$324 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 3, 2014 Check-out: Dec 6, 2014

All Inclusive - Sonesta Maho Beach Resort and Casino St. Maarten

4 stars
Maho Bay, Rhine Road 1, St. Maarten, 0000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
53 reviews
Fantastic resort

Beautiful grounds, great location, good food but undercooked meat and poultry; need to cater more... See full review

  • Grandma Turner
  • Aug 12, 2014
Maho

Wonderful great experience.The food was great wide varity of food. See full review

  • Patsy77
  • Jul 31, 2014
The Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino in St. Maarten is a "destination within a destination," offering exciting nightlife, a variety of accommodations and first-rate amenities for singles, couples and families. Effective April 1st, the Ocean Terrace building and the upper pool at Ocean Terrace will close as we embark on an exciting new renovation project

The 10-acre, 520-room beachfront property is conveniently located on the island's southwest shore just minutes from the airport and features a large signature pool area with swim-up pool bar, cascading waterfalls, a second quiet pool area, oceanfront wedding gazebo, 4 restaurants and 4 bars, The Maho Serenity Spa, fitness center, 4 tennis courts, casino, nightclub, kids program, day and evening entertainment, and more than 24,000 sq. feet of meeting space.

All Inclusive Program features:
Full Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner and Snacks Each day at a Choice of 4 Restaurants
Unlimited International and Domestic Premium Beer and Spirits, Fruit Drinks and Soft Drinks Served at the Resort's 4 bars
No Restaurant Reservations Required
All Hotel Taxes and Service
Weekly Beach Party Dinner
In-Room Mini-Fridge Refreshed Daily With Soft Drinks, Bottled Water (and for Premier Categories and Higher, Select Spirits and Beer)
$20 Per Person in Match Bets For Adults at The Casino Royale
Guest Pass to Sonesta Great Bay With Complimentary Use of the Resorts Facilities and All-Inclusive Meals and Drinks Program Daytime Activities Including Water Aerobics, Pool toys, Use of Snorkeling Equipment, Tennis, Ping Pong, Pool Tables and more
Nightly Theme Parties and Live Entertainment
Use of the Fitness Center
Nightly Outdoor Movies for Kids and Adults
Just Us Kids Activity Program for Children

All Inclusive - Sonesta Maho Beach Resort and Casino St. Maarten Rooms

Junior Suite
Rooms are spacious and comfortably furnished with a bright tropical dcor, and are located in the Ocean Terrace building directly facing the ocean, with sweeping views from the private balcony. Each room features king or 2 double beds and a sitting area with a couch.
Superior Room
Rooms are comfortably furnished with a bright, tropical dcor and offer a private balcony. Rooms are located on the lowest floors of the Sky Tower building and feature a king or 2 double beds.
Pool Ocean View
Rooms are comfortably furnished with a bright, tropical dcor and offer views of the pool or ocean from a private balcony. Rooms are located in the Sky Tower or Ocean Terrace building and feature a king or 2 double beds.
Garden Island View
Rooms are comfortably furnished with a bright, tropical dcor and offer a private balcony with views of the island and the adjacent golf course. Rooms are located on low floors in the Sky Tower building and feature a king or 2 double beds.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed All Inclusive - Sonesta Maho Beach Resort and Casino St. Maarten also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino offers over 24,000 sq. ft. of indoor meeting space with ballrooms, meeting rooms and break-out space as well as extensive outdoor space for functions. Our conference services can host large and small groups with a wide range of banqueting options. WiFi internet access and technical support is provided. Additionally, meetings and groups can choose our all-inclusive program for a value-added experience in St. Maarten.

Dining

Pizzeria Napoli
Pizzeria Napoli has been an instant hit with Sonesta Maho Beach guests. The handcrafted pizzas are made-to-order in a traditional pizza oven with fresh ingredients. Pizzeria Napoli shares the dining area of the Ocean Terrace Restaurants, but guests are always welcome to take away a slice in a complimentary personal pizza box.
Maho Cafe & Bar
This oceanfront venue is located in front of The Point Restaurant. Enjoy fresh fruits, pastries, expresso, and cappuccino in the morning, or cocktails and soft drinks in the afternoon.
Latitude Bar
Located in the Sky Tower Lobby, the Latitude Bar offers a nightly entertainment, large screen TV for sports games, and over 50 slot machines available for 24-hour gaming.
Oasis Swim-up Pool Bar
Located in the large Signature Swimming Pool, the Oasis Bar is in the heart of all the daytime fun around the pool. The Oasis Bar offers both in-pool seating and dry seating poolside.
Palms Grill Bar
Serving guests near the beach area, the Palms Grill Bar also features a large screen TV featuring international sports.
The Point
Offering fine dining in the evening, this air-conditioned restaurant offers an intimate atmosphere with attentive service and stunning ocean views. The a la carte menu features a Continental 4-course menu with Italian specialties. Smart casual attire is required.
Palms Grill
Open for lunch and dinner(selected evening only) near the beach, The Palms Grill offers casual, al fresco dining with an a la carte menu.
Ocean Terrace Restaurant
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, the Ocean Terrace offers a wide variety of buffet items including hot and cold dishes, soups, fresh fruits and salads, made-to-order omelet station, and theme nights throughout the week. Guests can dine al fresco on the large outdoor terrace or inside the air-conditioned restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for All Inclusive - Sonesta Maho Beach Resort and Casino St. Maarten

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of All Inclusive - Sonesta Maho Beach Resort and Casino St. Maarten

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ray Sonnshine
Florida
Oct 28, 2014

Food was Ordinary, just feel good food

Most of the staff was helpful. You better give TIPS up front or you will wait for drinks or be stubborn and ask repeatedly. Premium alcohol was available; you had to ask for it. Average stuff was on the shelf. The place was under reconstruction. At times construction was bothersome. The room was refurbished, however doors had problems sticking and several times the key card did not work. The balcony slider needed 2 people to open and close. Air conditioning was either cold or warm, thermostat was not working as intended. You could turn off the fan by hand so it was acceptable. The food was average feel good food. Smoked salmon and prosciutto was available, you had to ask. Antipasto was OK if you are happy with baloney, ham, chicken and such. Again you had to ask for the real stuff for antipasto. For an all inclusive resort I was disappointed. When the restaurant was closed, it was closed. No room service. So you better take a plate of munchies to your room. Rooms did have a coffee maker. Next time I will try a different Resort. The worst part was breakfast. The staff (most of it) was inattentive and mostly talking to them self. Salt and pepper shakers could not be identified or mixed up. So you better shake it in your palm to see what is in it. At times waiting to get Coffee was frustrating. Condiment bottles you had to ask for. Some of the bottles needed cleaning and so did the pepper mills. Again, if you ask for it you got it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The best part was the Bus service provided by the government. It was reasonable and you do not really need a Taxi or rent a car, unless you stay out late.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of All Inclusive - Sonesta Maho Beach Resort and Casino St. Maarten

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SabaSunshine
Florida
Oct 19, 2014

Lovely visit

In a nutshell...Food was great. Beach was fun. Room was dated. Staff was courteous. Free WiFi. Garage parking $5/day. Excellent Maho location. Hurricane Gonzalo blessed us during the visit but staff was great to see to the safety and needs of all guests. We usually stay on Orient Beach, but will consider this revisiting this great location in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of All Inclusive - Sonesta Maho Beach Resort and Casino St. Maarten

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
quik tampa getaway
boston
Oct 16, 2014

st martin

hotel wasnt as i expected. under construction. internet was down so u couldnt use your credit card if u dont like to travel with alot of cash. i want to try resort but i wouldnt go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of All Inclusive - Sonesta Maho Beach Resort and Casino St. Maarten

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rujith de Silva
Boston MA
Oct 16, 2014

Great location and staff, but amenities merely ordinary

Location is great, by the airport and beach. As it's all-inclusive, there's lots and lots of cheap food and drink, but no really good food. For the same reason, the amenities are worn-out: one ping-pong table, one warped billiards table. The staff are genuinely helpful and friendly, and work hard to keep the facilities clean, as sand gets everywhere! Everything runs on "island time," which is fine if you are relaxed about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of All Inclusive - Sonesta Maho Beach Resort and Casino St. Maarten

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ralph169
New York, NY, USA
Sep 29, 2014

Nice Relaxing Vacation

I just celebrated my 25th year anniversary. The experience in this hotel was great. I would recommend it to anyone. The food is very good. The beach is clean. The rooms where made up twice a day. I thought that was awesome. They had some renovations going on. But, so some parts where closed. But, it did not interfere with what we wanted to do. That was "get some sun". Lol. I will definitely go back when there done with the renovations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Went here for my 25th year wedding anniversary. J & L Jewels & Linens. 2-3 Cinnamon Grove, (Maho Shopping Centre) Maho, St. Maarten. The best quality in Diamonds & Gold. Ask for RAVI. he works afternoons/evenings. Tell him Rafael from (NY) sent you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of All Inclusive - Sonesta Maho Beach Resort and Casino St. Maarten

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rolando rollie
Brooklyn, New Yorku
Aug 14, 2014

it did not meet my expectations

All the things that were suppose to be inclusive iwere not received. I was very disappointed. i do not see myself traveling with you again.will not recommend to anyone aside from hat the return flight was bad. Rolando Rodriguez. We did get to shop for things we wanted the 50 per cent was only for clothes. The bar did not have many of the liquor we asked for. We then saw the liquor on shelf. They outright did not tell the truth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

There is not profanity on this message. Only the experience I had on the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of All Inclusive - Sonesta Maho Beach Resort and Casino St. Maarten

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Victory man
San Diego
Aug 13, 2014

Guys weekend

We got an amazing rate for a 3 day weekend at this all inclusive resort but there were issues. 1. The amount of food they give you is small portions so you have to order 2-3 entrees with a salad and appetizer if you want a normal size meal. 2. The vouchers we were offered didn't do all that much. Example: we were given 50 dollar wine vouchers for dinner off the managers wine list...all of the bottles listed over 30$ were not available and you could only use 1 a night and on one bottle only. 3. Sometimes it just seemed like the employees just didn't care about customer service. When asking to speak to a manager about why no wines were available we waited an hour because our request was never relayed to anyone. Sometimes you would wait awhile to be served drinks for no apparent reason. It just always seemed like the hotel was trying to skimp on its end of the all inclusive marketing it promotes. That said the rooms were super clean and a good size. You also had access to the other Sonesta which was cool. The beach at this resort is ok. But the other property's pool and beach is much nicer. This hotel was also centrally located so it was easy to get to the casino/ other restaurants/ clubs if we wanted to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Unless in a bar, anytime someone gives you a price for a cab or an item you want to purchase-barter. Most items or fees can be negotiated down significantly. Even in American money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of All Inclusive - Sonesta Maho Beach Resort and Casino St. Maarten

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grandma Turner
Jackson, MI
Aug 12, 2014

Fantastic resort

Beautiful grounds, great location, good food but undercooked meat and poultry; need to cater more to guests who prefer more well done fare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of All Inclusive - Sonesta Maho Beach Resort and Casino St. Maarten

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MVP2014
Ft. Lauderdale, Fl
Aug 7, 2014

Family Getaway

This resort is advertised as kid friendly, however, other than a limited kids club, a Ping pong table, and a playground that can fall apart any moment there aren't any kid friendly amenenties , shows, or activities. For a family with children 12 and under all inclusives in Jamaica and Punta Cana are a much better value. The food was good overall. The staff was 50/50 in terms of service. Some were really nice and some just seemed like you were bothering them with the simplest requests. Overall I would not invest on returning to this island for the cost unless it were a stop on a cruise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car and visit the island. Very nice island and beaches.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of All Inclusive - Sonesta Maho Beach Resort and Casino St. Maarten

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patsy77
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Jul 31, 2014

Maho

Wonderful great experience.The food was great wide varity of food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top