffet rather than the preset menu they had. Food wasn't altogether terrible, but again I would have preferred choices that would have made the price justifiable. The hotel is very quiet and I guess since its low season there weren't many people and no "hustle and bustle" activities wise. I would have liked a little music at the pool area. They have a sports bar with pool tables again completely empty. Location wise it is great. It's about a 3 minute drive to the Hot Water Springs and about 15 minutes from the hanging bridges. There are a lot of Canopy and Canyoning options in the area as well. I also saw an ATV tour that seemed to be popular. Did not eat at the Hotel's restaurant so I can't comment there. However, there are planty of food options around and a quite reasonable steakhouse not to far away. Would I stay there again? Maybe.. But there are so many other lodging options to choose from around the Arenal Volcano that include breakfast and other amenities that I may go another route next time around.

The hotel had very nice grounds but not extensive for walking around a lot. You do see the volcano and the hotel is conveniently located. We had a car so we were able to go into La Fortuna. This is a small town with some nice shops and restaurants. The restaurant at the hotel was ok. The bar upstairs was ok, a couple of pool tables and tables and chairs. We watched the NFL finals there. The only problem was that they are constructing another part of the hotel and the hammering begins at 6:30 AM. It's not terrible but just enough for you to have to get up.We were sight seeing anyway, but this is an annoyance.

Upon arrival at this hotel they had no room for us. After a long and winding road trip we arrived with our 10, 8 and 4 month old to find out we had no room to stay in. Our reservation with Orbitz was confirmed!! They simply gave the room away to someone who paid more I guess? They did make arrangements for us to stay at another hotel "mountain paradise". I just advise you to go there straight away. This hotel doesn't deserve your business.

La Fortuna de San Carlos La Fortuna Alajuela

Hotel Magic Mountain is located within a mile (2 km) of Reno's International Mini Golf and Ecoglide Arenal Park. This 42-room, 3.5-star hotel has conveniences like a full-service spa, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi. Ecotermales Fortuna and Baldi Hot Springs are also nearby.


Dining

Free buffet breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning from 6:30 AM to 9:30 AM. This hotel serves as home to a family restaurant, which has pool views and specializes in international cuisine, along with a sports bar. Satisfy your hunger from the comfort of your room with room service.


Hotel Magic Mountain's 42 air-conditioned rooms provide balconies, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can expect free WiFi and cable TV. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. In-room massages are available, and rooms also include phones.

Rooms


Guests of Hotel Magic Mountain enjoy a full-service spa, karaoke, and an outdoor pool. You can take advantage of free parking, along with an airport shuttle (available 24 hours) for USD 160 per vehicle one way. Front-desk staff can answer questions 24/7, and assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and securing valuables. Other amenities at this spa hotel include a children's pool, a spa tub, and free WiFi in public areas.

Property features

Room options

Junior Suite, Balcony

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Hotel Magic Mountain

Everyone (2) Business (1) Couples (9) Family (5) Friends (1)
4

small boutique hotel

Everyone

Stayed here on April 2017 for one night. We stayed in the brand new extension of the hotel with Volcano view. Friendly staff. Small but clean pool. No hot spring water here. Free but very limited breakfast.

By , from California on Apr 26, 2017

3

great view of arenal, okay room.

Everyone

Our room was perfectly adequate, but just missing some minor things that would have made it feel much nicer. Both our refrigerator and room safe were inoperable, and the wifi was fairly spotty. We didn't spend much time in the room because we were out and about, so these things weren't that big of a deal. We didn't complain, so they weren't able to fix the items and change our opinion, but if the staff were checking the condition of the room, they would have known about these items not working.

By , from New York on Apr 23, 2017

4

great 3 days in la fortuna

Families

It is a great value for the money you pay hotel. Good location, friendly staff, and good surroundings (garden and pool). The staff eagerly assisted us in booking guided tours to various places around. The restaurant (Lina) is bit overpriced for the quality of food served. The Internet service is very patchy with a standard response from the hotel staff that they will reset the router whenever you asked them, which is not the staff's fault but the quality and speed of the connection that the hotel had.

By on Nov 30, 2015

2

excellent time w friends

BusinessTravelers

The hotel was very nice, clean and had an excellent view of the Volcano.

By on Apr 14, 2015

5

hotel with a view

Families

My family and I were so amazed about the location of this hotel. We had a good view of the Arenal Volcano from our hotel balcony. Even though we arrived late to check-in, all provisions were left to the security guard so we could access our room. The restaurant manager even left his commitment at the function hall to open the kitchen for us and be served for dinner. The staff members were very consistent in accommodating all our daily needs to ensure that our vacation would be memorable and exciting. If I will go back to this part of Costa Rica, I will not have second thought of staying in this hotel again.

By on Feb 23, 2015

4

great views

Couples

Overall this hotel was great. Staff was very friendly and every room had a view of the volcano. The only issue we had was that they advertised king size beds...they did not have any king beds. That was our only complaint.

By on Jun 15, 2014

2

family getaway

Couples

The Hotel has a great location, where your close to town and great view of Arenal Volcano. The house keeping were very nice and cleaned the room very well. Also the waiters in the restaurant were very nice. What it does need is better staff service in the main lobby, better beds and TV's and Wi-Fi service through out the hotel. I wouldn't stay there again, its not as relaxing as it seems. Good luck!!!!

By on Dec 4, 2013

4

nice view of arenal volcano

Couples

Overall the hotel was excellent, the staff were very helpful and polite, the food at the free buffett was excellent, however, their should be more daily variety. The hotel was kind of far from downtown but taxis are available for $3. The front desk is not open 24 hr, so if you need to checkout you have to wait untill 6 am. Our room kind was very difficult to work with, tried several times before you can open the door. The room was nice and so with bed. The safe storage was very useful. I would stay here again.

By on Aug 25, 2012

3

just so we're clear

Families

This was a clean hotel but we needed wifi in the room, not just in the lobby. Breakfast okay each morning.

By on Jul 8, 2012

4

nascaral

GetawayWithFriends

My first time there, the staff was excellent they went out of there way to make sure everthing including our excurisions was the best experiences.This hotel is centurally located you can walk to town to enjoy some truly amazing resteraunts.Zip Lining is a must, you won't be disappointed.

By on Mar 15, 2012