$397 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Norman Manley Boulevard Bloody Bay Beach, Negril,

Hotel Overview

4/5

Overall score

88%

Would recommend

Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

The Riu Palace Tropical Bay hotel is an all-inclusive luxury Jamaican resort based in Negril. Designed with colonial-Victorian flourishes, the old-fashioned-yet-contemporary facilities are framed by the Caribbean Sea to one side and verdant tropical gardens to the other. Private balconies are standard in every room and the Riu hotels activity program is in full effect, with available volleyball on the beach and snorkeling beneath the waves. Little ones can run riot at the beachfront playground and, after bedtime, parents can take advantage of the hotel’s childcare while dancing deep into the night at the Pacha nightclub.


Key facts
  • 416 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Krystal fusion restaurant, Bloody Bay grill-steakhouse, Hakuchi Japanese restaurant
  • All-inclusive drinks and snacks available 24 hours
  • Free Wi-Fi in lobby and rooms
  • 50 miles from Montego Bay airport (MBJ)
  • 2 swimming pools - one with whirlpool bath
  • Renova Spa
  • Free gym, sauna and whirlpool bath
  • 50,000-square-foot garden
Neighborhood
The Riu Tropical Bay is located on Jamaica's west coast, just north of the center of Negril, a popular resort town with a balanced mix of quiet cliff tops and busy seafront atmosphere. Just around the coast from Kool Runnings Waterpark, the hotel is nestled in the middle of Bloody Bay Beach - a disarmingly picturesque area named for the long-defunct whaling trade - where guests can try parasailing for adrenaline rushes and unrivalled views.
Hints and tips
Why not start the day as extravagantly as the activities sure to follow? Head down to the buffet restaurant for breakfast, and you'll be offered a complimentary glass of Cava. If there’s a member of your party with an approaching birthday, let the staff know - an extra special turn-down service with flowers may greet the birthday boy or girl when it’s time to hit the hay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Ocean Front
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean front. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed with canopy, split-level living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with whirlpool bathtub, extra shower cabin, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with garden view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Dining

Reggae
Lounge bar.Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks
Negril
Main restaurant, serving Intenational and local specialties. Buffet style with show cooking. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.
La Plaza
Pavillion Bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Pacha
Complimentary entrance and drinks to "Pacha" night club at the hotel Riu Negril (open six nights a week).
Bloody Bay
Lunch restaurant during the day. At nights restaurant/grill and steak house with non-smoking section. la carte for dinner. Reservations Required.
The Sun
Pool and swim-up bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Cubano
Lobby Bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Krystal
Fusion Cuisine Restaurant. la carte for dinner. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.
Rimini
Lunch & Snacks during the day. At nights Italian restaurant serving Buffet (non-smoking). Reservations Required.
Hakuchi
Japanese restaurant. la carte dinner. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
176 out of 176
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alexzig
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

We had a great time.

It well worth money we spend. Great location friendly staff and exceptionally good food. Nice no problem experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EM311
N/A
Mar 2, 2015

Fantastic Hotel and Great Location

We booked a jr. suite ocean front and got upgraded to an oceanfront suite which was an amazing room. The room had a sitting area along with a king size bed and a jacuzzi tub. The housekeeping staff were very friendly and did a great job cleaning the room as did the staff stocking the minibar and fridge. The restaurants offered a great selection of many types of food. The krystal fusion was a favorite along with the japanese restaurant the only drawback being the need for reservations and the limitations of making only two at a time. The buffet restaurant was excellent for both lunch and dinner and offered a wonderful variety of food and desserts. There were a lot of fun games and activities offered at both the beach and pool as well as Bingo at the outdoor bar in the afternoons. The evening entertainment was enjoyable and offered a nice outdoor setting with drinks served to watch a variety of different nightly shows. The beach is beautiful- warm and turquoise and calm and is perfect for walking along the entire bay where you will be able to shop from the local vendors selling their wares on the beach. An excursion to the local "shopping mall" is a nice afternoon trip to pick up some souveniers and is a short ride from the hotel. The hotel staff are very accomodating in providing transportation or discussing possible excursions. This is a great hotel and a perfect location for a very fun and relaxing vacation. I would be happy to return on another trip to this hotel or perhaps the Riu Negril as I have had great experiences staying at Riu hotels also in the Bahamas and would recommend this hotel and location of Bloody Bay Negril for a fabulous beach vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mark b.
Kiel
Feb 13, 2015

Husband Wife getaway

We have stayed here for the 4th time. While it is an hour+ drive to and from airport, we feel it is worth the drive. Our room was ready and clean with a greeting on the door. We booked Oceanside room and were greeted with beautiful sunsets. Andrew, at the desk, helped us book a cab, which was a huge van, for the 2 of us. When we arrived, we asked for him and Thanked him for his assistance. He was VERY pleasant and said to find him if we had any other questions. Next day, I could not book reservations for their specialty dinners, other than Japanese. I asked if he could possibly help with Italian and Steakhouse, with flexability of dates. Next day we had both dinners booked. Andrew handled all our needs professionally and pleasantly. Nadine, "Momma" Miss Theresa and Marisha at the pool bar were also extremely helpful AND fun to be around. Small to medium tips go along way, as well as a meaningful Thank You. We are looking forward to next years travel. No excursions this trip, as we have done most on past trips. If one does Rick's café jump, as I did at 60+, hit the water vertical

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Khanh N.
Anaheim
Feb 13, 2015

Good for family vacation

This hotel was amazing, it is huge. The staff is wonderful very friendly the food was amazing everyday specially the BBQ by the pool the drinks are really good, the nightly entertainment was good also and the free Wi-Fi worked really well even on the beach. This hotel was overall just awesome will definitely come back loved it."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom at best
Fargo
Feb 10, 2015

Romance

Had a good vacation with my husband of 8 years. Well needed time alone and very appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom at best
Fargo
Feb 10, 2015

Getaway

Beautiful beach and very clear waters. Very well balanced vacation for couples or family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LeMar
Carmel
Feb 4, 2015

Nice Family Vacation

This hotel did meet my expectations. Good food, nice location, beautiful beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler
Torrance
Feb 4, 2015

It was just excellent

The quality of the beach and sea water just so good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Plain ole me
OLIVET
Jan 25, 2015

Excellent vacation

We had a great time! The weather was perfect! It was a very nice large sandy beach. The entertainment staff was a lot of fun. We participated in the games and even won a couple bottles of rum. The wait staff was very professional and our room was always clean. Very friendly staff. I do think they need a sports bar though. We had to watch the NFL playoff game in our room or leave the resort. We would go back here in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We would purchase Club Mobay before we go next time to avoid the long lines on arrival!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jessica B.
Henrico
Jan 23, 2015

Not worth the money

I was expecting a bit more from this hotel for the price. It is not close to any attractions, 45min drive from the airport. Also this resort is understaffed. Called for a maintenance request on the first day and it took them until the next day to respond. The beach is beautiful and bar tenders are generous. That was the only thing that made me happy about this place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top