$68 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

Country Inn and Suites by Carlson San Jose

3 stars
CUIDAD CARIARI, San Jose, 357-2120
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
29 reviews
what a deal!

After 2 weeks in beautiful Costa Rica, we ( 2 couples) wanted something reasonable close to airport... See full review

  • DonW
  • Feb 11, 2014
Excellent Choice for Business

Although very short trip, in general the accommodations provided were very good given at a great... See full review

  • Ksals76
  • Jul 7, 2013
Newly renovated Ciudad Cariari hotel with free buffet breakfast

Located in the Cariari section of San Jose, the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose sits close to the international airport and just minutes from downtown San Jose. Recently renovated, the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose offers guests a complimentary breakfast each morning, as well as free wireless Internet access in all rooms and public areas. Business services include a business center and flexible meeting spaces for event groups.

Highlights
  • Two outdoor swimming pools
  • Free parking
  • Complimentary buffet breakfast
  • Free fitness center
Rooms

Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose features 92 guest rooms and suites redesigned with new furniture, carpets, mattresses, bedding and curtains. Guest rooms feature either king-size beds or two twins, while suites have king-size beds, kitchenettes and spacious living rooms. All accommodations include complimentary hot breakfast and weekday morning newspapers. In-room amenities include a microwave, coffee-makers, mini bar, safe, and hair-dryer. Wireless Internet access is free. Room service is available.

Features

Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose offers simple motel-style accommodations and amenities in a suburban area of San Jose. Guests can find two outdoor swimming pools on the property. The hotel provides a complimentary breakfast each morning, and the on-site restaurant also serves lunch and dinner. Business travelers can find free high-speed Internet access, a business center and flexible meeting spaces for up to 120 people.

Transportation
  • Juan Santamaria International Airport (4.8 mi/7.8 km)
  • Coca Cola Bus Station (6.6 mi/10.7 km)
  • Airport shuttle service
Attractions
  • Museum of Costa Rican Art (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Central Market (7 mi/11.2 km)
  • Simon Bolivar Zoo (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • National Theater (7.4 mi/12 km)
  • National Museum (7.8 mi/12.6 km)
  • Multiplaza Shopping Center (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • La Paz Waterfall Gardens (24.2 mi/38.9 km)
Business
  • Flexible meeting rooms
  • Business center
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Currency exchange

Country Inn and Suites by Carlson San Jose Rooms

Standard Room
Totally remodeled rooms, guests will discover many amenities at Country Inns & Suites San Jose that you might only expect to find at higher-priced hotels. The rooms are equipped with microwave, Cable TV, wireless Internet access, phone, Air conditioning coffee maker, in-room hairdryer, safe in-room for laptops, mini bar, iron and ironing board, some rooms has balcony.
Junior Suite
Totally remodeled rooms, these comfortable suites separate living and sleeping areas and all the amenities of our standard guest rooms.
Presidential Suite
Totally remodeled room, this lovely suite features a full living area with sleeper sofa, kitchenette, separate living and sleeping and balcony area and all the amenities of our standard guest rooms.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Hotel Map

9.9746 -84.1405
Area served
San Jose, Costa Rica.
Nearby airports
Juan Santamaria International Airport
Area description
Hotel Country Inn & Suites San Jose is located in Ciudad Cariari, Belen, Heredia, Costa Rica just 10 minutes away from Juan Santamaria International Airport and just 15 minutes from San Jose; centrally located for business, medical tourism and leisure activities.

We're located close to restaurants, Mall Real Cariari; coming soon we will have another Mall "Plaza Cariari" to walking distance (100 meters).

Dining

Mambi Restaurant
Our lovely restaurant overlooks lush gardens and our tranquil pool. Mambi offers an informal atmosphere, an extensive breakfast buffet and Costa Rican, International or light dishes. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner each day from 6am to 11 pm, this restaurant features only the freshest and finest ingredients. For the convenience of our San Jose Heredia hotel guests, room service is available from 6am to 11pm.

There are more restaurants options at Plaza Gourmet in Mall Real Cariari like Persa Mex (Persa and Mexican Food) / RostiPollos (Chicken Food) / Ichiban (Japan Food) / Pane e Vino (Italian Food) / Baranf (Bar & American Food).

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn and Suites by Carlson San Jose

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn and Suites by Carlson San Jose

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dog sitter
boulder co
Feb 14, 2014

OK if need to be near airport

This hotel is nothing special. I needed to be close to the airport for an early flight so it worked. Restaurant OK. Room small but adequate. I would consider it an option if I needed to be close to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Country Inn and Suites by Carlson San Jose

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DonW
High Point NC USA
Feb 11, 2014

what a deal!

After 2 weeks in beautiful Costa Rica, we ( 2 couples) wanted something reasonable close to airport and rental car return. We got all that, plus a beautiful property, well maintained, that far exceeded our expectations. The room was spacious and clean, the bed comfortable, and great water pressure with lots of hot water. The breakfast buffet was full of choices, well presented in a restaurant overlooking a beautiful pool area. The staff was quite helpful, knowledgeable,and answered all our questions. The price I got was excellent. I will use this hotel again.Do not know of anything that I would suggest to improve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Country Inn and Suites by Carlson San Jose

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jenniferjohnson
Burlington, ky
Jan 31, 2014

Don't stay here

Staff do not smile nor indicate friendliness. Made us feel as though we were A bother while simply checking in for our stay . Had dinner at the hotel and had the worst food we've had in the entire country that we had toured for 10 days . While waiting for dinner , we wanted to hang out at the pool, but there were 50/75 people standing around the pool taking up all the tables waiting for some kind of event that was being held upstairs for them . It would have been fun to mingle with them, but none would smile and all just looked at us like we were crashing their party.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Eat at the local eateries called " soda" as they are a mom and pop kind of restaurant. Delicious every time !!

Review of Country Inn and Suites by Carlson San Jose

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leeroy Brown
Toronto, Canada
Jan 6, 2014

Close to airport

The hotel was close to the airport, clean and we'll priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't drink the water from the tap.

Review of Country Inn and Suites by Carlson San Jose

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maxgladiator
San Jose, Costa Rica
Dec 25, 2013

Getaway with Friends

The hotel was at a perfect location had a home feal to it and it fullfilled my requierments. It need a few updates but over all a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Vista de Los Suenos Canopy.

Review of Country Inn and Suites by Carlson San Jose

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ezza L.
Paradise, California
Dec 10, 2013

Free shuttle mixup?

The hotel was as good as the pictures. The room was better than expected. Wonderful, friendly helpful staff. Victor and Karla were awesome! Restaurant was very good. Pool was clean and nice. The only downside was the "free" shuttle picked us up on time, and when we offered to tip the driver, he got upset and asked for full payment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Country Inn and Suites by Carlson San Jose

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vacations2
LA, California
Dec 10, 2013

nice place

nice stay, clean room and nice breakfast...the best part is you're away from downtown and close enough to the airport!!! the Argentinian restaurant next door has the best beef we've had in years!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Country Inn and Suites by Carlson San Jose

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Da Captain
San Diego, CA, USA
Nov 19, 2013

Telephone deposit ($200) not returned after five days. Phone never turned on!

Very nice hotel. Very clean. Excellent free breakfast buffet. However, after five days my $200 telephone deposit has still not been credited to my debit card. My telephone was never turned on and the queen bed in my contract was actually two single beds...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Country Inn and Suites by Carlson San Jose

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kellygo
Business
Conroe, TX
Oct 28, 2013

Great for business budget travel

This was a great deal. The rooms are not new, but the location is good as it is between San Jose and the airport and so you will avoid the San Jose traffic if you are visiting the Industrial parks outside the city limit. The breakfast was excellent and the staff is great!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Country Inn and Suites by Carlson San Jose

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zoep4
Costa Rica
Sep 7, 2013

Standard hotel, good value

The hotel was clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy, but very good value. It's not walking distance to anything, but then most hotels are not. It's convenient, internet works great and the rooms are fine. Good value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search

Hotel Map