$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 18, 2014 Check-out: Nov 19, 2014

El Patio Inn

2 stars
11466 Ventura Blvd., Studio City, CA 91604
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.1
out of 5
9 reviews
Great Location and More

Friendly and helpful staff has maintained a lovely garden that also adds privacy. Great location in... See full review

  • macondo54
  • Apr 15, 2012
El Patio Inn is pretty basic and

El Patio Inn is pretty basic and you get what you pay for. Be aware that if you book this hotel... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 1, 2010
Located just 1.5 miles from Universal Studios Hollywood; this petit hotel's Spanish style villas have a romantic atmosphere with hacienda warmth and charm. The El Patio Inn is a historic building. the rooms have been completely renovated in 2013. The guest rooms are quaint and comfortable with modern conveniences for your traveling needs with newer furnishings throughout. The hotel is minutes to fine dining, shopping, and entertainment, additional amenities include: Complimentary assorted packaged pastries and hot beverages,juice, free local calls,Complimentary Cable TV; express check-out, wake-up service, concierge services, laundry valet service, Complimentary Wi-Fi and Universal Studios tickets available at the front desk. Please note the following: No Pets (Only Service Dogs) Deposit of $100 per stay. Roll away beds are available at $25 per night. Bed types during busy times are not guaranteed (Double, Queen) Utility Surcharge to be at $5.00 per night We have only a room with an over sized Jacuzzi There is no public Hot Tub for use. Due to busy summer season, we unfortunately cannot guarantee bed size (either double or queen).

El Patio Inn Rooms

Standard Queen Room
Room includes: Premium TV channels; Cable, Access via exterior corridors, Climate control, Air conditioning, Wi-Fi, Refrigerator, Housekeeping (daily), Complimentary toiletries, Hair dryer, Shower only, Flat Panel 32" Television, Clock radio, Iron/ironing board (on request), Smoking & Non Smoking rooms, Remodeled in 2013
Standard Two Double Room
Room includes: Premium TV channels; Cable, Access via exterior corridors, Climate control, Air conditioning, Wi-Fi, Refrigerator, Housekeeping (daily), Complimentary toiletries, Hair dryer, Shower only, Flat Panel 32" Television, Clock radio, Iron/ironing board (on request), Smoking rooms (upon request, based on availability), Remodeled in 2013
Standard Two Queens
Room includes: Premium TV channels; Cable, Access via exterior corridors, Climate control, Air conditioning, Wi-Fi, Refrigerator, Housekeeping (daily), Complimentary toiletries, Hair dryer, Shower only, Flat Panel 32" Television, Clock radio, Iron/ironing board (on request), Smoking rooms (upon request, based on availability), Remodeled in 2013

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Patio Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 1.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

34.1393 -118.3811
Area served
Studio City, CA Beverly Hills, CA Los Angeles, CA Burbank, CA
Nearby airports
Burbank Airport (BUR) Los Angeles International(LAX)
Area description
The El Patio Inn is a petit hotel located in the heart of modern Los Angeles. The hotel is ideally located near Universal Studios, A Short Walk To CBS Studios, The Chinese Theatre, and the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

Dining

Teru Sushi
Fine Dining Japanese
Micelli's
Italian Family Owned Restaurant with Full bar & entertainment nightly
American
Tony RomasLocated at CityWalk within 1.5 miles of the property
Seafood
Gladstones For Fish Located at CityWalk within 1.5 miles of the property
Italian
Wolf Gang Puck (818) 985-9653 Located at CityWalk
French
Pinot Bistro 12969 Ventura Blvd. Studio City, CA 91604
Steak house
Sparkwood Fire 11801 Ventura Blvd. Studio City, CA 91604
Du Pars
American traditional, Breakfast served
Chinese
Green Apple China Bistro 12265 Ventura Blvd. Studio City, CA 91604
Thai Food
Thai BBQ 12254 Ventura Blvd. Studio City, CA 91604

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1430
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (9)

Ratings and reviews for El Patio Inn

Overall score

2.1 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 9
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
2.2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3.3
Value:
1.9

33% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Patio Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lalaine
Fremont, CA
Nov 23, 2013

Avoid

Our group of four stayed here from 11/1 - 11/3; we came from out of town for HHN. We picked this place over all the other ones because it was the closest to our destination and was the cheapest one we could find for our last-minute booking. Based off of the negative reviews, I would've never picked this place had it not been for my companions who had an unreasonably low budget that they wanted to stick to. Pros: Location was perfect - only a few minutes drive to our destination. The ladies manning the front desk were pleasant. It is a small place with only a few rooms which is what I prefer, and there was ample parking space. The other patrons were also relatively quiet and peaceful in their respective rooms which was also nice. Cons: The bed was uncomfortable, only four extremely thin pillows were provided, the carpet was heavily stained, and the room just looked dirty overall. We checked out the bathroom and noticed that only 2 towels were provided (Umm, what were the other 2 people in our room supposed to use? Were we expected to SHARE the towels?). If that wasn't bad enough, we also noticed that the towels had hair and stains on them, so we pretty much ruled them out as unusable. The shower area was so tiny and the shower head was not placed high enough (FYI, I'm 5'4, so that says a lot coming from a short/average height person). The soap dispenser had MOLD on it, so we had to place the soap on the floor. Just as we were about to retire for the night, one of my friends noticed that there were male secretion stains (you get what I'm saying - they won't let me post the C word) on one the comforters. We immediately checked the one on the other bed and lo and behold, it had the same stains as well. Needless to say, the comforters were thrown on the floor and we had to just sleep with the very thin blanket provided. The breakfast was a big joke. They do have a sign stating that due to health issues/scares, they can no longer serve meat or dairy for breakfast, but assorted pastries would be served instead. The "pastries" came from a box and were more like snacks than breakfast. If you were expecting cheese danishes, etc. like I was, you'd be surely disappointed. I won't even use the cliche "You get what you pay for" since it doesn't even apply in this case. I've been on several trips-on-a-budget in the last five years or so, and this is the worst I've come across so far. Lesson learned: skip this dump and spend the few extra bucks on one of the nicer, reputable hotels around the area. You can thank me later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Patio Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
aznakf
studio city California
Jan 30, 2013

Regretful Nightmare

**background** I first found out about this through this site with a great discount. Original Value price of 120$ then discounted 50% to 60$ then -5$ plus taxes and it costed me around 65$ in total. The area was fine, there was a car rental place 3 mins walk away, several low tier food places around and it was close to a bus stop to get you to the metro red line 10 mins bus away. **must read details** This 2 star inn is an over rating of the place. For a place charging 120$ at its original value is truly the worst place you can find. There was one hand towel in the room and I had to ask for more towels as it is basic for any rooms to have (body towels). The room is so worn down, the air conditioner sounds like its abt to break and is unsafe to use, the blowdryer was covered in dirt and dust such that the air blowing out was sour and it gave me chills. The room phone does not allow you to dial out. Worst of all was the cleanliness of the room, which has no existence. On the appearance it looks neat and tidy, but once you flip over the blanket you start to see it all. Most of the room are covered in dark colors to cover the disgust of the place. The inner side of the blanket, along with the brown sheets inside were covered with yellow stains and we even found short curly hair (most likely pub hair) in the bed. When the night was over we got to see what was there for breakfast. The details on this site was an American Breakfast, Minimum a hot Bacon and eggs which is a lie. The breakfast is a "Continental Breakfast" which includes packaged food with no expiration date other than the choco pie, the other two were a cookie like food and a cinnimon roll of which all tastes disgusting. They also said they provided coffee which was also gross. I do not know why it said an American breakfast nor is this inn even livable. Charging 20$ for this place would be overprices. I hope you never go to this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Universal Studios is just around the corner. 10 minute drive or less. Or Bus to metrostation, walk across the street and take the free shuttle up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Patio Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Beenther're
Fremont
Oct 29, 2012

You get what you pay for.

Min. bacon and eggs for breakfast has been changed to coffee and doughnuts. A $2.50 room charge is added to the bill for water conservation, for the L.A. area this is old news for there is no more water conservation. Management could care less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Patio Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
macondo54
Westchester, NY, USA
Apr 15, 2012

Great Location and More

Friendly and helpful staff has maintained a lovely garden that also adds privacy. Great location in Studio City. Quiet at night. Beds firm. Great shower. Caution: internet is very slow with no streaming capacity. Would have preferred a coffee maker in the room to the microwave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

About 1/2 mile down Tujunga Ave, Aroma is the best coffee shop/restaurant on the planet!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Patio Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
huskyduck
Seattle, WA, USA
Jan 4, 2012

Weakest Toilet of All Time!

The toilet had the weakest flush I have ever seen. So much so that I went and bought a plunger to be safe. It was so weak I suspect the property had a water pressure issue or something. Other than that, the rooms are nothing fancy. The location can't be beat, however. Right in the middle of "Sushi Row". I walked to 3 of the best sushi restaurants in the entire world, all within a 3 block walk. Parking is cramped as well, so be warned if you have a large vehicle. Staying here is like a trip back in time to how it may have been like staying in a motel in the 1950's. Unfortunately, the age does show.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sushi Nozawa, Sushi Katsu Ya, Kazu Sushi are all within about 3 blocks of the motel. These are 3 of the best sushi restaurants in all of the world.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Patio Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Jun 1, 2010

El Patio Inn is pretty basic and

El Patio Inn is pretty basic and you get what you pay for. Be aware that if you book this hotel based on the price including an American Breakfast- you will be disappointed with the tiny muffin and coffee in a disposable cup between 8.30 and 11.00. A clean tidy little place with friendly enough staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Patio Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
los amgeles
Jun 17, 2009

great location

Close to Hollywood Bowl.The least expensive motel near the Bowl.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Patio Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 2, 2007

El Patio Inn was not a ...

El Patio Inn was not a great place. find a place thats more main stream or at least part of a chain. This place it pretty old school. they still use actual keys to get into your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Patio Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palm Springs, CA
Jun 10, 2007

Stay at Unevrsal area

Started out great. We arrived early, about 10.00 am. We asked if we could check in now, as we were going to spend the whole day at Universal Studio. He could not have been nicer. He checked us in gave us a key to room 12. He told us the room would be ready by 2:00pm. We arrived about 8:00pm. When we opend the door the smell truly knoced us backward. The sign on the door said no smoking. The smoke smell was horrible. We enterd the room and started to un-pack. I went into the bathroom. The sink looked as though some one threw-up in it.I went to the office and brought the women at the desk to show her. She did look suprised. She went to get some cleaning supplies to clean up the mess. My daughter said, Do we really have to stay here? I said it's to late to change now, Though I wish I could! Bottom line Don't Stay Here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top