$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

White Sands Hotel

2 stars
431 Nohonani Street, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
46 reviews
Great for economy tourist that expects no frills in Waikiki

Staff was wonderful, room was clean. I did not rent an automobile so did not have to pay the $25... See full review

  • Beachcomber Don
  • Jun 6, 2014
White Sands - perfect

I've now stayed at this hotel three times. The rooms are clean, the staff are friendly, and the... See full review

  • AussieSteve
  • Sep 8, 2013
This hotel is located approximately 1 and half blocks from Waikiki Beach and half a block from the International Market Place and about 15 miles from Honolulu International Airport. This location is also a block from the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center and Waikiki Shopping Plaza and half a mile from Honolulu Zoo. Golfing is a ten minute drive away. ABC convenience store is across the street.

Hotel amenities include the outdoor pool, hot tub, daily housekeeping, and laundry facilities. The hotel also offers a parking area ($25 fee) and high-speed Internet access in the lobby and pool area.

This property offers studio (city and pool views) and one bedroom units with kitchenettes. The City or Pool view studio comes equipped with either two twin beds or one queen bed and has a maximum occupancy of two to three people. The one bedroom is equipped with two queens and some have a sofa-bed and has a maximum occupancy of 4 to 6 occupants. All units feature lanais, air-conditioning, hairdryers, cable TV, safes, and kitchenettes with refrigerators, microwaves, cook tops, coffeemakers, dishes, and utensils, irons and ironing boards. Rollaways are available for a nominal fee. All rooms are Non-Smoking only.

White Sands Hotel Rooms

Moderate
1 Queen or 1 Queen & 1 Twin. All bedding arrangements in each room category are by request and cannot be guaranteed.
.City View with Kitchenette
1 Queen or 1 Queen & 1 Twin or 2 Twins, kitchenette. All bedding arrangements in each room category are by request and cannot be guaranteed.
Pool View with Kitchenette
1 Queen or 1 Queen & 1 Twin or 2 Twins, kitchenette. All bedding arrangements in each room category are by request and cannot be guaranteed.
1BR with Kitchenette
2 Queens or 1 Queen & 2 Twins, kitchenette. All bedding arrangements in each room category are by request and cannot be guaranteed.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Services
Laundry service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed White Sands Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2803 -157.8256
Area served
Waikiki, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport
Area description
1 and half blocks from Waikiki Beach and half a block from the International Market Place and about 15 miles from Honolulu International Airport

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for White Sands Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of White Sands Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Deee123
Waikiki, Hawaii
Jun 30, 2014

Cockaroch hotel

The rooms have many cockroaches and the guy working didn't help with my simple requests and changed our rooms three times. Parkings are very limited, 12 stalls, so we had to park at another hotel across the street and walk over, very inconvenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of White Sands Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AliciaPang
Singapore
Jun 25, 2014

More a motel than a hotel

Was disappointed with the hotel. I chose this hotel based on some reviews by guests who had stayed in this hotel. Unfortunately, the hotel did not turn up as I have expected. First of all, the condition of the hotel is a old and run-down. I have no complaint about its cleanliness though but feel that it should be classified as a motel more than hotel. The staff are not as friendly as what some reviews had mentioned. Most importantly, I am unsatisfied that there is no free wifi available for the guests. At this time and age, this is a deterring factor!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The White Sand hotel is about 3 mins walk away from the Waikiki beach.

Review of White Sands Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nard94
Wahiawa, HI
Jun 24, 2014

HNL

This place thought not very glamorous it served its purpose as a weekend getaway to be in walking distance from every where i wanted to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the strip

Review of White Sands Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beachcomber Don
Santa Monica, California
Jun 6, 2014

Great for economy tourist that expects no frills in Waikiki

Staff was wonderful, room was clean. I did not rent an automobile so did not have to pay the $25 daily fee to use their parking lot. Also... the upper rooms do not have an elevator but I am not mobility impaired so was not inconvenienced. Last week of low season so hotel was nearly vacant - nice because I got a free upgrade to a kitchenette on the interior side so no street noise heard!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Food Pantry with lots of items on sale - look for their "Managers Specials" !

Review of White Sands Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Lion
Business
Atlanta, GA
Mar 13, 2014

Hawaiian Experience

I stay here often and find it comfortable, friendly and close to everything. It has a feeling of old Hawaii. All staff I have met go out of their way to welcome you. I come on business and don't usually have time to lie around the pool, but for those that do, it appears quite laid back and relaxing. Being near the center of Waikiki, it is within walking distance of good restaurants, shopping and things to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Parking is limited. If you have a car, it is advisable that you contact the hotel a day ahead of your arrival to have your name on the list. Alternative parking is available across the street... and is actually a little cheaper - but not as handy.

Review of White Sands Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Yomommakin
Sacramento, California
Feb 10, 2014

Get Me Out of Here!!!!

This was the worst hotel I've ever booked. The kitchenette was dilapidated 40's style, the chairs were stained by decades of dirt, the beds felt old and the overall feeling of the hotel was "Get Me Out of Here!!" Honestly, if they hadn't fixed the situation, we wouldn't have stayed there anyway. They really came through for us by getting us a much better hotel for just a minimal charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On Kuhio Blvd. there's an outdoor pizza restaurant called Augustino's. It's delicious.

Review of White Sands Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stern
Zurich,Switzerland
Nov 22, 2013

good location close to beaches and shops

very friendly and helpful staff nice place with a pool and very quiet as well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

ABC Shops all over the lace for take away coffee and other food

Review of White Sands Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cosmo Gal
Durango, Colorado
Oct 21, 2013

Location only plus

Dirty & downright filthy place! Shower smelled of dirty feet. Dead bugs galore in the vent in the bathroom. Mold and scum everywhere. Amenities were there, but you have to pay extra for them. $2 a day for the safe, some ridiculous rate (hourly) for internet connection and coffee is only free the first morning.You do get a free newspaper everyday, but news anymore anywhere is depressing. Beds are extremely uncomfortable. Location is the only positive for this place & even at that you walk past the biggest dive bar in Waikiki to get anywhere. I don't see how this hotel even gets a 2 star rating. It should be bulldosed and start over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of other places to stay, I made a big mistake with choosing this hotel. :(

Review of White Sands Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AussieSteve
Sydney Australia
Sep 8, 2013

White Sands - perfect

I've now stayed at this hotel three times. The rooms are clean, the staff are friendly, and the facilities are well kept. It's an older building, the rooms are a little out dated, but if you're after a nice clean and centrally located venue, you can't go wrong. Only one complaint --- the WIFI is very slow (borderline unusable ) and you need to be in the hotel lobby to use it. Other than that, it's good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of White Sands Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blue Hawaii
North Branch, Minnesota
Aug 1, 2013

VERY SATISFIED

We were totally happy with our experience at the White Sands hotel. The location was excellent and within walking distance to everything in Waikiki. We opted for the upgrade of the poolside, so even though this hotel is surrounded by hotels and condo's, it didn't seem like it. Although this is an older hotel, it had lot's of charm, and was very comfortable to stay at. The pool area, gardens, and waterfall was better and more private than many of the more expensive hotels we have stayed at in Waikiki. It was very clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating ....We would definitely go back, and recommend this hotel for anyone looking for value, convenience of location and a comfortable place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We spend 11 nights in Waikiki.....everything you could want is there. Lots of activities and people, or quite tropical spots. The thing we enjoyed most..... Sunsets and walking on the beach....listening to all the live music from various of the hotels. One of our new favorite places was "Makino Chaya Maktti. A wonderful buffet dinner (or lunch). The dinner had a Polynesian show that was excellent. The building is on a corner, and was like going to a luau...(much more affordable) Would definitely go again.

Back to menu Return to top