$76 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Hotel des Mines

2 stars
125 boulevard Saint Michel, Paris, 75005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
31 reviews
Good place to stay in Paris

Excellent location, walking distance to subway, Notredame, gree line bus stops. Small room with... See full review

  • patry2310
  • Nov 16, 2014
Very clean, great location.

Lovely little hotel a few minutes walk from Luxembourg RER and Luxembourg Gardens. It is also an... See full review

  • Phil A
  • Mar 19, 2014
As soon as you enter the 1900-style foyer, friendly, welcoming and competent staff will be entirely at your disposal to answer all your requests and suggestions. Languages spoken: French, English, German and Spanish. The reception comprises two areas: The main hall decorated in a 1900 style and the contemporary style lounge with a small glass wall overlooking the interior courtyard of the hotel. Efficient, available and competent are the key words for the staff. This has allowed to ensure the loyalty of guests, who use the Hotel Des Mines as their base in Paris.

Hotel des Mines Rooms

Double Room
Double Room with one double bed includes a shower or bath, en-suite toilets, a hairdryer, satellite television, double-gazing, direct-dial telephone, a wadrobe, Wi-Fi access ans air-conditioning. Measuring a suface area of approximately 10 m, renovated in recent years.
Twin Room
Twin Room with two twin beds includes a shower or bath, en-suite toilets, a hairdryer, satellite television, double-gazing, direct-dial telephone, a wadrobe, Wi-Fi access ans air-conditioning. Measuring a suface area of approximately 10 m, renovated in recent years.
Triple Room
Triple Room with one double and one twin bed includes a shower or bath, en-suite toilets, a hairdryer, satellite television, double-gazing, direct-dial telephone, a wadrobe, Wi-Fi access ans air-conditioning. Measuring a suface area of approximately 10 m, renovated in recent years.
Single Room
Single Room with one double bed includes a shower or bath, en-suite toilets, a hairdryer, satellite television, double-gazing, direct-dial telephone, a wadrobe, Wi-Fi access ans air-conditioning. Measuring a suface area of approximately 10 m, renovated in recent years.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel des Mines also booked these hotels.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel des Mines

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel des Mines

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hollandmkh
New Paltz, NY
Dec 1, 2014

great economical option in the Latin Quarter

I stayed here with my partner in September 2014 for a conference, and was very pleased. The rate was incredibly low for the area, which was wonderful--right across from the Luxemburg Garden, within walking distance of the Musee Cluny, Sorbonne, Montparnasse, Notre Dame (to which I ran in the mornings), and much more. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was small but clean and had everything we needed, including a large bathroom. Our only complaint was that--as others have said--wifi did not work in our room (we were on the top floor), so we had to use it in the lobby. But for the price and location this hotel cannot be beaten!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel des Mines

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
patry2310
Hollis, Maine
Nov 16, 2014

Good place to stay in Paris

Excellent location, walking distance to subway, Notredame, gree line bus stops. Small room with comfortable bed. We did not spend much time in the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel des Mines

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
camels
oslo norway
Oct 13, 2014

Very nice location

A hotel which is near at everything in the Latin quarter. A very clean hotel, always tidy bed and new towels everyday. But it's very heavy traffic though and impossible to sleep with the window open. But great with the window close and air-condition. But that would be nice with a minibar in the room. But all in all we are satisfied

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel des Mines

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tati who travels a lot
Mountain View, CA
May 19, 2014

Good location, ordinary hotel

Pros: Location is good, close to metro and shops. Bathroom was clean. Cons: Room was dingy and a bit on the small side. Sheets, blanket and towels were meh, breakfast (E$10 extra) was meh, front desk helpfulness was meh... Conclusion: Way too expensive for what it is. Even in Paris.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel des Mines

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Phil A
London
Mar 19, 2014

Very clean, great location.

Lovely little hotel a few minutes walk from Luxembourg RER and Luxembourg Gardens. It is also an easy walk to the Latin Quarter and Montparnasse. Frequent buses so getting around is easy. We stayed four nights mid-March and had a comfortable, warm room though the bathroom was quite small. We did have decent showers (very hot water 24/7). Enormously helpful staff made all the difference to our stay with maps and advice. Good Wi-Fi connection. Nice area too - we had no problem walking back late in the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loads of places to eat in Montparnasse and between Luxembourg and St. Michel. Parnasse 138 (138 Bd. Montparnasse) has an English menu which is helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel des Mines

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alwaysmiling
Canada
Dec 25, 2013

Small but comfortable

The staff was great... although the woman doing the breakfast refused to speak English and was a bit off but besides that the breakfast was more than adequate... we loved the location. Paris was a wonderful experience we spent very little time in our room but to sleep. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel des Mines

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Woogie
Bristol, UK
May 25, 2013

Great Little Hotel

Warm friendly staff, clean comfy room. A little bit more than you would expect from a two star, with a lovely entrance hall. Only downside is the regular rumbling of the RER trains, but you get used to it and with the help of the comfortable beds sleeping wasn't a problem. Great location close to public transport and various tourist attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

When in Paris, don't bother with the hotel breakfasts when there are so many little cafes along most streets where you can grab something cheaper and just as good if not better and enjoy a bit more of the life and culture as well as the perfect start to your day

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel des Mines

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Xerxes
France
Dec 17, 2012

Enjoyable

Liked the hotel, well situated and pleasantly old-worldly. Clean & comfy rooms tho small. Breakfast was decent and plentiful. Will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel des Mines

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
john l
Singapore
Dec 16, 2012

best small hotel I've stayed in

The staff were very accommodating and friendly. All spoke very good English. When we checked out at 6 am to catch our early flight, we were offerred a coffee as it wasreal cold. It was a good completion to our sojourn in Paris.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Both the Pantheon and Jardin du Luxembourg were within close proximity.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel des Mines

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sooz
Australia
Sep 11, 2012

Great little Paris pad

While the room may have been a little cramped, the rest of the amenities were very good value for money. The staff very helpful, the breakfast fine (who needs more than cafe et croissants!) and locality superb. A short walk to the Seine and there is Notre Dame! There is also a choice of 2 metro stations very close by, which are easy to use and get you to and from all the usual tourist sites. There are also pretty gardens close by for early walks. We are only sorry they were booked for when we return to Paris

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Always try a little French, the effort goes a long way to getting extra help.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top