$68 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

3 stars
Autopista General Canas 3KM,, El Robledal - La Uruca, San Jose,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
110 reviews
Great place to stay!

Wish we would have had longer here! We only stayed one night before going to rain forest and wish... See full review

  • Lissa frequent traveller
  • Jan 28, 2014
Great place to stay in San Jose

My two friends and I really loved the Barcelo Palacio in San Jose -- beautiful old world charm with... See full review

  • NH Fran
  • Nov 13, 2013
Stylish guest rooms, great business amenities near downtown San Jose

Located along the General Canas Highway, the Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel sits in a residential area just minutes from the international airport and downtown San Jose attractions like the National Museum, the Central Market and the Simon Bolivar Zoo. Boasting a large conference center with space for up to 1,500 guests, the Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel makes an ideal choice for business travelers -- services include free parking and airport shuttle, Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply) and a business center.

Highlights
  • 1,200-person conference center
  • Complimentary airport shuttles (under established schedule)
  • 3  on-site restaurants - The Miyako Restaurant specialises in Japanese cuisine. The Rancho Grill restaurant offers meat dishes and Anfora Restaurant and Cafe serves buffet or a-la-carte meals.
Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel Rooms

The Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel offers 254 rooms with city or garden views and a wide variety of layout options, from standard guest rooms to junior and full-size suites. In-room amenities include a mini bar, direct-dial phone with voice mail, cable TV, coffee-maker and hair-dryer. Suites come with computers, printers and Internet connections (fees apply).

Features

Business travelers especially appreciate the Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel, which boasts one of the largest convention centers in the country. The hotel also has 14 flexible meeting rooms, and business amenities include Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply) and a full-service business center. To unwind after meetings, guests can relax by the outdoor swimming pool. On-site activities also include a spa center with fitness machines, massage services, sauna, and hot tub. For meals, patrons can find both buffet and a la carte restaurants.

Transportation
  • Coca Cola Bus Station (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport (9.1 mi/14.7 km)
  • Shuttle service between the Hotel and the Juan Santamaria International Airport (at no charge and by request - check set schedule)
  • Shuttle service to the Barcelo Tambor Beach (fees apply and on request - consult timetable)
Attractions
  • Museum of Costa Rican Art (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • National Museum (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Central Market (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • National Theater (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
  • Pre-Colombian Gold Museum (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
  • Simon Bolivar Zoo (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • La Paz Waterfall Gardens (28.4 mi/45.8 km)
Business
  • Conference center for up to 1,200 guests
  • 14 meeting rooms
  • Full-service business center
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
Policies & fees
The property provides free airport transportation upon request. Please send flight number, time of arrival and name of the airline to sanjosepalacio.rrpp@barcelo.com at least 24 hours before arrival.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel Rooms

SUITE CLUB PREMIUM

Suite Club features 2 Queen Beds or 1 King Bed.
Maximum Capacity: 4 Guests
Room Size: 646 Ft2 / 60 M2.

Large and luminous rooms which are comfortable and very functional. They also have all the technological and personal details to ensure full comfort during your stay.

Guests staying in these rooms have exclusive access to the Club Premium, where they can check-in /out, enjoy a delicious breakfast, lunchtime snack, afternoon tea, night-time refrigerator or residents bar in an exclusive space to relax, hold a small meeting or simply contemplate the marvelous view of the city of San Jose.

In Room Amenities:
  • Balcony
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Minibar and Coffee/Tea Maker
  • Private Bathroom
  • Hairdryer
  • In-Room Safe
  • Air Conditioning
  • Living Room
  • >
    The suites offer additionally computer, printer and direct internet.
    SUPERIOR ROOM

    Superior Room features 2 Queen Beds or 1 King Bed.
    Maximum Capacity: 4 Guests
    Room Size: 334 Ft2 / 31 M2.

    Spacious and light-filled rooms, perfectly equipped for business travelers and holidaymakers and feature all the latest technological and personal details to guarantee comfort during each guest's trip.

    In Room Amenities:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Coffee Maker
  • Direct Dial Phones
  • Hairdryer
  • Iron Board
  • Mini Bar
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Voice Mail
  • Private Bathroom with Bathtub
  • SUPERIOR ROOM CLUB PREMIUM
    SClub Premium is the exclusive services and facilities implemented at Barcel Premium hotels, which provides guests with a superior and exclusive level, well as the chance to extend your check-out time until 14.00. You can also enjoy a delicious breakfast, a lunchtime aperitif, afternoon tea, night-time refrigerator or honour bar in an exclusive area where you can relax.
    Discover these large, comfortable and light-filled rooms of 30.60 m2 perfectly equipped and with views of the gardens, they boasts all manner of technological and personal equipment to ensure your utmost comfort during your stay.
    In Room Amenities:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Coffee Maker
  • Direct Dial Phones
  • Hairdryer
  • Iron Board
  • Mini Bar
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Voice Mail
  • Amenities

    • Free buffet breakfast
    • Free internet
    • Airport shuttle
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Elevators
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Night club
    Game room
    Tennis
    Dining
    Free buffet breakfast
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    24 hour room service
    Services
    Business center
    Laundry service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Barber/Beauty shop
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Gift shop
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    Free internet
    Transportation
    Airport shuttle
    Parking
    Free parking
    Parking
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities
    Ramp access to buildings

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel also booked these hotels.

    Dining

    Miyako Restaurant
    specialty Japonese Food, open from Monday to Saturday Dinner from 6:00 pm to 11 pm.
    Anfora Restaurant - Cafeteria
    Meats Restaurant - Buffet / A la carte; Breakfast Buffet from 5:30 am. to 10:30 am; Lunch from 12:30 am. to 2:30 pm; Dinner from 6:00 pm. to 10:30 pm.
    Rancho Bar & Grill
    Mets specialty Restaurant - Grill; Lunch from 12:30 pm. to 3:30 pm; Dinner from 7:00 pm. to 10:00 pm.

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    A complete conventions and banquet center with more than 12 rooms with audio visual equipment and capacities up to 1500 people for meetings, seminars, social events and banquets, where you Hill find the perfect place for the success of your event.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1400
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (110)

    Ratings and reviews for Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

    Overall score

    3.9 / 5
    5.01.0
    110 out of 110
    Amenities:
    4.1
    Room cleanliness:
    4.4
    Hotel staff:
    4.1
    Room comfort:
    4.3
    Location:
    3.8
    Value:
    4

    90% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Herball
    Business
    Panama City, Panama
    Dec 18, 2014

    Dissapointment.

    This was my fourth or fifth staying at this location, but totally different to all the previous times. I was claiming on not been able to use the 'safe box', which was inoperative, needing to leave my laptop & other small electronics under someones care. I was told that I needed going the business center, where I could request a safe. My transport was waiting for me, so I denied the option, but requested that my safe box was fixed during the day. At my arrival in the evening, nothing was done, and then a person at counter told that box (which was opened & empty) couldn't be fixed because I was not present. At that moment they called the maintenance person, whom after few minutes confirmed the safe box had run out on batteries. It took him only 10 more minutes to change them, and the box was in use. I also had another issue next morning, when was told that breakfast was not included in my rate (all my previous visits to Barcelo San Jose Palacio had included BF). The person at counter said because of having booked through my preferred travel brand, BF was not included, and suggested to book next time directly through hotel or another different web.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: In Hotel

    You should try the good Japanese restaurant in the hotel.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Savvy gyrll
    Minneapolis, MN
    Nov 30, 2014

    Pretty nice

    Comfortable room, nice view. Would be nice to have a balcony but the windows don't even open. The bed was comfy and the room was clean and had a table & chairs and a sitting area so I liked that. The pizza and arroz we ordered from room service was not good, pizza was soggy! I didn't look at what restaurants they had. Also hot tub closes at 4pm on Sunday so that was a bummer. The free airport shuttle was great. I didn't get to eat breakfast so I don't know how that it.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Andorta
    Business
    Fort Myers
    Nov 20, 2014

    Great place for bussines

    There for a business trip... location and staff were great.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Luisgon1
    San Jose
    Sep 23, 2014

    Nice!

    Excellent Place, the staff was very helpful, nice place, recommended!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Sosten
    Richland, WA, USA
    Sep 19, 2014

    Great Time in Costa Rica

    The hotel rooms were nice and clean. Had an excellent view. The staff was very nice, polite, and professional. The breakfast buffet was a GREAT way to start the day. It would have been nice if there would have been a mini-refrigerator in the room. There seemed to be fairly few places to visit within walking distance.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    4
    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Centro America traveller
    Business
    Miami, Florida
    Aug 3, 2014

    Worst Barcelo Experience

    The service at the different restaurants was bad, slow and poor attention, the food was not good either. In my opinion, it was the worst service in any Barcelo hotel I have ever been.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Jenlop
    Guatemala
    Jul 19, 2014

    Not secure

    The hotel doesn't have security service at the parking lot. We rented a car and the called us early in the morning to let us know that the cars window was broken, when my husband asked about the hotel security they said the security leaves at 11:00 pm. They never told us it wasn't a safe place to leave our car. They didn't become responsible for the damage and claimed that they had warned us but they didn't until the incident had already happened. Very disappointed!!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Coloski resort
    Nebraska
    Jun 4, 2014

    Fantastic Hotel

    After returning from a week up in the rainforest this place was pure luxury! It has marble flooring and counter tops, very clean rooms. The food was fantastic, we chose to eat in the buffet which was a little pricey at $28 but you could also order off of the menu where they had pasta, pizza, and sandwiches ranging from $6-$14. The pool was Beautiful!! and they had hammocks hanging around with the lounge chairs which added a lot of character. Would definitely stay here again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    diz
    modesto
    Feb 16, 2014

    airport hotel

    Not close to any restaurants other than their pricy ones. No place to park close to bring in luggage

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    4
    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Lissa frequent traveller
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Jan 28, 2014

    Great place to stay!

    Wish we would have had longer here! We only stayed one night before going to rain forest and wish we could have stayed longer. Pool area was gorgeous, breakfast buffet was amazing, room very clean and comfortable, staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Airport shuttle was free but hard to catch on arrival. Much better for departure.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top